New Additions For Meath Panel 2020...

I'm pretty sure I've heard Shane Geraghty and Conor McHugh mentioned as potential keepers every year since Brendan Murphy retired, and the two of them have definitely been involved in the senior and junior panels at various stages. (McHugh even came on as a sub in a championship game vs. Tyrone IIRC).

There must be solid reasons why they've never really gotten a proper run across several managers over the course of a decade.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 05/08/2019 15:11:33    2221163

Replying To CastleBravo:  "I'm pretty sure I've heard Shane Geraghty and Conor McHugh mentioned as potential keepers every year since Brendan Murphy retired, and the two of them have definitely been involved in the senior and junior panels at various stages. (McHugh even came on as a sub in a championship game vs. Tyrone IIRC).

There must be solid reasons why they've never really gotten a proper run across several managers over the course of a decade."
Spoke to one former Meath manager who had Geraghty in and he said he was always claiming to be injured.
McHugh I actually coached at Oldcastle and he told me straight out he didn't want to play in goal for anyone.

BoynesideBlue (Meath) - Posts: 130 - 05/08/2019 15:59:45    2221186

Fed up of people mentioning names that have already been given chances without showing any real potential of being long term options. Brennan did well at weekend. Leave him there until a better alternative is found but I'm afraid that those tried before didn't cut it for one reason or another.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 507 - 05/08/2019 16:27:43    2221204

Replying To winatallcost:  "Fed up of people mentioning names that have already been given chances without showing any real potential of being long term options. Brennan did well at weekend. Leave him there until a better alternative is found but I'm afraid that those tried before didn't cut it for one reason or another."
Agreed.

BoynesideBlue (Meath) - Posts: 130 - 05/08/2019 17:05:27    2221224

Replying To Bear10:  "Players maybe to look out for and maybe included for league are Conor Frayne from Summerhill corner forward , oisin and fionn reilly forwards from Kells, Sean rafferty and shane geraghty full back and keeper from na Fianna, Cian McBride midfield from ultans and harry Rooney midfield skryne has to be encouraged to play"
Frayne is a savage free taker by all accounts or am I thinking of the brother?

Jaysus what id do for a Dean Rock type for this Meath team. So many games this year we've lost momentum due to poor freetaking, right back to the loss to Donegal in the first league match when we had 2/3 chances to extend the lead, to the league final to the Dublin match, again against Mayo in second half and then last Saturday against Kerry. So so many kickable frees squandered.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 05/08/2019 18:30:25    2221251

Replying To winatallcost:  "Fed up of people mentioning names that have already been given chances without showing any real potential of being long term options. Brennan did well at weekend. Leave him there until a better alternative is found but I'm afraid that those tried before didn't cut it for one reason or another."
Agreed . Also fed up with people mentioning names of lads who might have played for meath in the recent past and how they have to be called in without looking at their form and how they are doing for their clubs . Shouldn't Just be called into the panel on the strength of some good performances for meath 2 years ago. Should be on your current form over here course of the last year or so.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 05/08/2019 18:59:45    2221268

Priority has to be keeper and kick out strategy, until we get this long term issue sorted its difficult to see how we can progress. It has affected confidence, fatigue levels and must surely disrupt any game plan if we keep conceeding easy possession.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 05/08/2019 19:33:26    2221285

Replying To seadog54:  "Priority has to be keeper and kick out strategy, until we get this long term issue sorted its difficult to see how we can progress. It has affected confidence, fatigue levels and must surely disrupt any game plan if we keep conceeding easy possession."
I believe if we improve our kicking game from out the field we can also save energy rather than running the ball every time. A play maker around midfield/half forward line is also a must.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 507 - 05/08/2019 20:44:35    2221325

Replying To Crinigan:  "Frayne is a savage free taker by all accounts or am I thinking of the brother?

Jaysus what id do for a Dean Rock type for this Meath team. So many games this year we've lost momentum due to poor freetaking, right back to the loss to Donegal in the first league match when we had 2/3 chances to extend the lead, to the league final to the Dublin match, again against Mayo in second half and then last Saturday against Kerry. So so many kickable frees squandered."
Rock has a lot of strings to his bow aside from free taking. In many respects he's the complete package. You're dead right. This team is crying out for someone like him.

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 06/08/2019 03:31:32    2221413

Replying To Aloblack:  "Agreed . Also fed up with people mentioning names of lads who might have played for meath in the recent past and how they have to be called in without looking at their form and how they are doing for their clubs . Shouldn't Just be called into the panel on the strength of some good performances for meath 2 years ago. Should be on your current form over here course of the last year or so."
This has been mentioned in a recent post in relation to the Wallace brothers. IMHO I think they've had their day in the sun. Time to move on. Harry Rooney would be the perfect complimentary choice to partner Mention.

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 06/08/2019 03:36:40    2221414

Forget about a bunch of them boys McKeever, Conlon Rooney, Geraghty, McHugh consign them to the walk abouts like Paddy ORourke who at least came out and said what he thought. None of them have the desire or attitude to be part of any plans for a progressive Meath team.
Sean Reilly and Danny Quinn are players that showed with Meath juniors that he may have something to offer, very few of the Meath u20s looked anywhere near the standard required on their displays this year

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 06/08/2019 10:21:01    2221469

Replying To Brownepat:  "Forget about a bunch of them boys McKeever, Conlon Rooney, Geraghty, McHugh consign them to the walk abouts like Paddy ORourke who at least came out and said what he thought. None of them have the desire or attitude to be part of any plans for a progressive Meath team.
Sean Reilly and Danny Quinn are players that showed with Meath juniors that he may have something to offer, very few of the Meath u20s looked anywhere near the standard required on their displays this year"
I would say young lynch from trim was ok but managment chose not to play him wether that was down to injury i dont know. But he is also a good free taker so i think he should make the squad at least

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 630 - 06/08/2019 11:30:35    2221514

What about Costello & McBride. Serious minors last year and seem to be progressing nicely at adult level.

Then there's the obvious ones that were in before and looked to be good enough. O'Brien and Power from Ratoath, Jones and Lenihan from Dunboyne, Conlon and McKeever from Simonstown. Rooney from Skryne.
I'd add in Ross from Castletown (again) and Hanlon from Kells into a maybe list.

We need lads with the physical attributes to compete at div 1 level, but also with the mental attributes to work over the winter in order to compete in the spring/summer.

GoalsWinGames (Meath) - Posts: 303 - 06/08/2019 11:51:37    2221521

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "I would say young lynch from trim was ok but managment chose not to play him wether that was down to injury i dont know. But he is also a good free taker so i think he should make the squad at least"
Think he needs another year of adult football to prove himself, but no doubt the talent is there.

Meathman678 (Meath) - Posts: 63 - 06/08/2019 12:10:39    2221539

Replying To GoalsWinGames:  "What about Costello & McBride. Serious minors last year and seem to be progressing nicely at adult level.

Then there's the obvious ones that were in before and looked to be good enough. O'Brien and Power from Ratoath, Jones and Lenihan from Dunboyne, Conlon and McKeever from Simonstown. Rooney from Skryne.
I'd add in Ross from Castletown (again) and Hanlon from Kells into a maybe list.

We need lads with the physical attributes to compete at div 1 level, but also with the mental attributes to work over the winter in order to compete in the spring/summer."
Some of that Minor squad struggled at 20's this year - it's another big step up to Senior. I think McBride will get there but a few others will need a year or two to be ready! O'Brien, Jones and Power are all living abroad long term apparently. Too much already said about Conlon, McKeever, Rooney and Hanlon!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 06/08/2019 12:26:19    2221553

Meath definitely need at least 2-3 players to come into the starting 15 and probably another 2 in the panel off the bench.

I think Andy and the management team should be focusing on 2 key areas.

1. Kickouts - a well drilled strategy
2. A solid first choice regular free taker

Based on our championship if we can nail the above it could easily be worth a 4-6 point swing in our favour in games. These are small things that have to be gotten right on the training ground and can be the winning or losing of games at this level.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 06/08/2019 22:33:42    2221953

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Main areas that we need to find players in are:
- Goalkeeper x2
- Midfielder x1
- Working wing forwards x2 like Scully and Howard for Dublin
- inside forward x1

Some of the players that I would like to see involved next year who weren't this year would be:

Andrew Beakley: Goalkeeper (St Colmcilles)
Cian Flynn: Goalkeeper (Dunboyne)
Daniel O'Neill: Defender (Wolfe Tones)
Caolach Halligan: Forward (Rathkenny)
Mathew Costello: Forward (Dunshaughlin)
Jordan Morris: Forward (Nobber)
Aaron Lynch Forward (Trim)

I honestly think we should search the Dublin Senior Championship high and low for players that could possibly offer something to our set up and obviously they would have to have Meath family. I am not saying get ten players from it but if we get one quality player from Dublin like Offaly and Wicklow etc have done so this year it is worth doing, also look at Conor Cox in Roscommon. I would also go after Eric Lowndes from Dublin as hard as possible. His father and brothers are heavily involved in Dunboyne and I don't think he is ever going to nail down a regular spot with Dublin as either a starter or a impact sub."
Eric lowndes? That is such a silly statement in my opinion. He has played for Dublin since minor winning leinsters and all Ireland's at minor & u21 level. He's also won 5 senior all Ireland's with Dublin , 7 Leinster titles and 5 league titles. I really doubt your logic behind that. Plenty of good players in Meath who want to play and win with them don't you think? Conor cox played for Roscommon because his fathers club is there and he wasn't getting on the Kerry senior panel, completely different scenarios.

Dunsh03 (USA) - Posts: 11 - 08/08/2019 15:53:55    2222726

Adam Quinn & Gordan Bannon from Ballinabrackey

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 08/08/2019 16:18:06    2222734

Here is a team I would like to see fro next year. And hopefully there might be a few others from the U20s and the juniors getting a run.
Andrew Beakey(Cilles)
Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Shane Gallagher;
Donal Keoghan, Padraic Harnan, Alan Forde
Bryan Menton, Ethan Devine
Darragh Campion, Bryan McMahon, Ruairi O'Coileain
Cillian O'Sullivan,Shane Walsh, Donal lenihan

Some quality subs
Thomas O'Reilly.
Gavin Mc Coy
Mickey Newman
Niall Kane
James Conlon
Thomas McGovern

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 11/08/2019 12:35:30    2223913

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Here is a team I would like to see fro next year. And hopefully there might be a few others from the U20s and the juniors getting a run.
Andrew Beakey(Cilles)
Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Shane Gallagher;
Donal Keoghan, Padraic Harnan, Alan Forde
Bryan Menton, Ethan Devine
Darragh Campion, Bryan McMahon, Ruairi O'Coileain
Cillian O'Sullivan,Shane Walsh, Donal lenihan

Some quality subs
Thomas O'Reilly.
Gavin Mc Coy
Mickey Newman
Niall Kane
James Conlon
Thomas McGovern"
Where are people coming up with Andrew Beakey for Senior I don't get it. He was very poor for the 20's this year and the few times I've seen Cilles he's not been up to much either. Adam McDermott is for sure a better keeper and tbh so is Andy Colgan or Marcus Brennan

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 11/08/2019 13:42:23    2223946