Meath v Roscommon

Replying To ratlag:  "I would also think McMahon wouldn't be to far off the starting line up depending on the head injury he sustained against Longford."
Going by his performance against Lonford he will find it hard to get a starting place. He was hesitating to take shooting responsibility, And gave the ball away to easy a number of times.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 22/01/2018 15:05:37    2069886

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Going by his performance against Lonford he will find it hard to get a starting place. He was hesitating to take shooting responsibility, And gave the ball away to easy a number of times."
His first half was poor but that was more down to tactis than anything as the whole forward line didn't do well in that half. I thought he was ok in 2nd half unti the injury, not at his best though and thats why I wouldn't have him as a nailed on starter, I think the toss up is between Wallace, McEntee, Brennan, McKeever and McMahon for 3 spots as I would have O Sullivan, Biggy and Lenihan as definite starters for the first game at least. All have shown glimpses of their quality, though I would think McMahon would be better impact subs that the others given their pace and flair. I also think Tobin will be used as a sub this year as he seems to affect games more from the bench rather than starting.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 22/01/2018 15:14:30    2069888

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Any idea why Power wasn't named in the squad for the OBC final - thought that was a strange one and made me wonder if he would be involved next week. I think you have named a strong looking team here - wouldn't argue with any of teh selections"
Not to sure, small niggle maybe or possibly still playing college ball and sigurson normally starts around this time

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 22/01/2018 15:16:15    2069889

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Going by his performance against Lonford he will find it hard to get a starting place. He was hesitating to take shooting responsibility, And gave the ball away to easy a number of times."
In fairness there were far worse than him on that day against Longford who Im sure will be getting to start....Ive no doubt he will be named.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 22/01/2018 15:24:54    2069891

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "In fairness there were far worse than him on that day against Longford who Im sure will be getting to start....Ive no doubt he will be named."
He played better than Reilly tbf

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 22/01/2018 15:40:29    2069898

Replying To ratlag:  "His first half was poor but that was more down to tactis than anything as the whole forward line didn't do well in that half. I thought he was ok in 2nd half unti the injury, not at his best though and thats why I wouldn't have him as a nailed on starter, I think the toss up is between Wallace, McEntee, Brennan, McKeever and McMahon for 3 spots as I would have O Sullivan, Biggy and Lenihan as definite starters for the first game at least. All have shown glimpses of their quality, though I would think McMahon would be better impact subs that the others given their pace and flair. I also think Tobin will be used as a sub this year as he seems to affect games more from the bench rather than starting."
I really like Mc Mahon, But over the past 2 years from me he massive potential but hasn't delivered for me. Lets hope he can step in up this year, The refreshing thing about Tobin is he a natural scoring forward and pulls the trigger at the first opportunity also he works very hard. I think Tobin deserves at start. I have no clue on Mc Kever so I cant comment on him. Heres hoping he can make it.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 22/01/2018 15:55:13    2069902

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I really like Mc Mahon, But over the past 2 years from me he massive potential but hasn't delivered for me. Lets hope he can step in up this year, The refreshing thing about Tobin is he a natural scoring forward and pulls the trigger at the first opportunity also he works very hard. I think Tobin deserves at start. I have no clue on Mc Kever so I cant comment on him. Heres hoping he can make it."
Tobin deserves to start also. Although if he comes on after half time he will give a boost to the team which we will probably need

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 22/01/2018 16:04:47    2069907

This quoted from Roscommon forum put a smirk on my face. Counties were laughing at us this time last year .

"I'm a expecting a tough and tight competitive game against what will be by all accounts is a very fit Meath side for this time of year. With our continued problems at midfield i think we will be doing well to break even against whoever they choose as a pairing Rooney,Menton and Flanagan. In Burke,McGill,Keogan etc they have a number of good defenders that will be given the task to mark our most dangerous players while they have plenty of talented forwards in Lenihan,Reilly and O'Sullivan that can cause damage if marked poorly.

TBH i'm a little bit concerned by how rusty a few of our key players are and i would hope that the good Hyde park pitch will suit the fast moving game we want to play. I would gladly take a one point win and get up and running with a win before that tricky trip to Tipp the following weekend"

Finger crossed we will live up the expectations and more. Its been a long time since anyone said we even looked fit never mind that we are very fit. Andy is doing something right....

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 22/01/2018 16:29:36    2069913

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "This quoted from Roscommon forum put a smirk on my face. Counties were laughing at us this time last year .

"I'm a expecting a tough and tight competitive game against what will be by all accounts is a very fit Meath side for this time of year. With our continued problems at midfield i think we will be doing well to break even against whoever they choose as a pairing Rooney,Menton and Flanagan. In Burke,McGill,Keogan etc they have a number of good defenders that will be given the task to mark our most dangerous players while they have plenty of talented forwards in Lenihan,Reilly and O'Sullivan that can cause damage if marked poorly.

TBH i'm a little bit concerned by how rusty a few of our key players are and i would hope that the good Hyde park pitch will suit the fast moving game we want to play. I would gladly take a one point win and get up and running with a win before that tricky trip to Tipp the following weekend"

Finger crossed we will live up the expectations and more. Its been a long time since anyone said we even looked fit never mind that we are very fit. Andy is doing something right...."
Well yes paper never refused print of course. From what i saw against Longford i am concerned about just where we are at on teamwork ,attitude and mental toughness generally. I saw too many players not prepared to take responsibility,and no leadership on the field when needed. With on field leadership we should not have lost the lead in extra time,and should have won with a couple to spare. As a long time Meath supporter i am not prepared to accept rubbish or mediocrity against such weak opposition. We are Meath still ,unless of course we want to live in cloud cuckoo land by not accepting what we SEE on the field as real and very poor. HYPING favourite players is amusing but contributes nothing to reality. Ok it is pre season ,and not full strenght but still the opposition has also been poor up to now also. Hopefully, we will SEE a big improvement,and thus have some grounds for optimism rather than just HOPING all the time. The best of luck to Andy McEntee as he has a big job on his hands now.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 22/01/2018 17:19:38    2069927

Replying To nobull456:  "Well yes paper never refused print of course. From what i saw against Longford i am concerned about just where we are at on teamwork ,attitude and mental toughness generally. I saw too many players not prepared to take responsibility,and no leadership on the field when needed. With on field leadership we should not have lost the lead in extra time,and should have won with a couple to spare. As a long time Meath supporter i am not prepared to accept rubbish or mediocrity against such weak opposition. We are Meath still ,unless of course we want to live in cloud cuckoo land by not accepting what we SEE on the field as real and very poor. HYPING favourite players is amusing but contributes nothing to reality. Ok it is pre season ,and not full strenght but still the opposition has also been poor up to now also. Hopefully, we will SEE a big improvement,and thus have some grounds for optimism rather than just HOPING all the time. The best of luck to Andy McEntee as he has a big job on his hands now."
True....true. a very intelligent post. What we saw on the field against Longord was unacceptable especially from our top players who should be leading by example. We really need to get our s.... together if we stand any chance against Roscommon. Point i was making was at least we have a slight bit of progressive even if it is just fitness levels. If the lads are not mentally prepared going into every game we may just forget it. Im willing put to my faith in Andy and squad in the hope he can make something out of us this year. All the hard work is going to start now.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 22/01/2018 18:00:49    2069933

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "This quoted from Roscommon forum put a smirk on my face. Counties were laughing at us this time last year .

Finger crossed we will live up the expectations and more. Its been a long time since anyone said we even looked fit never mind that we are very fit. Andy is doing something right...."
Yeah Andys Done a Good Job Alright..Confident he will deliver this year!! Will Be tough next week though

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 22/01/2018 18:10:10    2069935

Really disappointed the OBC final didn't go ahead Colgan, Lavin, Glynn, O Sullivan, McEntee and McKeever all could have done with a bit of game.
This won't be an easy game by any means, Roscommon have been able to match Galway, Mayo and Kerry over the past few years when they are at their best, our lads need to be tuned in from the off and not give away possession cheaply, kick out have to be pushed up and we need to give the ball to our scores/man in the best position. We can't really base the team on the last three games because the majority didn't show up against Longford, Wicklow was as one sided and Carlow was the first competitive game of the year. For Sunday I would be hoping to see something along these lines:

Andy Colgan
Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Mickey Burke
Donal Keoghan, Brian Power, Brían Conlon,
Bryan Menton, Adam Flanagan
Shane McEntee, Cillian O'Sullivan, Joey Wallace
Donal Lenihan, Graham Reilly, Padraig McKeever.

-We need to get the Keeper situation correct and Colgan is the long term option.

-Question marks over both Lavin and Burke with regards to both being able to play in corner back, I don't think Burke has the pace and Lavin is very inexperienced not to mention he rarely stands out for Dunboyne at club level but he has been the best of the newcomers. However if Gallaher and Glynn are fit I would love to see a fullback line of Glynn,
McGill and Gallaher.

-Keoghan is a concern on the wing as he is our best man marker but he looks so good there I don't want to move him. If Power is fit then he has to start at center back and mover Brían to the wing which will let him attack and carry the ball a bit more.

-Rooney still has a lot to prove, i've never been convinced by him, he's a big unit and great pair of hands but after that he offers very little. Flanagan has a bit more mobility but still not sure on him yet. Menton is our engine room and looks to be in flying form at the minute.

-There is 5 forwards on my team with a lot to prove. Lenihan has been the only one there that has been consistent for both club and county the rest haven't. I am picking Shane McEntee at wing forward and giving him a free role to roam, he isn't the best defender and he loves to attack but he will go for everything and has a mighty engine. I would then bring Graham Reilly out from full forward, have himself and O Sullivan between the 45-65 and let them either run from deep or quick ball into Lenihan and McKeever who should be playing no further than 30 yards from the Roscommon goal. Finally I would use Joey as the link man between the 2 lads in the half forward line and full forward line if we do work it through the hands

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 22/01/2018 18:40:54    2069942

Replying To nobull456:  "Well yes paper never refused print of course. From what i saw against Longford i am concerned about just where we are at on teamwork ,attitude and mental toughness generally. I saw too many players not prepared to take responsibility,and no leadership on the field when needed. With on field leadership we should not have lost the lead in extra time,and should have won with a couple to spare. As a long time Meath supporter i am not prepared to accept rubbish or mediocrity against such weak opposition. We are Meath still ,unless of course we want to live in cloud cuckoo land by not accepting what we SEE on the field as real and very poor. HYPING favourite players is amusing but contributes nothing to reality. Ok it is pre season ,and not full strenght but still the opposition has also been poor up to now also. Hopefully, we will SEE a big improvement,and thus have some grounds for optimism rather than just HOPING all the time. The best of luck to Andy McEntee as he has a big job on his hands now."
Think ye are overreacting to the Longford game by some distance
I see some giving out about how ye played against them the in other posts saying kildare will be at Dublin, Longford won handy enough against a strong kildare team .
I have no doubts that yere managers have always viewed this game as the one, not Longford, roscommon will suit ye as they won't go defensive so ye forwards won't have too many in front of them . Also ye are apparently not as reliant on reilly for majority of scores from play, that should be a huge bonus, hopefully mckeever plays I have seen him at club level and if he brings that to county ye have a top quality forward

joeblogs10 (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 22/01/2018 20:42:59    2069973

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Really disappointed the OBC final didn't go ahead Colgan, Lavin, Glynn, O Sullivan, McEntee and McKeever all could have done with a bit of game.
This won't be an easy game by any means, Roscommon have been able to match Galway, Mayo and Kerry over the past few years when they are at their best, our lads need to be tuned in from the off and not give away possession cheaply, kick out have to be pushed up and we need to give the ball to our scores/man in the best position. We can't really base the team on the last three games because the majority didn't show up against Longford, Wicklow was as one sided and Carlow was the first competitive game of the year. For Sunday I would be hoping to see something along these lines:

Andy Colgan
Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Mickey Burke
Donal Keoghan, Brian Power, Brían Conlon,
Bryan Menton, Adam Flanagan
Shane McEntee, Cillian O'Sullivan, Joey Wallace
Donal Lenihan, Graham Reilly, Padraig McKeever.

-We need to get the Keeper situation correct and Colgan is the long term option.

-Question marks over both Lavin and Burke with regards to both being able to play in corner back, I don't think Burke has the pace and Lavin is very inexperienced not to mention he rarely stands out for Dunboyne at club level but he has been the best of the newcomers. However if Gallaher and Glynn are fit I would love to see a fullback line of Glynn,
McGill and Gallaher.

-Keoghan is a concern on the wing as he is our best man marker but he looks so good there I don't want to move him. If Power is fit then he has to start at center back and mover Brían to the wing which will let him attack and carry the ball a bit more.

-Rooney still has a lot to prove, i've never been convinced by him, he's a big unit and great pair of hands but after that he offers very little. Flanagan has a bit more mobility but still not sure on him yet. Menton is our engine room and looks to be in flying form at the minute.

-There is 5 forwards on my team with a lot to prove. Lenihan has been the only one there that has been consistent for both club and county the rest haven't. I am picking Shane McEntee at wing forward and giving him a free role to roam, he isn't the best defender and he loves to attack but he will go for everything and has a mighty engine. I would then bring Graham Reilly out from full forward, have himself and O Sullivan between the 45-65 and let them either run from deep or quick ball into Lenihan and McKeever who should be playing no further than 30 yards from the Roscommon goal. Finally I would use Joey as the link man between the 2 lads in the half forward line and full forward line if we do work it through the hands"
Good post nice summary of where we are at the moment. Our only consistent forward last year was Leinhan you cant build an attack only one consistent forward player. Sure others played well at different stages. Biggy and COS are class acts on there day, but you just never know what your going to get. We need try get consistence from the forward line. I dont think its ever going to happen with COS or Biggy but if you get solid players consistent players supporting them you could carry them, but relying on them its just not going to work.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 22/01/2018 21:37:42    2069986

Replying To joeblogs10:  "Think ye are overreacting to the Longford game by some distance
I see some giving out about how ye played against them the in other posts saying kildare will be at Dublin, Longford won handy enough against a strong kildare team .
I have no doubts that yere managers have always viewed this game as the one, not Longford, roscommon will suit ye as they won't go defensive so ye forwards won't have too many in front of them . Also ye are apparently not as reliant on reilly for majority of scores from play, that should be a huge bonus, hopefully mckeever plays I have seen him at club level and if he brings that to county ye have a top quality forward"
You would have to have attended the Longford match to see the reality . I suspect you were not present,which would make it very difficult for you make an objective assessment anyway. I really believe we do not have even 1 player now that would be even near good enough for DUBLIN, KERRY, MAYO teams. We are where we are,but if you are a dub you will know from experience you NEVER write off a Meath team. We just need some time to move up from our present status.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 22/01/2018 21:42:21    2069988

Dont forget...you havent beaten Meath until you are the bus home....

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 22/01/2018 21:59:56    2069989

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Dont forget...you havent beaten Meath until you are the bus home...."
Hopefully the bus doesn't pass through kells...or they are definitely beaten :/

Who is cavan playing this weekend anyways ?

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 23/01/2018 05:12:43    2070011

it is absolutely imperative we win this game. Win this and we will have a pep in our step. Every player needs to leave everything on the pitch and above all work hard which was seriously lacking against Longford. The team pretty much picks its self but there will be 9 or 10 forwards that will get game time. Tobin and Mc Mahon will come on at least and i would love to see us getting very mean at the back. For me Conlon needs to be a CB as he has the stature needed to play there and is inevitably the long-term plan. Flanagan has a lot to prove and one back game and Rooney is in so i expect him to do well. Reilly absolutely needs to play much closer to goals as he has the ability to go on those 30/40 yard runs and score. Rossies will not want to have him there so put him there. Lenihan is a class act and if high on confidence is a match winner. James Mc Entee is you work horse for the half forwards and i would not be afraid to put Toner on the other wing as he will run all day and has pace to burn. Absolutely we can do it but everyone needs to be tuned in from the get go.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 23/01/2018 07:55:34    2070014

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Hopefully the bus doesn't pass through kells...or they are definitely beaten :/

Who is cavan playing this weekend anyways ?"
Cavan playing Clare Saturday...

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 23/01/2018 10:20:10    2070039

Replying To pretender:  "it is absolutely imperative we win this game. Win this and we will have a pep in our step. Every player needs to leave everything on the pitch and above all work hard which was seriously lacking against Longford. The team pretty much picks its self but there will be 9 or 10 forwards that will get game time. Tobin and Mc Mahon will come on at least and i would love to see us getting very mean at the back. For me Conlon needs to be a CB as he has the stature needed to play there and is inevitably the long-term plan. Flanagan has a lot to prove and one back game and Rooney is in so i expect him to do well. Reilly absolutely needs to play much closer to goals as he has the ability to go on those 30/40 yard runs and score. Rossies will not want to have him there so put him there. Lenihan is a class act and if high on confidence is a match winner. James Mc Entee is you work horse for the half forwards and i would not be afraid to put Toner on the other wing as he will run all day and has pace to burn. Absolutely we can do it but everyone needs to be tuned in from the get go."
We have to be in Top gear for this one. We need Biggy on the ball for this one or i can see a repeat from Kildare, marked out of the game and couldnt get a sniff of the ball, then he just gave up. Bring him closer to goals as you said and let him do what he does best. Physiologically this game is going to matter. Lenihan for me is the man who can do alot of damage and ive a feeling we are going to be relying on him quite abit. We need to be playing as a team and not trying to go solo making stupid decisions. Hand passing has to be improved and none of this messing around making panicky stupid decisions. Im nervous about this game because if we lose this is going to be the start of a down turn for the lads mentally i feel, but im confident enough that we will win this. No ifs buts or maybes we need to win this no matter how small of a point difference. And we just cant afford to be a half time team as you said we need to get stuck in from throw in.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 23/01/2018 10:56:29    2070049