Donegal V Meath Rd 2

Up to the concession of the goal we played some excellent football. Never mind what Donegal team was playing, some of the scores we took were excellent. Silly goal to concede, looked like a school boy error from where I was sitting, but perhaps someone down that end of the ground saw different. Probably the single biggest issue we had (maybe some won't agree) was our free taking. Donegal nailed every free bur we missed 5/6. Din't Know what the strategy was but we didn't seem to have any other plan when it wasn't going well for Mickey. Fair play to the younger lads who gave a good account of themselves but i'm Afraid the subs didn't contribute as I would have expected particularly Cillian and Graham. Roll on next week

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 03/02/2019 09:22:20    2161867

Have to raise questions on the teams character. 4 up chasing a fifth and absolutely flying. Concede a sucker punch of a goal but remain in lead by a point.
They accept defeat is inevitable and down tools for remainder of game and lose.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 03/02/2019 09:37:15    2161872

Tough to take that result but still all to play for. Last week's draw between Kildare and Armagh might be critical in final shake up.

Lads the tide is definitely turning. We have the makings of a very good side and this supporter is far more optimistic than at the end of last year. we are getting better with every game. Fed up hearing about opposition being at half strength etc. Give the lads some credit ffs

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 03/02/2019 09:40:48    2161873

Just face it. We are soft. I wasn't at the match and when I checked the score and saw we were 14 10 up I actually knew we would lose by 1 or 2. It's so predictable. Why can't we close out marches. Soft soft soft. We needed someone to start a fight. Waste time and get the rest going bit and no. Same old sh*te. Not a chance of getting out of div 2.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 03/02/2019 10:29:55    2161885

Replying To Richieq:  "Jesus Christ take that optimist part out of your name please, were you in Ballybofey by any chance"
Doubtful and definitely should remove the optimist.
Look I'm down hearted, it's hard getting nothing from a game that we were clearly the better team in, and if I feel like this imagine how the players are feeling? This is Andy big challenge to channel that frustration disappointment into a positive force, and not only beat Armagh but take them apart.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 10:48:45    2161890

First of all let me say that Meath presenting Donegal GAA with a lit candle before thrown in was a classy act and a lovely touch. It went down really well. I hope those who travelled got home safe- it's a big drive.

I will give yous my perspective on Meath from my view- I've no connections to Meath but was a huge admirer of Meath in the 90s as it was my time. Loved the never say die attitude.

We were probably missing 7 starters and definitely 3 of our 4 best players but I think Meath were short too.

Meath were the better side I've no doubt and would have won by 5 or 6 minus that mess at the back. The Meath half back line was superb, especially 5 and 7. Caused most of our problems. Your midfield dominated too , especially menton. Defensively yous look in a good place overall. McGill is a very good baller I must say. You's really should have beaten us. I actually felt yous would have.

Murphy , Mcbrearty and McNeillis would ask different questions of your defence but I still think it's very good. We have more players coming back so I'd expect us to go up with Meath Armagh and Kildare the other team. Your matches against these are massive.

All the best to a a great football county.

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 03/02/2019 10:52:53    2161892

Replying To Diego:  "Up to the concession of the goal we played some excellent football. Never mind what Donegal team was playing, some of the scores we took were excellent. Silly goal to concede, looked like a school boy error from where I was sitting, but perhaps someone down that end of the ground saw different. Probably the single biggest issue we had (maybe some won't agree) was our free taking. Donegal nailed every free bur we missed 5/6. Din't Know what the strategy was but we didn't seem to have any other plan when it wasn't going well for Mickey. Fair play to the younger lads who gave a good account of themselves but i'm Afraid the subs didn't contribute as I would have expected particularly Cillian and Graham. Roll on next week"
Hard to disagree with that assessment, graham was in back line putting in some great tackles but realistically that's not where he should have been, and apart from that neither him nor O'Sullivan gave the input I was hoping for when they came on, now again both are carrying injuries so maybe we looking for too much. Conlon looked good but rather than taking the shots himself he was passing ball, not a trait I would normally have seen him taking. Campion is some bloody player , Shane McEntee is doing very well in midfield.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 10:53:32    2161893

Replying To bert09:  "Tough to take that result but still all to play for. Last week's draw between Kildare and Armagh might be critical in final shake up.

Lads the tide is definitely turning. We have the makings of a very good side and this supporter is far more optimistic than at the end of last year. we are getting better with every game. Fed up hearing about opposition being at half strength etc. Give the lads some credit ffs"
Here here.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 10:58:42    2161897

Replying To IamDonegal:  "First of all let me say that Meath presenting Donegal GAA with a lit candle before thrown in was a classy act and a lovely touch. It went down really well. I hope those who travelled got home safe- it's a big drive.

I will give yous my perspective on Meath from my view- I've no connections to Meath but was a huge admirer of Meath in the 90s as it was my time. Loved the never say die attitude.

We were probably missing 7 starters and definitely 3 of our 4 best players but I think Meath were short too.

Meath were the better side I've no doubt and would have won by 5 or 6 minus that mess at the back. The Meath half back line was superb, especially 5 and 7. Caused most of our problems. Your midfield dominated too , especially menton. Defensively yous look in a good place overall. McGill is a very good baller I must say. You's really should have beaten us. I actually felt yous would have.

Murphy , Mcbrearty and McNeillis would ask different questions of your defence but I still think it's very good. We have more players coming back so I'd expect us to go up with Meath Armagh and Kildare the other team. Your matches against these are massive.

All the best to a a great football county."
Cheers for that. Yes the candle presentation was a nice touch. You have some fine footballers coming through. Did we blow it? Yes, but it takes a good team to keep fighting and that's what donegal did.
Let's hope at the end of this we both have a day out in Croke Park.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 11:03:01    2161899

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hard to disagree with that assessment, graham was in back line putting in some great tackles but realistically that's not where he should have been, and apart from that neither him nor O'Sullivan gave the input I was hoping for when they came on, now again both are carrying injuries so maybe we looking for too much. Conlon looked good but rather than taking the shots himself he was passing ball, not a trait I would normally have seen him taking. Campion is some bloody player , Shane McEntee is doing very well in midfield."
Leaving Ballybofey after losing last night I felt more optimistic than leaving last Sunday after winning.
Even allowing for the big mistake by our goalie, lack of composure both on the field and on the line and unfortunate injury is why we ultimately lost the game.
At half time even though we were only a point up I was so confident that we could sneak a win knowing we had Graham Reilly and O' Sullivan to come on, but their performances were very disappointing.
Mc Mahon getting injured who was playing well, winning ball and assisting scores but his replacement Conlon was not able to win ball like McMahon was and gave the ball away.
There were so many positive displays around the pitch but it was heartbreaking for our fantastic backs who worked so hard to see a goal conceded so softly. I am not a big fan of the McEntees but I thought both played very well last night especially Shane in the middle.
Before the diaster of the goal I felt that Andrew was a weak link as his kick outs were poor, I know most people disagree with me but of the goalies he used this year, the best was Dardis (regardless that he is a forward) and Brennan was 2nd best ( but age is not on his side), why is Andy persisting with a guy who doesn't even make his club senior team? For me either start Dardis in goals or bring in Burlingham.

madmeath (Meath) - Posts: 50 - 03/02/2019 11:49:01    2161919

Replying To royaldunne:  "Awake. With very little sleep, at least the young one got some sleep on way home, the whole journey back I couldn't figure out how we lost that match. I tossed and turned all night. I am awake for past hour and still can't believe we didn't win. I don't do moral victories, so I'll take a stab at a few things that let us down, one when the frees weren't going over from the 40+mtr line Andy should have given instructions to play it short , instead of Newman persistence with it. That goal? Was calamitous , however these things happen in games , just keep doing what we were doing , instead everyone's head dropped, the system went to pieces it was like we were back in the bad old days, coughing up possession, taking snap shots . We went from a coherent well trained disciplined team , to a bunch of individuals with no team ethics who couldn't figure out what to do. That is the main problem, the inability to keep focused, Jesus ,o Reilly had a shot to draw game that I would have put over , and he somehow managed to miss it, again that might have settled the team. Anyone saying that was donegal second team are talking through their rear end. Maybe 4 missing probably no more than us. We lost a game that we were clearly the better team in, and that is hard to take. But we must dust ourselves down and beat Armagh , then 4/6 will have been a good start. I don't see any other teams that we should worry about if we play like we did for the 60 mins of this match, we should be promoted."
So RD what you are saying is that we implode when we concede a goal. Well we are well used to conceding goals out of nowhere. The peno v Tipp but luckily it did not affect that performance, in OBC v Dublin we let the, in rather easily for a goal in the first half that brought Dublin back into the game, a minor tournament but a costly goal at the same time. So it appears that most times the concession of a goal appears to be more than a 3 point loss as subsequently a malaise hits the team. This is something that the team management must address as a priority.
We were not the first to suffer by the concession of a goal, cast your mind back to 2001 v Kerry, that game was nip and tuck, then John McDermott scored the goal at the Railway End and while it was not immediately apparent, nothing went right for Kerry in that game afterwards.
Mind you they recovered, but that was our last convincing performance apart from the demolition of Dublin in 2010, another false dawn.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 03/02/2019 11:50:37    2161920

Meath V Armagh
The chips are down now.......disappoined....yes .....We are making progress based on the display against Donegal. The goal was a mistake.....move on. Colgan is presumably the best available as goalie Plenty of positives....playing more direct football now at last. Solid defence but tougher days ahead. Menton improving at midfield with Shane Mc Entee a willing partner......leave them together for now anyway Attack is our weakest area now. Start the same 6 that started against Donegal... Hopefully Newman can get back into the groove fully as freetaker. Like to have another freetaker to help him on off days for the moment. Workrate .....thats more like it lads !
Some evidence that coaching has improved....tackling..... general awareness and application etc. One critical key area that
was disappointing was lying down after we conceded the goal. Meath teams dont do that . We NEVER throw in the towel.
This area has to be worked on. If we could get back the MEATH never say die in these lads then we are back in business
Without it..well it will be the usual outcome.. The Armagh game will be the stage to show our true grit...we kick back with typical meath determination.....Somehow.. i believe we will come back next sunday with a convincing performance and maybe doubters like this one will start to believe again. Go for it lads !!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 03/02/2019 12:43:47    2161934

Look some great positives like;
The defence looks structured and all working together. McGill & Keoghan commanded defence very well.
Impressed with Ronan Ryan and Niall Kane at back, but maybe wonder if Kane is tight enough defensively against a real top wing forward. Nonetheless impressed offensively by him & hakf back line in general.
Darragh Campion looks like he definitely somethig to offer in forwards, as does james conlon even though he has abit of learning to do. Wrong options on ball last night.
Players to come in still will strenghten the squad/team.
We created some very opportunities and 2 half goal chances but for 2 brilliant last ditch interceptions from Donegal defenders.

Negatives for me would be;
Missing 5 out of 7 frees last night with 3 dropping short into defender/goalkeeper's hands.
8 missed scoring opportunities (i counted last night) including 3 in final few minutes to stop Donegal's gallop needs to be improved on. This not including 8 wides over the course of the 70 odd minutes.
Even though Shane McEntee did quite well at midfield last night, he is not the aswer to midfield problems. I maybe wrong just my opinion.
Zonal dedending on opppstion kick outs needs work as some players turn off at times.
Goalkeeper position is problematic even though excluding goal mistake Colgan did okay.

Overal some green shoots to be hopeful of.
Bring on Armagh.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 03/02/2019 13:09:30    2161944

Replying To royaldunne:  "Doubtful and definitely should remove the optimist.
Look I'm down hearted, it's hard getting nothing from a game that we were clearly the better team in, and if I feel like this imagine how the players are feeling? This is Andy big challenge to channel that frustration disappointment into a positive force, and not only beat Armagh but take them apart.
Hon the royal"
Less of the personal comments please, i do not make them and do not expect to receive them either.

i think it is perfectly reasonable to state that given our results so far against two depleted teams short of their best players, that survival in this division is probably the best we can hope for.

I stand by my assertion that it was a largely under strength Donegal team which looking at some of their supporters comments imply that they were missing 7 championship starters including at least 3 of their best players, so we really should be beating them if we held any realistic hopes of promotion.

I am glad that some younger talent is being introduced and they show potential and I am delighted to see Newman back as I think he will add to the team. I also expect to see us perform better in the championship and given the draw I think qualifying for the super 8's is a realistic target.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 03/02/2019 13:11:47    2161945

Didnt make the game yesterday but thing we have a good team there ! If Andy is given another 3 years I think we could be in division 1 !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 03/02/2019 14:20:54    2161974

Replying To David:  "Look some great positives like;
The defence looks structured and all working together. McGill & Keoghan commanded defence very well.
Impressed with Ronan Ryan and Niall Kane at back, but maybe wonder if Kane is tight enough defensively against a real top wing forward. Nonetheless impressed offensively by him & hakf back line in general.
Darragh Campion looks like he definitely somethig to offer in forwards, as does james conlon even though he has abit of learning to do. Wrong options on ball last night.
Players to come in still will strenghten the squad/team.
We created some very opportunities and 2 half goal chances but for 2 brilliant last ditch interceptions from Donegal defenders.

Negatives for me would be;
Missing 5 out of 7 frees last night with 3 dropping short into defender/goalkeeper's hands.
8 missed scoring opportunities (i counted last night) including 3 in final few minutes to stop Donegal's gallop needs to be improved on. This not including 8 wides over the course of the 70 odd minutes.
Even though Shane McEntee did quite well at midfield last night, he is not the aswer to midfield problems. I maybe wrong just my opinion.
Zonal dedending on opppstion kick outs needs work as some players turn off at times.
Goalkeeper position is problematic even though excluding goal mistake Colgan did okay.

Overal some green shoots to be hopeful of.
Bring on Armagh."
All in all. Hard to disagree with that. Only thing I will say differently is I have been impressed with Shane McEntee this year. He hasn't done too much wrong (coughed up possession late on yesterday been the exception)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 14:35:38    2161980

Replying To royaldunne:  "All in all. Hard to disagree with that. Only thing I will say differently is I have been impressed with Shane McEntee this year. He hasn't done too much wrong (coughed up possession late on yesterday been the exception)"
True i just feel he is not a natural midfielder. Definitely willing aid to Bryan Menton, who himself is not a natural midfielder either.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 03/02/2019 15:18:17    2161987

Replying To David:  "True i just feel he is not a natural midfielder. Definitely willing aid to Bryan Menton, who himself is not a natural midfielder either."
Guess it's a case of cutting our cloth to measure, I agree neither are natural midfielders

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 17:01:20    2162038

Replying To MillerX:  "So RD what you are saying is that we implode when we concede a goal. Well we are well used to conceding goals out of nowhere. The peno v Tipp but luckily it did not affect that performance, in OBC v Dublin we let the, in rather easily for a goal in the first half that brought Dublin back into the game, a minor tournament but a costly goal at the same time. So it appears that most times the concession of a goal appears to be more than a 3 point loss as subsequently a malaise hits the team. This is something that the team management must address as a priority.
We were not the first to suffer by the concession of a goal, cast your mind back to 2001 v Kerry, that game was nip and tuck, then John McDermott scored the goal at the Railway End and while it was not immediately apparent, nothing went right for Kerry in that game afterwards.
Mind you they recovered, but that was our last convincing performance apart from the demolition of Dublin in 2010, another false dawn."
I dont think you're far wrong with what you said there, 2001 vs. Kerry was special, as was 2010 vs. Dublin. Although 2010 v. Dublin was a one-off, a freak match where Dublin imploded. The only other standout matches I can think of in recent times were the wins over Tyrone in the All-Ire Qtr. Final 2007, and the win over Mayo in the All-Ire Qtr. Final of 2009. Aside from that only a few wins over good Kildare sides in Leinster semis in the early 2010s spring to mind. Crikey, its been a very long time since we sat at the top table. Scary how the time flies. All we can do is consolidate our current position and hope the solid underage system successfully bears fruit in the next 2/3 seasons.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 03/02/2019 17:23:31    2162062

Results today just reaffirm how tight this division is going to be, have to win home games just to be safe.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 03/02/2019 18:57:50    2162137