Intermediate Football Championship 2017

Replying To RoylerKing:  "Good win for Nobber tonight Lurch. Bracks looked off the pace a little bit I thought. Ballinlough to win it out for me."
Nobber will bate ballinlough

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 16/09/2017 22:32:23    2046547

Replying To RoylerKing:  "Good win for Nobber tonight Lurch. Bracks looked off the pace a little bit I thought. Ballinlough to win it out for me."
yeah fair play to nobber,they played well as a unit,we had 4 great goal scoring chances and converted none of them so disappointed overall. Nobber gave us a lesson on the new modern game as regards kick outs,they were excellent,we were shambolic.It will be close between the lough and nobber but can't see either team winning it out.Micks or curraha for me.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 17/09/2017 10:52:44    2046616

Bracks some battling team, but didn't have conviction to win.nobber poor enough blessed to win.bracks to negative, basically playing two full sweeper.

Mynamesis (Meath) - Posts: 10 - 17/09/2017 20:05:50    2046949

Replying To thelutch:  "yeah fair play to nobber,they played well as a unit,we had 4 great goal scoring chances and converted none of them so disappointed overall. Nobber gave us a lesson on the new modern game as regards kick outs,they were excellent,we were shambolic.It will be close between the lough and nobber but can't see either team winning it out.Micks or curraha for me."
Ye played sweeper gifted the kickouts to nobber
No real modern methods involved just hard for forwards to cover space.giving away the ball to much going forward last pass was killing ye.your full forward looked dangerous but ye didn't have support when he got on it.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 18/09/2017 09:03:11    2047229

the Ha will win this hands down. All the other teams no near up to Senior standard. Micks not a chance

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 18/09/2017 12:32:35    2047399

Replying To thelutch:  "yeah fair play to nobber,they played well as a unit,we had 4 great goal scoring chances and converted none of them so disappointed overall. Nobber gave us a lesson on the new modern game as regards kick outs,they were excellent,we were shambolic.It will be close between the lough and nobber but can't see either team winning it out.Micks or curraha for me."
I was very surprised to see the Bracks playing so defensive. I felt if ye pushed more men forward ye would have won. Big chance gone for the club.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 18/09/2017 21:46:00    2047745

I have s feeling nobber may win it

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 06/10/2017 10:22:40    2053498

Replying To Brownepat:  "I have s feeling nobber may win it"
If Brian Farrell was playing yes IMO, is he retired or injured?

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 06/10/2017 11:20:46    2053519

Replying To pretender:  "If Brian Farrell was playing yes IMO, is he retired or injured?"
was chatting Brian at the bracks game,he out for at least another 6-8 months and as he said himself at his age now he will have to consider playing in the future at a demanding enough level.Nice fella is Brian and i wish him well in his recovery.Should be two good games the weekend and ill stick with micks and curraha progressing to final with curraha to win it out but this championship has been nothing but surprising all year and their could be another one !!!

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 06/10/2017 12:15:53    2053537

So Michael's v Curraha in the final. Didn't see the first semi final but I assume that Michael's were very impressive. Curraha did very well against a packed Oldcastle defence and were much better than the 2 point margin at the end suggests.
Should be a fantastic final. There'll be some amount of local derbies next season if Curraha managed to win.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 09/10/2017 08:41:46    2053992

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "So Michael's v Curraha in the final. Didn't see the first semi final but I assume that Michael's were very impressive. Curraha did very well against a packed Oldcastle defence and were much better than the 2 point margin at the end suggests.
Should be a fantastic final. There'll be some amount of local derbies next season if Curraha managed to win."
Who devised the relegation method for the intermediate.
Longwood beat ballivor and got 2 points.
Ballivor and St Ultans drew and get a point each.
St Ultans then ply Longwood in a dead rubber match as Longwood cant be relegated so have nothing to play for meaning Ballivor are going to gt relegate.

and what happens in the scenario of Longwood beating Ultans. Do Ballivor and Ultans play again.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 09/10/2017 10:50:29    2054030

Replying To thelutch:  "was chatting Brian at the bracks game,he out for at least another 6-8 months and as he said himself at his age now he will have to consider playing in the future at a demanding enough level.Nice fella is Brian and i wish him well in his recovery.Should be two good games the weekend and ill stick with micks and curraha progressing to final with curraha to win it out but this championship has been nothing but surprising all year and their could be another one !!!"
i think the Ha will have way too much. Very good movement, young and well coached. Should have put my money were my mouth was at the start of the year. Both the Micks and the Ha will seriously struggle at Senior i am afraid but neither will care about that

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 09/10/2017 11:09:44    2054038

Replying To Foley91:  "Who devised the relegation method for the intermediate.
St Ultans then ply Longwood in a dead rubber match as Longwood cant be relegated so have nothing to play for meaning Ballivor are going to gt relegate.

and what happens in the scenario of Longwood beating Ultans. Do Ballivor and Ultans play again."
If longwood beat the Ultans, it comes down to score difference between Ultans and Balivor

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 09/10/2017 11:15:02    2054043

Replying To Foley91:  "Who devised the relegation method for the intermediate.

and what happens in the scenario of Longwood beating Ultans. Do Ballivor and Ultans play again."
Whats the alternative way to do it so??

If LongWood win then I would imagine it goes down to score difference between St. Ultans and Ballivor.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 09/10/2017 11:47:21    2054060

Replying To ratlag:  "Whats the alternative way to do it so??

If LongWood win then I would imagine it goes down to score difference between St. Ultans and Ballivor."
My point being what is Longwoods incentive to beat Ultans as they are safe, likely not training or too concerned for Ballivor.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 09/10/2017 12:44:02    2054087

Replying To Foley91:  "My point being what is Longwoods incentive to beat Ultans as they are safe, likely not training or too concerned for Ballivor."
And that is exactly why you shouldn't have 3 groups at any grade. But yet we have been doing it for years. Madness.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 09/10/2017 14:43:12    2054138

The Oldcastle/Curraha game was very poor quality. Oldcastle should have been anything between 4-7 up at half time, dominated posession as the Ha sat deep, and kicked some awful wides. In the 2nd half it was the opposite, Oldcastle sat deep and the Ha were able to run at them continuously. They're greater mobility was the key factor as they were able to open up Oldcastle. Once the sending off happened, it was curtains for Oldcastle and the Ha finished very strong. They should take care of Michaels, but not if they play like they did in the 1st half. I wouldn't have any fears for them at senior as there's a lot worse than them at that level at the moment. They're also a young team and will challenge strongly in a year or two.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 09/10/2017 16:33:36    2054189

I don't get the giving out about the relegation playoff. If you want to stay up then maybe you should put your effort into trying to to win just one game from 7 in the whole year.

If that's just a bridge too far (which it was for Ballivor this year) then you deserve to go down.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1644 - 09/10/2017 18:58:58    2054235

Replying To moylagh:  "The Oldcastle/Curraha game was very poor quality. Oldcastle should have been anything between 4-7 up at half time, dominated posession as the Ha sat deep, and kicked some awful wides. In the 2nd half it was the opposite, Oldcastle sat deep and the Ha were able to run at them continuously. They're greater mobility was the key factor as they were able to open up Oldcastle. Once the sending off happened, it was curtains for Oldcastle and the Ha finished very strong. They should take care of Michaels, but not if they play like they did in the 1st half. I wouldn't have any fears for them at senior as there's a lot worse than them at that level at the moment. They're also a young team and will challenge strongly in a year or two."
They will have to be on top of their game to beat St Michaels, their lack of physicality will be a huge factor should they go senior

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 09/10/2017 19:08:07    2054237

Best of luck to the 'Ha. Really difficult one to call. Even the bookies have both sides as even money.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 20/10/2017 13:17:00    2056551