Meath V Roscommon

Just seen team news. If Jordan Morris is not on from the start, I don't know what we're playing at.

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 05/02/2022 07:50:22    2398363

Redemption Day is nearly upon us! Best wishes to Andy Shane and the lads. Getting excited now. Jersey and jacket and flag ready to go.

Nervous enough bout our chances but feel alot better after seeing the team named! I reckon could be a master stroke by Andy as the players be chomping at the bit to get a result and play traditional Meath football with a strong running hamdpassing over the shoulder game.

Pairc Tailteann should suit us better as we won't have a Gale to contend with. Let the ball in high and watch young Banty do his stuff and I reckon Jordan Morris will start.

Roscommon as we know are no push overs but last time we played them in the Hyde we should have won only for ref to black card Donal and a ridiculous penalty at the end.

Expect it to be tight. Meath by 9. An Mhi Abu!!!

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 05/02/2022 11:30:43    2398387

Replying To cabbage:  "Just seen team news. If Jordan Morris is not on from the start, I don't know what we're playing at."
I'd say what we playing at is that teams are announced on a Wednesday I think for programs etc. and it was just said same as last week starting. Can see a few changes including Jordan Morris starting.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/02/2022 15:40:04    2398418

Replying To Evernal:  "Redemption Day is nearly upon us! Best wishes to Andy Shane and the lads. Getting excited now. Jersey and jacket and flag ready to go.

Nervous enough bout our chances but feel alot better after seeing the team named! I reckon could be a master stroke by Andy as the players be chomping at the bit to get a result and play traditional Meath football with a strong running hamdpassing over the shoulder game.

Pairc Tailteann should suit us better as we won't have a Gale to contend with. Let the ball in high and watch young Banty do his stuff and I reckon Jordan Morris will start.

Roscommon as we know are no push overs but last time we played them in the Hyde we should have won only for ref to black card Donal and a ridiculous penalty at the end.

Expect it to be tight. Meath by 9. An Mhi Abu!!!"
Yeah play the ball in high to the 5"5 corner forward, great idea.

Roscommon are probably better than Meath at the minute and looked quite good disposing of Cork, we will do well to get out this game with a win. But to beat them by 9? I think you must living on cloud delusion with Andy McEntee. And given how bad we were last week, there's serious serious pressure on this team.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 05/02/2022 18:11:02    2398453

Replying To hyperache:  "Yeah play the ball in high to the 5"5 corner forward, great idea.

Roscommon are probably better than Meath at the minute and looked quite good disposing of Cork, we will do well to get out this game with a win. But to beat them by 9? I think you must living on cloud delusion with Andy McEntee. And given how bad we were last week, there's serious serious pressure on this team."
Yes I'm glad you agree with me. And the best thing is it will be the last thing Rossies will expect. I've seen him in club and honestly he could play NBA he's got such a jump on him from a standing start. On his say he could be as good as D Clifford.

More pressure on Roscommon I say to do better than Galway. Nothing to lose but 2 points for Meath. So we just need to go out and enjoy the occasion. Gonna be more pressure games in the latter Stages of All Ireland than a Feb league match against Roscommon.

Yes it will be a close game but Meath are so much fitter I can see them pilfering 3 goals in the last 10 mins as Roscommon push up.

Maybe I'm wrong but that's just how I see the game closing out. We have to BELIEVE

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 05/02/2022 19:47:33    2398472

Replying To Evernal:  "Redemption Day is nearly upon us! Best wishes to Andy Shane and the lads. Getting excited now. Jersey and jacket and flag ready to go.

Expect it to be tight. Meath by 9. An Mhi Abu!!!"
Really? On the evidence of last weekend a 9 point win is a big ask.

Even a one point win would be more than welcome.

It's a massive game in the context of the season and a win is in them so hopefully the home ground will be a factot.

Meath by 2- hopefully!

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 06/02/2022 08:36:59    2398500

Best of luck to the lads today, like everyone else I would expect a few changes before throw in.
Hopefully we can put in a performance.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 06/02/2022 09:08:05    2398503

Best wishes to Shane Andy and all the players and back room members today. Time to show what we made of.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/02/2022 10:24:50    2398516

Hard to know what will happen today after last weeks no show. But with Roscommon missing a good few players and us being at home surely we should take advantage of this. This is such an important game for us if we lose we are in for a relegation scrap, win and we might stay in Div 2 . We really need to get on the scoreboard quickly today or heads will drop again. I really hope the lads put in a massive performance today and show us some possitivity for the year going forward.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 06/02/2022 10:57:06    2398525

No point with much analysis, end of the road for Andy, players look out of confidence and have no idea what they are doing.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 06/02/2022 15:27:38    2398558

We'd struggle in division 3

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 06/02/2022 15:37:11    2398562

Good win for our lads with so many out.
Hopefully Meath do the right thing and change manager NOW. His behaviour has been embarrassing for a while now. Constantly blaming refs and what not. Hadn't the manners to do interviews after last weeks game got himself sent off today.
And obviously results have been poor. That wasn't a strong Roscommon lineup today and Meath only came Into it when game was over. Best of luck for rest of the year anyway.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1149 - 06/02/2022 15:55:56    2398573

I'd back up what I said last week really after Salthill, to my eyes we now have a manager who has taken the players as far as he can take them. It's as simple as that in my opinion and doesent need much more analysis than that. When the hammer falls is now the question: more than likely after the championship. That isnt to say we can still salvage the league and stay in division 2, which now has to be number one priority.

You know, in all seriousness though, especially as a county that needs a few years to build up our successful minors and build back up a winning culture, a season or two in division 3 might not be the worst thing in the world between now and 2025/26. I honestly believe that's our level and perhaps its the best place for us to start at the ground and build up, because as it stands we have a tidy team and theyre respectable lads, but we're going nowhere and going nowhere very fast. Just a thought.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 06/02/2022 15:56:53    2398575

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "No point with much analysis, end of the road for Andy, players look out of confidence and have no idea what they are doing."
Thats about it ! Same old story for years ,and so same outcome . So predictable . No excuses !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 06/02/2022 15:58:07    2398576

Today was a dark day all around. Pairc Tailteann after 2 years with no games looked awful. Moss growing on the terrace. 3 turnstiles opened and a que as long to aldi. I saw a lot of people mostly older people coming with no tickets. They were being diverted to Beechmount but the ticket machine there was not working this morning. Poor communication. Common sense doesn't prevail. I know the gaa sanctioned that but surely co board should know where tickets can be got.
Then inside the ground. No scoreboard. Kids not allowed on the pitch at half time. No reason given for either. I'm sure there were kids who were very annoyed at that. Saw a lot of people with footballs in their arms watching the game. As for the on field action. Well its the end for this team. Manager out of ideas. Cant defend can't attack. Counted many times where 2 midfielders went for the 1 ball. Another sending off/ trouble with the referee. It's embarrassing at this stage. Co board need to take a good long hard look at themselves. Can they really accept this nonsense on and off the pitch? It's not good enough.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 06/02/2022 16:48:30    2398603

Replying To db9:  "Today was a dark day all around. Pairc Tailteann after 2 years with no games looked awful. Moss growing on the terrace. 3 turnstiles opened and a que as long to aldi. I saw a lot of people mostly older people coming with no tickets. They were being diverted to Beechmount but the ticket machine there was not working this morning. Poor communication. Common sense doesn't prevail. I know the gaa sanctioned that but surely co board should know where tickets can be got.
Then inside the ground. No scoreboard. Kids not allowed on the pitch at half time. No reason given for either. I'm sure there were kids who were very annoyed at that. Saw a lot of people with footballs in their arms watching the game. As for the on field action. Well its the end for this team. Manager out of ideas. Cant defend can't attack. Counted many times where 2 midfielders went for the 1 ball. Another sending off/ trouble with the referee. It's embarrassing at this stage. Co board need to take a good long hard look at themselves. Can they really accept this nonsense on and off the pitch? It's not good enough."
Agree with all of that. Let the kids on the pitch especially

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 06/02/2022 17:39:40    2398616

Replying To db9:  "Today was a dark day all around. Pairc Tailteann after 2 years with no games looked awful. Moss growing on the terrace. 3 turnstiles opened and a que as long to aldi. I saw a lot of people mostly older people coming with no tickets. They were being diverted to Beechmount but the ticket machine there was not working this morning. Poor communication. Common sense doesn't prevail. I know the gaa sanctioned that but surely co board should know where tickets can be got.
Then inside the ground. No scoreboard. Kids not allowed on the pitch at half time. No reason given for either. I'm sure there were kids who were very annoyed at that. Saw a lot of people with footballs in their arms watching the game. As for the on field action. Well its the end for this team. Manager out of ideas. Cant defend can't attack. Counted many times where 2 midfielders went for the 1 ball. Another sending off/ trouble with the referee. It's embarrassing at this stage. Co board need to take a good long hard look at themselves. Can they really accept this nonsense on and off the pitch? It's not good enough."
Yeah fair play, I agree with you. I personally think its time to start thinking about transitioning, i.e on the management and the panel. As I said above and throughout the last few years these lads have done well. Meath was on its knees until this coaching ticket came onboard and despite a few blips and several hiccups, they got Meath into division one for the first time in 14 years, they got to back-to-back Leinster finals and got to the Super 8s (All-Ireland series). They brought on a panel of lads who overacheived in getting that far, with only a few exceptions. Meath between 2019-2020 got out of the rabble and presented themselves very well and genuinely it was a huge acheivement all things considered. Since then they've slowly regressed and it does feel like the end of an era now - even if we're only a few games into the season. The future isnt bleak but Meath needs new vision going forward and we need to afford sensitivity to our younger players who will be coming through in the next 3-5 years. For me, it just seems very obvious that a line needs to be drawn and people need to move on in different directions from there. This season will be a write off.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 06/02/2022 17:53:23    2398623

We are building

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 893 - 06/02/2022 17:56:52    2398627

Not surprised with result or the shenanigans in Navan.

70% of the stewards just go for the free entry and a cup of tea.

As for the McEntee's ? You wont tell them what to do in Meath.

Will not criticise players, they give their best, we expecting too much out of this group of players.

I would not change management this year now, lets see who wants the job first and then come up with a 4 year plan to get back into top 8 teams in the country.

It can be done if we put in the correct foundations. Look at the smaller counties who have done it , Monaghan, Armagh, Roscommon. As for Derry, they were in division 4 in 2019, they top of division 2 this evening.

My noisy neighbours ( Offaly ) have even managed to sort out their problems.

We probably in joint 3rd with Westmeath in the rankings in Leinster just ahead of Offaly etc.

We rank around 14th in the country out of 32.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 06/02/2022 18:14:01    2398637

I could'nt make the game today. But another bad result, as was pointed numerous times. Mc Entee time is over. Nothing was ever going to change this year. He was voted out by CB and still he hangs on via clubs delegates. Now is time for to step aside and let some else have a go. Otherwise it will be pure waste of a year. Players deserve better and for him stay until the end of they year hand and save safe. I heard he got red card also. I mean we are really a complete shambles. Worst that I taught.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 06/02/2022 18:15:52    2398638