Meath V Offaly

Replying To meath1977:  "This is not the 1980s or 90s we have to be 100% in every game we play or we won't win. It's all about work rate running game backs and forwards running up and down the field , this is a young team that is doing very well they don't need silly talk from Mr Dunne"
Actually it was Barney who said it first. And if you think Meath need to be at 100% to beat Offaly I are the one talking silly, actually talking utter scutter, 20-% would beat Offaly. That's a fact. They aren't and won't need to be in til top shape tomorrow.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/05/2019 21:33:48    2183174

Replying To meath1977:  "We have no given right to beat any team look at longford last year. I do believe we will win by six to eight points but I think talk like that is dangerous. We can't be looking down the road we have to take one game at a time I am sure the management is thinking like that"
No one said they looking down the road. Barney said they won't be at peak performance, I agreed with him, they won't be, they will be fully focused on Offaly but not in absolute tip top performance, why? They don't need to be, and secondly it would be very stupid there at least has to be another 10 percent that will be needed later on. Forget about longford, it wasn't that we weren't in peak it was that longford have a decent team (better than Offaly) and things went right for them. In their home venue where they have beat plenty of top sides. This is Offaly in navan.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/05/2019 21:45:32    2183181

Replying To royaldunne:  "No one said they looking down the road. Barney said they won't be at peak performance, I agreed with him, they won't be, they will be fully focused on Offaly but not in absolute tip top performance, why? They don't need to be, and secondly it would be very stupid there at least has to be another 10 percent that will be needed later on. Forget about longford, it wasn't that we weren't in peak it was that longford have a decent team (better than Offaly) and things went right for them. In their home venue where they have beat plenty of top sides. This is Offaly in navan."
Longford were that good Dublin beat them by twenty points. One game at a time and we will see where it takes us

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/05/2019 21:53:48    2183183

Replying To royaldunne:  "No one said they looking down the road. Barney said they won't be at peak performance, I agreed with him, they won't be, they will be fully focused on Offaly but not in absolute tip top performance, why? They don't need to be, and secondly it would be very stupid there at least has to be another 10 percent that will be needed later on. Forget about longford, it wasn't that we weren't in peak it was that longford have a decent team (better than Offaly) and things went right for them. In their home venue where they have beat plenty of top sides. This is Offaly in navan."
Well actually someone did say they were looking further ahead than offaly. Barney said it . That's what most people are taking issue with. That people are dismissing offaly. I'm fairly sure we were dismissing Longford last year

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 11/05/2019 22:53:08    2183192

Replying To meath1977:  "Longford were that good Dublin beat them by twenty points. One game at a time and we will see where it takes us"
Ahh stop Dublin would beat Offaly by 30 or more.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/05/2019 23:01:38    2183195

Said earlier in the week that McCoy might force his way into the side after the Roscommon game and while he's named in the team ahead of Ronan rtan, it would be no surprise if Ryan started after starting all the league games.

On the game itself, any complacency from Meath supporters should be long gone after tonight's results.

Clare and Kildare scraping past Waterford and Wicklow while Limerick bested Tipperary.

We all remember Longford last year and every opponent has to be given full respect.

The team had a tough camp last weekend and a challenge against Kerry but anyone who thinks they've not focussed completely in recent weeks on Offaly has to be living in cloud cuckoo land.

I believe we'll win tomorrow and should we put in a good performance then a winning margin on more than six points is well within our grasp.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 11/05/2019 23:16:25    2183197

Can somebody please answer this for me.

If a team were doing hard training a week before a game do you think they will be playing at 100% in that game. If you answered no then surely they are looking ahead of that game.

Maybe they could be looking further ahead in the qualifiers who knows.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 11/05/2019 23:37:24    2183204

Ah championship football is back, never fails to get the blood pumping, hopefully we can have a better year than last year though!

Anyway it's Offaly up first and while the bookies have us as comfortable favourites it doesn't mean a whole pile if yesterday's results are anything to go by. Clare, Kildare and Tipperary all played division 4 opposition, Clare and Kildare barely got over the line while Tipp got beaten! This should serve as a warning, take nothing for granted.

Having said all that I do think if we perform then we'll get the job done, we should be able to take Offaly at home and hopefully the lads will be hungry to prove themselves, fingers crossed anyway.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/05/2019 10:14:59    2183240

Unfortunately the usual cockiness is starting to set in. Typical Meath, you have to love it as much as you hate it. Meath have had a great season so far but to think they'll go into a championship match against any team and NOT be firing on all cylinders or very close is silly. We've no divine right here lads, surely the proof is in the results of the previous 3/4 seasons? We should be treating Offaly with respect and all opponents with respect, particularly in one-off championship games. The Longford match isnt too far back in the memory, nor the 2016 Westmeath one. Both in Leinster. I think people stating how we should be blitzing Offaly at 70-80% shows our insecurity if Im honest. Theres big questions around the Mental strength in Meath at the moment. We arent out of the woods yet by any stretch. Ive butterflies for this match.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 12/05/2019 10:27:39    2183241

Anything less than the performances in the league and we'll be giving Offaly an open door to come at us.

This is championship, league form goes out the window most of the time. We need to be able to match what we done in the league because there was times when we were playing at a championship standard. Most teams will be able to find another level from their league form and we need to too.

Finally it's been a tough week for Offaly GAA so we need to bring 100%. If we do get over Offaly then it is on to the next day and bring 100% again.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 12/05/2019 10:46:14    2183243

Replying To Barney123:  "Can somebody please answer this for me.

If a team were doing hard training a week before a game do you think they will be playing at 100% in that game. If you answered no then surely they are looking ahead of that game.

Maybe they could be looking further ahead in the qualifiers who knows."
Yeah meath are looking ahead to the qualifiers. You talk some drivel. Their looking to 3pm in Navan today and that's it.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 12/05/2019 13:09:22    2183264

Embarrassing standard of football today in Navan. There should be a second or even third tier competition for this stuff

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 12/05/2019 16:45:41    2183292

Replying To royaldunne:  "Thought you only interested in stick and ball? And keeping them safe from Gerry mcentee :)"
What has my comment got to do with hurling ?
I watched both games today as any proper meath fan would

Everything i said in my original comment was proven true
Offaly game would not be easy and talking of beating kerry at home is super 8s is rubbish

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 12/05/2019 17:13:38    2183304

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yes there is. Look the starting 15 plus subs could go out tonight on the lash get absolutely plastered , have a line of women not get to bed until 6 am, head to pt puke in changing room and the would still account for Offaly, and this yarra yarra crap of showing respect and been 100% is nonsense. There is ABSOLUTELY no need to, they would still beat Offaly."
Great analysis and insight there.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 12/05/2019 17:40:50    2183311

Got out of jail today. We were lucky to win it. Hopefully it was just nerves . Kick outs could have lost us the game.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 12/05/2019 17:42:56    2183312

By jaysus we got away with one there, Offaly were far more up for this game than we were, it seemed like we were second to every ball for large parts of the game. The start of the second half in particular was a disaster, we couldn't get going, I'd hate to see the kickout stats, Offaly dominated us in that department.

Also our ball in to the forwards was getting mopped up all day, surely we can do better than that!

Having said all that, look we're through to the next round, we got the job done when we needed to but let this be a warning. If we play like that again our summer is going to be over very soon.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/05/2019 17:42:57    2183313

All inhibitions are out the window. Forget about fanciful talk of Super 8s. One game at a time. That was close. Meath only prevailed due to superior fitness, and even then when they scored 3/4 points in the last 10/12 minutes it was more because Offaly had run themselves ragged and out of shape, leaving gaps. If Offaly had anyone who could kick a free or even a point from play, we'd have lost that game. They mauled us in midfield. We had no midfield. Our biggest players didnt stand out or stand up. There was no leaders out there today. Offaly ran out of gas and Meath's superior fitness won the day, along with a fluke goal. We were in big trouble today lads. Big trouble. There was more character on show then in years past but that performance wont beat Carlow, which is a shocking indictment, with respect to Carlow. This game was a carbon copy of Longford last year, except this time we got the lucky goal and had home advantage and pressed on.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 12/05/2019 18:00:32    2183316

Credit also has to be given to Offaly. Great supporters. Similar to Meath. They played very hard and more importantly fair, and threw the kitchen sink at Meath today. As I was driving out of the stadium I met a lot of their players coming out of the stand in dribs and drabs heading for the team bus and they were in bits; hopping on one leg, dragging feet, heads down, still red with fatigue, gingerly but politely weaving between the traffic. They played a good game and I had genuine sympathy for them. Id love to see them progress. Doesent take away from my previous statement all the same.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 12/05/2019 18:19:10    2183326

Mr Dunne hope you learn something from today and keep your opinion to yourself. We have no right to beat anyone we should have lost today only for a lucky goal

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 12/05/2019 18:19:17    2183327

Came down to Offaly running out of steam in last ten minutes and a fortunate goal for Meath. that bit of extra fitness got us over the line. Poor stuff overall.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 12/05/2019 18:24:46    2183329