U20/U21 Football And Hurling Championship

11 games in the U20/U21 football championship tonight.

In the A quarter finals, Kilmainham Drumbaragh were down to play Navan O'Mahonys when the draws were originally made. Now it says Killary Emmets will play O'Mahonys.

What's going on here? Have Kilmainham Drumbaragh pulled out or have they dropped down a grade and received a bye this weekend?

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 03/12/2021 13:04:47    2391538

Replying To summerof09:  "11 games in the U20/U21 football championship tonight.

In the A quarter finals, Kilmainham Drumbaragh were down to play Navan O'Mahonys when the draws were originally made. Now it says Killary Emmets will play O'Mahonys.

What's going on here? Have Kilmainham Drumbaragh pulled out or have they dropped down a grade and received a bye this weekend?"
Wolf tones were not included in the original draw by mistake so the draw was done again

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 04/12/2021 10:47:29    2391615

Replying To summerof09:  "11 games in the U20/U21 football championship tonight.

What's going on here? Have Kilmainham Drumbaragh pulled out or have they dropped down a grade and received a bye this weekend?"
Wolf tones were not included in the original draw by mistake so the draw was done again

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 04/12/2021 10:47:29    2391616

I see Wolfe Tones are down to play Trim tonight in the U20 football, and should they win that they'll play Navan O'Mahony's on Friday. That's a short enough recovery time in itself, but Wolfe Tones are also down to play U21 hurling tomorrow night against St. Patricks!

Now I know the St. Pat's/WT U21 hurling is likely to be fixture in name only since even at the best of times I'd be surprised if both clubs had enough players to field, but that's a tough fixture list....

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 08/12/2021 10:50:32    2392058

Replying To CastleBravo:  "I see Wolfe Tones are down to play Trim tonight in the U20 football, and should they win that they'll play Navan O'Mahony's on Friday. That's a short enough recovery time in itself, but Wolfe Tones are also down to play U21 hurling tomorrow night against St. Patricks!

Now I know the St. Pat's/WT U21 hurling is likely to be fixture in name only since even at the best of times I'd be surprised if both clubs had enough players to field, but that's a tough fixture list...."
Well, I'm pleasantly surprised to see that St. Patricks and Wolfe Tones did indeed field teams in the U21B hurling last night. Must be the first time in a few years for both clubs.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 10/12/2021 10:29:38    2392265

The big one last week was a close contest between Cilles and Dunshaughlin but the pick of the bunch tonight has to be Donaghmore/Ashbourne V Ballinabrackey/Clonard. After sweeping aside Simonstown last week the outliers will be no pushover for Don/Ash. People who watched them last week against Simonstown were raving about them, some felt they are good enough to win it outright, tonight will go a long way in finding that out.

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 10/12/2021 11:29:09    2392277

Replying To Meathball:  "The big one last week was a close contest between Cilles and Dunshaughlin but the pick of the bunch tonight has to be Donaghmore/Ashbourne V Ballinabrackey/Clonard. After sweeping aside Simonstown last week the outliers will be no pushover for Don/Ash. People who watched them last week against Simonstown were raving about them, some felt they are good enough to win it outright, tonight will go a long way in finding that out."
I don't think too many were Raving, the difference in the teams was taking their scores.

But your right, this is a completely different game tonight in Ashbourne, looking forward to it.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 10/12/2021 12:18:46    2392289

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Well, I'm pleasantly surprised to see that St. Patricks and Wolfe Tones did indeed field teams in the U21B hurling last night. Must be the first time in a few years for both clubs."
Well I think it is the first time ever for the Pat's so a great achievement for them and well done to to all involved in that club. It must be the first time in 10 years that the Tones also fielded in this grade. Playing hurling at this time of year is sheer madness and surely this competition needs to be held earlier in the year. I also see The Tones lads will be playing again tonight in the U20 football that's 3 nights in a row for them at this time of year where they have college exams and have to travel back home is crazy. How is this allowed where's the player welfare or safety in any of this. Running off these competitions in 3 weekends is a disgrace and just gives the competition no respect.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 10/12/2021 15:22:34    2392320

Thats a fair achievement for bracks/ clonard to beat don/ash in there own back yard and by all accounts were the best team over the hour.....what do u think now lutch can ye go all the way

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 11/12/2021 09:52:28    2392368

Replying To royal1967:  "Thats a fair achievement for bracks/ clonard to beat don/ash in there own back yard and by all accounts were the best team over the hour.....what do u think now lutch can ye go all the way"
Some achievement for Clonard and the Brack's, sets up a very promising final with Dunshaughlin next weekend. In fairness despite the time of year there has being great games with only the crossbar at the end of the game denying Summerhill last night.

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 11/12/2021 14:45:09    2392395

Fantastic for Clonard/Bracks. Looking at their team. 8 guys who have been on the Meath minors over the last 4 years on that team. Fantastic stuff and I don't think Dunshauglin are world beaters unless Matt Costello really puts them on his back which he is absolutely capable of. Tones looking strong in division 2. The momentum from a Keegan can often continue into this like it did for Dunboyne in 18 and Ratoath in 19's with 21's. Just on a side note I was at the Dunboyne vs Drumbaragh game and Jimmy Corcoran was playing. He was brilliant. A real pity for Meath football that he seems to be focused on soccer

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 11/12/2021 16:52:25    2392416

Replying To royal1967:  "Thats a fair achievement for bracks/ clonard to beat don/ash in there own back yard and by all accounts were the best team over the hour.....what do u think now lutch can ye go all the way"
Huge achievement , I am under the weather so unfortunately couldn't travel last night however I was in close contact with a friend during the game. We were in a great position going into last quarter but had to dig deep at the end to keep Don/Ash out for a winning goal.
Credit to this group of lads from both clubs, very committed and know how to win.
Management have our lads in great shape so credit to them also.
Where else would you get entertainment on December 10th under floodlights.
Looking forward to the final now and again it will be a very tight affair I would imagine.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 11/12/2021 19:31:18    2392455

Great result from the very rural south of our county. So south that it's nearly forgotten…..but a great contributor to the Royal cause…always.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 11/12/2021 21:45:37    2392492

Long term would clonard not be better to join up with the bracks to survive?

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 12/12/2021 10:37:37    2392513

Replying To hurlit:  "Long term would clonard not be better to join up with the bracks to survive?"
I think every club wants to hold on to their own identity no matter what that takes so it would not be as simple as Clonard should just join up with the Bracks.

I personally know very proud Clonard men who have spilled blood on the field and worked tirelessly to keep their great club going so it would not be very easy for them to just join up with the Bracks to survive, I believe Clonard will easily survive anyway.

However, I as a proud Bracks man who played underage with most of the Clonard boys would very much welcome the idea. The clock always takes a full turn and at present the Bracks are in a very good place as a club but 15 years does not be long coming around and who is to say that Clonard will be in a better place then ?

There is a very good relationship between the two clubs and both clubs always supported each other so that is a good start. It is no secret that Clonard are struggling on the field at present and if they were to approach us I would be very much for it.

Anyways roll on the U-20 final and hopefully we can create history again, I almost certain the last time both clubs contested a final together at the top tier was in 1989 (Minor ) when the Bracks/Clonard beat Senchalstown in the final, if memory serves me right a certain Niall Walsh came on and scored a goal at the age of 14. Johnny Dunne keeping Graham Geraghty in his pocket.

Great Memories.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 12/12/2021 12:24:49    2392528

That's what the county board ccc think of the U20 finals anyway. U20 proper championship final in Dunganny on a Friday night. Terrible appointment.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 13/12/2021 12:13:28    2392655

Replying To BigJoe14:  "That's what the county board ccc think of the U20 finals anyway. U20 proper championship final in Dunganny on a Friday night. Terrible appointment."
Very disappointing fixture for both teams and supporters.

Dunganny is no place to hold a fixture like this, terrible venue to try watch a game especially under lights.

I understand its to do with Dunshaughlin having a few lads hurling with Drumree is the reason of the Friday night fixture but surely other venues should have been considered.

Simonstown, Ashbourne, even Dunshaughlin itself. I understand it may be deemed in the middle of both clubs but nobody wants to play a final in Dunganny. NOBODY

The game deserved a better venue, an extra twenty minutes up to Ashbourne to sit in a stand for people would have been easily appreciated.

No common sense used again from the ccc.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 13/12/2021 12:37:54    2392661

Seems a bit strange that of the 8 Hurling and Football finals, 7 of them are in Dunganny. Can they not find a single club in the county to host them? Or even toss a coin for home venue, where the club grounds are good enough?

If it was about saving pitches, Dunganny probably has some of the heaviest used pitches in the county at the minute between county squads and being a venue for games that can't be held elsewhere, but now they're playing 7 games on the 2 pitches over the weekend?

If Ashbourne could host the Underdogs last weekend I'm sure it can take an U20/U21 final or 2 this week....

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 13/12/2021 13:06:16    2392667

Just been told that there is 3 finals on in Dunganny Friday night ?

WTF is going on ?

Who is going to direct traffic for a start on the main road ?

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 13/12/2021 13:19:29    2392670

Replying To thelutch:  "Very disappointing fixture for both teams and supporters.

Dunganny is no place to hold a fixture like this, terrible venue to try watch a game especially under lights.

I understand its to do with Dunshaughlin having a few lads hurling with Drumree is the reason of the Friday night fixture but surely other venues should have been considered.

Simonstown, Ashbourne, even Dunshaughlin itself. I understand it may be deemed in the middle of both clubs but nobody wants to play a final in Dunganny. NOBODY

The game deserved a better venue, an extra twenty minutes up to Ashbourne to sit in a stand for people would have been easily appreciated.

No common sense used again from the ccc."
You are right, the County Board are fixing this final and running this U20's championship with the credit they think it deserves (it is just a big pain in the .... for them). They have tried to run off both championships in 14 days with half the teams only getting one game.
Regardless of who is playing in the U20 championship final, the game should not be in Dunganny for a myriad of reasons but now especially that a team contesting the final, Ballinabrackey/Clonard last big final win was the 1989 Minor Final in Pairc Tailteann, they should be back in Pairc Tailteann for this one.
The County Board whose main function is to develop Gaelic games in the County did everything to try and avoid having U20's football and U21 hurling competitions in the first place, announcing there would be no U20's/U21 championships in 2021. It was only after many clubs made applications to have their own U20's/U21tournaments that they were embarrassed into organising the U20's/U21 championships.
The most concerning thing is from a health and safety point of view, it is very alarming that the County Board have failed to learn from their mistakes and just go about repeating them.
I am very concerned that after the fiasco and major traffic hazard of only two months ago (the relegation final on the Friday night) where there were 5k tailbacks from Dunganny, people ended up parking on the busy road and walking it in the dark down to the pitch, the game was delayed and in order to end the chaos and very dangerous situation on the road, the people on the gate had to wave everyone through without paying or showing their tickets.
I really hope HS allow my comments appear on the forum as what they are proposing by fixing this championship final in Dunganny is creating a dangerous traffic hazard. The health and safety officer in the County Board should have demanded that another Final of the same nature should not be fixed in Dunganny again until there was a review of what happened at the relegation final and a new safety plan approved by An Garda Siochana be in place before fixing another big final again on a Friday night.
Even if the County Board have no respect for the competition, they should at the very least have concern in relation to patrons health and safety.
Play the game in Pairc Tailteann, play the B hurling final on Tuesday night, what is the big hurry?

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 13/12/2021 14:03:58    2392679