Meath v Roscommon

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "But were playing Roscommon next Sunday ratlag not Dublin Mayo Kerry or Tyrone"
The etc covered the rest of the teams in Division 1 and who have beaten us consistanly over the last few years i.e. Kildare. Apologies for not naming each and every team, the rest I would include in the group of teams I would not EXPECT us to beat are Donegal, Galway, Monaghan, Roscommon, Cork. All these teams I would think we can beat if we played to Max potential, but would not expect a victory and nothing else. All other counties I would expect to beat, do I need to list those for people as well???

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 24/01/2018 13:23:33    2070336

Replying To ratlag:  "Who said anything about bowing to their superiority?? I have repeatedly asked, adn will ask again: On what basis do you "expect" nothing less than a win?? By saying this you are saying that you think we a far superior than Roscommon which most people in this county would disagree with. We can match them definitely, can can possibly beat them as well and it wouldn't be classed as a shock at all!! Yourself and Loyalroayal talk about Meatha s if they are just below the top 4 in the country which isn't true. The differene between there and where we are is consistancy which we don't have."
I myself expect Meath to win because i know what training and the physiological prep the lads have been putting in for this game and i expect them to win because i am a supporter who supports them even in our darkest days. I wouldn't expect them to lose. I know it will be a tough game but i think we can pull it out of the bag.
Reckon we will have to agree to disagree on this. Meath for me by 3 points.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 24/01/2018 13:51:01    2070342

Replying To ratlag:  "The etc covered the rest of the teams in Division 1 and who have beaten us consistanly over the last few years i.e. Kildare. Apologies for not naming each and every team, the rest I would include in the group of teams I would not EXPECT us to beat are Donegal, Galway, Monaghan, Roscommon, Cork. All these teams I would think we can beat if we played to Max potential, but would not expect a victory and nothing else. All other counties I would expect to beat, do I need to list those for people as well???"
But we drew away to cork, and beat Galway last year, we also narrowly lost to Donegal.
I would rate the others you mention including Roscommon as on a par with us.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2018 14:24:31    2070346

Replying To royaldunne:  "But we drew away to cork, and beat Galway last year, we also narrowly lost to Donegal.
I would rate the others you mention including Roscommon as on a par with us."
And thats why I would rate us as a similar level to those teams I mentioned. As in I would not EXPECT us to beat them but similarly I would not EXPECT us to lose either, any game against those teams would be evenly contested and would come down the performance on the day.

To me, saying "I expect us to win" means seeing us a far superior team that couldn't possibly lose against them, where a draw is a bad result and losing is completely unacceptable. A draw or loss against Donegal, Monaghan, Cavan, Galway, Roscommon, Cork, Kildare would be dissapointing yes, but not something that I would see as a shock result either.

None of thos teams are streets ahead of us, but we are not ahead of them either. I'm not arguing your optimism that we can beat them, as I think we can as well, merely your choice of words which implies that Roscommon are far beneath us in terms of a football team.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 24/01/2018 15:24:39    2070357

Replying To ratlag:  "And thats why I would rate us as a similar level to those teams I mentioned. As in I would not EXPECT us to beat them but similarly I would not EXPECT us to lose either, any game against those teams would be evenly contested and would come down the performance on the day.

To me, saying "I expect us to win" means seeing us a far superior team that couldn't possibly lose against them, where a draw is a bad result and losing is completely unacceptable. A draw or loss against Donegal, Monaghan, Cavan, Galway, Roscommon, Cork, Kildare would be dissapointing yes, but not something that I would see as a shock result either.

None of thos teams are streets ahead of us, but we are not ahead of them either. I'm not arguing your optimism that we can beat them, as I think we can as well, merely your choice of words which implies that Roscommon are far beneath us in terms of a football team."
If I or loyal thought we were fat superior we wouldn't have said narrow win.
I'll repeat again I expect us to eek out a narrow win, the reason is twofold.
Firstly this is Andy second year and the team is more reflective of him,
Secondly what is coming out from the camp is very positive, fitness levels are at very high rate , and furthermore we have targeted the promotion as this years objective, perhaps more so than what could be a complacent rossies, this is why I think we will win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2018 16:02:49    2070370

Replying To royaldunne:  "If I or loyal thought we were fat superior we wouldn't have said narrow win.
I'll repeat again I expect us to eek out a narrow win, the reason is twofold.
Firstly this is Andy second year and the team is more reflective of him,
Secondly what is coming out from the camp is very positive, fitness levels are at very high rate , and furthermore we have targeted the promotion as this years objective, perhaps more so than what could be a complacent rossies, this is why I think we will win."
Totally agree RD it'll be tight but I expect us to win . Andy has them in Championship shape I doubt Roscommon will be able to live with us for the full game.
No reflection on their ability or if they are better that us or not, on recent evidence you'd have to say they are, however the league is our sole focus this year Roscommon have different goals later on in the year.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 24/01/2018 17:03:38    2070387

New year, new optimism or as others will call it delusion, good noises coming out of the camp, huge work being done, feel that we really do need to get promoted this year, will be tough as feel that Div2 is very competitive this year, a win on the road would be a great start, pity the clubs are fixed for A league at 11, at least with game now at 2:30 if we hit the road in spots on the way to he Hyde we should be grand!!! Come on the Royal!!

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 24/01/2018 17:30:18    2070392

Replying To pauk123:  "Totally agree RD it'll be tight but I expect us to win . Andy has them in Championship shape I doubt Roscommon will be able to live with us for the full game.
No reflection on their ability or if they are better that us or not, on recent evidence you'd have to say they are, however the league is our sole focus this year Roscommon have different goals later on in the year."
My view and that shared by many , and I presume Andy, is that promotion is between ourselves, cork , Roscommon and Cavan. So realistically we have to win 2/3 of those games. It's not a disaster if we should get beat on Sunday, but it puts huge pressure to win those two games, I would prefer to say we only have to win one of them (along with the others) and we should be promoted.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2018 17:30:21    2070393

Replying To pauk123:  "Totally agree RD it'll be tight but I expect us to win . Andy has them in Championship shape I doubt Roscommon will be able to live with us for the full game.
No reflection on their ability or if they are better that us or not, on recent evidence you'd have to say they are, however the league is our sole focus this year Roscommon have different goals later on in the year."
The league is our sole focus!! Don't think so huge priority yes but Championship progress still has to be the top priority

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 24/01/2018 17:37:45    2070395

Replying To longroadback:  "New year, new optimism or as others will call it delusion, good noises coming out of the camp, huge work being done, feel that we really do need to get promoted this year, will be tough as feel that Div2 is very competitive this year, a win on the road would be a great start, pity the clubs are fixed for A league at 11, at least with game now at 2:30 if we hit the road in spots on the way to he Hyde we should be grand!!! Come on the Royal!!"
Yeah it's tough on club players who want to see the game.
Btw welcome to the dark side (or as I would call the optimism side) of Meath supporters

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2018 17:52:59    2070405

Replying To longroadback:  "New year, new optimism or as others will call it delusion, good noises coming out of the camp, huge work being done, feel that we really do need to get promoted this year, will be tough as feel that Div2 is very competitive this year, a win on the road would be a great start, pity the clubs are fixed for A league at 11, at least with game now at 2:30 if we hit the road in spots on the way to he Hyde we should be grand!!! Come on the Royal!!"
I will 2nd that. Great vibes coming from camp. Lads are physically fit, mentally focused and they know the challenge ahead of them. I honestly would be confident enough (not cocky) that we should get promotion of we keep the head Sunday its going to be the start we need to this league. Looking forward to getting down there sunday and 2.30 is perfect time for both supporters & players.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 24/01/2018 17:53:09    2070406

Replying To grahamc9897:  "The league is our sole focus!! Don't think so huge priority yes but Championship progress still has to be the top priority"
Disagree, the championship will take on a new emphasis should we get promoted. While I think and will say it many times should it come to pass, that we could beat dubs, the odds might not be in our favour, so realistically it's then luck of the draw. For me promotion has to be priority number one.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2018 17:55:44    2070407

Replying To ratlag:  "This is brilliant!! Getting stroppy because when asked for any reason as to why he expects us to win, he gets annoyed and basically tells people to go do one. Not one person has asked you to justify why you support Meath, its to justify why you "Expect" us to win against a team that ranks higher than ourselves??"
Loyal cant accept others opinions it seems. Youre right but you won't get a valid justification as to why Meath are expected to win.. living in 1999 it appears

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 24/01/2018 18:05:46    2070413

Replying To Royalio11:  "Loyal cant accept others opinions it seems. Youre right but you won't get a valid justification as to why Meath are expected to win.. living in 1999 it appears"
Seems nobody can accept my opinion. Why should i have to justify myself to anyone over my opnion?? Ive said previously why i expect us to win. I think we are good enough you clearly dont....

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 24/01/2018 18:17:20    2070416

Replying To grahamc9897:  "The league is our sole focus!! Don't think so huge priority yes but Championship progress still has to be the top priority"
Andy has them primed for the league. He feels the experience the likes of Monaghan and Donegal get from playing up in D1 is invaluable. The theory is you can then create a platform to challenge for major honors. We'll see in the next month or so if it'll work or not. Wins against Roscommon and Cavan and we'd be in amazingly good shape.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 24/01/2018 18:30:58    2070417

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Seems nobody can accept my opinion. Why should i have to justify myself to anyone over my opnion?? Ive said previously why i expect us to win. I think we are good enough you clearly dont...."
LoyalRoayal I think your either missing mine and others point or else just like an argument!! I would say the majority of fans would say that we have the ability to beat Roscommon and think we have a very good chance to do so, however the use of the phrase "I expect us to win" suggests that you feel its almost a forgone conclusion that we will win based on what you have seen/heard of our team. RD has slightly changed his wording in the last post or two he made and instead of say he expects a win, now says he feels we can get then win and have a very good/great chance to do so. Now maybe not to yourself or RD, but to me and most other readers, while the optimism remains the same, the reading of both statements is quite different.
i.e.
"I expect us to beat Rosscommon on Sunday" - We are the better team, no questions and should win this game!!
"I feel we have a great chance of beating Rosscommon on Sunday" - It will be a tight game bu I feel if we perform we will have enough to account for Rosscommon.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 24/01/2018 18:33:04    2070419

Replying To Royalio11:  "Loyal cant accept others opinions it seems. Youre right but you won't get a valid justification as to why Meath are expected to win.. living in 1999 it appears"
Funny enough it's mostly Kildare supporters or Louth ones who throw out the 1999 thing along with the * thing after 2010. Never seen until recently a Meath supporter do it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2018 18:49:16    2070423

Sorry let me be clear. I EXPECT US TO WIN ON SUNDAY. , it will be tight but we will win, for the reasons I outlined before.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2018 18:51:40    2070424

Replying To ratlag:  "LoyalRoayal I think your either missing mine and others point or else just like an argument!! I would say the majority of fans would say that we have the ability to beat Roscommon and think we have a very good chance to do so, however the use of the phrase "I expect us to win" suggests that you feel its almost a forgone conclusion that we will win based on what you have seen/heard of our team. RD has slightly changed his wording in the last post or two he made and instead of say he expects a win, now says he feels we can get then win and have a very good/great chance to do so. Now maybe not to yourself or RD, but to me and most other readers, while the optimism remains the same, the reading of both statements is quite different.
i.e.
"I expect us to beat Rosscommon on Sunday" - We are the better team, no questions and should win this game!!
"I feel we have a great chance of beating Rosscommon on Sunday" - It will be a tight game bu I feel if we perform we will have enough to account for Rosscommon."
You are obviously picking up my point of expecting us to win wrong. Should i replace that word with i believe we will win seen as the word 'expect' is causing such a stir with ye lads. Dont want an argument over this as i said its my opinion like you have yours. Flip sake we are supposed to be supporting the one county here...all ive done all day is try to justify myself to you lads who obviously know alot more than myself & others who like to voice their opinions. Dont want to have another argument over this so lets just leave it there. I 'believe' we will win Sunday and i intend on keeping the faith. End of.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 24/01/2018 18:57:36    2070426

Replying To royaldunne:  "Funny enough it's mostly Kildare supporters or Louth ones who throw out the 1999 thing along with the * thing after 2010. Never seen until recently a Meath supporter do it."
Noticed myself when i asked what the craic was with the 2010* it was ignored because in all fairness what answer could he give...

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 24/01/2018 19:01:09    2070428