Meath U20's

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I agree more organised and better coached side won tonight and i don't mean that that in a disparaging way to the meath management rather that this Dublin team obviously have had more continuity and the management more time with the players. If the meath management had got another few weeks with the players i think they'd have beaten Dublin.

Or alternatively if the previous manager had shown some belief in this group of players and not abandoned them over the availability of 2 players they would have had that continuity and would have been better placed to Beat Dublin last night.

Well done to players and current management for a real gutsy performance under different circumstances."
That should say difficult circumstances not different circumstances.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 16/07/2021 09:49:38    2360308

Well done to all on a gutsy performance.
What went before I will not comment on as I know a couple of people personally, involved in that situation and it would be highly inappropriate to write anything about it.
We scored 13 times Dublin scored 11. But 4 goals.
Hopefully some of these can now push on to seniors.
Again well done to all involved

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/07/2021 10:41:50    2360324

Replying To Analyst:  "You must have your head stick.in sand, a lot of poor sides have won Keegan particularly in last 10 years or so, i don't know or have never even met Davy Byrne by the way. Ratoath team in 2019 were excellent and played great football. It was Byrne and his management team that led them to this, that can never be denied"
I like you am a big Davy Byrne fan and think he did an amazing job while at Ratoath
I also don't know him, spoke to him once or twice and found him to be a sound lad
But also Brian Farrel came in to Ratoath in difficult circumstances and with a split panel , he pulled them together and went on to win the Keegan cup
He also did an amazing job and you are being completely unfair to say they were a poor team
Far from it

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 16/07/2021 10:49:02    2360330

I felt really sorry for the Meath U20 team and management. They had little time to prepare, had a shakey start looked out of it and showed awesome spirit and tremendous team football to get back. The 2 sucker goals in the second half on top of a lot of unfortunate wides seemed to seal it but they totally bossed Dublin in the second half. They lost the match but won the respect of all there.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 16/07/2021 11:25:26    2360345

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "Irrespective of Result & no matter at what stage we bowed out of this Competition, without a doubt the Circus that was created around this group was a disgrace. yet again, we are looking at possibly a missed opportunity. How many have we allowed to slip through or fingers over the last 20 years due to us shooting ourselves in the foot. Please, can we stop the bullsh*t around Resources & Funding...once & for all...until we get our house in order. Can we at least promise on this site to each other that we wont talk about the inequalities UNTIL...we are doing most things correctly.
I have great sympathy for ALL involved last night,
Offaly showing how things can change btw....and it will be a real wake up call I hope to us , if their u20 team manage to land this football leinster title"
I agree. The CB have published this development and succession plan which involved John McCarthy coming in next year as selector under Flynn. Flynn has jumped ship now so hopefully the CB will ask McCarthy to take the job a year earlier than planned. I think this would be the correct call as he did a brilliant job with the 2020 minors and has proven himself. And confirm him within the next few weeks so he can get started ASAP.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 16/07/2021 11:41:18    2360354

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I agree. The CB have published this development and succession plan which involved John McCarthy coming in next year as selector under Flynn. Flynn has jumped ship now so hopefully the CB will ask McCarthy to take the job a year earlier than planned. I think this would be the correct call as he did a brilliant job with the 2020 minors and has proven himself. And confirm him within the next few weeks so he can get started ASAP."
Could we have won if the bullsxt hadnt have happened with management.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 16/07/2021 17:12:14    2360465

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Could we have won if the bullsxt hadnt have happened with management."
Obviously we'll never know now but on the evidence of last night I believe we definitely could have. That's the most disappointing aspect of this. That Dublin team were there for the taking. If the current management had a couple of more weeks to work with them i believe we could have beaten them.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 16/07/2021 18:35:56    2360482

Better performance than I thought we would give, maybe the best at this age grade in the last few years? Not even mentioning the missing players but even if we had the same management team since the beginning it might have been enough to get over the line. Beating Dublin at u20 has to be a target for us as a county and we were v close this year.

Credit has to be given Barry Callaghan and Sean Kelly and their team of selectors for coming in at short notice at what probably many lads wouldn't take up. I believe they put the panel of players first and fair play to them for doing the right thing for progression of Meath football. Also credit to the players, never gave up when it would have been easy at times during the game with all that has gone on.

The county board need to learn from this and make a new plan and have a manager appointed by the start of the club championship in August which is a realistic target I think. Hopefully it isn't left until November/December.

Barney12345 (Meath) - Posts: 33 - 16/07/2021 23:47:00    2360547

Replying To Barney12345:  "Better performance than I thought we would give, maybe the best at this age grade in the last few years? Not even mentioning the missing players but even if we had the same management team since the beginning it might have been enough to get over the line. Beating Dublin at u20 has to be a target for us as a county and we were v close this year.

Credit has to be given Barry Callaghan and Sean Kelly and their team of selectors for coming in at short notice at what probably many lads wouldn't take up. I believe they put the panel of players first and fair play to them for doing the right thing for progression of Meath football. Also credit to the players, never gave up when it would have been easy at times during the game with all that has gone on.

The county board need to learn from this and make a new plan and have a manager appointed by the start of the club championship in August which is a realistic target I think. Hopefully it isn't left until November/December."
Would the incoming management not have the right to ask that they would have access to all eligible players, why would anyone take the job on with one hand tied behind their back. A lot of people don't want to discuss the situation with 20's as it suits to brush it under the carpet. Flynn and co were 100% right in their stance.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 17/07/2021 09:50:35    2360579

Replying To Analyst:  "Would the incoming management not have the right to ask that they would have access to all eligible players, why would anyone take the job on with one hand tied behind their back. A lot of people don't want to discuss the situation with 20's as it suits to brush it under the carpet. Flynn and co were 100% right in their stance."
Flynn and co walked away over 2 players and abandoned a full panel of lads with little or no regard for them or how hard the had worked for 6 months. Fine be annoyed but there is more constructive ways to handle the situation than leaving a large group of young lads in the lurch a few weeks before championship.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 17/07/2021 11:32:15    2360599

Replying To Analyst:  "Would the incoming management not have the right to ask that they would have access to all eligible players, why would anyone take the job on with one hand tied behind their back. A lot of people don't want to discuss the situation with 20's as it suits to brush it under the carpet. Flynn and co were 100% right in their stance."
Yes of course all this stuff should all be dealt with fully by CB before anything for any manager. We can only HOPE that the CB will learn from events. Maybe they will attempt to set standards on all relevant areas to improve Meath football .After all they are accountable ultimately. With the honour of serving on CB goes the RESPONSIBILITY and ACCOUNTABILITY. Perhaps after this short season at intercounty level CB will show leadership by clearly demonstrating that they learn from mistakes and act appropriately.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 17/07/2021 11:38:10    2360602

Replying To nobull456:  "Yes of course all this stuff should all be dealt with fully by CB before anything for any manager. We can only HOPE that the CB will learn from events. Maybe they will attempt to set standards on all relevant areas to improve Meath football .After all they are accountable ultimately. With the honour of serving on CB goes the RESPONSIBILITY and ACCOUNTABILITY. Perhaps after this short season at intercounty level CB will show leadership by clearly demonstrating that they learn from mistakes and act appropriately."
Why are you assuming that the CB mishandled the U 20 situation ? It was a simple situation of the senior manager overruling the junior u 20 manager , due to circumstances brought about by injurys and on field discipline sanctions . I suspect that Flynn now in hindsight regrets his action in jumping ship , but were Dublin a bridge too far for him anyway ?

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 17/07/2021 12:44:12    2360621

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Flynn and co walked away over 2 players and abandoned a full panel of lads with little or no regard for them or how hard the had worked for 6 months. Fine be annoyed but there is more constructive ways to handle the situation than leaving a large group of young lads in the lurch a few weeks before championship."
Well said Blackspot ! I like you am fed up with all these soft praise merchants . Call a spade a spade . On this evidence Bernard not up to county management and perhaps we are lucky to find that out now rather than in a few weeks if the senior position become available ,as no doubt the soft performance posters would be calling for his elevation to senior ranks . I don't think he would even be considered for a club position at this point

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 17/07/2021 12:55:54    2360628

The senior manager should always have the option to call up any player . Simple . Bernard miscalculated and showed he was not up to county management . Cannot understand anyone backing his stance ...

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 17/07/2021 12:59:27    2360632

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Could we have won if the bullsxt hadnt have happened with management."
I honestly think we were lucky to come as close as we did . We scored only 6 points from play which is a disaster at this level in almost 70 mins . When Dublin came under a bit of pressure they caught the game by the scruff and buried us in a few mins . This soft posting of praise for our performance only does us damage in the long term and our results are showing this over the last few years . We need to call a defeat a defeat

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 17/07/2021 13:05:20    2360636

Replying To noluso:  "I honestly think we were lucky to come as close as we did . We scored only 6 points from play which is a disaster at this level in almost 70 mins . When Dublin came under a bit of pressure they caught the game by the scruff and buried us in a few mins . This soft posting of praise for our performance only does us damage in the long term and our results are showing this over the last few years . We need to call a defeat a defeat"
Were dublin that good i beg to differ.we got a 45 last few mins and all i could hear was put it into the square.jnr level coaching they got last goal off it from turnover.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 17/07/2021 20:03:21    2360812

Replying To noluso:  "The senior manager should always have the option to call up any player . Simple . Bernard miscalculated and showed he was not up to county management . Cannot understand anyone backing his stance ..."
Put it this way…

Meath will get hammered tomorrow and then it's year over , ball burst. No div 1. Hammered by Dublin again. U20s usual crap year bet at first hurdle. Another crap year for the county.

However if the 3 lads had been allowed play u20 then we may well have have beaten Dublin, in fact with the better management team and less chaos I'm sure we would have. Then we'd at least have a bit of progress at u20 level to show for ourselves from the year and the scalp of Dublin at that level for first time in years.

Flynn and co knew this. Others can't see the wood from the trees and have big egos. It's about progress. Senior is a write off from the get go. We have to build. We are going nowhere.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1320 - 17/07/2021 20:58:21    2360838

Replying To Crinigan:  "Put it this way…

Meath will get hammered tomorrow and then it's year over , ball burst. No div 1. Hammered by Dublin again. U20s usual crap year bet at first hurdle. Another crap year for the county.

However if the 3 lads had been allowed play u20 then we may well have have beaten Dublin, in fact with the better management team and less chaos I'm sure we would have. Then we'd at least have a bit of progress at u20 level to show for ourselves from the year and the scalp of Dublin at that level for first time in years.

Flynn and co knew this. Others can't see the wood from the trees and have big egos. It's about progress. Senior is a write off from the get go. We have to build. We are going nowhere."
Look I agree that the 2 senior lads should play under 20's. But where's the evidence it's was a better management team. They were getting destroyed in challenge games and by all accountants weren't near the level that they played to on Thursday. Sean Kelly has done well with Meath, Dunboyne and Ardee as a coach. Barry Callaghan was manager of the first Meath team to beat the Dubs at minor in years when he done it in 2016. Bernard Flynn was a brilliant player. Has he done anything to be considered a great manager. And his woe is me attention seeking stuff on social media has turned me off him. And like I said I think Costello and Hickey should have played 20's. But I still don't think Flynn's a better manager than Callaghan. And I don't think any of the coaches he had are better than Sean Kelly (Shane Supple aside he's a keeper coach and a good one, we need to keep him around).

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 17/07/2021 21:42:18    2360858

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Look I agree that the 2 senior lads should play under 20's. But where's the evidence it's was a better management team. They were getting destroyed in challenge games and by all accountants weren't near the level that they played to on Thursday. Sean Kelly has done well with Meath, Dunboyne and Ardee as a coach. Barry Callaghan was manager of the first Meath team to beat the Dubs at minor in years when he done it in 2016. Bernard Flynn was a brilliant player. Has he done anything to be considered a great manager. And his woe is me attention seeking stuff on social media has turned me off him. And like I said I think Costello and Hickey should have played 20's. But I still don't think Flynn's a better manager than Callaghan. And I don't think any of the coaches he had are better than Sean Kelly (Shane Supple aside he's a keeper coach and a good one, we need to keep him around)."
Where's the evidence that they were not a better coaching team?

We will never know. It's a matter of opinion but I personally thought it was a much better managent team and had the important ingredient of plenty of outside views and experiences and God knows we need that!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1320 - 17/07/2021 22:15:24    2360874

Would agree with a lot of what you say LeitrimRoyal99. Wouldn't be overly happy with the way Flynn handled the whole situation and people were calling for him to be senior manager, what track record has he in management?

I would also say this isn't one of the greatest Dublin u20 teams I have seen in the last few years, I doubt the Dublin senior team will be relying on many of them in the future. But a result against Dublin would have been massive for Meath football.

There is only one way to handle the senior players playing for u20 or not. There is a rule in Offaly and I'm sure other counties that states any player u20 cannot play with the senior team in championship. That would be the way to sort it out for once and all. This idea of managers making verbal and written agreements is too messy and can vary from year to year. Let the club delegates vote on such a rule.

I would be of the opinion that if a player as influential as Cathal Hickey has been for the senior team is going to start for our senior team he should probably prioritise the senior team.

Barney12345 (Meath) - Posts: 33 - 17/07/2021 23:32:02    2360887