Intermediate Football Championship 2017

Interesting final, if Curraha play the way did in the semi I think they will fall just short. Micheal's on the other hand will be looking for something similar to the last day. If Curraha bring their shooting boots I think they will have enough to shade it but only just. It'll be in the melting pot with 10 mins to go.

Vladputin (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 20/10/2017 14:02:28    2056573

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Best of luck to the 'Ha. Really difficult one to call. Even the bookies have both sides as even money."
Boylesports have the ha at 11/8 outsiders

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 20/10/2017 14:04:50    2056575

The Ha will win this. Said it from the outset. They ran the Cilles close and have some of the most promising younger players around. for such a small parish it is a credit to the club, players and mgm. Bet of the weekend, money for nothing. Michaels dont have the quality but it is a great achievement for them

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 20/10/2017 15:31:47    2056603

very heard to call,the ha were the best side we played this year in championship without james mc entee,improving with every game although was at the game when castletown bet them,castletown fell asunder after that game to my surprise.dont rule out a draw for the second year in a row.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 20/10/2017 15:48:22    2056611

Replying To Analyst:  "Boylesports have the ha at 11/8 outsiders"
And PP have both at evens. Also I hardly consider 11/8 to be an "outsider".

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 20/10/2017 18:59:49    2056676

fair play curraha,yee are champions because yee wanted to be !!!

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 22/10/2017 16:05:45    2056993

Well done Curraha. Thought they'd win but really thought that St. Michael's would give them a good game of it. Would be fantastic if Meath clubs could do a 3 in a row in the Leinster IFC.
Imagine the fun of a Don/Ash, Ratoath, Skryne, Dunshaughlin, Dunboyne and Curraha group in senior next year.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 22/10/2017 16:25:16    2056996

Well done Curragha, what an achievement and well deserved, there could be some cracking derbies in next years championship to look forward too.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 22/10/2017 21:37:04    2057074

Delighted for Curragha. I played for them in the late 80's early 90's. They've seen more than their fair share of talent go elsewhere to play senior football with the likes of Skryne. Not to mention a few underage county lads who are now living abroad that could still be playing. That talent is staying with them from now on all going well.

It'll be a big step up but they have talent and hopefully the lads will make their mark at senior level in years to come.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 22/10/2017 21:55:17    2057076

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "Delighted for Curragha. I played for them in the late 80's early 90's. They've seen more than their fair share of talent go elsewhere to play senior football with the likes of Skryne. Not to mention a few underage county lads who are now living abroad that could still be playing. That talent is staying with them from now on all going well.

It'll be a big step up but they have talent and hopefully the lads will make their mark at senior level in years to come."
Hon the Ha, said it they would win this hands down and bet of the weekend. Very good tuned in team and good mgm. Micks lot of soul searching, tactics all wrong.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 23/10/2017 08:08:57    2057111

Replying To thelutch:  "very heard to call,the ha were the best side we played this year in championship without james mc entee,improving with every game although was at the game when castletown bet them,castletown fell asunder after that game to my surprise.dont rule out a draw for the second year in a row."
Agree Lutch , I don't think that your the only one surprised by that . The daddies caught Curraha early . However looked a bit ill prepared for the following games and didn't finish out games ( the Bective Match ) as well as they normally do . Best of luck to Curraha at Senior next year, maybe th exodus to the other clubs will styart reversing now , Skyrne , etc. . Its a big step for them . A number of their Subs will be parking their boots now , Locky Keogh et al . the same I reckon for St Michaels , the two Daithi's Regan and Reilly .
These were Two finalists that you would have got big odds on at the beginning of the year .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 23/10/2017 08:49:01    2057120

Replying To Meath_True:  "Agree Lutch , I don't think that your the only one surprised by that . The daddies caught Curraha early . However looked a bit ill prepared for the following games and didn't finish out games ( the Bective Match ) as well as they normally do . Best of luck to Curraha at Senior next year, maybe th exodus to the other clubs will styart reversing now , Skyrne , etc. . Its a big step for them . A number of their Subs will be parking their boots now , Locky Keogh et al . the same I reckon for St Michaels , the two Daithi's Regan and Reilly .
These were Two finalists that you would have got big odds on at the beginning of the year ."
not too sure if there is too many to go off the Ha team. Lockie Keogh has been some servant and would still be able to give something at senior. Never got the county recognition he deserved. Great for the Ha

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 23/10/2017 10:18:13    2057154

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "And PP have both at evens. Also I hardly consider 11/8 to be an "outsider"."
Well in a 2 horse race where one team is 8/11 and the other is 11/8, the latter is the outsider

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 23/10/2017 13:32:08    2057225

Replying To Analyst:  "Well in a 2 horse race where one team is 8/11 and the other is 11/8, the latter is the outsider"
Absolute genius there analyst

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 23/10/2017 14:56:13    2057257

Curraha will be up against it next year, the only reason being the sheer lack of squad dept. Over the course of a year unless you have 20-25 who can realistically make a contribution on the field of play things will eventually catch up with you. Hopefully they can call on another few minors and get some lads who have been away to return. Nothing special in the top tier, a well drilled team sprinkled with some class can take you along way. If these players and management stick together they can topple a big team next year, easily.

Vladputin (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 23/10/2017 16:29:33    2057285

Replying To Meath_True:  "Absolute genius there analyst"
Sometimes you really have to break things down to explain. Maybe Ratoath royal is not a betting man

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 23/10/2017 18:13:56    2057314

Replying To Analyst:  "Sometimes you really have to break things down to explain. Maybe Ratoath royal is not a betting man"
You really are a credit to your username! You are wasted on this forum!

Outsider - A competitor thought to have little chance of success.

Some outsider Curraha were. Bookies must absolutely love you.
Another Meath - Louth Leinster tie coming up. O'Connell's (who had 4 reds at the weekend) are next up for Curraha.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 23/10/2017 22:10:58    2057388

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "You really are a credit to your username! You are wasted on this forum!

Another Meath - Louth Leinster tie coming up. O'Connell's (who had 4 reds at the weekend) are next up for Curraha."
11/8 is surely an outsider.......anyhow i won a few quid so happy enough

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 23/10/2017 22:34:34    2057397

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "You really are a credit to your username! You are wasted on this forum!

Another Meath - Louth Leinster tie coming up. O'Connell's (who had 4 reds at the weekend) are next up for Curraha."
I have it on good authority that there were 12 reds handed out in the O Connells game , at the weekend . 2 were also handed to the O Connells water boys . That sort of control is ridiculous . There should be an inquiry as to the standard of refereeing .
If 12 red cards are handed out , you'd expect there to have been a number of melees . It looks as though there ref lost the run of himself by setting a high standard early on . However he is noted for this sort of " I'm in control " here attitude , check him out with anyone from Kildare . Red cards flow freely .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 24/10/2017 09:25:56    2057442

11/8 is surely an outsider.......anyhow i won a few quid so happy enough

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 24/10/2017 10:38:21    2057462