Donegal V Meath Rd 2

Replying To MillerX:  "Any other manager would seriously look at getting a new goalkeeper. There are better out there as everybody knows."
But what other manager. McEntee is the best manager available to us. We have to improve with more sucessful Meath coachs and managers at intercounty standard. The last time Meath man managed outside the county was Coyle with Monaghan in early 00s and Hayes with Carlow in mid 00s. This is an area we need to improve on. We need better coachs and managers coming thru.

The next Dublin manager will be probaly Dessie Farrell minor and under 21 All Ireland winning manager and kildares will be Glen Ryan All Ireland under 21 finalist manager or Davy Burke All Ireland under 20 winning manager. Thats what r rivals have to replace their current manager. Who do we have. No manager of that standard of CV. We probaly have to replace McEntee with manager with less sucess and experience then Mick O Dowd when he took the job.

Coaching is now important where r the Meath Donie Buckleys or Meath Cian O Neils or Meath Tony McEntees or Meath Peter Lallys. Where r the Meath James Horans or Meath Malacky O Rourkes. We have real talent coming thru but if we dont have top class coachs or managers. It doesnt matter how good the players if manager is no good sucess will not follow.
McEntee is the best option and the longer he stays the better. He needs 5 or 6 or 7 years in total..And we need him to be there when talented young players come thru.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 04/02/2019 15:51:35    2162544

@Furlong you're very passionate and knowledgeable but you need to take the blinkers off a little.

McEntee like every manager out there has his faults.

Goalkeeping has been a major issue for Andy and in year three he still has it terribly wrong.
Year one recalled Joe Sheridan to the panel as a substitute keeper. Therein some of the best keepers in the county Robbie Burlingham and Jack Hannigan decided not to bother trying to push for a county spot. And why should they. They've played there their whole lives and a 30+ year old former forward gets ahead of them..
Year two he recalled David Gallagher a 37/38 year old to play the same role as Joe. Why would the likes of Burlingham or Hannigan rethink their decision. To add insult to injury he then introduced Marcus Brennan a 34/35 year old to the panel and Brennan has barely had a chance.
Year three Gallagher steps away and Barry Dardis one of the best forwards in the county is stuck between the posts ahead of an up and coming keeper like Beakey from Colmcilles.
The worst sin of all is the fact we have a senior inter county goalkeeper starting who is the substitute goalkeeper for his club. An embarrasment in simple terms.

There have been multiple fallings out with players. Brian Conlon, Mark McCabe and Podge McKeever have not put themselves forward since last year. Conlon alone should be a corner stone of this team and he's now not likely to play until McEntee goes and may never pull on a county jersey again. Donal Lenihan has had multiple arguments with Andy during matches and is now travelling for the year.

Multiple players last year were not allowed play league games for their clubs despite getting feck all time with the county during the league and when they needed some match sharpness.

He's done a lot of good things thats not in doubt but he's not without sin and we could be a lot better as a team if he'd not been so pigheaded.

And this new thing about where's our succession planning... Barry Callaghan and minor manager from last year (name escapes me) are working up the system. Colm Coyle himself has the u14/u15 and improving the set up. We have top class coaches coming through in the same way as the dubs and kildare. We also have Seamus Kenny with a working brief over all teams to develop and improve the standards through out the county. Just because they're not visible doesn't mean they're not there.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 04/02/2019 17:00:24    2162560

Replying To brian:  "@Furlong you're very passionate and knowledgeable but you need to take the blinkers off a little.

Goalkeeping has been a major issue for Andy and in year three he still has it terribly wrong.
Year one recalled Joe Sheridan to the panel as a substitute keeper. Therein some of the best keepers in the county Robbie Burlingham and Jack Hannigan decided not to bother trying to push for a county spot. And why should they. They've played there their whole lives and a 30+ year old former forward gets ahead of them..
Year two he recalled David Gallagher a 37/38 year old to play the same role as Joe. Why would the likes of Burlingham or Hannigan rethink their decision. To add insult to injury he then introduced Marcus Brennan a 34/35 year old to the panel and Brennan has barely had a chance.
Year three Gallagher steps away and Barry Dardis one of the best forwards in the county is stuck between the posts ahead of an up and coming keeper like Beakey from Colmcilles.
The worst sin of all is the fact we have a senior inter county goalkeeper starting who is the substitute goalkeeper for his club. An embarrasment in simple terms.

There have been multiple fallings out with players. Brian Conlon, Mark McCabe and Podge McKeever have not put themselves forward since last year. Conlon alone should be a corner stone of this team and he's now not likely to play until McEntee goes and may never pull on a county jersey again. Donal Lenihan has had multiple arguments with Andy during matches and is now travelling for the year.

Multiple players last year were not allowed play league games for their clubs despite getting feck all time with the county during the league and when they needed some match sharpness.

He's done a lot of good things thats not in doubt but he's not without sin and we could be a lot better as a team if he'd not been so pigheaded.

And this new thing about where's our succession planning... Barry Callaghan and minor manager from last year (name escapes me) are working up the system. Colm Coyle himself has the u14/u15 and improving the set up. We have top class coaches coming through in the same way as the dubs and kildare. We also have Seamus Kenny with a working brief over all teams to develop and improve the standards through out the county. Just because they're not visible doesn't mean they're not there."
No doubt Andy was not made to measure for the job.......no more than anyone else would be. It does seem that he is prepared to learn from mistakes. More direct football now for example is very welcome and necessary. Thats a change from last year. Ok the new coach Nally i assume is largely responsible for that change. Fair play to Andy for taking that assistance and advice. . Maybe now he may be cute enough to request a specialist forward coach to take forward play to the next step.Maybe Nally can deliver on that also..i dont know !.it would be helpful if we could see forwards more pro active by using open spaces etc. Coach all forwards to shoot for a score from distance when its appropriate. In that case a wide is only a venial sin ..not a mortal ! Freetaking can be a match winner sometimes.I fully believe Mickey Newman or any other free taker deserves top quality coaching in the physical and mental skills for this specialist key area.
Mental toughness can most definately be coached throughout the panel. Yes some players have it anyway and dont need any help on that one. In past successfull Meath teams players with mental toughness were easily identifiable O Rourke Lyons Harnan O Malley Mc Dermott, Fay, Gerathy Giles etc
Yes we are still a work in progress. Learning is the key for all concerned. When the Donegal match is reviewed with the panel I hope Andy Colgans blunder is seen as just that....we have all made them. Learn from it and move on now

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 04/02/2019 19:16:45    2162592

Replying To brian:  "@Furlong you're very passionate and knowledgeable but you need to take the blinkers off a little.

And this new thing about where's our succession planning... Barry Callaghan and minor manager from last year (name escapes me) are working up the system. Colm Coyle himself has the u14/u15 and improving the set up. We have top class coaches coming through in the same way as the dubs and kildare. We also have Seamus Kenny with a working brief over all teams to develop and improve the standards through out the county. Just because they're not visible doesn't mean they're not there."
So Leno decided to go travelling for a year because he wasn't happy in the meath camp. Don't know about the rest of your post but that part is utter nonsense. He had been planning this trip for a few years now and had put it off due to football commitments and it was a case of now or never. That's the only reason. You might want to check your facts before you start spouting off and putting 2 and 2 together to make 5.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 04/02/2019 19:45:39    2162601

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Any news on Alan Forde. He did his cruciate a while back. He is best wing forward in the county in the style of Paul Galvin or Brian Dooher. Im not saying he is as good as them. But he has their style of play. He can defend he can attack he links defence to attack very well and always plays well in Meath jersey Any news on him. It would be a boost if he has recovered from injury."
Would like to know the news on A Forde, apart from Harnan have we any other lads out injured, that might return in near future ?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2145 - 04/02/2019 19:46:51    2162602

Well said - can't argue with much of that. We'll never know for sure why so many players have stepped away in recent years but there is no doubt that there are players that would significantly strengthen us in all areas of the pitch that are not currently available to us. McEntee might be doing a good job with the players that he has but we can't continue this level of churn every year and expect to make significant progress. It's like a revolving door!

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 04/02/2019 19:46:52    2162603

Replying To Furlong1949:  "But what other manager. McEntee is the best manager available to us. We have to improve with more sucessful Meath coachs and managers at intercounty standard. The last time Meath man managed outside the county was Coyle with Monaghan in early 00s and Hayes with Carlow in mid 00s. This is an area we need to improve on. We need better coachs and managers coming thru.

The next Dublin manager will be probaly Dessie Farrell minor and under 21 All Ireland winning manager and kildares will be Glen Ryan All Ireland under 21 finalist manager or Davy Burke All Ireland under 20 winning manager. Thats what r rivals have to replace their current manager. Who do we have. No manager of that standard of CV. We probaly have to replace McEntee with manager with less sucess and experience then Mick O Dowd when he took the job.

Coaching is now important where r the Meath Donie Buckleys or Meath Cian O Neils or Meath Tony McEntees or Meath Peter Lallys. Where r the Meath James Horans or Meath Malacky O Rourkes. We have real talent coming thru but if we dont have top class coachs or managers. It doesnt matter how good the players if manager is no good sucess will not follow.
McEntee is the best option and the longer he stays the better. He needs 5 or 6 or 7 years in total..And we need him to be there when talented young players come thru."
I have never requested that the manager be removed, I was just pointing out to Royaldunne that the managers of several other county teams would not be at all pleased with a goalkeeper conceding a goal like that. Who knows what will happen the team to play Armagh has not yet been selected.

I still maintain that the team of the 80's were seriously hampered by goalkeeping howlers. End off.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 04/02/2019 19:50:17    2162604

Yeah not sure if Brian's post is 100% accurate. A lot of assuming and hear say I think.

And not sure if Colm Coyle is the answer to our problems.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 04/02/2019 20:20:48    2162613

Your way off regards lenihan, he was always going travelling, typical of the ridiculous conclusions some people come to on here, just cause the manager shouted at him a few times....and conlons performances bar 1 vs Donegal were inconsistent at best, yet he threw a strop cause he wasn't a guaranteed starter, that's his problem not mcentee... Mckeever has been asked to come in with meath long before mcentee and turned it down. That, along with leaving the panel after 6 months looks more like he just never wanted to go in rather then fell out with mcentee. Mccabe was blessed to be in there in the first place

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 04/02/2019 20:33:36    2162615

To be fair to Andy he tried to do something different in his first year...

Guess he was trying to link back to boylans teams by bringing in Joe etc. Could have worked and we'd be declaring him a genius. It didn't and we're still picking up the pieces.

Same with roping in Toher from the hurlers etc

As for the three amigos from simonstown...maybe they just don't have the stomach for IC football? Or maybe just a clique in the camp which didn't sit well with Andy?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 04/02/2019 20:52:39    2162624

Sorry Conlon got in a strop last year cause he was dropped (rightly so) as he was quite poor. Mckeever despite been tried for Meath just can't convert his club form to county. How many times have we seen that happen ? A great club player not making a impact on county team. As for Lenihan? I don't recall any arguments between him and Andy. Surprisingly I read before Xmas that he had talked to Andy before he left to go traveling and both had agreed to a year off.
I remember reading this time last year that micky Newman has a huge falling out with Andy and never would play under him again, actually Michael had to come out and say the reason he asked for a year out was to recover from persistent injuries , and that he had a very good relationship with Andy and anything said otherwise was nonsensical, him back this year just proves that point. Sorry donal going traveling has nothing to do with Andy.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/02/2019 21:00:56    2162626

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "Well said - can't argue with much of that. We'll never know for sure why so many players have stepped away in recent years but there is no doubt that there are players that would significantly strengthen us in all areas of the pitch that are not currently available to us. McEntee might be doing a good job with the players that he has but we can't continue this level of churn every year and expect to make significant progress. It's like a revolving door!"
There is a revolving door in every county across the country.
1 ESRI in government report said over 30 % of players were not returning to inter county game in the following year.
2 Irish Indo did a study and found also over 30% of players were not returning evey year.
3 Kevin Walsh said 52 players turned down the opportunity to join Galway panel in his first 18 months. Connerton the longford said over 50 players turned down trials and invitation to jion longford panel in his first two years.

I can give u loads more stat if u want.

Simply pur there is a nationwide player drain from Cork to Wexford from Derry to Offaly. Revolving door is a problem for every team in div 2 3 and 4 and some div 1 teams. Only Dublin Tyrone Mayo Monaghan Donegal kerry have low numbers not returning every year. That is no surprise.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 04/02/2019 21:13:41    2162633

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Your way off regards lenihan, he was always going travelling, typical of the ridiculous conclusions some people come to on here, just cause the manager shouted at him a few times....and conlons performances bar 1 vs Donegal were inconsistent at best, yet he threw a strop cause he wasn't a guaranteed starter, that's his problem not mcentee... Mckeever has been asked to come in with meath long before mcentee and turned it down. That, along with leaving the panel after 6 months looks more like he just never wanted to go in rather then fell out with mcentee. Mccabe was blessed to be in there in the first place"
Jesus I can't find it online anywhere, but I think it was in the chronicle, I read it that donal had decided after putting it off for a year or two (maybe longer) that he was going traveling, and actually thanked Andy for been so understanding. I don't like this type of thing, stating something as fact when it couldn't be further from the truth. And I see we both agree on the Conlon thing. Now he's young and may learn to know his place in a panel , but certainly that kind of stamping feet on floor demanding to start cant be tolerated by ANY manager. And rightly so, when I was coaching (admittedly at a very low level) if someone acted like that it was a case of don't let the door hit u on way out.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/02/2019 21:54:17    2162641

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "Well said - can't argue with much of that. We'll never know for sure why so many players have stepped away in recent years but there is no doubt that there are players that would significantly strengthen us in all areas of the pitch that are not currently available to us. McEntee might be doing a good job with the players that he has but we can't continue this level of churn every year and expect to make significant progress. It's like a revolving door!"
I think everyone with knowledge can argue with every bit of it. It is entirely inaccurate regarding donal and speculative at best regarding the others.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/02/2019 21:55:41    2162643

Brian there r some points I agree with.

Andy is no Sean Boylan and he has made many mistakes. He has made a mess of goalie situation. Sheridan and Dardis as goalie. And Gallagher brought back in. As I said he has made a mess of the whole goalie situation. Goalkeeper's like Burlingham Hannigan Geraghty McHugh lynch Beakley. There is some good ones out there. But he has messed around to much in this area.

He was also to defensive last year which I think was reaction to kildare bad beating in championship in 2017. This year we look more direct.

Players leaving is part of nationwide player drain. I have put up stats on this so many times I cannot put anymore up. Regards Conlon and Mckeever. Conlon is talented half back but with J McEntee Keoghan and Kane we have best modern attacking half back line in years and Padraig Harnan and Mickey Burke in reserve in that position. Mckeever wud be a good addition to forwards but he is 28 now and being one of the best club forwards in Meath football for years but has never played a championship match for the county. And the lads leaving the panel to go travelling after the league, many managers wud have problems with that.

Regards lenihan thats a strange one. When McEntee became manager Lenihan was a squad player. In two years under McEntee he became our best forward. Players like Lenihan Seamus lavin James and Shane McEntee Ronan Ryan Daragh Campion have all improved under McEntees watch.

Regards coachs and managers we have great coachs and managers working on the ground doing trojan work but we dont have inter county standard. It McEntee left I would be very worried we wud decline dramatically. If Down and Armagh and kildare can end in div 3 and Cork could soon also. If Derry and laois can end in div 4 we could also. The Meath job is a 4 to 5 year project at least. It took Boylan 4 years and Dwyer and McGee five years to turn around Meath kildare and Offaly in the past. And they r three most sucessful managers in leinster football other then Kevin Heffernan and Jim Galvin in last 50 years.

I never expected promotion in year 1 or 2 are reaching super 8. For me it will be year 4 or 5 before we make the breakthrough. But in year 3 u should see improvements. We r. We have improved in this spring in our defence kickout strategy tackling and better direct attacking plan. We r improving. But there cud be allot of ups and downs yet before we turn the corner. And if McEntee doesnt get promotion this year or reach super 8 he cud walk away himself which I hope is not the case.

Regards replacement. Lets look at this. Jimmy McGuiness was Under 21 All Ireland finalist manager , Eamon Fitz Maurice was All Ireland schools winning manager , Jim Galvin was under 21 All Ireland winning manager , Malacky O Rourke did a great job at Fermanagh and won county finals in many different counties in Ulster , Stephen Rochford won All Ireland club title as manager of Coriofin. Mickey Harte won minor and Under 21 All Irelands as manager , Peter keane won junior club All Ireland title and 3 All Ireland minor titles as manager. And Declan Bonner managed to bring Donegal to minor All Ireland final.

They r all.top managers in this decade and currently with top counties. All the above is the sucess they had before they took the inter county job. Thats what top counties do. Even some counties have quality candidates to take over. For example Dublin have Dessie Farrell minor and under 21 winning manager and kildare have Ryan and Burke under 21 All Ireland finalist manager and All Ireland under 20 winning manager respectively as future candidates for senior jobs.

Thats the sort of candidates top counties in div 1 have and r looking at. Name the candidate in the the county with the record other counties appoint as manager. There is not any. The only one would be O Rourke and while wouldnt be popular choice its unlikely he will take Meath job as he is 60 now. But he has best CV with international sucess, winning senior county titles and winning 3 All Ireland schools titles making him along with Paul kenny the most sucessful manager at underage in Meath football history.

We dont have top class sucessful at top level coachs and managers like kildare or Dublin. Cian O Neill Davy Burke and Glen Ryan have all had sucess as manager or coach at All Ireland level. Other then Andy McEntee and Colm O Rourke name a manager or coach in Meath at that level.

This is an area we most improve in. Identify talented young managers and do whatever it takes to help them develop them.

Yes I would love to see Seamus kenny as minor and under manager 20. I wud have given him the job long ago. But I think he is over GAA on the ground in the county and he is doing great work there. Colm Coyle for some reason with minors and seniors played great football but had these very bad second halfs eg Wexford 08 Cork 07 and 17 with minors. I think Coyle is not credible candidate for senior job anymore. Regards Callaghan he has been in charge of two strong underage teams and failed to get both to leinster finals. Hopefully he is sucessful this year with a very strong under 20 group. His CV wud be not good enough to manage Meath yet .

That is harsh. But all top counties r ruthless. Look at all top managers in the country at moment or in this decade eg Jim Galvin Jimmy McGuiness Mickey Harte Malachy O Rourke Stephen Rochford Declan Bonner Peter keane Kevin Walsh and Eamon Fitz Maurice.

Look at all the managers in div 1
Jim Galvin ( All Ireland under 21 manager) ,
Peter Keane ( Minor winning manager) ,
kevin Walsh ( led Sligo to Connacht final ) ,
Malacky O Rourke ( former Fermanagh manager and multiple county club title winner ) ,
Anthony Cunningham ( managed Galway hurlers and Clare castle to All Ireland finals) ,
Declan Bonner ( managed Donegal to minor final and ex Donegal manager)
Graham ( manges Longford club to leinster club title )
and Mickey Harte ( 3 time All Ireland winning senior manager ).
They r all division 1 managers currently. All managing the top teams in the country. Thats the type of manager we need in charge. We have one currently. He is our best option .

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 04/02/2019 22:51:06    2162654

Andrew Beakey is with the U-20 panel and was always going to be with them this year. He was brought in with the seniors early in the year to give him experience with the panel and the training.

Lenihan had no falling out with the manager, he is fine travelling for the year with his partner, a choice many of his age make. He may well return to the panel when the 9-12 months away is over.

I don't know the ins and outs of the Simonstown trio so won't comment there.

With A Leagues on Sunday mornings and the majority of Meath games on Sunday afternoons it's very hard for subs to be released. I do notice a fair few lads came home from Donegal to play with their clubs yesterday.

Colm Coyle is not involved as U-15 manager, the manager is Cathal O'Bric.

I've not heard of an U-14 appointment being made.

Please do your research in future.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 04/02/2019 23:03:11    2162660

I think there's a major over-reaction here. All the hard work, effort and great performances over the 70 minutes shouldn't all be disregarded due to one mistake. Yes, it was costly and shouldn't happen, but we were within a few minutes of winning that game, which would've been huge.
RE the goalkeeper position, every goalkeeper will make at least one mistake that leads to a goal a season. It has to be seen as a once off. One mistake like that doesn't make Colgan all of a sudden a bad keeper. From what I've seen of him so far, he's looked relatively solid all round. Has he made many mistakes before? Who realistically would do better than him?

meathgaa91 (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 04/02/2019 23:42:58    2162662

Replying To Furlong1949:  "There is a revolving door in every county across the country.
1 ESRI in government report said over 30 % of players were not returning to inter county game in the following year.
2 Irish Indo did a study and found also over 30% of players were not returning evey year.
3 Kevin Walsh said 52 players turned down the opportunity to join Galway panel in his first 18 months. Connerton the longford said over 50 players turned down trials and invitation to jion longford panel in his first two years.

I can give u loads more stat if u want.

Simply pur there is a nationwide player drain from Cork to Wexford from Derry to Offaly. Revolving door is a problem for every team in div 2 3 and 4 and some div 1 teams. Only Dublin Tyrone Mayo Monaghan Donegal kerry have low numbers not returning every year. That is no surprise."
The point is that we are not going to close the gap on the likes of Dublin, Tyrone & Mayo if they continue to retain their best players and we continue to lose some of ours. If the stats were the other way around we might have some hope!

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 05/02/2019 07:37:54    2162668

Replying To royaldunne:  "Jesus I can't find it online anywhere, but I think it was in the chronicle, I read it that donal had decided after putting it off for a year or two (maybe longer) that he was going traveling, and actually thanked Andy for been so understanding. I don't like this type of thing, stating something as fact when it couldn't be further from the truth. And I see we both agree on the Conlon thing. Now he's young and may learn to know his place in a panel , but certainly that kind of stamping feet on floor demanding to start cant be tolerated by ANY manager. And rightly so, when I was coaching (admittedly at a very low level) if someone acted like that it was a case of don't let the door hit u on way out."
"I don't like this type of thing, stating something as fact when it couldn't be further from the truth. And I see we both agree on the Conlon thing. Now he's young and may learn to know his place in a panel , but certainly that kind of stamping feet on floor demanding to start cant be tolerated by ANY manager".

Do you not see any contradiction in what you're saying there?! Was there video footage of Conlon stamping his feet and demanding to start?

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 05/02/2019 07:41:02    2162669

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  ""I don't like this type of thing, stating something as fact when it couldn't be further from the truth. And I see we both agree on the Conlon thing. Now he's young and may learn to know his place in a panel , but certainly that kind of stamping feet on floor demanding to start cant be tolerated by ANY manager".

Do you not see any contradiction in what you're saying there?! Was there video footage of Conlon stamping his feet and demanding to start?"
It's fairly obvious, his first 3 games of the league last year were very shaky, even in the dominant win over Clare, so he was rightly dropped and took exception to that. Who are some of " our best players" that are opting out??? Seems the longer these lads are off the panel the better they have become

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 05/02/2019 08:25:02    2162674