Longford Forum

Popular Posts from Garmin

Atrocious Playing Conditions. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "I watched a number of games which were played in Munster last Weekend. The playing conditions were atrocious. Downpours and gale force winds. In Kerry I saw David Clifford unable to score a point from play. In another game I saw a player unable to kick the ball over from the 20 metre line. In the Cork hurling final it was difficult to make out the players at times. It is obvious the County Boards have no respect for the players, or their safety, or for the supporters. I commend the players for their behavior under such trying conditions. Shame on the GAA."
baffling comment!!! County Boards fix games they cant fix the weather! I myself always talk about how bad are own county board are but you cant start blaming them for the bad weather too!! if they called off games because of wind and rain when would you expect championships to get time to finish.. I would love to hear your proposal on how to fix the weather problem?? we had 2 weeks in a row of really bad playing conditions in every county with numerous semi finals and finals played including my own county which I attended! worst playing conditions for a final I have seen in recent memory also both inter and senior final hugely effected by it as both the better teams and favs lost both finals by last minute goals!! but its all part of the game, its makes things all the more interesting and seeing how teams adapt!!

Garmin (National) - 19/10/2022 09:43:05

Penalties - 2 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "Toulouse knocked Munster out of the All European Senior Club/Interprovincial Championship. The GAA could go with 2 45s from the ground, to the left and right of the large square. 2 21 yard free kicks from the hand, to the left and right of the large square. Then 2 penalty kicks. If there is sudden death, go 45, 21 yard line and penalty in that order."
jesus that's a lot of b********.. if that's the case they could just have a dance off! stick to the penalties!!

Garmin (National) - 30/06/2022 12:43:53

"All-Ireland" Junior Football Championship? - 2 Like(s)
ah lads will ye relax.. its a competition that very few are interested in, with the semi final and final played over the same weekend! yes the rules seem all over the place but going a bit far to be calling it disgraceful!!

Garmin (National) - 08/07/2022 09:55:43

Penalties - 2 Like(s)
Quite a lot of opinions on here so to be honest how are the GAA ever suppose to get it right. of course penalties are a lottery and always will be, but as much as we all wanted to see Galway vs Armagh again this weekend its hard for players to go do all that again and then who ever wins has to go do it all again in the semi final.. thats very hard on amatuer players. I personally dont think that we can 100% say what is the right thing to do, but it was also great drama to watch penaties decide an all Q final in croke park.

Garmin (National) - 29/06/2022 14:22:53

Ulster Club SFC - 1 Like(s)

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "... and the soft decisions(!) - clear Trillick frees not given, line balls blatantly incorrectly called - handed to Scotstown by the ref throughout. Ref and his crew were openly inconsistent throughout, and a few awful howlers near the end, all favouring Scotstown. At the end, Scotstown fans near me were cheering the ref. Says it all. Read between the lines in the Irish News: ---------------------------------------- "Trillick chased a kickpass into the far corner and seemed to keep it in - but the linesman called it out. The ball wasn't out …" "Scotstown got a couple of frees their way in the moments that remained that didn't fit with the fouls given over the other 80 minutes." "… a referee that was allowing Scotstown to wrap him [Niall Donelly, Trillick player
up in bear hugs …" --------------------------------------- There is a culture of omerta in the GAA about refereeing. Traditionally, even when a ref is poor, papers say nothing. So when a paper even mentions the ref at all, you can rest assured it's been very poor. In a v tight game, the Armagh referee's well-timed interventions were decisive; perhaps a bit of spite at Trillick for embarrassing the Armagh champions in the previous game. Glen did not look great in their semi, Scotstown could well win the Ulster final. And that of course would let the 17-a-side boys in Kilmacud off the hook."]Always the refs fault.. I watched the game and in my opinion the best team won, won most of the breaks from kick outs in ET and it was crucial. Also the ball was clearly out when 'Trillick chased a kick pass into the corner' the Trillick player even put his hands to his head because he knew it was out so dont believe everything u read! u sound very bitter about it.

Garmin (National) - 27/11/2023 12:53:26

Longford GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
well done to Colmcille Yesterday, having seen Mullinalaghta a few times this year and they looked very impressive, makes it interesting now for championship! Colmcille surly now will be hot on the tails to lift the title, going by league games is it a two horse race?

Garmin (National) - 11/07/2022 10:13:31

Just gone from bad to worse. when Longford football starts to take a beating from Carlow we have hit rock bottom. A 6+ point defeat in Newry is a given now!! Lads where do we go from here? one of the worst years in recent memory!!

Garmin (National) - 06/06/2023 09:05:21

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Duggan transferring to Roscommon."
If this is true and its a big if!! I am a big fan of Jack Duggan but what ever chance he had playing with Longford he wont see much game playing in Division 1 with Roscommon and in my own opinion will not get into the championship 26 man squad!

Garmin (National) - 26/10/2023 11:48:43

All Stars - 1 Like(s)

Replying To highdropingball:  "All Stars a waste of time"
why? great to have the all stars each year!! always need to highlight players that have stand out years...

Garmin (National) - 27/10/2022 12:03:57

Replying To Rhyne_Stonecowboy:  "I think it's always been the way that there are only a handful of teams realistically capable of winning it he championship in any given year. I would agree that there are many clubs in senior grade that are not senior standard. But a change to the format could be good. No point in teams getting hammerings. A lot of clubs at senior who have a great history and might be too proud to admit that they're not quite fit for it at the moment."
I totally understand a team being proud of their history but its time to start getting realistic, it will drive younger players away turning up each year trying to survive at senior level with the only objective is to avoid getting a hammering!! Take the Intermediate championship this year for an example, most teams realistically have a chance of at least reaching the final bar maybe Legan! but who ever does win inter this year will struggle to compete next year. I think what Killashee have done this year has really got everyone thinking what could lie ahead, I totally understand they have lost players but to not even field in the SENIOR club championship after winning Inter 2 years in row previous is making a mockery of Longford football.

Garmin (National) - 26/08/2022 09:35:08

Replying To Spinx:  "[quote=honlongford:  "[quote=LongfordgaaAbú:  "Last year Christie had almost everyone he might want to pick from at the start of the league, and we didn't win a single game until the very end when it didn't matter. The manager before him and the one before that and the one before that all had similar issues with some lads committing and some not, and others not seeing eye-to-eye with the managers methods. I agree with the comment above about personal responsibility. Might be time for a bit of navel gazing rather than trying to push the blame. We are a Division 4 outfit, and the quality of our local championship bears that out. We will beat Tipp, but we will slip up somewhere else before the league is out because we don't have enough depth or talent in the panel (credit to the lads who have committed, but that is the reality). Also I don't think it has anything to do with the amount of Intermediate lads in there - Monaghan panel at the weekend had plenty of Intermediate and Junior players in their squad and they are ten years in Division 1. As for the individual player bashing, I looked back at the comments posted on here after the O'Byrne Cup final, and only one person voiced the opinion that the player in question came on and calmed things down. Spinx decided to attribute that view to 'a few people' so that he could have a go at the lad, who along with others has given great commitment to the county over the years! Not surprising given that this is the same poster who went onto the Westmeath forum just after the Lomans v Killoe game last Autumn and posted... "Well done Lomans on keeping the cocky boys of Longford club football quiet for a while". Yep he really wrote that! With friends like those, who needs enemies."
Wouldn't be like spinx to have agenda's against certain players or clubs. Funny oul man he is. One day we might see some positive thoughts from him."]Ah come on, I'm allowed have my point of view, just like everyone else. This is a forum afterall!! You need to take a chill pill and relax mate. Remember....those that have should give. Peace, love and joy to all."]I agree Spinx!!! I enjoy your opinions, although always controversial your in your right to have them!!!

Garmin (National) - 31/01/2024 12:37:53

Replying To Administrator:  "NOTE: Some posters are cutting and pasting chunks of previous posters messages to respond to them, line by line or by individual paragraphs. These type of messages will be deleted. There is a replay function that you can use."
Hope this helps your accusations!!!!

Garmin (National) - 31/01/2024 15:55:36

Replying To B&G:  "[quote=Garmin:  "[quote=Spinx:  "[quote=honlongford:  "[quote=LongfordgaaAbú:  "Last year Christie had almost everyone he might want to pick from at the start of the league, and we didn't win a single game until the very end when it didn't matter. The manager before him and the one before that and the one before that all had similar issues with some lads committing and some not, and others not seeing eye-to-eye with the managers methods. I agree with the comment above about personal responsibility. Might be time for a bit of navel gazing rather than trying to push the blame. We are a Division 4 outfit, and the quality of our local championship bears that out. We will beat Tipp, but we will slip up somewhere else before the league is out because we don't have enough depth or talent in the panel (credit to the lads who have committed, but that is the reality). Also I don't think it has anything to do with the amount of Intermediate lads in there - Monaghan panel at the weekend had plenty of Intermediate and Junior players in their squad and they are ten years in Division 1. As for the individual player bashing, I looked back at the comments posted on here after the O'Byrne Cup final, and only one person voiced the opinion that the player in question came on and calmed things down. Spinx decided to attribute that view to 'a few people' so that he could have a go at the lad, who along with others has given great commitment to the county over the years! Not surprising given that this is the same poster who went onto the Westmeath forum just after the Lomans v Killoe game last Autumn and posted... "Well done Lomans on keeping the cocky boys of Longford club football quiet for a while". Yep he really wrote that! With friends like those, who needs enemies."
Wouldn't be like spinx to have agenda's against certain players or clubs. Funny oul man he is. One day we might see some positive thoughts from him."]Ah come on, I'm allowed have my point of view, just like everyone else. This is a forum afterall!! You need to take a chill pill and relax mate. Remember....those that have should give. Peace, love and joy to all."]I agree Spinx!!! I enjoy your opinions, although always controversial your in your right to have them!!!"]Is Garmin and Spinx the same person. Both replies identical to same post. If so you have been rumbled."]lol the same thing has happened here! we must be all the one poster!

Garmin (National) - 31/01/2024 15:56:47

got to the park Saturday but could not make Sunday so I cant comment on sundays game. Junior... very poor standard, in fairness to Ballymore they can only beat what is in front of them, easily good enough to be a middle of the road intermediate team now and looking like they will win the final handy enough too. saying that i didnt see grattans! i wont comment on ardagh/moydow junior B team, should never of been playing a juinor A semi final!! Inter.... great game to watch, very entertaining, K McCann for Kenagh is going to be a huge player in the next few years for Longford. he is a joy to watch, he was unmarkable, some good scores by both teams and very exciting till the last kick of the game! Drumlish always seemed to have that bit more in the forwards and eventually seen the game out, the game was won in midfield as Drumlish dominated around the middle on both kicks outs! Senior.. a great start by Dromard and looked as if they meant business but after the 10th min mark Mull took over and never looked in trouble even after a few worried moments. again around midfield this game was won, Mull won all the primary possession and some of the scores from McGivney where excellent. mackey played well and is very composed on the ball and with R Brady inside doing loads of damage. Dromard again needed the older lads to satand up which they did, Bull and McGee where excellent but other than that they never looked liked winning the game! the final we all wanted to see, in my opinion the 2 best teams in the county now battling it out for the connolly cup!!!

Garmin (National) - 26/09/2022 10:26:00

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Fair play to Colmcille. Second ACFL1 title in three years is no mean feat. They should push on and give the Leader Cup a serious go now. They haven't won it for over 30 years and it would be a major confidence boost ahead of Championship. Colmcille and Mullinalaghta are the teams to beat this year, no question. If the draw breaks right it would be a great final pairing, and I wouldn't rule out this being Colmcilles year. Perhaps, like Kerry, they are learning how to push on and win games they might have lost in previous years. There is a title there for them if they can seize the opportunity, but Mullinalaghta as always will be hard bet in Championship. Well done to the county board for getting the ACFL and Leader Cup done before the Championship. I'm the first to criticise Leader Cup being played in the cold and dark Christmas season, so credit where it is due. I can't recall the last time it was all done before Championship. Lets make a habit of it."
Agree... finally in all my years following local GAA I can praise the county board and say they got something right! to see all the leagues finish before championship starts is music to every clubs ears! no more trying to pull club players out in November after a long championship(for some)... hopefully they will see this working and stick to it!

Garmin (National) - 11/07/2022 14:22:06

Sanctions For Playing In America For The Summer - 1 Like(s)

Replying To honda15:  "Can anyone give some information on sanctions for the summer. As far as i was aware, a player who plays inter county championship in a year is not entitled to get a sanction to play in america. Jack Bryant and Rory Egan both have featured for Offaly but announced last week that theyre heading over to play for the summer?"
honda15 there is loads of rumours around our own county of lads heading off to play football in the US and then returning to play club championship at home, in my opinion i feel that the GAA needs to sort out this mess! every young lad is dead right to head away for a once in a life time experience but no way should be playing for 2 different clubs in the space of a few weeks!!

Garmin (National) - 18/05/2023 09:44:09