Club of the Year award

How on earth did Simonstown win club of the year ?
Where I totally agree they are a fine club and their senior footballers are a fine team but this does not equate to CLUB of the year
They have as far as I'm aware won nothing else this year other then Keegan cup, but not to make light of this great achievement it is only one team, if there was an award for Team of the Year then they would be deserving but club of the year!!!!!
This makes a mockery of all the other clubs in meath who have excelled in many teams both hurling and football, ie Ratoath and NaFianna also a shout out for Wolftones who've had a great year
But like it or not people on this forum will not like the fact that Ratoath deserves this award this year
Achievements this year
div 2 football league adult winners
Div 2 hurling league adult winners
B league football div 2 promotion to div 1
In div 1 u21 football final on 17 dec
In div 1 u21 hurling final on 5 dec
U18 div 1 minor football winners
U17 div 1 special minor hurling winners
U17 div 1 special minor football winners
U16 div 1 hurling league winners
U15 div 1 football league winners
U 13 div 1 football league beaten finalists

On top of all this we have lots of players representing the county at all ages w
If all of this is not enough to win club of the year I don't know what is
Well done all in Ratoath CLG a great year even if not recognized by CB
The Ratoath bias continues

Drawmatch (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 04/12/2017 17:41:08    2064401

Replying To Drawmatch:  "How on earth did Simonstown win club of the year
Where I totally agree they are a fine club and their senior footballers are a fine team but this does not equate to CLUB of the year
They have as far as I'm aware won nothing else this year other then Keegan cup and of course Lienster club title, but not to make light of this great achievement it is only one team, if there was an award for Team of the Year then they would be deserving but club of the year!!!!!
This makes a mockery of all the other clubs in meath who have excelled in many teams both hurling and football, ie Ratoath and NaFianna also a shout out for Wolftones who've had a great year
But like it or not people on this forum will not like the fact that Ratoath deserves this award this year
Achievements this year

On top of all this we have lots of players representing the county at all ages w
The Ratoath bias continues"
Im from Simonstown and I agree with what you said, not sure how they won it. What exactly is it judged on is the question? Hard for even me to make much of an argument for Simonstown. Not sure what you mean by Ratoath bias continues from the CB though.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 04/12/2017 18:58:53    2064410

Replying To Drawmatch:  "How on earth did Simonstown win club of the year
They have as far as I'm aware won nothing else this year other then Keegan cup and of course Lienster club title, but not to make light of this great achievement it is only one team, if there was an award for Team of the Year then they would be deserving but club of the year!!!!!
Achievements this year

The Ratoath bias continues"
Fully agree. How can award be dished out when there are 3 U21 finals to be played. Ratoath, Curraha and Tones would all have a better claim to this award than Simonstown.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 04/12/2017 19:15:07    2064415

Replying To Analyst:  "Fully agree. How can award be dished out when there are 3 U21 finals to be played. Ratoath, Curraha and Tones would all have a better claim to this award than Simonstown."
I forgot about Tha Ha
Another worthy contender

Drawmatch (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 04/12/2017 19:47:49    2064418

A strange pick alright - I was talking to two Simonstown men who were surprised themselves. I admire Simonstown greatly but there are better picks this year. The likes of Kilbride, who nearly went out of existence a couple of years ago and this year contested finals at adult, U21, minor, U15, U14 and won some silverware too. Ratoath have won more titles than you could shake a stick at. What about Curraha?
There have been some strange winners recently. The whole thing in the past two years of giving the Peter McDermott trophy for Meath Footballer of the Year to club players rather than county men in baffling. Set up a new category for Club Player of the Year by all means but we are disrespecting great county men with the last two year's selections.

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 471 - 04/12/2017 20:45:10    2064423

Simonstown are a good bunch, I wouldn't begrudge them. It would be nice to see what the criteria are for this rather than some ould' lad picking an idea out of the sky.

49erroyal (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 04/12/2017 21:42:41    2064430

Replying To 49erroyal:  "Simonstown are a good bunch, I wouldn't begrudge them. It would be nice to see what the criteria are for this rather than some ould' lad picking an idea out of the sky."
Simonstown are definitely a good bunch of lads , I know some of them personally and I would not begrudge them a Team of the year award but as a club they do not deserve Club of the year based on the club achievements this year , there are a number of other clubs ahead of them on this front
The people selecting this need to take a long look at themselves and maybe explain how they came to this conclusion

Drawmatch (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 05/12/2017 16:52:05    2064494

You can add a div 1 U21 hurling championship to Ratoath list of achievements this year
Well done lads

Drawmatch (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 05/12/2017 21:53:34    2064509

Overall this is a farce to give Simonstown this. The selection of this must be an extremely lazy process. Someone mentioned Kilbride earlier which is a shinning light to smaller struggling clubs. For me the Ha are well deserving of this and more so in that they probably have one of the smaller picks out there. How a club of that size field a standalone team and compete in finals and win is a credit to the club and members.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 06/12/2017 09:25:41    2064520

Kilbride are actually a great shout. They've done tremendous work at underage over the last number of years which will hopefully bear fruit in the next few years. I'd say the only thing that stopped them winning club of the year was the fact that they were beaten in the finals they participated in this year.
I'd have gone with Curraha personally for their achievement. Also, a good number of their players are a vital part of the Ratoath hurling teams. But the fact that they won it a couple of years ago probably went against them (which shouldn't be a reason).

Having said that, it's not as though Simonstown aren't deserving of it. For a team that had never won Keegan just over a year ago to go on to retain it is a great achievement.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 06/12/2017 09:57:37    2064524

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Kilbride are actually a great shout. They've done tremendous work at underage over the last number of years which will hopefully bear fruit in the next few years. I'd say the only thing that stopped them winning club of the year was the fact that they were beaten in the finals they participated in this year.
I'd have gone with Curraha personally for their achievement. Also, a good number of their players are a vital part of the Ratoath hurling teams. But the fact that they won it a couple of years ago probably went against them (which shouldn't be a reason).

Having said that, it's not as though Simonstown aren't deserving of it. For a team that had never won Keegan just over a year ago to go on to retain it is a great achievement."
I disagree
Simonstown are definitely not deserving of CLUB of the year
One team does not make a club

Drawmatch (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 06/12/2017 13:44:35    2064544

Replying To Drawmatch:  "I disagree
Simonstown are definitely not deserving of CLUB of the year
One team does not make a club"
Jaysus relax lad its not the end of the world your coming across as bitter about it! id imagine when this was decided Simonstown were after doing 2 in a row, were in a leinster semi, and a league final which is fair going in fairness. Just because they lost these shouldnt take it away completely as they were unlucky against lomans and were completely out on their feet against the tones. They still had a great year. Ratoath had a brilliant year at underage and deserve plenty of credit for not just this year but the last 10 or 15 years work at underage but i dont think your going to win this award solely on that. At the end of the day most people will remember Ratoaths dissapointing performance in the biggest game of the clubs year if not history in the quarter final of the championship. Curraha's achievement in going up the grades so quickly for such a small club could well have seen them win it as could kiltales 4 in a row in the hurling

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 06/12/2017 18:33:39    2064561

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "Jaysus relax lad its not the end of the world your coming across as bitter about it! id imagine when this was decided Simonstown were after doing 2 in a row, were in a leinster semi, and a league final which is fair going in fairness. Just because they lost these shouldnt take it away completely as they were unlucky against lomans and were completely out on their feet against the tones. They still had a great year. Ratoath had a brilliant year at underage and deserve plenty of credit for not just this year but the last 10 or 15 years work at underage but i dont think your going to win this award solely on that. At the end of the day most people will remember Ratoaths dissapointing performance in the biggest game of the clubs year if not history in the quarter final of the championship. Curraha's achievement in going up the grades so quickly for such a small club could well have seen them win it as could kiltales 4 in a row in the hurling"
I think your missing the point, it is the CLUB of the year not team of the year. Nobody is denying simonstowns senior team had a brilliant year but what else did the club achieve in 2017?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 06/12/2017 19:13:10    2064566

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Kilbride are actually a great shout. They've done tremendous work at underage over the last number of years which will hopefully bear fruit in the next few years. I'd say the only thing that stopped them winning club of the year was the fact that they were beaten in the finals they participated in this year.

Having said that, it's not as though Simonstown aren't deserving of it. For a team that had never won Keegan just over a year ago to go on to retain it is a great achievement."
Well said, a fair an honest poster

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 06/12/2017 20:26:22    2064572

A lot of fair points, would prob just give it to Curraha myself.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 12/12/2017 08:14:01    2064912

A lot of fair points, would prob just give it to Curraha myself.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 12/12/2017 08:28:36    2064914

Replying To ziggy320001:  "A lot of fair points, would prob just give it to Curraha myself."

Exactly my point
A team. Great achievement
Not a club

Drawmatch (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 12/12/2017 10:27:09    2064917

I haven't spoken to one person yet that put up any argument as to why Simonstown should have gotten this award but what i woukd like to know is who exactly makes the decisions on these awards ??

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 12/12/2017 14:22:29    2064986

Delighted Wolfe Tones won this award with HS winners @U17,Minor U21 & senior league champions all round "super club work" pity CB made its decision before competitions were completed .

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 22/12/2017 14:06:10    2065870

Replying To royalpainter:  "Delighted Wolfe Tones won this award with HS winners @U17,Minor U21 & senior league champions all round "super club work" pity CB made its decision before competitions were completed ."
True a decision should not be made until the season is over..
Having said that Wolfe Tones won't really care,because getting trophies is more important than getting club of the year. Fair play to them and Ratoath,both as clubs had super years.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 22/12/2017 18:21:16    2065891