U20/U21 Football And Hurling Championship

Replying To Meathball:  "You are right, the County Board are fixing this final and running this U20's championship with the credit they think it deserves (it is just a big pain in the .... for them). They have tried to run off both championships in 14 days with half the teams only getting one game.
Regardless of who is playing in the U20 championship final, the game should not be in Dunganny for a myriad of reasons but now especially that a team contesting the final, Ballinabrackey/Clonard last big final win was the 1989 Minor Final in Pairc Tailteann, they should be back in Pairc Tailteann for this one.
The County Board whose main function is to develop Gaelic games in the County did everything to try and avoid having U20's football and U21 hurling competitions in the first place, announcing there would be no U20's/U21 championships in 2021. It was only after many clubs made applications to have their own U20's/U21tournaments that they were embarrassed into organising the U20's/U21 championships.
The most concerning thing is from a health and safety point of view, it is very alarming that the County Board have failed to learn from their mistakes and just go about repeating them.
I am very concerned that after the fiasco and major traffic hazard of only two months ago (the relegation final on the Friday night) where there were 5k tailbacks from Dunganny, people ended up parking on the busy road and walking it in the dark down to the pitch, the game was delayed and in order to end the chaos and very dangerous situation on the road, the people on the gate had to wave everyone through without paying or showing their tickets.
I really hope HS allow my comments appear on the forum as what they are proposing by fixing this championship final in Dunganny is creating a dangerous traffic hazard. The health and safety officer in the County Board should have demanded that another Final of the same nature should not be fixed in Dunganny again until there was a review of what happened at the relegation final and a new safety plan approved by An Garda Siochana be in place before fixing another big final again on a Friday night.
Even if the County Board have no respect for the competition, they should at the very least have concern in relation to patrons health and safety.
Play the game in Pairc Tailteann, play the B hurling final on Tuesday night, what is the big hurry?"
I am not involved with any of the teams in the Under 20 football finals but I would certainly go to watch the Bracks Dunshaughlin game if it was on on Saturday or Sunday
I can't make Friday nights due to work. I knock around with a group of lads and we would have all gone to this if it wasn't for the fact it's on Friday night!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 13/12/2021 14:31:02    2392684

Replying To Meathball:  "You are right, the County Board are fixing this final and running this U20's championship with the credit they think it deserves (it is just a big pain in the .... for them). They have tried to run off both championships in 14 days with half the teams only getting one game.
Regardless of who is playing in the U20 championship final, the game should not be in Dunganny for a myriad of reasons but now especially that a team contesting the final, Ballinabrackey/Clonard last big final win was the 1989 Minor Final in Pairc Tailteann, they should be back in Pairc Tailteann for this one.
The County Board whose main function is to develop Gaelic games in the County did everything to try and avoid having U20's football and U21 hurling competitions in the first place, announcing there would be no U20's/U21 championships in 2021. It was only after many clubs made applications to have their own U20's/U21tournaments that they were embarrassed into organising the U20's/U21 championships.
The most concerning thing is from a health and safety point of view, it is very alarming that the County Board have failed to learn from their mistakes and just go about repeating them.
I am very concerned that after the fiasco and major traffic hazard of only two months ago (the relegation final on the Friday night) where there were 5k tailbacks from Dunganny, people ended up parking on the busy road and walking it in the dark down to the pitch, the game was delayed and in order to end the chaos and very dangerous situation on the road, the people on the gate had to wave everyone through without paying or showing their tickets.
I really hope HS allow my comments appear on the forum as what they are proposing by fixing this championship final in Dunganny is creating a dangerous traffic hazard. The health and safety officer in the County Board should have demanded that another Final of the same nature should not be fixed in Dunganny again until there was a review of what happened at the relegation final and a new safety plan approved by An Garda Siochana be in place before fixing another big final again on a Friday night.
Even if the County Board have no respect for the competition, they should at the very least have concern in relation to patrons health and safety.
Play the game in Pairc Tailteann, play the B hurling final on Tuesday night, what is the big hurry?"
Pairc Tailteann is open on Saturday for the Trim Crossabeg / Ballymurn IFC game.

Could the Ballinabrackey/Clonard v Dunshaughlin game not have been played as a curtain raiser to this one?

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 13/12/2021 14:44:55    2392690

Replying To stillaroyal:  "Pairc Tailteann is open on Saturday for the Trim Crossabeg / Ballymurn IFC game.

Could the Ballinabrackey/Clonard v Dunshaughlin game not have been played as a curtain raiser to this one?"
Absolutely no way. Ridiculous suggestion from you.

Sure that would make way too much sense and be better for pretty much everyone involved........... Can't be having that now can we.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 13/12/2021 15:27:56    2392703

Replying To stillaroyal:  "Pairc Tailteann is open on Saturday for the Trim Crossabeg / Ballymurn IFC game.

Could the Ballinabrackey/Clonard v Dunshaughlin game not have been played as a curtain raiser to this one?"
Agreed but the Trim match would fall under the Leinster Council remit so adding in a Meath co board fixture may not be allowed ?

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 13/12/2021 16:32:52    2392717

I see from there report that costello went off at ht,how bad was his injury will he make the final,would imagine he'd be a bit of a loss if he didn't

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 14/12/2021 09:52:05    2392777

I see they have listened a bit, one game moved out of Dunganny Friday night.

Still wont solve traffic and parking problems in my opinion however.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 16/12/2021 08:40:31    2392977

Replying To thelutch:  "I see they have listened a bit, one game moved out of Dunganny Friday night.

Still wont solve traffic and parking problems in my opinion however."
2nd game out of dunganny now

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 16/12/2021 20:12:22    2393049

Replying To royal1967:  "2nd game out of dunganny now"
Don't see it moved on the website yet

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 17/12/2021 08:37:51    2393054

Can someone please explain how it is more dangerous from a health point of view for me to go to a game in Dunganny tonight at 8pm than If I was to attend that game if it was scheduled at 3pm? How does my chances of catching or transmitting the virus increase over those four hours?

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 17/12/2021 10:33:24    2393067

Replying To thelutch:  "Don't see it moved on the website yet"
Dunganny game now at 8.15

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 17/12/2021 12:46:46    2393088

Replying To Meathball:  "Can someone please explain how it is more dangerous from a health point of view for me to go to a game in Dunganny tonight at 8pm than If I was to attend that game if it was scheduled at 3pm? How does my chances of catching or transmitting the virus increase over those four hours?"
Not talking about virus, talking about traffic management/parking

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 17/12/2021 13:55:04    2393095

Congratulations to Dunshaughlin. Commiserations to Ballinabrackey/Clonard, especially as they were so close to winning it.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 18/12/2021 14:33:41    2393154

Well done to Dunshauglin and Tones. Hard luck to Bracks/Clonard a really good effort just pipped at the final hurdle. Also congrats to Sean O'Donoghoe, Jamie O'Shea, Aaron Murphy, Ruairi Kinsella and Donal Commons on winning the freshers all Ireland with NUI Maynooth. 4 of them starting. Great to have Meath guys successful at 3rd level, hopefully we'll see a good few Meath lads playing key roles in Sigerson teams in the next few years off the back of the Leinster minor teams.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 18/12/2021 14:45:02    2393157

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Well done to Dunshauglin and Tones. Hard luck to Bracks/Clonard a really good effort just pipped at the final hurdle. Also congrats to Sean O'Donoghoe, Jamie O'Shea, Aaron Murphy, Ruairi Kinsella and Donal Commons on winning the freshers all Ireland with NUI Maynooth. 4 of them starting. Great to have Meath guys successful at 3rd level, hopefully we'll see a good few Meath lads playing key roles in Sigerson teams in the next few years off the back of the Leinster minor teams."
Jamie Casserly from ballinlough too!

Northmeath1993 (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 18/12/2021 16:37:41    2393168

Replying To Northmeath1993:  "Jamie Casserly from ballinlough too!"
Didn't know he was on the team. Great to see such a Meath presence

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 18/12/2021 18:57:42    2393201

Great battle between two very committed teams in Dunganny.

Not sure where Dawson found six minutes of injury time and the sending off of David Carroll was scandalous but he was consistently poor for both side during the contest.

But take nothing away from Dunshauglin who took full advantage of the chances they created at the end.

Roll on 2022.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 18/12/2021 19:09:06    2393202

Replying To thelutch:  "Great battle between two very committed teams in Dunganny.

Not sure where Dawson found six minutes of injury time and the sending off of David Carroll was scandalous but he was consistently poor for both side during the contest.

But take nothing away from Dunshauglin who took full advantage of the chances they created at the end.

Roll on 2022."
Ballinabrackey should have won last night was a great game to watch for the neutral. They have a good crop of young players coming through for such a rural club and play a great brand of football I'd be questioning why David Carroll felt the need to kick the goalies kicking tee already on a yellow to waste time when they had the game for the taking more so then the sending off. Both great teams and either would have felt unlucky to lose last night.

CMAN1570 (Meath) - Posts: 53 - 18/12/2021 19:32:45    2393208

Replying To CMAN1570:  "Ballinabrackey should have won last night was a great game to watch for the neutral. They have a good crop of young players coming through for such a rural club and play a great brand of football I'd be questioning why David Carroll felt the need to kick the goalies kicking tee already on a yellow to waste time when they had the game for the taking more so then the sending off. Both great teams and either would have felt unlucky to lose last night."
I wasn't aware he did that but then again it was impossible to see much in Dunganny Friday night. Silly yellow card but maybe common sense should prevail, I did see young Ennis been sledged twice off the ball in front of neutral linesman and not to mention him been walked on in front of Dawson, but that's part of the game and we wont complain.

Terrible venue for any final as I already stated especially under lights.

Not even a scoreboard erected yet, fair play to Ballinabrackey twitter account, updates were 30 seconds behind every score on Friday night.

I couldn't even see who scored the goals down the other end of pitch.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 19/12/2021 13:54:47    2393255

It was a great fast game of football with the bracks/clonard just shading it imo but they just didn't kill off the game also some of there big players didn't turn for the big day(smullen) where as dunshauglin's big 2 (costello and Mitchell) really dragged them over the line

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 20/12/2021 09:18:30    2393301

Replying To thelutch:  "I wasn't aware he did that but then again it was impossible to see much in Dunganny Friday night. Silly yellow card but maybe common sense should prevail, I did see young Ennis been sledged twice off the ball in front of neutral linesman and not to mention him been walked on in front of Dawson, but that's part of the game and we wont complain.

Terrible venue for any final as I already stated especially under lights.

Not even a scoreboard erected yet, fair play to Ballinabrackey twitter account, updates were 30 seconds behind every score on Friday night.

I couldn't even see who scored the goals down the other end of pitch."
i think you just complained??
But yes, a great game, exciting finish. Terrible venue. Both teams had some v good players on show

VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 20/12/2021 10:35:21    2393306