Donegal V Meath Rd 2

Replying To tackleberry:  "I know this is probably the wrong thread, but I was just wondering about a few absent players who I thought would be part of panel
Harry Rooney (assume he fell out with Mcentee?)
Brian Power
Cathal Finn
Brian Conlon
Alan Forde"
Donegal will be delighted Conlon isn't playing as he was outstanding in the 2017 qualifier game which we lost by a point

ClashofTheAsh13 (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 01/02/2019 15:35:05    2161465

Any stab at the team? I presume it will be same as last day, or at very most O'Sullivan and /or Reilly been brought in depending on what way Andy wants to play it. Going up pretty confident actually, don't think donegal will be expecting our pace and running game. A few tipp lads behind me on Sunday were very surprised at just how quick we can play.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/02/2019 16:46:28    2161485

Replying To royaldunne:  "Any stab at the team? I presume it will be same as last day, or at very most O'Sullivan and /or Reilly been brought in depending on what way Andy wants to play it. Going up pretty confident actually, don't think donegal will be expecting our pace and running game. A few tipp lads behind me on Sunday were very surprised at just how quick we can play."
I have been really impressed with the progress Andy and team have made this year. Our defence looks solid and we are creating plenty of chances. Team appear to be a lot more settled and transition from defence to attack is much better. Plus we have Newman to keep the scoreboard ticking.

Our shooting needs improvement but we are creating chances.

Meath by +3

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 01/02/2019 17:00:43    2161490

Meath playing Donegal at 7pm on a Saturday night its not ideal if people where to travel up and down the one night they would not be back until 12 or 1am. Why not play it on a Sunday ? And now with the bad weather there could be a very small Meath croud. Nothing can be done about the weather but the time yes. And give the history of games been called off at late notice. Its a risk to travel that distance .

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 01/02/2019 17:17:30    2161497

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Meath playing Donegal at 7pm on a Saturday night its not ideal if people where to travel up and down the one night they would not be back until 12 or 1am. Why not play it on a Sunday ? And now with the bad weather there could be a very small Meath croud. Nothing can be done about the weather but the time yes. And give the history of games been called off at late notice. Its a risk to travel that distance ."
Oh god bob don't say that, Roscommon and Cavan fiascos are still a bone of contention for me. The last thing I want is traveling up from Westmeath (3+ hour journey) depending on road conditions, I think though in fairness to donegal they are a little more professional than their Cavan and rossie counterparts, and if game was to be called off I'm sure it would be early tomorrow.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/02/2019 18:13:35    2161515

Replying To royaldunne:  "Unfortunately have a event to attend on Sunday morning at 10, so will be traveling back. Mightn't get back till about 1 am. As I'll be taking it very easy. My route will be through Sligo."
Seeing as your using the N4 and N15 you well travelling well gritted roads, the road from Enniskillen to Pettigoe via Kesh is a B road don't know how well gritted that may be, from Enniskillej to Ballyshannon via Belleek is an A road, might be treated better but not sure, anyway to everyone that's traveliing allow good time and drive carefully, I've no doubt the weather will reduce the number of supporters we have in Ballybofey but the ones that are there let's make sure we hear ye, I want to be able to be able to have bragging rights when I go for a pint afterwards :-)

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/02/2019 18:24:34    2161516

Replying To Richieq:  "Seeing as your using the N4 and N15 you well travelling well gritted roads, the road from Enniskillen to Pettigoe via Kesh is a B road don't know how well gritted that may be, from Enniskillej to Ballyshannon via Belleek is an A road, might be treated better but not sure, anyway to everyone that's traveliing allow good time and drive carefully, I've no doubt the weather will reduce the number of supporters we have in Ballybofey but the ones that are there let's make sure we hear ye, I want to be able to be able to have bragging rights when I go for a pint afterwards :-)"
Oh I'll be heard Richie lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/02/2019 20:57:31    2161552

No surprise to see GR and COS named in starting 15. Adds both pace and scoring threat.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 02/02/2019 06:08:41    2161595

Donegal are unbeaten in their last 13 league games in a row in Ballybofey. Kerry Mayo even Dublin twice couldnt beat Donegal in Ballybofey in recent years. You have to go back to 2010 til the last time Donegal were beaten in Ballybofey in the league. After Dublin in Croker Ballybofey is one toughest place to win in country, Donegal have lost once in their last 21 matchs in championship or league in Ballybofey since 2010.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 02/02/2019 07:19:00    2161598

Replying To seadog54:  "No surprise to see GR and COS named in starting 15. Adds both pace and scoring threat."
Yep no surprise there. We wait and see.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/02/2019 08:31:40    2161603

Best wishes to Andy Brian all the players management and the supporters traveling tonight, drive safely, as we seen recently including in donegal how precious life is and how a car is like a loaded gun. As my late father use to say, better to arrive late in this world than early in the next.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/02/2019 08:45:36    2161607

Ugh the journey time alone is collossal. I think Meath have a chance if they impose themselves early and use their advantage of speed from the half back line, but I agree with Furlong, Ballybofey is a fortress and a half. This is definitely Donegal at their weakest, and its about time Meath win a game against this level of opposition, instead of just falling agonisingly short. Meath must be confident. Last week I went for an optimistic 3-point win over Tipp and today Im going to be even more optimistic and say Meath by 1/2, if we can score goals we'll have a great chance.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 02/02/2019 09:01:02    2161609

Few more snow showers in Donegal last night folks, roads were treacherous when driving to work this morning, ladies league match in Sligo has been called off due to frozen pitch, make the necessary checks before leaving and drive carefully.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 02/02/2019 09:37:26    2161614

Rumoured to be a pitch inspection at Ballybofey at 1pm

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 02/02/2019 10:01:46    2161617

This will be a big ask
We really need to find a midfield partner for mention
Shane mcentee not a midfielder

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 02/02/2019 10:48:49    2161628

Replying To Richieq:  "Rumoured to be a pitch inspection at Ballybofey at 1pm"
Not sure how that will tell them what the pitch will be like after dark this evening.

If it's passed playable at 1:00 today then surely the sensible thing is to push the match out to tomorrow afternoon at the same time?

Maybe health and safety are so concerned with things like stopping people standing on the grass banks in navan that they haven't got time to consider safety going to and from matches.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 02/02/2019 11:03:26    2161629

Replying To Greenfield:  "Not sure how that will tell them what the pitch will be like after dark this evening.

If it's passed playable at 1:00 today then surely the sensible thing is to push the match out to tomorrow afternoon at the same time?

Maybe health and safety are so concerned with things like stopping people standing on the grass banks in navan that they haven't got time to consider safety going to and from matches."
Agreed, was a rumoured inspection and I haven't seen anything official yet, hopefully all will be ok

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 02/02/2019 11:40:49    2161634

Replying To Richieq:  "Agreed, was a rumoured inspection and I haven't seen anything official yet, hopefully all will be ok"
Good man Richie, fair play to you.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/02/2019 12:27:15    2161643

Finished work, in the car rushing up to Ballybofey. Incredibly excited about tonight. If we are serious about winning Leinster and All Ireland we need to be winning these games comfortably.

Just want to wish Andy and the lads the best of luck! Not that we'll need it!

Hon the Royal!

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 02/02/2019 12:51:02    2161645

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "This will be a big ask
We really need to find a midfield partner for mention
Shane mcentee not a midfielder"
The sooner Ronan Jones comes home the better. Him and Menton would be a great long term partnership

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 02/02/2019 13:30:44    2161654