Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from Gleebo

Mayo V Galway - 8 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "'No one likes us and we don't care' you sound like the English soccer fans now Gleebo, you might ask yourself why no likes you? truth is the super 8's will be better with Mayo there, it's like the world cup finals in soccer, you want england there for the entertainment and hype but you don't want them to ever win it. imagine the bs we'd hear if they ever did? it's bad enough as it is,they are still talking about 1966, 1951 in Mayo's case."
I couldn't care less whether people like us or not. People will always find reasons to justify their feelings and behaviour and I'm damned if I'm going to try to convince them otherwise. What I will say is that some of the commentary on Mayo GAA goes way beyond whatever sins may or may not have been committed by our supporters and enters into an unhealthy obsession and hatred. I saw a meme yesterday, circulated by (who else?) a Dublin supporters site, comparing Mayo supporters to insects. Now, while we have a few beauts no doubt, that sort of deliberate "othering" through mass media occurred in places like Germany and Rwanda in the past with horrific consequences. I find it quite dangerous and way beyond simple footballing rivalry. Last night, Galway finished the game with 12 men, having had three players shown the line, yet seemingly Mayo are the most cynical team of all time and were the aggressors. People see what they want to see. You clearly don't like us and it's eating you up. I don't think anything that I will say will make a difference to you, quite honestly.

Gleebo (National) - 07/07/2019 10:57:56

Dont say the curse isn't real - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "How has it? The last 2 All Irelands involving Mayo and the cruel way they lost would make you think that maybe there's something in this."
There was a documentary done a couple of years ago called "Mallacht Mhaigh Eo" in which they interviewed several of the surviving players from the 1951 All-Ireland winning side. It's up on YouTube if you want to see it. Anyway, none of the players could remember any such incident. Moreover, there were no funerals in Foxford, where the incident supposedly took place, that week. Look, I'm as upset as any Mayo man not to have won it today. But there are several prosaic explanations for our loss without resorting to the supernatural, such as: -Losing our fullback to a crazy sending-off; -Missing a sitter of a goal chance to put us four up; -Cillian missing two relatively simple frees by his standards; -Some simple chances missed in the first half when Mayo were on top; -Last but not least, Dublin being a superb team with a formidable bench. The only way to get over the line is to examine why you failed and come back better. My only fear is that my grandfather, who was an infant when Mayo last hoisted Sam, and who has been in ill health in recent years, will go to his reward without seeing it. That's just life; it never has and never will be fair, and there are far greater injustices in this world than losing a few football matches.

Gleebo (National) - 17/09/2017 23:13:25

Best Player From Your County You Ever Seen - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The man asked for the best 'player' keep it to 1 or 2 at the most if you have to, typical Mayo man you think you can name a dozen players, not all Mayo fans are like you but you'd be fairly typical of why your fans are not liked in general."
I care so little about your comment I almost passed out. Pithy enough for you?

Gleebo (National) - 21/08/2021 14:23:51

Greatest Football Q-Final Ever? - 7 Like(s)
Donegal v. Kildare in 2011?

Gleebo (National) - 20/07/2017 15:51:31

Anti GAA Agenda - 6 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Which League of Ireland fans are they?"
They are easily enough found over the Interwebs, the late George Byrne of De Heddild being a case in point. Their main gripe tends to be that the GAA is good at getting funding (ignoring, of course, that the FAI have proven themselves to be completely unreliable in terms of corporate governance) and thus somehow prevents Ireland becoming world beaters at soccer. I have also heard variations to the extent that gaelic football is an "artificial" sport, as if we all climbed out of the primordial soup clutching a pair of boots or something. One also sometimes hears slagging of gaelic games as "parochial", as if that delegitimizes it somehow. While that sort of LOI fan is annoying, at least in their defence you could say that they are supporting Irish sport, as are the rugby goys. The Premier League uber-fan (e.g. Ian O'Doherty, Declan Lynch) seem to regard themselves as more sophisticated because they follow a global product rather than local sports. They exhibit severe cultural cringe, seemingly opposing any pursuits even vaguely indigenous to our shores. No surprise they ended up working at INM... I do also come across an older soccer fan who is antipathetic to the GAA because of Ban Era stuff, who I'd have a bit more sympathy for.

Gleebo (National) - 31/05/2022 08:21:48

Meath V Dublin - 6 Like(s)
Dublin had the game won by half-time, took their foot off the accelerator and as soon as Meath got within distance, upped the tempo again. People are reading way too much into this game, IMO.

Gleebo (National) - 19/07/2021 09:27:24

Life, death and hurling. - 6 Like(s)
As someone who has suffered from depression I congratulate all involved in this sensitive depiction of mental illness. It takes real courage to talk publicly about such tragic events, and to think of others at such a time. #break the stigma I opened up about my own travails around 18 months ago now, and have genuinely been much the better for it since. There are still hard days, but the reaction of my team mates, family and friends was very positive and uplifting. We tend to think of ourselves as being alone when going through depression, but in fact it is remarkably common, and indeed dozens of people have told me their experiences since. I genuinely believe that attitudes are changing in Irish society due to the willingness of people to speak up. The GAA is playing its part through various health and wellbeing initiatives. If only the powers that be didn't cut immediately cut funding for mental health services in times of budgetary retrenchment, we might be on to something.

Gleebo (National) - 06/12/2017 15:58:24

Full Stadium For Hurling And Football Finals. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To dingle2:  "All Premier League grounds packed to capacity this weekend. GAA should demand full capacity for Hurling and Football All Ireland Finals. No medical or scientific reason why this should not happen (unless the NEPHET gurus state that the now humanised Covid virus prefers GAA games rather than Premier League matches - ergo reduced attendances). 82,500 for Croker must be allowed and the GAA should insist on same. Ciarraí Abú."
Looking on from abroad, I'm puzzled by Ireland's approach to this. Ireland has one of the highest rates of vaccine takeup in the world and yet its lockdown is among the harshest. I guess maybe the powers that be don't want to risk overwhelming the health service, but at a certain point they have to open up to some extent. There have been huge sporting events going on all over continental Europe and it seems to have largely passed off without a resulting spike in infections. For instance, there have been several Formula One grand prix in Europe in recent months, having between 150k and 200k in attendance each time, very tightly controlled and few cases arising as a result. It should be possible to use the European Union's Green Pass system to check if patrons are vaccinated going into Croke Park. Even if the attendance is reduced, we should be able to get 50k or more in there.

Gleebo (National) - 16/08/2021 08:50:44

Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Passer_By:  "Did Bubba in Forrest Gump not wear it too...? This whole thing is a joke. If you google co co pops they're apparently racist now too. It extends to the breakfast table now as well.. Should we all be racist Father and should Pat Mustard be delivering the milk. I never lost too much sleep over orelly man in Fawlty Towers or does anyone remember Paddy Whack in the Dandy was it? That actually was very much racist. Should we request a formal apology?? There's actually more offence taken on here at the historic confederate flag in Thurles than the union flag flying in your own country. Get a grip. The real discrimination in the GAA is against the smaller counties. Not on the terraces down in Cork. If ye don't want to be offended these days, don't bother stepping outside of the door. Thought Police"
Aunt Jemima and Uncle Ben's are to rebrand now too. Everything must go! https://www.cbsnews.com/news/uncle-bens-mrs-burtterworths-cream-of-wheat-package-review-aunt-jemima-racism/ A pyrrhic victory if you ask me, given that a lot of these multinational companies use sweatshops, fail to pay many of their staff a living wage or resist unionisation, much of which would benefit people of colour. Now where is my placard, I must get Lucky Charms, Irish Spring, the black and tan and Irish car bomb drinks etc. withdrawn from circulation...

Gleebo (National) - 19/06/2020 08:40:31

Replying To MesAmis:  "You really shouldn't need to resort to lazy clichéd labelling in this discussion. We are having a discussion in which we disagree on this one issue. Ascribing labels such as woke when you know nothing of my views on anything else is all on you and in your head. You have repeatedly said that the Dublin crest should be treated the same as the Confederate flag. I have asked you to back up your argument that Viking insignia causes widespread offence in Ireland and around the world. You have but done this and you are the one places imagined people's feelings on a par with the real feelings of real people who are descended from African slaves. What is it about people descended from African slaves that you think their feelings are only on a par with the feelings of made up non existent people in your opinion? The Confederate flag causes offence around the world, including in Ireland, that is true. You know its true, as it represents pro-slavery and white supremacy. Cork GAA have made the perfectly reasonable decision that they would rather not be associated with a flag that represents pro slavery and white supremacy. It really is that simple. You can shift the goalposts and say 'what about this and what about that' but in the end it comes back to Cork GAA not wanting to be associated with pro-slavery and white supremacy. We can discuss why you and others disagree that Cork should not want to be associated with pro-slavery and white supremacy or we can whitewash history and ignore racism in the world and Ireland."
Ah yes, the "you don't agree with me therefore you must be a racist" implication. I wondered how long that would take you... And you talk about "lazy clichéd labelling", LOL. Irony isn't your strong point, evidently. The point of my viking analogy was to draw attention to some of the selectivity around this issue. You want the confederate flag gone because it has connotations with slavery, that is a defensible position to take. To me, it seems logical that if slavery is indefensible (and it is) then we as a society (democratically) should take a similar stance on any symbols that venerate it. All duck or no dinner. You don't, seemingly because it happened so long ago that no-one is around to complain about it. But then, you've also dodged several examples of things we would also have to ban if we took a similar line on other "problematic" symbols and names ( e.g. celtic crosses, the names of hundreds of GAA clubs etc.), so maybe I'm expecting too much. I very much doubt that this will be the end of the cancel culture by any means. You keep referring to the feelings of African/ African descended people who may be offended by that flag or on John Mitchell. Have we actually asked them what they think? I see few quoted in the Irish media coverage of this issue, most of the people exercised about this seem to be white Irish people, on the available evidence. I've seen several interviews recently with several GAA players from minority backgrounds on their experiences of racism, and I can't remember any of them citing this among their concerns. Racial abuse featured prominently, though. So, to answer your question: I'll take the concerns of African people (or Irish people of African origin) on this issue into account when they raise them. I haven't seen any great campaigning or groundswell of opinion on this from that segment of the Irish population so far, but maybe it will come. I have also yet to see anyone from the "descended from African slaves" community weighing in on this either, but perhaps this is to be expected given that the vast majority of them would be unaware of the GAA's existence. I certainly put less store in the opinions of those who get offended on their behalf, that's for sure.

Gleebo (National) - 16/06/2020 12:35:39

Cork's Dismissal Of The CPA Motion For Transparency. - 5 Like(s)
I was lucky enough to work for Transparency International for a spell in my youth. One thing I learned there is that if there's a strong systemic emphasis on transparency and accountability, then it influences the behaviour of power-brokers significantly. For example, Denmark, a country which always comes in the top three worldwide for its level of political openness, has a tradition whereby most of the journalists in the country will have the PM's mobile phone number, parliamentarians' expenses are often published online, it's easy to get info on political donations etc. Then compare their level of corruption with that of Ireland, a country in which Members of the Oireachtas don't have to vouch their expenses, and where tribunals of enquiry almost guarantee the preclusion of a custodial sentence for graft. It's not that Irish people are inherently more corrupt than the Danes, it's simply that their system has better safeguards than our's. This influences the behaviour of those who can be corrupted. Nobody acting honestly has anything to fear from transparency measures: in fact, they should embrace them, as they would vindicate their reputation.

Gleebo (National) - 27/02/2018 21:49:35

We Are Fortunate To See It. - 5 Like(s)
I'd personally regard myself as being lucky to have been around in the 1990s, a decade in which the traditional powers in both codes fell back and several unheralded teams were in the mix for Sam and Liam. Clare, Offaly, Wexford made breakthroughs in hurling while Down, Derry, Donegal, Galway upset the applecart in football. That looks unlikely to happen again any time soon.

Gleebo (National) - 20/01/2020 13:56:55

Replying To Whammo86:  "There's a bit of whataboutism going on in this thread. Well we're not talking about other flags. We're talking about the battle flag of the confederacy here. That's it's overriding meaning. It's the flag that was used on the battlefield by the force that was opposing the abolition of racism. You need to come up with a pretty strong reason for it to remain, I tell you I'm not hearing them. As for other flags they should be taken on their own merits. The PC gone mad brigade are always where will it end? I mean come on, it's not like people are acting crazy to think that a flag that was used by those fighting for slavery has no place in the GAA. As for clubs being named after John Mitchell, there's probably a conversation to be had over that too. These conversations should be had, it's the adamant refusal to bend to any critical thought that I find really quite disturbing from the PC gone mad brigade. Why are you so afraid to engage and listen to others. You might find them to be right or wrong on specific issues but you guys appear actively against this discovery. You're happy to live in your own blissful ignorance. It's a pathetic mindset to have."
Because a lot of the people toppling statues will not be happy until we entirely recast our societies according to their niche demands. I have seen people of a woke disposition genuinely comparing Ireland to apartheid South Africa and Nazi Germany in terms of race relations. There is no dissuading some of these agitators from their delusions. I am open to a conversation about John Mitchel because I (and I suspect most of the people playing for clubs named after him) were previously unaware of his abhorrent views. And yeah, what the confederate flag is for is repugnant.But if you think that this isn't the thin edge of the wedge, I suspect that you're very mistaken. How long will be it before we're told that naming GAA clubs after other historical figures, particularly from The revolutionary period, is unacceptable? How about the tricolor and national anthem at games? Scór na nÓg? Promotion of the Irish language? The GAA will evolve slowly as always, but it should be in response to the democratic processes that take place from within.

Gleebo (National) - 13/06/2020 10:17:57

Replying To Whammo86:  "If I learnt that something I loved made someone else feel like a lesser member of our society I would listen to them and think on whether it's true or not. If it was to be removed it would be a tiny hardship on me in the grand scheme of things. It would pale into insignificance in comparison to the hardships that other endure and are perpetuated by an uncritical analysis of racism and portrayals of racism in our society. I would get over it. You are very happy for others to have to get over the existence of racist symbols in our society. I think I'd be quite able to get over the loss of them. We'll all have our points at some stage where we believe things have gone too far. I will probably lose things that I love at some point and I maybe won't agree with it but you know what it'll be because I live in a democracy where others have had their say and you know what I'll live. Honestly how many times do you expect to watch that episode of Father Ted in your life again if it's always available to you. It's a pretty insignificant hardship. You'll also likely be able to find it. Gone With the Wind was removed from one platform. It's still available in other forms, it's in the top 48 highest rated films on iTunes currently for example. So to be honest I think most of these "where will it end" arguments are utter nonsense and always blown out of proportion to make it seem like there's a hard left cultural war being waged. It's not. It's a bit of push back on what's deemed acceptable and it's a healthy process for society to engage in."
Here's the thing: relatively few of these things have been Democratic. How many of the recent statue fellings were conducted as a result of a plebiscite or decisions made by municipal government? Relatively few, I would suggest. Mob rule is not democracy. The decisions to withdraw several renowned tv series from public view because they don't meet the Uber woke PC standards of today were not taken as a result of a strong consensus or campaign throughout our society, they were taken because a vocal, extremist minority made noise about it and the tv networks/streaming networks caved. The GAA is a bastion of democracy, albeit an imperfect one at times. If people want to go with the times and rename institutions and whatnot, table the motions at club level and beyond. The decision to confiscate the stars and bars flag (repugnant though it is) had no such Democratic process; it was imposed from the top down.

Gleebo (National) - 13/06/2020 11:05:50

Brolly on the cultural hijacking - 5 Like(s)
I often disagree with Brolly's antics, particularly his personal abuse of amateur athletes and teams, his disclosure of clearly private conversations with GAA athletes and his assumption of the GAA everyman persona. However, that doesn't mean that he's incapable of incisive analysis every now and again. I do think he has a point concerning the ongoing commercialisation and elitism of gaelic games. Commercial actors, particularly the banks, are using the emotional connections that many Irish people have with gaelic games to rehabilitate themselves in the eyes of the public. Meanwhile, they remain free to remove the roofs from the heads of hundreds, if not thousands of Irish citizens, in the midst of a homelessness crisis and another housing bubble, from which they handsomely profit. https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/reckless-behaviour-by-bankers-to-be-criminalised-36473601.html https://www.irishtimes.com/business/financial-services/aib-sues-more-than-twice-as-many-borrowers-as-bank-of-ireland-1.3350162?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fbusiness%2Ffinancial-services%2Faib-sues-more-than-twice-as-many-borrowers-as-bank-of-ireland-1.3350162 Ten years ago, would anyone have foreseen a situation in which games in the latter stages of the All-Ireland series would not be carried on terrestrial channels in Ireland? How long before this situation is replicated with earlier championship games? After all, I remember a time (mid-late 1990s) when one subscription to Sky would get you all of the Premier League games in England. Then, slowly, the changes starting coming in. In the early 2000s, you then needed to subscribe to Sky Sports plus a service called Premiership Plus, for certain fixtures. A few years later, the FA sold the rights to multiple channels, meaning that you needed to subscribe not just to Sky Sports, but also to BT and ESPN if you wanted to see all the games. An associated huge increase in the cost of season tickets at many clubs now means that the working classes (who kept football going during the bad years, when it was once, infamously, described as "a slum sport in slum stadiums") can't afford to see live soccer on a regular basis. Do we really want to go down this road? One of the very special things about gaelic games is the accessibility of the games, and its top athletes. As far as GAA HQ goes, I believe that they no longer really care about anything that doesn't make them money. Take the club situation in Ireland, for example. Club players make up, what? 95% of all GAA players. There has been a crisis in the GAA calendar for several years now, whereupon the vast majority of players play the most important fixtures in terrible conditions (often in a negligently-short space of time) all to accommodate a lucrative, but tiny minority of players. And what is Croke Park's answer to this? Create more inter-county fixtures at the peak of the season, when pitches are at their best, in order to do what? Make more money. I have seen it in the dealings of senior GAA personnel with overseas units- they'll fly out for for a Pan-European/Pan Asian/Australasian games (minimum four star accommodation, to be borne by the hosting club or international county board), give us a speech and a pat on the head, and then disappear again, until there's an election at Congress and someone needs our votes. Nigh-on 800 people flew in thousands of kilometres to play in the World Games in Dublin last year, and yet I heard stories of people being charged the guts of 50 quid for chicken curry at the post-tournament dinner, which many had to eat standing up due to a lack of seats. It seems to me that the GAA hierarchy are floating further adrift from many of the rank and file members, as the recent establishment of the club players' association shows.

Gleebo (National) - 10/01/2018 10:18:14

The GAA And Taking The Knee. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To realdub:  "If you are a racist just keep your big mouth shut, no conversation needed."
This sort of attitude is much of the reason why the Left keeps losing across the Western world: "If you don't agree with every word of my ideology, then you're my enemy" or "expressing any doubts about immigration or immigration policy makes you a racist". Suppressing people's right to speak causes more problems than it solves IMO and drives people to extremism. If someone says something bigoted, you have the right to call them out or ban them, if it occurs in a sporting context like the GAA. I was at an League of Ireland match once where an African striker was the subject of some racist abuse and the perpetrator was rightly removed. And if someone engages in incitement to hatred or violence then there are laws against that which should be enforced. Ireland thankfully is one of very few Western countries without a strong ethno-nationalist movement like the Front National/National Rally in France, Alternativ für Deutschland or Lega Nord/Fratelli d'Italia in Italy. But I see that changing if everyone who has reservations over the tactics/ideology of BLM and the NGOs aligned with them continues to be censored or shouted down.

Gleebo (National) - 17/06/2021 10:03:46

Dublin propaganda - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Ask yourselves lads, who does this battle suit more? The half back or the half forward Do you think DC wants this nonsense? Suits LK and Mayo a lot more than is suits DC and Dublin"
Yes, Connolly wants that nonsense. Have a look at the clips below and ask yourself two questions: 1. Who is the instigator? 2. Are Mayo playing? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mKBtelSQ0JI https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ikAF0cBfcPs https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYavk-rLsn4 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8kzJ0yLcWs Connolly is just as capable of getting himself in trouble without Lee Keegan around.

Gleebo (National) - 27/09/2016 16:03:02

Time to rebrand GAA grounds? (As Gaelic hubs) - 4 Like(s)
Seems like some people here have never read the GAA Official Guide ;) The GAA is far more than a sporting association but also a political and cultural one, embracing not just those in Ireland but emigrant communities, and, increasingly those of a non-Irish background. I don't see why promotion of traditional Irish culture such as the language and Irish music/dance/history should be sacrificed on the grounds of political correctness or because some people didn't like the language in school. Those who want to partake of these things do and others just concentrate on their code (or codes) of choice; everyone's a winner.

Gleebo (National) - 25/05/2016 16:07:11

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 4 Like(s)
Tyrone need to put the health and safety of their players above all else in my opinion. If they can field a side, great, but it's not the most important consideration. The GAA should also give them the extra week that they need, even if it means moving the game somewhere else. We'll be long enough without top level GAA this winter, one extra week won't make a huge amount of difference.

Gleebo (National) - 11/08/2021 13:15:16

Mayo V Galway - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ah here give us our Joe back! ;) In all seriousness, neither side can complain about the ref, thought Mayo got the benefit in the first half and Galway the second. Some mad calls went both teams way, while each team Cavan feel aggrieved when those calls went against them. A game of some great play and really naieve rush of the blood to the head stuff and naivety, both teams should know better at this stage. Though both were able to implement a bit of nous in the gamesmanship stakes. I've no problem with that myself, it's that type of rivalry so I wasn't to disappointed the ref was letting things go, no angels out there. Didn't feel there was a lot in it, Mayo made the best of conversions when momentum was with them. The penalty miss was a turning point for Galway and swung momentum away from Mayo. Galway will rue the opening 10 if they had started the game alert the game was there's. Still felt if the had squeezed Mayo a bit more in the last quarter they could have won it. Mayo seem to have improved their conversion rate, look to have a bit more depth and something they never had a variance is scorers. With a bit of momentum going into the S8 they won't fear anyone. As for Galway I wouldn't be to gloomy, I think there is hidden depth of potential in that team and if KW goes and a new manager comes in, with a different philosophey I think Galway will be one of the top teams in Ireland for years to come, serious raw talent there."
Now now now, your balanced appraisal of the game has no place here at all. Better to make hysterical accusations that Mayo are in league with the GAA, despite there being absolutely no evidence of that whatsoever.

Gleebo (National) - 07/07/2019 05:41:24