Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from TheFlaker

Football Is Finished - 19 Like(s)
The thing Brogan and his buddies can't even fathom is the amount of travelling players from other counties have to do for training. His analysis is so lazy it's not even funny.

TheFlaker (National) - 06/12/2020 18:04:44

Indiscipline In GAA - 18 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "He's like you as you love the sound of your own voice. He's an excellent ref. No way can you question that. If you are questioning that then you know little about rugby"
You should get your other 2 usernames to back up your point of view. At least then 2 people will agree with you.

TheFlaker (National) - 09/02/2021 10:44:16

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 17 Like(s)

Replying To LaoisforSam:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "link Your wishes have been granted Riverboys. Brolly dropped for replay. Rochford takes his chair!"
I hope Brollys dropping was down to his own schedule and not some PC nonsense from RTE. Brolly says it how he sees it, Not always right, certainly not always wrong. Thats life. If we start eliminating people from our screens who say something the majority think opposite then we will never have diverse debate again. So what he got the Gough thing wrong- get over it."]He is hardly ever right, does less and less research year on year, rambles on interrupting everyone else and also has launched some personal attacks on players. Nobody takes him seriously.

TheFlaker (National) - 10/09/2019 10:25:56

Andy Moran retires - 16 Like(s)
Some man. From a back to a top class forward. He gave everything to the cause. Will be sorely missed.

TheFlaker (National) - 26/08/2019 19:00:29

Dublin GAA thread - 15 Like(s)
Shout out to all the lads who argued Cluxton was merely back up because of an injury crisis. Replacing a lad who has done nothing wrong. Not great for morale even if the camp claim otherwise.

TheFlaker (National) - 30/04/2023 18:06:58

Ballymun Vs Kilmacud - 15 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Hardly eye gouging, cant understand why number 5 for Crokes didnt walk, he caused the ruckus, he should have walked. But an awful lot of pushing and shoving. They have lost one player for final so a silly thing to get involved in."
Eye gouging is exactly what it was.

TheFlaker (National) - 14/09/2020 03:12:17

Anti GAA Agenda - 14 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Awaiting your response to the previous post about the percentage of qualified players in the squad today? TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 6870 - 21/11/2020 11:35:32It isnt 7 or 8. Players qualified on residency is 5 today"
I believe there are 7 players not born in Ireland involved in the squad. That's almost a third and that is what the poster is referring to. But you knew that already. I am not getting into a slinging match as I love rugby but your holier than thou approach to all things rugby invites people to slag it off.

TheFlaker (National) - 21/11/2020 14:42:49

Attention Posters - 14 Like(s)
Lads just a little post here hoping for some of you to listen. The amount of nonsense posted on here is getting worse from week to week. Post match here we are with loads of separate threads debating multiple aspects of the game. And half of the posts are absolute pants. What an absolutely brilliant game of football today from 2 outstanding teams. It's heartbreaking looking back wondering how we didn't get the job done. So many ifs and buts but the fact is is we were dead on our feet in injury time and we didn't have anyone left on the bench to make the difference. That 3 point swing when we went one up was the killer. The Vaughan red card was a killer. O Gara should have been red carded but wasn't spotted. So many ifs and buts but when all is said and done that bit of class got Dublin over the line and it is what it is. People blaming the red should stop, there were soft frees on both sides, the couple of frees for Dublin before half time were a killer but these things happen. I couldn't imagine what it would be like trying to ref that game. Andy Moran is player of the year no doubt and Barrett should be MOTM today in my opinion. These Mayo lads have given all they can but just weren't quite good enough. Life goes on. Nobody died. Credit to both teams and I would love for their posters on here to up their game a little going forward instead of the biased nonsense we have to read week in week out.

TheFlaker (National) - 17/09/2017 22:25:08

Brian Carthy - 14 Like(s)

Replying To moc.dna:  "RTE queuing up the yes men. Shocking decision, a brillant commentator. RTE should be let go burst, they are letting go people on the ground but paying €400,000 plus salaries to people who simply aren't worth it. We see it in everyday life from Banks, Insurance, Govt Depts, GAA, FAI, RTE etc & all dissenting voices are silenced & the rest follow like sheep."
I thinks it's a dreadful decision but I agreed with them when they gave Brolly the road. But I am curious as to how you have put Brian in a group of dissenting voices? I doubt they are cutting him due to his outrageous opinions!!

TheFlaker (National) - 18/01/2020 15:13:54

Dubs V Mayo - 14 Like(s)
I spend less and less time on the GAA forum because of the amount of trolls that have popped up in the last few months. This apparently new Galway poster is fitting right in with a few others. No doubt it is a poster who has just set up another account. For what it's worth some Mayo fans are hard to listen to. Some of them in my own family. If we lose they mention the ref, or bad luck, or something else. But the majority of Mayo fans are realistic. Mayo have been brilliant over the last decade and only for them Dublin would have sauntered to the All Ireland in 15, 16 and 17. The fact is we were beaten by the better team, but also the greatest squad the GAA has ever seen. You can't call Dublin the greatest team of all time and in the same breath call the Mayo team of those years bottlers. That doesn't add up. The game next week I have no doubt will be a cracker. Mayo will probably only have 4 or 5 starters from the team of 2017, that is a phenomenal turnover of players. Mayo are building again and are going nowhere for a few years. But they are without COC and also in my opinion desperately need Harrison back at 3. Dublin cantered to an easy win while apparently playing poorly. In the second half of the Kildare game they regrouped and scored 11 out of 12 shots and played keep ball when they wanted. Do Mayo have a shot? Yes. Should most people be tipping them ? Absolutely not. I hope we can get back to semi normal analysis of games on here sometime soon rather than childish posting back and forth.

TheFlaker (National) - 05/08/2021 10:34:35

Kerry Black Card Appeal - 14 Like(s)

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Is it me, have Kerry "ONLY" appealed Stephen O'Brien (is that his name) black card "ONLY" because its a card picked up against Meath (2 games ago if you dont mind) and because he picked up another last Sunday against Tyrone which made him automatically suspended for the All Ireland, so Kerry come out now and appeal a card which happened in a game 2 matches ago to make him available for the All Ireland..surely thats not on, if the card received in the Meath game 2 games ago was deemed unfair, it should have been appealed straight after that game (especially when they won and had more games to come)...appealing it now to free him for the AI is not on in my book and shouldnt be allowed...its ala carte acceptance of refereeing decisions...maybe I have it wrong but I just dont think its on appealing it now because it suits Kerry to have the player.."
Maybe you should look up the rules before setting up a thread, just a suggestion.

TheFlaker (National) - 16/08/2019 11:02:12

GAA on TV - 14 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "I see you're pontificating as usual Double standards from you are hilarious"
You are debating an opposing view with every single poster. Again. You don't seem to take anything on board. Even your stance on the rotating Taoiseach. Bizarre stuff. You just throw stuff out there without any facts. RTE can't do anything because of funding. Maybe if they weren't wasting millions every year they might have a chance.

TheFlaker (National) - 18/08/2020 16:22:34

Indiscipline In GAA - 14 Like(s)
Let's also compare apples and oranges while we are here.

TheFlaker (National) - 08/02/2021 11:35:39

Kerry Lads And Tattoos - 13 Like(s)
Liveline is an embarrassment to our country.

TheFlaker (National) - 04/08/2021 11:44:04

GAA on TV - 13 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "You are as condescending as ever. Notice the hypocrisy? And its a fact that the sport they covered is much reduced due to factors well outside of RTEs control and cant be used as a criticism of the channel."
It's due to funding. And people on here are questioning salaries of close to 500k and over. I said the standard has dropped, that's all I said. Same for the talk shows. Your staunch defence is bizarre. Feel free to respond to my point on the Late Late and TG4 funding as well. We are debating the standard of RTE. Saying they can't afford x,y and z isn't a defence for everything they do.

TheFlaker (National) - 17/08/2020 17:13:34

Joe Brolly Finished With RTE - 13 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "It's all entertainment though isn't it, including the game of ball. Joe stops people from going out to make a cup tea and take out the Digestives. They want to see the emotion and clashes with Spillane. It brings the best out of the all even if Joe's trigger point is a nonsense and 50% of the time it is. But it gets the debate going and analysis juices flowing. Cardboard cut outs aren't going to do that."
I tune in for the game, not for a clown at half time promoting himself by insulting amateur players and coaches for a laugh. If you want to tune in to see a lad making up stuff as you said yourself half the time, then fair enough. Dunphy was great in terrible Champ Leagues games and dull Irish games but his stick got old as well. And when it came down to big nights like European finals when the viewing figures were huge regardless he just came across as someone who didn't have a notion what he was talking about. Same as Hook in the rugby, was funny for a while then it went OTT. Sport can survive without self serving clowns looking for attention.

TheFlaker (National) - 12/09/2019 11:45:53

Anti GAA Agenda - 13 Like(s)

Replying To updwell:  "If I could suggest Flaker you have a listen to Dick Clerkin on the Our Game podcast to get the GAAs side of the story on testing of players and what NPHET told them about the low risk of playing GAA. Why Newstalk and RTE haven't got the GAA side of the story I don't know. If rugby is so good in protecting it's players how come their has been outbreaks in provincial squads and with all the travelling to Scotland and Wales in the league on airlines and through airports and large rugby squads and backroom staffs I would argue that GAA players travelling on the day on their own and togging off in the stand has less risks. Rugby players might be living in 'bubbles' but unless their in outer space they won't be that protected from the public."
I feel again I need to state I am a die hard GAA man who has devoted a lot of my life to it playing and coaching since retirement. I am not trying to have an argument about this. I want more than anything for it to go ahead. I am simply stating it is far more hazardous than a professional sports teams. There is not perfect solution. I can listen to Dick and he will make valid points but when a big percentage of the players are uneasy about it going ahead you are losing the battle especially if cases arise. I hope it can go ahead behind closed doors it it had to. Can't be bothered listening to people crying about they can't get to games and it's no good without fans. And I never said rugby is perfect. I was replying to a contrary poster simply stating that a professional sports team has a better chance of getting things right than an amateur one. That's just a fact. And even then it's still not perfect. This thread has turned silly now with posters thinking one side is anti gaa and pro rugby.

TheFlaker (National) - 22/10/2020 18:13:57

Mayo V Meath - 13 Like(s)
This is priceless. All the hindsighters are coming to the fore. Mayo will beat Meath.

TheFlaker (National) - 14/07/2019 20:53:33

Mayo V Meath - 13 Like(s)
Mayo were poor but stepped it up for 20 mins and got the job done. The over analysis of Mayo is hilarious. Same Meath team sliced Donegal open time and time again and could have put them away. But Donegal get a free pass. Mayo could well beat Donegal with Durcan, O Connor and Higgins back. And the same over analysis will be here again. Until someone knocks Mayo out stop talking mince. A win is a win.

TheFlaker (National) - 21/07/2019 18:31:14

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 12 Like(s)
I had plenty of amateur doctors on here claiming I was Mr Doomsday when I said even if they try and go ahead with it there will be constant headaches. I really hope it does go ahead in some capacity but I fear they need a miracle for all squads to avoid an outbreak, even a small one. Any delays and they will run out of time.

TheFlaker (National) - 15/10/2020 19:17:30