Premier Football Division

The Prem Competition is susceptible to some of the darker arts employed to win silverware. Taking Dunboyne's Premier 6 team as an example. Absolutely hockeying teams in this division while their Premier 2 team is already giving walkovers after conceding 8-29 in two games. One might infer that their Prem 6 team is superior to their Prem 2 team. No rules are being broken but it is easy to see how this might be the case.

emmet (None) - Posts: 33 - 04/08/2021 15:05:01    2367600

Replying To emmet:  "The Prem Competition is susceptible to some of the darker arts employed to win silverware. Taking Dunboyne's Premier 6 team as an example. Absolutely hockeying teams in this division while their Premier 2 team is already giving walkovers after conceding 8-29 in two games. One might infer that their Prem 6 team is superior to their Prem 2 team. No rules are being broken but it is easy to see how this might be the case."
I don't think their premier 2 team can afford to give too many walkovers though. Think it's 2 and you're out. There is a provision for this in the rules for the 2021 championships (document on Meath GAA site):

" Where a club has a number of teams playing in different championships and a team withdraws or is removed (under rule 6.24 (b) (i) or (ii) TO) from the league stages of their championship then all their teams in the lower championships shall be automatically removed from their respective championships."

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 04/08/2021 16:58:04    2367648

Replying To Greenfield:  "I don't think their premier 2 team can afford to give too many walkovers though. Think it's 2 and you're out. There is a provision for this in the rules for the 2021 championships (document on Meath GAA site):

" Where a club has a number of teams playing in different championships and a team withdraws or is removed (under rule 6.24 (b) (i) or (ii) TO) from the league stages of their championship then all their teams in the lower championships shall be automatically removed from their respective championships.""
Thank you for that Greenfield, I was unaware of that rule. It will be interesting to see if such a rule is enforced. I would much prefer to see them field a team and give games to their players and the opposition. It does not however take away from the possibility that their Prem 6 team is a superior team to that in the Prem 2.

emmet (None) - Posts: 33 - 04/08/2021 18:53:03    2367702

Replying To emmet:  "Thank you for that Greenfield, I was unaware of that rule. It will be interesting to see if such a rule is enforced. I would much prefer to see them field a team and give games to their players and the opposition. It does not however take away from the possibility that their Prem 6 team is a superior team to that in the Prem 2."
They are definitely acting the maggot there

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 04/08/2021 22:13:21    2367788

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "They are definitely acting the maggot there"
This often happens in clubs where a clique a lads play for the 3rd team and not the second team as they are pally with the 3rd team manager or he the said manager is trying hard to live up to 3rd team stereotypes and his team is seen as more craic than the 2nd team which might contain more dedicated but limited players. Not saying this is situation in Dunboyne as I don't know the club there other than that there is prob still a cohort of lads in late 30s who've been playing together since u10s and who won the Keegan cup in mid 00s.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1320 - 05/08/2021 07:14:13    2367820

Just an aside dunboyne old junior D side was always their hurlers who wanted to play football. They never trained and just played in junior D. That is now their PFC Div 6 side.
Not really acting the maggot but the club now needs to ensure they field in Div 2 or out both go

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 05/08/2021 08:08:40    2367822

Replying To Brownepat:  "Just an aside dunboyne old junior D side was always their hurlers who wanted to play football. They never trained and just played in junior D. That is now their PFC Div 6 side.
Not really acting the maggot but the club now needs to ensure they field in Div 2 or out both go"
To be fair to Dunboyne they have kept a number of underage footballers together and they are not available to any other team. David Gallagher is managing this in order to develop players that may have walked away or lost their better players to another team. They have definitely been placed in the wrong league which is a pity as these games cant possibly be competitive enough for them and may not have the long term desired effect. Good idea though for those clubs that have the number of players to do it. The principle of developing and retaining players beyond the U20 mark where many late developers can fall by the wayside is not a bad idea for our inter county set up if done in tandem with the current 3 year development plan though.

ABK67 (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 05/08/2021 09:51:37    2367846

IMO the CB have got it wrong with the number of players you have to name for 1st team that can't play for 2nd team. The CB will have to address this problem as it doesn't do anything to improve the standard of football. Having 1st team players playing for the first couple of rounds and then have to give walk overs for the last couple of rounds because all 1st teamers are playing at own level.

CheCastro (Meath) - Posts: 13 - 05/08/2021 11:07:36    2367873

Replying To CheCastro:  "IMO the CB have got it wrong with the number of players you have to name for 1st team that can't play for 2nd team. The CB will have to address this problem as it doesn't do anything to improve the standard of football. Having 1st team players playing for the first couple of rounds and then have to give walk overs for the last couple of rounds because all 1st teamers are playing at own level."
I don't think that is actually the case. Unless it was changed the original idea was that apart from the players named everyone else could move up and down between teams. One part of this championship which is daft is if you finish in bottom four out of eight you go into a relegation play off

johnsee (Meath) - Posts: 389 - 05/08/2021 12:41:05    2367909

Replying To johnsee:  "I don't think that is actually the case. Unless it was changed the original idea was that apart from the players named everyone else could move up and down between teams. One part of this championship which is daft is if you finish in bottom four out of eight you go into a relegation play off"
You're right in what you say but once you play 1st round of championship you cannot go back down to lower grade.

CheCastro (Meath) - Posts: 13 - 05/08/2021 15:12:05    2367975

Replying To CheCastro:  "You're right in what you say but once you play 1st round of championship you cannot go back down to lower grade."
Correct.

LettuceBFrank (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 10/08/2021 11:21:38    2369452

Replying To LettuceBFrank:  "Correct."
Don't think so that was in the old system this is different. In the bye laws section on the premier it only mentions the number of players you name

johnsee (Meath) - Posts: 389 - 10/08/2021 12:11:51    2369482

Replying To johnsee:  "Don't think so that was in the old system this is different. In the bye laws section on the premier it only mentions the number of players you name"
I thought the same as you but we got it queried with the County board and the 15 players who play in the 1st round of the Championship are tied to that team. If any subs come on they are also tied

LettuceBFrank (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 10/08/2021 13:59:52    2369526

Replying To LettuceBFrank:  "I thought the same as you but we got it queried with the County board and the 15 players who play in the 1st round of the Championship are tied to that team. If any subs come on they are also tied"
So basically means they are making it up as they go along. So a guy plays five minutes for club first team this weekend and he's possibly finished with football for the year. One of the reasons this was introduced was to stop this happening. A Farce as usual from our co. Board

johnsee (Meath) - Posts: 389 - 10/08/2021 14:37:01    2369544

Replying To johnsee:  "So basically means they are making it up as they go along. So a guy plays five minutes for club first team this weekend and he's possibly finished with football for the year. One of the reasons this was introduced was to stop this happening. A Farce as usual from our co. Board"
I wouldn't say that. The naming 10 players was brought in , as for the 1st time the Premier/Junior games preceded their 1st team games. The playing 5mins and begin cuptied is and was always a danger. Some managers much better at this then others.

It's harsher on the teams that have had to face a senior team 2nd team in first few games. Then again the Premier championship hasn't worked in my eyes. It's devalued things. V strange to have 1st eams in Div 3 say of it also, who will be playing depleted 2nd teams in next few rounds. I'm sure a Junior B championship be a lot better to win then a Premier. But I get the idea of not wanting stronger town teams 3rd teams come up the ranks.

Jimmycricket (Meath) - Posts: 113 - 10/08/2021 16:32:19    2369599

Replying To johnsee:  "So basically means they are making it up as they go along. So a guy plays five minutes for club first team this weekend and he's possibly finished with football for the year. One of the reasons this was introduced was to stop this happening. A Farce as usual from our co. Board"
The simple answer there is not to play a lad for 5 minutes if that's all he's going to get for the year. I've yet to meet anyone who was under the impression the new system was to allow players play multiple grades at the same time.

Clubs have to be honest with themselves and if they don't have the numbers to field 2/3 teams then don't enter 2/3 teams before giving out that you can't play the same players on both teams.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1650 - 10/08/2021 16:42:46    2369601

I reckon the ruling on players was to encourage as many clubs as possible to enter and to only name genuine players and not like it used to be with lads in US, Oz, retired and in cases near enough in the graveyard. It was envisaged that it be only for reserve teams and then they would be all on a level playing field, With a number of 1st teams entering it is a bit off centre this year but I believe in 2022 they will all have to play Junior B which will be better for most.

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 11/08/2021 08:34:59    2369716

Replying To CastleBravo:  "The simple answer there is not to play a lad for 5 minutes if that's all he's going to get for the year. I've yet to meet anyone who was under the impression the new system was to allow players play multiple grades at the same time.

Clubs have to be honest with themselves and if they don't have the numbers to field 2/3 teams then don't enter 2/3 teams before giving out that you can't play the same players on both teams."
That's a bit of a daft statement now. First of all nobody is saying that competition is to allow players to play multiple grades. Secondly you are basically saying a manager shouldn't put on a sub for a few minutes to try and win a game even if he's not a regular on first team. Then you are suggesting a club should say to maybe a dozen players or so sorry lads with keeping subs for playing on first team only we won't have enough to put in a reserve team.
Simple answer is like the old B league system name 15 then after first round of first team competition the 15 that start becomes the new list everyone else after that should be allowed move up and down. You have to remember this is a reserve competition everyone is in the same boat not like the old junior championship. And anyway with clubs two teams playing same weekend the top 3 or 4 subs probably won't be available for reserve team.

johnsee (Meath) - Posts: 389 - 13/08/2021 08:21:10    2370350

This is a shambles of a competition…been looking at some of the scorelines across the groups…. Between walkovers and and absolute hammerings, I'd be curious to see if any clubs are seeing value in it? Player development, etc.

Up4deMatch (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 28/09/2021 10:52:12    2383278

It's a farcical competition from top to bottom. No enthusiasm from any team towards it.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 937 - 28/09/2021 11:14:46    2383285