Meath v Roscommon

I would say we will just scrape a win, some want us playing open expansive football, that ain't going to happen for two reasons
Fi we don't have the player. And secondly other teams would tear us apart.
So what I'm looking for is a win. A win is a win regardless of if it's ugly

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2018 11:59:42    2070061

Replying To royaldunne:  "I would say we will just scrape a win, some want us playing open expansive football, that ain't going to happen for two reasons
Fi we don't have the player. And secondly other teams would tear us apart.
So what I'm looking for is a win. A win is a win regardless of if it's ugly"
We just need to get the win...we have to!!!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 23/01/2018 12:13:09    2070063

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Going by his performance against Lonford he will find it hard to get a starting place. He was hesitating to take shooting responsibility, And gave the ball away to easy a number of times."
He still scored 4 points! (One from a free) He should have scored a goal in the first half but he took his chances better than any of the other starting forwards!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 479 - 23/01/2018 12:59:30    2070075

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Really disappointed the OBC final didn't go ahead Colgan, Lavin, Glynn, O Sullivan, McEntee and McKeever all could have done with a bit of game.
This won't be an easy game by any means, Roscommon have been able to match Galway, Mayo and Kerry over the past few years when they are at their best, our lads need to be tuned in from the off and not give away possession cheaply, kick out have to be pushed up and we need to give the ball to our scores/man in the best position. We can't really base the team on the last three games because the majority didn't show up against Longford, Wicklow was as one sided and Carlow was the first competitive game of the year. For Sunday I would be hoping to see something along these lines:

Andy Colgan
Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Mickey Burke
Donal Keoghan, Brian Power, Brían Conlon,
Bryan Menton, Adam Flanagan
Shane McEntee, Cillian O'Sullivan, Joey Wallace
Donal Lenihan, Graham Reilly, Padraig McKeever.

-We need to get the Keeper situation correct and Colgan is the long term option.

-Question marks over both Lavin and Burke with regards to both being able to play in corner back, I don't think Burke has the pace and Lavin is very inexperienced not to mention he rarely stands out for Dunboyne at club level but he has been the best of the newcomers. However if Gallaher and Glynn are fit I would love to see a fullback line of Glynn,
McGill and Gallaher.

-Keoghan is a concern on the wing as he is our best man marker but he looks so good there I don't want to move him. If Power is fit then he has to start at center back and mover Brían to the wing which will let him attack and carry the ball a bit more.

-Rooney still has a lot to prove, i've never been convinced by him, he's a big unit and great pair of hands but after that he offers very little. Flanagan has a bit more mobility but still not sure on him yet. Menton is our engine room and looks to be in flying form at the minute.

-There is 5 forwards on my team with a lot to prove. Lenihan has been the only one there that has been consistent for both club and county the rest haven't. I am picking Shane McEntee at wing forward and giving him a free role to roam, he isn't the best defender and he loves to attack but he will go for everything and has a mighty engine. I would then bring Graham Reilly out from full forward, have himself and O Sullivan between the 45-65 and let them either run from deep or quick ball into Lenihan and McKeever who should be playing no further than 30 yards from the Roscommon goal. Finally I would use Joey as the link man between the 2 lads in the half forward line and full forward line if we do work it through the hands"
Good team - nice balance - Not sure I agree with Colgan being teh keeper option long term - suppose it depends by what you think of as long term. Adam McDermott is a young lad and I think he will take over the number 1 jersey in teh next couple of years. Mind you there are some very goo keepers coming through the underage system. The young fella who was in goal for Ratoath in the Minor final was excellent - heard he was a good soccer keeper who has commited to GAA.

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 479 - 23/01/2018 13:07:17    2070077

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "We just need to get the win...we have to!!!"
I think we will.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2018 13:20:15    2070082

Here is my take. I think Roscommon are tough unfit harded over two years of playing div 1. I reckon its going to be hard to get a win down there no matter what the circumstances. They are not a beleaguered beaten team taken the drop from Div 1 they competed well in Div 1 over the past 2 years. should it be a close game this will stand to them. I can't see us doing a number on them in the Hyde. Naturally, I hope I am wrong. I still negative about our prospects these. I would take safety in div 2 right now.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 23/01/2018 14:43:16    2070113

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Here is my take. I think Roscommon are tough unfit harded over two years of playing div 1. I reckon its going to be hard to get a win down there no matter what the circumstances. They are not a beleaguered beaten team taken the drop from Div 1 they competed well in Div 1 over the past 2 years. should it be a close game this will stand to them. I can't see us doing a number on them in the Hyde. Naturally, I hope I am wrong. I still negative about our prospects these. I would take safety in div 2 right now."
Come on bob. Get the mojo back. Have faith. We will win. This year will be a great on for Meath. I feel it in my waters. Either that or I've got a kidney infection, (which at my years is a distinct possibility)
Hon the royal.
Just got me tickets. I'm buzzing.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2018 14:47:48    2070116

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Here is my take. I think Roscommon are tough unfit harded over two years of playing div 1. I reckon its going to be hard to get a win down there no matter what the circumstances. They are not a beleaguered beaten team taken the drop from Div 1 they competed well in Div 1 over the past 2 years. should it be a close game this will stand to them. I can't see us doing a number on them in the Hyde. Naturally, I hope I am wrong. I still negative about our prospects these. I would take safety in div 2 right now."
Ah here Bob dont wreck our whole positive buzz we have got going on here! This is going to be our year. Tell you how positive i feel ive put €50 on us to win Leinser @ 16/1, i reckon we are going to put it up the the Dubs and get the title this year. Call me stupid but you need to have faith!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 23/01/2018 15:05:33    2070123

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Ah here Bob dont wreck our whole positive buzz we have got going on here! This is going to be our year. Tell you how positive i feel ive put €50 on us to win Leinser @ 16/1, i reckon we are going to put it up the the Dubs and get the title this year. Call me stupid but you need to have faith!"
I have the same on them. And I have 100 on them to be promoted and 50 to win division 2 title. Bring it on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2018 15:22:42    2070127

Replying To royaldunne:  "Come on bob. Get the mojo back. Have faith. We will win. This year will be a great on for Meath. I feel it in my waters. Either that or I've got a kidney infection, (which at my years is a distinct possibility)
Hon the royal.
Just got me tickets. I'm buzzing."
I know a really good kidney specialist in the Lourdes. I am not sure he would be able to tackle your issue though sounds too far gone...... I will tell what , I will have another think about it when the team is announced. To see If change my mind...

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 23/01/2018 15:35:56    2070131

Realistically, Meath have no right to be expecting a win on Sunday. Despite what the bookies say, Roscommon are the class act in this division, and should be favourites to win it out. They are Connaught champions, drew with a good Mayo team last year, and have played division 1 football for the past 2 years. They also have had better underage teams in recent years. Let's be honest here - they are a better side than we are right now. In addition they are playing at home, where Meath have often struggled to get a result, even when we had good teams. Everything points towards Roscommon being strong favourites for this game, and realistically they should win it.
It would not be a disaster for us if we don't win, provided the performance is decent. Plenty of teams have lost the first game, and gone on to win promotion (Kildare once got promotion after losing the first two). However losing would put us under a lot of pressure for the remaining games, and we don't do well under pressure.
If we don't win, it is essential that we do not suffer a heavy beating. Firstly for the effect on morale, but also because of scoring difference. This looks like a really tight division, and there is a strong possibility that it will come down to scoring difference in the end. Maximizing your winning scores and minimizing your losses could be vital.
In terms of the team, it is likely that Andy will play it fairly conservatively. I would be surprised to see Mckeever start - I think the postponed obc final may have put paid to his chances. I would be even more surprised to see Rooney start. I think we could see:
Colgan
Lavin
McGill
Burke
Keoghan
Conlan/power
McEntee
Menton
Flanagan
McEntee
O'sullivan
Reilly
Wallace
Tobin
Lenihan

Who will win? My heart says Meath by a point. My head says Roscommon by 4-6.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 23/01/2018 16:08:58    2070142

Replying To royaldunne:  "I have the same on them. And I have 100 on them to be promoted and 50 to win division 2 title. Bring it on."
Glad to hear someone is as optimistic as myself. Bring it on RD!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 23/01/2018 16:12:51    2070146

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Ah here Bob dont wreck our whole positive buzz we have got going on here! This is going to be our year. Tell you how positive i feel ive put €50 on us to win Leinser @ 16/1, i reckon we are going to put it up the the Dubs and get the title this year. Call me stupid but you need to have faith!"
Jaysus More money than sense!!! Better you than me

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 23/01/2018 16:25:54    2070150

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Jaysus More money than sense!!! Better you than me"
No point following if you don't believe. That's always been my motto.
You will always lose more often than you win in sport. That's what makes the wins so special.
I have Never gone to a Meath match not absolutely believing they will win. And since I hitting the half century soon enough , that's a lot of disappointment, however on Sunday I will travel to Roscommon without a ounce of doubt that we will win, and with a bit to spare. For me that's what makes it all worth it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2018 16:45:07    2070155

mmm. Good luck with that. Going to stick with the feeling I got at the start of the year. I'd be happy to stay up in Div 2 and not to get destroyed in the in championship like we did against Kildare last year. And that way, I will not be that disappointed. Hopefully...

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 23/01/2018 16:47:10    2070156

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Glad to hear someone is as optimistic as myself. Bring it on RD!"
I' already know what I'll do with my winnings. Got to have faith.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/01/2018 16:53:19    2070157

Replying To royaldunne:  "No point following if you don't believe. That's always been my motto.
You will always lose more often than you win in sport. That's what makes the wins so special.
I have Never gone to a Meath match not absolutely believing they will win. And since I hitting the half century soon enough , that's a lot of disappointment, however on Sunday I will travel to Roscommon without a ounce of doubt that we will win, and with a bit to spare. For me that's what makes it all worth it."
Look I understand Your point...I go to every Game in the hope of a win too but not Blind optimism..Nothing wrong with your Bets in the League they are quite smart and Have a good chance of coming in...But the 16-1 to win Leinster..Im guessing he put it on as a novelty or something..but at the end of the day to say we will Beat Dublin is Border line crazy..This is one of the best Teams ever and At the minute they would destroy us In Croker..Hopefully Andy will start to Bridge that Gap, in Fact I know he will but its Going to take time and Personally I hope he is left there for many Years !! Needs another 5 Minimum if he is willing to stay!! Royaldunne I admire your optimism but you just need to be a Little more realistic

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 23/01/2018 17:11:29    2070162

Replying To anfearbeag:  "Realistically, Meath have no right to be expecting a win on Sunday. Despite what the bookies say, Roscommon are the class act in this division, and should be favourites to win it out. They are Connaught champions, drew with a good Mayo team last year, and have played division 1 football for the past 2 years. They also have had better underage teams in recent years. Let's be honest here - they are a better side than we are right now. In addition they are playing at home, where Meath have often struggled to get a result, even when we had good teams. Everything points towards Roscommon being strong favourites for this game, and realistically they should win it.
It would not be a disaster for us if we don't win, provided the performance is decent. Plenty of teams have lost the first game, and gone on to win promotion (Kildare once got promotion after losing the first two). However losing would put us under a lot of pressure for the remaining games, and we don't do well under pressure.
If we don't win, it is essential that we do not suffer a heavy beating. Firstly for the effect on morale, but also because of scoring difference. This looks like a really tight division, and there is a strong possibility that it will come down to scoring difference in the end. Maximizing your winning scores and minimizing your losses could be vital.
In terms of the team, it is likely that Andy will play it fairly conservatively. I would be surprised to see Mckeever start - I think the postponed obc final may have put paid to his chances. I would be even more surprised to see Rooney start. I think we could see:
Colgan
Lavin
McGill
Burke
Keoghan
Conlan/power
McEntee
Menton
Flanagan
McEntee
O'sullivan
Reilly
Wallace
Tobin
Lenihan

Who will win? My heart says Meath by a point. My head says Roscommon by 4-6."
You make it sound like its Dublin were playing on Sunday, of course we can beat Roscommon they got to the quarterfinals last year after just two games and then got hammered by Mayo, the previous year New York almost bet them,they lost every game in the league last year except against fellow strugglers Cavan and all the back end league games the previous year, I'm not trying to knock Roscommon but what I'm trying to say is there no better or worse then what we are at the moment, if this hame was in navan id fully expect Meath to win but with the game in the Hyde I'd have Roscommon as very slight favourites.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 23/01/2018 17:32:58    2070171

Replying To anfearbeag:  "Realistically, Meath have no right to be expecting a win on Sunday. Despite what the bookies say, Roscommon are the class act in this division, and should be favourites to win it out. They are Connaught champions, drew with a good Mayo team last year, and have played division 1 football for the past 2 years. They also have had better underage teams in recent years. Let's be honest here - they are a better side than we are right now. In addition they are playing at home, where Meath have often struggled to get a result, even when we had good teams. Everything points towards Roscommon being strong favourites for this game, and realistically they should win it.
Colgan
Lavin
McGill
Burke
Keoghan
Conlan/power
McEntee
Menton
Flanagan
McEntee
O'sullivan
Reilly
Wallace
Tobin
Lenihan

I fully agree with this post.

Meath has been floundering in Division 2 for the guts of 2 decades.

We haven't been good enough to dominate a league.

Our away form is atrocious there's little denying that especially when we have travelled needing a result.

I'm not writing us off.. an advantage for us is that this is an opener and it always catches teams out.

If we click, we could win. But on the other hand the Rossies will be used to playing Division 1 teams - Kerry, Dublin, Mayo, Tyrone which is always worth a little something.

Hard to make a call on this game until after it I think!!

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 23/01/2018 18:26:24    2070182

Colgan
Lavin
McGill
Burke
Keoghan
Conlan/power
McEntee
Menton
Flanagan
McEntee
O'sullivan
Reilly
Wallace
Tobin
Lenihan

When did Roscommon turn into such a great team since last year?? We have every right to expect a win Sunday and why shouldnt we. We have much a right as Roscommon. As for them been a class act.. hardly. We work hard under pressure hence us been a 2nd half team majority of the time playing out of our skins & leaving it til last minute to go hell for leather under severe pressure most of the time. I dont know what team u have been looking at.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 23/01/2018 18:31:03    2070185