Senior Championship 2022

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Not having a pop at Cilles here. My own club has played Cilles the last number of years at various grades and they are excellent in victory and defeat. I've spoken to a number of parents whose kids play/played underage with Cilles and it's the same thing I constantly hear about kids coming out from Drogheda to play for Colmcilles.

There was similar talk a couple of years ago with Ratoath and even Ashbourne back in the early 10's. Big difference between the clubs is the overall size of the catchment area.

My own opinion on way Cilles haven't made the breakthrough they lack backs, they have no reliable man marker who you know will give you that 7 or 8 out of 10 everytime like McGill, Glynn or Ryan. They also don't have a steady spine, any time I see them play they nearly always have a different fullback or center back. With the likes of Ratoath, Summerhill, Tones, Kells even Dunboyne and Na Fianna (to a lesser extent) have those 2 positions nailed down."
Lads

Lets get get one thing straight, Cilles are a very good club that do huge work at all levels, I have been a visitor here many a time.

Negative comments are unjust.

I was only raising a rumour which I had heard last week regarding a new club been formed.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 20/09/2022 14:33:17    2441317

Replying To seasiderblues:  "Ah here - what a lot of nonsense spouted here. Really you should not comment on any club without all the facts.

With that in mind, if maybe others worked like my club do (the Cilles - and proud) and if every club fought so hard for its community (bereft of any social infrastructure and failed by politicans!) as they do then the GAA as a whole would be stronger. To quote our minor winning manager when interviewed by media (go listen yourselves) - our club is young when it comes to winning anything. Its only recently that we've had any consistent success at underage and we are finding our way.

As for turning underage success into adult well there is a thesis in that for every club in this country. The other club that comes as close to Cilles in recent times at underage is Don Ash and they haven't won Senior Championships yet have they? So why jump on us. Same for many urban clubs in Ireland - many are intermediate. As for catering for players - yeah lads dont let the truth get in the way of a good dig and pop at the club. They haven't lost too many and look to their Premier teams to see how they are going.

But as I say lads - don't let the truth get in the way ,,,"
You said people shouldn't comment without all the facts!! Then proceeded to say that other clubs don't work like your club do. And that other clubs don't fight as hard as your club does for it's community . How do you know other clubs don't work as hard or fight as hard?

Perhaps you should heed some of your own advice about not commenting without all the facts.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 20/09/2022 14:36:02    2441318

Replying To seasiderblues:  "Ah here - what a lot of nonsense spouted here. Really you should not comment on any club without all the facts.

With that in mind, if maybe others worked like my club do (the Cilles - and proud) and if every club fought so hard for its community (bereft of any social infrastructure and failed by politicans!) as they do then the GAA as a whole would be stronger. To quote our minor winning manager when interviewed by media (go listen yourselves) - our club is young when it comes to winning anything. Its only recently that we've had any consistent success at underage and we are finding our way.

As for turning underage success into adult well there is a thesis in that for every club in this country. The other club that comes as close to Cilles in recent times at underage is Don Ash and they haven't won Senior Championships yet have they? So why jump on us. Same for many urban clubs in Ireland - many are intermediate. As for catering for players - yeah lads dont let the truth get in the way of a good dig and pop at the club. They haven't lost too many and look to their Premier teams to see how they are going.

Completely over the top and overly defensive post.

Nobody criticizing Colmcilles … nor is anyone overly bothered about them I'd say (personally had to think hard for a moment to remember if they are intermediate or senior). And loads of clubs work hard and fill gaps of incompetent political decisions regarding sports and recreation for youth. Relax.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 20/09/2022 14:57:57    2441323

Replying To thelutch:  "Happy enough with my predictions but gutted for my lads, had simonstown by the throat and let them go in extra time.

Big shock of course was with Curraha winning but Cilles seem to have been hit with an internal problem. Posted about this yesterday but didn't get approved.

Not sure this will either.

Ratoath should make it through with limited fuss.

Tones and The Hill will be a great contest, who was sent off for the tones ? Was it a fair call ? Is he definitely gone for semi ? If so that will give The Hill the edge.

Relegation is gonna be a dogfight at this stage.

Hopefully our lads can stay up, they deserve too."
Ye Simonstown would probably say they had Ballinabrackey by the throat in normal time too, 5 points up with 8 minutes to go. I wouldn't say Ballinabrackey deserve to stay up but they should. if they do go down after losing three relegation play off games they will deserve to.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 20/09/2022 19:03:42    2441356

I think you need to step back and take a breath and look through the posts.You rightly say the Cilles are working really hard to give people in the area an option of playing football(lesser extent hurling)and use the facilities and fair play to them for that.Id argue though isn't every club trying as hard some with more success than others but keeping a club alive is a success in my book.Turning underage success into Senior as you rightly say isn't easy to do.Two 1/4 finals in 5 years isn't ripping up trees we have to be honest but it takes time to nurture through talent.I think the Cilles are missing a bit of steel (you know the players who might not be the best technically but win the dirty ball, drive things on and well able to stand up for themselves.Midfield seems to be a bit of a problem for them.Think when the won leinster and Meath championship s they lost alot of experienced lads who had soldered for years and probably had to many miles on the clock for Senior (I mean to challenge for it) and left them with young lads who were raw enough for senior.There second team is in the premier 2 semi final mostly young lads and they won premier 5 with again mostly youngvlads.Their 4th team which has alot of the old guard 2016 team won back to back championships,so as you rightly say winning is fairly new at adult level but winning championship s will help in the future.But the other point been made is about numbers.You have probably 35/40 at least lads(girls as well very big in the club)from under 5 up to minor level in the club so how will they all get football at a decent level.Say you lose say half the players you are still talking about 250 kids/young adults plus what you have now looking to play football.So there is that argument maybe for a different club Thats what I think other posters are saying not really having a pop at the club(cilles).Other posters will say poor Cilles having so many to choose from (I get that point)but sometimes too many can be a hindrance as well.Players develop at different times and stages.Ratoath in fairness have brought through youngv lads and won a couple of seniors so compared to them Cilles are punching below their weight but think it might come in time.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 256 - 20/09/2022 21:21:08    2441367

Replying To Proudroyal:  "I think you need to step back and take a breath and look through the posts.You rightly say the Cilles are working really hard to give people in the area an option of playing football(lesser extent hurling)and use the facilities and fair play to them for that.Id argue though isn't every club trying as hard some with more success than others but keeping a club alive is a success in my book.Turning underage success into Senior as you rightly say isn't easy to do.Two 1/4 finals in 5 years isn't ripping up trees we have to be honest but it takes time to nurture through talent.I think the Cilles are missing a bit of steel (you know the players who might not be the best technically but win the dirty ball, drive things on and well able to stand up for themselves.Midfield seems to be a bit of a problem for them.Think when the won leinster and Meath championship s they lost alot of experienced lads who had soldered for years and probably had to many miles on the clock for Senior (I mean to challenge for it) and left them with young lads who were raw enough for senior.There second team is in the premier 2 semi final mostly young lads and they won premier 5 with again mostly youngvlads.Their 4th team which has alot of the old guard 2016 team won back to back championships,so as you rightly say winning is fairly new at adult level but winning championship s will help in the future.But the other point been made is about numbers.You have probably 35/40 at least lads(girls as well very big in the club)from under 5 up to minor level in the club so how will they all get football at a decent level.Say you lose say half the players you are still talking about 250 kids/young adults plus what you have now looking to play football.So there is that argument maybe for a different club Thats what I think other posters are saying not really having a pop at the club(cilles).Other posters will say poor Cilles having so many to choose from (I get that point)but sometimes too many can be a hindrance as well.Players develop at different times and stages.Ratoath in fairness have brought through youngv lads and won a couple of seniors so compared to them Cilles are punching below their weight but think it might come in time."
Fully agree, no need for the OTT reaction. Most of the comments were complimentary to Cilles' underage work.
That they are struggling to convert that to senior success is not unique to them. That's happening all over the GAA landscape as is worse since the reduction of minor to U17 IMO.

aghref (Meath) - Posts: 148 - 21/09/2022 13:39:31    2441417

Wolfe tones look like they know how to get over the line, but wouldn't write off summerhill who put in a great performance vs skryne. Ratoath should take care of na Fianna but got informed joey wallace is out with a bad knee injury.

rubia (Meath) - Posts: 26 - 23/09/2022 15:14:39    2441655

Tones V Summerhill has the makings of an excellent game. I had never written the Tones off this year but at the same time felt they weren't at the same levels of last year, and had thought they might have struggled against both Skryne and Kells. But they showed every bit of mental strength against Kells last week playing most of the game a man down, and even without Cian Ward, who most people (including myself) though was the only man that made them tick, they out muscled and out payed a Skryne team who at the time, were in flying form. Summerhill on the other hand, while having a mediocre league campaign, have gone from strength to strength this championship and really do look a dangerous outfit. With a gun to my head I would probably just about side with the Hill, but I certainly wouldn't be placing the house on this game at all. Has all the makings of a cracker.

Ratoath and Na Fianna is the less appealing of the two games from a neutral point of view. Many will have Ratoath as favorites, and rightly so given recent years form. The big pitch in Navan should suit Ratoaths speed and attacking style of play, where as a narrower pitch like Dunshaughlin or that would have been Na Fianna's preferred choice I would imagine. Walsh seems to be re-invigorated and playing very well for Na Fianna, however if he plays inside against McGill he will be eaten alive. And while I think Individually out the field Ratoath are better in almost every position, Na Fiannas fitness and team work ethic is what will challenge the former champions the most. If they can keep the game tight going into the last 10-15 minutes then I think they may be able to cause the upset. However if Ratoath start they way they did against Simonstown, Kells, and Moynalvey then they won't have to get out of second gear once again.

All in all, I'm looking forward to seeing both games next weekend, hopefully the weather clears up and we are treated to a good weekend of sport

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 23/09/2022 16:03:17    2441661

Looking like Summerhill will be big favourites against Wolfe tones. Is that justified? They beat a poor Skryne team comfortably and were only ok in the groups.

Ratoath should account for Na fianna with minimal fuss, Trim really should have won by 6+. Think Na fianna will struggle in pairc tailteann.
Ratoaths championship to lose

Meathgaalad (Meath) - Posts: 169 - 23/09/2022 16:12:38    2441662

Replying To ratlag:  "Tones V Summerhill has the makings of an excellent game. I had never written the Tones off this year but at the same time felt they weren't at the same levels of last year, and had thought they might have struggled against both Skryne and Kells. But they showed every bit of mental strength against Kells last week playing most of the game a man down, and even without Cian Ward, who most people (including myself) though was the only man that made them tick, they out muscled and out payed a Skryne team who at the time, were in flying form. Summerhill on the other hand, while having a mediocre league campaign, have gone from strength to strength this championship and really do look a dangerous outfit. With a gun to my head I would probably just about side with the Hill, but I certainly wouldn't be placing the house on this game at all. Has all the makings of a cracker.

Ratoath and Na Fianna is the less appealing of the two games from a neutral point of view. Many will have Ratoath as favorites, and rightly so given recent years form. The big pitch in Navan should suit Ratoaths speed and attacking style of play, where as a narrower pitch like Dunshaughlin or that would have been Na Fianna's preferred choice I would imagine. Walsh seems to be re-invigorated and playing very well for Na Fianna, however if he plays inside against McGill he will be eaten alive. And while I think Individually out the field Ratoath are better in almost every position, Na Fiannas fitness and team work ethic is what will challenge the former champions the most. If they can keep the game tight going into the last 10-15 minutes then I think they may be able to cause the upset. However if Ratoath start they way they did against Simonstown, Kells, and Moynalvey then they won't have to get out of second gear once again.

All in all, I'm looking forward to seeing both games next weekend, hopefully the weather clears up and we are treated to a good weekend of sport"
Summerhill with a mediocre league campaign.... Topped the league and won the final yeah that is mediocre I suppose.

Thestaters (Meath) - Posts: 13 - 23/09/2022 16:18:11    2441663

Replying To ratlag:  "Tones V Summerhill has the makings of an excellent game. I had never written the Tones off this year but at the same time felt they weren't at the same levels of last year, and had thought they might have struggled against both Skryne and Kells. But they showed every bit of mental strength against Kells last week playing most of the game a man down, and even without Cian Ward, who most people (including myself) though was the only man that made them tick, they out muscled and out payed a Skryne team who at the time, were in flying form. Summerhill on the other hand, while having a mediocre league campaign, have gone from strength to strength this championship and really do look a dangerous outfit. With a gun to my head I would probably just about side with the Hill, but I certainly wouldn't be placing the house on this game at all. Has all the makings of a cracker.

All in all, I'm looking forward to seeing both games next weekend, hopefully the weather clears up and we are treated to a good weekend of sport"
Did Summerhill not win the league ?? , Tones and Hill will be tight game alright, I think Na Fianna will give a better account of themselves than most people think, decent side

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 23/09/2022 19:17:56    2441672

Replying To Analyst:  "Did Summerhill not win the league ?? , Tones and Hill will be tight game alright, I think Na Fianna will give a better account of themselves than most people think, decent side"
My apologies, for some reason I had Kells in my head when thinking about the league, you're correct Summerhill did win the league I think. I still stand by my assessment though that it will be a very tight game and hard to call either way.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 26/09/2022 09:22:36    2441862

Looking forward to the 2 games this weekend. Summerhill probably have the better forwards man for man but Tones have brilliant mental strength, are so dogged around the middle and have good defenders. Wouldn't rule it going all the way to penalties but I'll just about give Summerhill the nod. In the other game Ratoath are clear favourites. It may sound strange given their big score lines but in the 3 games I've seen them they've not put together a full good game. Against Ashbourne they were on the ropes early and had clawed back in but the red cards really paved the way. Against Kells they were by a mile the better team but kept left them in the game. And against Moynalvey they got their work done early with the goals but Moynavley did have the majority of the ball. Having said that nobody has the level of scoring talent that Ratoath do. Even without Joey Wallace they have McMahon, Rodgers, B O'Brien, E Wallace, Jack Flynn, D McGowan who can all score 4+ from play and you aren't surprised. Na Fianna will probably need goals and using all their game intelligence and experience to slow the pace of the game and rely on Shane Walsh, Ethan Devine, Sean Martin and Jamie Queeney to come up with big plays. You'd have to side with Ratoath's additional firepower and they'll set up a repeat of the 2019 final with Summerhill

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 28/09/2022 17:56:40    2442168

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Looking forward to the 2 games this weekend. Summerhill probably have the better forwards man for man but Tones have brilliant mental strength, are so dogged around the middle and have good defenders. Wouldn't rule it going all the way to penalties but I'll just about give Summerhill the nod. In the other game Ratoath are clear favourites. It may sound strange given their big score lines but in the 3 games I've seen them they've not put together a full good game. Against Ashbourne they were on the ropes early and had clawed back in but the red cards really paved the way. Against Kells they were by a mile the better team but kept left them in the game. And against Moynalvey they got their work done early with the goals but Moynavley did have the majority of the ball. Having said that nobody has the level of scoring talent that Ratoath do. Even without Joey Wallace they have McMahon, Rodgers, B O'Brien, E Wallace, Jack Flynn, D McGowan who can all score 4+ from play and you aren't surprised. Na Fianna will probably need goals and using all their game intelligence and experience to slow the pace of the game and rely on Shane Walsh, Ethan Devine, Sean Martin and Jamie Queeney to come up with big plays. You'd have to side with Ratoath's additional firepower and they'll set up a repeat of the 2019 final with Summerhill"
I totally agree with that post. Actually looking forward to these games myself. As a total neutral I want to see some players for Meath team emerge

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/09/2022 21:01:31    2442186

Only seeing now that Cilles needed extra time to get over Senchalstown which i was a little surprised with.

I hope our neighbours Na Fianna can do the business however i just think Ratoath will have too much fire power for them and probably run out 5+ winners.

The Hill and The Tones will be like my house, nothing in it, wouldn't be surprised if we need to go the whole way with this one but if I was to really make a call I would say The Tones.

My beloved Bracks in another dogfight later but hopefully we can get over the line in which will be another close one and maintain our senior status.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 01/10/2022 13:26:04    2442408

Delighted that both bracks and cilles prevailed. However can someone from Omahony's tell me what has gone wrong. I think there is a old expression that Meath are only successful when they backed up by Omahony's players. I'm not having a go with any club. But does anyone from the club know what is going on ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/10/2022 18:42:12    2442435

Replying To royaldunne:  "Delighted that both bracks and cilles prevailed. However can someone from Omahony's tell me what has gone wrong. I think there is a old expression that Meath are only successful when they backed up by Omahony's players. I'm not having a go with any club. But does anyone from the club know what is going on ?"
Must have been a Navan O'Mahonys man who came up with that because the last 2 Meath teams to win All Irelands had no O'Mahonys players starting

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 01/10/2022 19:40:26    2442443

Replying To royaldunne:  "Delighted that both bracks and cilles prevailed. However can someone from Omahony's tell me what has gone wrong. I think there is a old expression that Meath are only successful when they backed up by Omahony's players. I'm not having a go with any club. But does anyone from the club know what is going on ?"
Delighted to see bracks prevail? Jesus they are dire on the eyes.
O mahonys were well in the game when They got a man wrongfully sent off. 7 for bracks should have went instead, O mahonys will go down as Sench will be too strong. Could find themselves in intermediate for a few years, no forwards!

Meathgaalad (Meath) - Posts: 169 - 01/10/2022 19:52:35    2442445

Replying To thelutch:  "Only seeing now that Cilles needed extra time to get over Senchalstown which i was a little surprised with.

I hope our neighbours Na Fianna can do the business however i just think Ratoath will have too much fire power for them and probably run out 5+ winners.

The Hill and The Tones will be like my house, nothing in it, wouldn't be surprised if we need to go the whole way with this one but if I was to really make a call I would say The Tones.

My beloved Bracks in another dogfight later but hopefully we can get over the line in which will be another close one and maintain our senior status."
To be fair, Seneschalstown beat Cilles in the group stages (and convincingly too) so it was a good result for them.
As expected, your lads had way too much for O'Mahonys today. Well deserved third season in Senior for ye and hopefully you can have a bit of luck in the draw for the groups next year. Think the trap door is opening for Navan.
I'm wary of Na Fianna tomorrow. If they hit their stride, they can be devastating and we've failed to fire for large parts of games so far this season. Last time they were in a semi final, they had Kells in the ropes before collapsing. We should have enough to win by 3 or 4 but I wouldn't be massively confident like I was in the quarter final.
Other semi final is a coin toss to me. As champions and slight underdogs, I'm just tipping Tones to have enough to get over the line but wouldn't bet against extra time.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 01/10/2022 19:58:29    2442446

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Must have been a Navan O'Mahonys man who came up with that because the last 2 Meath teams to win All Irelands had no O'Mahonys players starting"
Or in 1967 either

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 01/10/2022 21:09:39    2442459