Longford Forum

Popular Posts from LongfordgaaAbú

Leitrim GAA thread - 7 Like(s)
Methinks our USA friend is a WUM.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 10/05/2022 15:42:43

GAA-GPA Stand Off - 5 Like(s)
Cap county sessions at 4 per week maximum, as a rule, thus having consistency across all counties and no extra benefit for counties with rich sponsors to fund more sessions. This also deals with player welfare too in an amateur game too. Job done.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 16/03/2022 10:54:54

Donal O'Gs Comments On Football In General And The TC In Particular - 5 Like(s)
Cusack came across very badly. Quite aggressive in accusing JC of not quoting him properly (she actually did). It was a legitimate question to ask of someone employed by the show given the furore caused by his comments in the days prior. The notion that you can't discuss a nasty swipe taken by an RTE employee during a hurling podcast because you are somehow only supposed to discuss hurling on muster hurling championship day, is as laughable as it is hypocritical. God be with the days when you could admit you stuck your foot in your mouth, apologise and have a good laugh and move on.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 22/05/2023 13:00:49

Leitrim GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Congrats guys - If we couldn't go up am glad ye could. Fair play.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 24/03/2024 16:15:38

Longford GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Oddball:  "Lads, I'm just after looking back over the history of winners of the Longford Championship and I just wanted to get peoples take on the lack of championships for town/big village teams. In Roscommon we have Roscommon Gaels who have gone 19 years without a title, Castlereagh 14 years and Boyle 96 years!! In Longford you have Longford Slashers 10 years (not really a big drought!), Ballymahon 21 years (only 1 title), Mostrim 31 years (3 titles), Granard 41 years and Rathcline 47 years (only 1 title). For Mostrim and Granard to go 31 and 41 years without a title is astounding. Also, for clubs like Ballymahon and Rathcline only having won 1 title each is a strange one considering the size of Ballymahon and Lanesboro is a decnt size village/town. Looking in from the outside discounting Slashers, all these other teams are bordering other counties. Have players in the past thrown in their lot with clubs across the border or are there other reasons for the lack of success? I just would be interested in Longford peoples take on this."
There's no one answer to this, but it's not down to players throwing in their lot with clubs across the border. The census data in 2022 showed 6 urban centres with population over 1000 in the county: Longford Town (10,957), Edgeworthstown (2199), Lanesboro (1733), Ballymahon (1714), Drumlish (1124) and Granard (1058). The next nearest after that was Kenagh with 753. Urban centres tend to have more alternative sporting options for kids (soccer, basketball, athletics, rugby) whereas rural areas can focus attention on Gaelic Games perhaps? That was true when I was a kid, not sure if it still applies now. For Killoe, a combo of an expanded new school and new principal focused on football, helped to build a great underage structure in 2000's and 2010's which paved the way for those senior titles. It also helps to be on the periphery of the county town when population is increasing (Clonguish benefit from that too). Abbeylara and Mullinalaghta (who between them have been in 7 of the last 10 County finals!) played all their underage together as Northern Gaels which allowed them to play at a very competitive level while winning championships - all of which helps prepare lads for a better transition to senior. Stonepark built an impressive new school just 5km from the centre of Longford town and next to the refurbished Grattans club grounds, and some of that big town population will opt for that school and align with Grattans instead of Slashers in Longford parish. In the past you would get a couple of good players from outside the county with Connolly Barracks being in the town (Slashers and Killoe both benefited from that in the past), but that closed in 2009. Similarly the Bord na Mona facilities around Lanesboro played a role too, but also now gone. For some clubs it is down to the luck of raw talent or having a few special people who go that extra mile to drive the club harder than others. So it is not any one thing, which is why you don't see any club dominate for long. Granard, Mostrim, Ballymahon, Rathcline and Fr. Manning Gaels should all be much stronger than they are, but numbers don't always translate to the GAA club nowadays. Perhaps the multi-million re-development of Monaduff will be the spark that reignites the Gaels? A rearrangement of SFC, IFC and JFC to make each more competitive rather than having so many clubs sat in Senior Championship, would help more clubs win things competitively and grow.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 10/01/2024 13:52:19

Tailteann Cup 2022 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To StoreysTash:  "What is the craic with the name? Who or what was Tailteann?"
In Bronze Age Ireland, large sporting gatherings known as funeral games were held. These were athletic competitions held to honour a recently deceased person. The name Tailteann derives from the Aonach Tailteann (the Tailtin Fair) held in the townload of Teltown in County Meath. According to the Annals of the Kingdom of Ireland, the fair was established by the legendary king Lugh Lámhfhada (reigned 1849 to 1809 BC) in honour of his foster-mother, Tailtiu. The Tailteann Games were re-established just after independence as a sport championships for Irish people or those with Irish ancestry. They were held across Ireland in 1924, 1928 and 1932. Launched to celebrate independence, the Games were first announced in 1921 but due to the Civil War the Games were postponed until August of 1924. In 1924 and 1928, the Tailteann Games were held shortly after the Summer Olympics, allowing athletes that had participated in Paris (1924) and Amsterdam (1928) to compete. Additionally, some Olympic athletes who were not of Irish ancestry were invited to compete to increase the competition and attract audiences. The Tailteann Games were held in various venues across Ireland, centred in Croke Park. Events were held in athletics swimming and other aquatic sports, rowing, boxing, rounders, yachting, golf, tennis, gymnastics, wrestling, weight-lifting, billiards, chess, Gaelic football, hurling, handball and camogie. There were events beyond sport too, with Irish dancing, music, painting, crafts, writing and storytelling competitions. In the 1930s there was less will to continue with the Tailteann Games. In 1937, a committee was formed to explore the possibility of holding further games, but with the beginning of World War II, the games never took place again. The cup is named after those ancient games.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 03/05/2022 12:59:22

Longford GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ETHarmy:  "I see Joe O'Brien not in the Longford hurling squad yesterday. He must finally have retired. Fair play to the amount of service he has given the county hurlers, he surely must go down as the best hurler ever to wear the Longford jersey. Hopefully there is a few younger hurlers now to come in and drive it on for the next few years."
Joe must be up there with highest scorers ever for Longford in hurling. I hope the county honours him at some point for almost 20 years of county commitment. A well deserved retirement.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 06/02/2023 11:21:57

GAA Officials - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Hawkeye at every ground in the country? Cracking idea. €300-400K multiplied by 30? €12m. Good use of money. Maybe accept the odd mistake."
Nailed it. It is still an amateur organisation where people give their time to do these roles, sometimes imperfectly and often thanklessly. Perfectly acceptable to ask for good standards, but if we vilify everyone who makes a mistake while doing something for free in their spare time, we will be left with nobody willing to give up their time to do these jobs. We are making professional demands of amateur volunteers. Mistakes come with the territory. Suck it up.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 23/03/2022 15:09:21

Withdrawals Sound Death Knell For O'Byrne Cup? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Get rid of the competitors but don't move League start. Counties will play Friendlies sin this rime anyway"
O'Byrne cup is effectively a set of centralised pre-season friendlies with just enough competition history and credibility to ensure that a good chunk of those involved take it seriously enough to want to win it. Most stars of today in Leinster got their start in an experimental line-out in an O'Byrne Cup game. It serves a purpose. Dismantling it and throwing the playing of friendlies to the county boards to manage arbitrarily, is not progress, certainly not for my county! I don't think we should declare an existential crisis just yet. Leinster council need to sit a couple of counties down and do some hard talking about responsibility, even for dead-rubber games!

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 11/01/2023 13:01:17

Longford GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
I think you've taken a wrong turn on the way to the Limerick forum. Nice to have you visit, hope all is well but you need to go down to the end of the road and take a right and follow that road for about 150km and that's you. I've found that Birr is a nice place to stop for a cup of tae on the way.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 03/03/2022 15:20:21

Páirc Uí Chaoimh - 3 Like(s)
Mayo: Hastings Insurance MacHale Park Armagh: BOX-IT Athletic Grounds Carlow: Netwatch Cullen Park Wexford: Chadwicks Wexford Park Louth: Protection & Prosperity Louth GAA COE Cavan: Kingspan Breffni Park Westmeath: TEG Cusack Park Leitrim: Avant Money Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada Longford: Glennon Brothers Pearse Park Kilkenny: UPMC Nowlan Park Offaly: Glenisk O'Connor Park Tipperary: FBD Semple Stadium Laois: Laois Hire O'Moore Park Wicklow: Echelon Park Kildare: Manguard Park COE Tyrone: O'Neills Healy Park Carlow: Netwatch Cullen Park Cork: Supervalu Páirc Uí Chaoimh When work is done on the new Louth stadium and on Kildare's St. Conleths Park, there will almost certainly be naming rights associated with both. So almost 60% of main county grounds in the country have naming rights and that number will grow. The only issue here was the foolishness of Cork CB in dropping O'Chaoimh rather than adding the sponsors name to it. They will have learned that lesson the hard way and on we go. 12 years after the naming rights deal was signed with Glennon Bros, everyone in Longford calls it Pearse Park. If the naming rights deal lasted a century, that would still hold true.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 23/01/2024 18:03:20

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Greenfield:  "Some details here: https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dunboyne-lodge-objection-over-navans-extra-sub-25967165.html I always blamed one of the O'Mahonys bottle men for this. The game finished in acrimonious circumstances following an incident with him on the terrace side. I think after that dunboyne we're always going to appeal if there was a chance."
An extra man objection also happened in 2016 in Longford SFC. See link. Game ended with Killoe beating Longford Slashers by 1-9 to 2-5 but was replayed after Slashers objected to 16th Killoe man on the field at the end of the game. Slashers then beat Killoe in the replay. They met again in the Quarter Finals a few weeks later and Killoe won to put Slashers out of the Championship. Mullinalaghta then beat the then champions Killoe and went on to win their first title since 1950, and the rest as they say.....

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 27/01/2023 11:24:58

New 40K Stadium Required In Middle Of Country - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I think the GAA need to look at having a 40-45k capacity stadium in one of the midlands towns, either in Portlaoise or Tullamore. It could host a lot of neutral matches, and could host Leinster hurling finals when Galway are playing. 40k in a full house in Portaloise or Tullamore would be a much better atmosphere than 40k in Croke Park, and the crowd will likely be smaller given the distance from Galway on Sunday. Either that or just get rid of the farcical situation where the Leinster hurling final has to be played in Leinster and play the game in Thurles."
Athlone. Build it now.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 06/06/2023 15:53:05

Longford GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Anyone care to have a stab at Longford hurling managers over the years? Here is best I can do, others here might add more knowledge... 2022 Adrian Moran (Westmeath) 2019 Derek Frehill (Galway) 2018 Colum O'Meara (Galway) 2014 Ray Gavin (Westmeath) 2012 Frank Browne (Wexford) 2010 Tom Lynam (Longford??) 2009 Mattie McLoughlin (Longford??) 2008 Noel Boyce (Westmeath??) 2006 Michael O'Rourke (Longford??) 2006 Peter Curran (Westmeath) 2002 Tom Lynam (Longford??) 2000 Alo Lawlor (Offaly)

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 09/02/2022 13:10:36

Tailteann Cup 2022 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "I think if we have it at all it should be the All Ireland shield competition, and have an actual decent sized and nice shield as a trophy, not one of these tiny cups that seem to be the gaa's favourite at the minute."
Nothing kills the pedigree and allure of a competition faster than the word Shield. Not to say it couldn't work with epic PR and the worlds best looking trophy, but it would take a Wimbledon Ladies or Community Shield type design to get over the stigma. I agree on the cups comment - the yokes that have been produced in recent years for Division winners in lower leagues and for colleges competitions are cat altogether.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 26/04/2022 14:37:50

Longford GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Great win by the hurlers. Longfords sixth Division 3B final in ten years, and won it three times in that period, so fingers crossed we can add another title next weekend.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 26/03/2022 16:52:27

New York's Hurling Ambitions - 2 Like(s)
Longford competed in Connacht Senior League last year but weren't in a position to be able to compete this year. How in Gods name would a county with three hurling clubs and struggling numbers be able to fund a trip to America for a Lory Meagher game? Difficult enough to get across to Birmingham to play one of the two teams in Britain. The notion is great, the practicality for lower tier hurling counties is hard to see.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 06/01/2024 11:20:20

The One Change That Would Revitialise The Entire Football Championship - 2 Like(s)
Less than two pages before this thread descended into WUM-ville. Impressive!

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 21/06/2022 16:23:43

RTE And Gaelic Games Results - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "any notice how RTE television seem to think the big games iin division 1 are the only results worth mentioning of a Sunday evening/night, if we are lucky they will show them on screen and if your quick enough you can read them yourself. I was driving yesterday evening and my daughter had Iradio on in the car and low and behold they went through each division.Once the big fixtures are covered its on to Rugby and horseracing...I was following a blog online yesterday where a divsion 4 team lost and their supporters were equally as interested in their counties defeat as I heard or read of any of the top division teams are..is it any wonder that these teams are almost forgotten about, I know social media is now is top dog but not everyone has it either, just like horseracing and rugby, not everyone wants to know who got a bonus point win or made history with their 100th winner in such and such a race..."
I never understood how they couldn't invest a few extra seconds to go through the lower divisions. Same thing happens with County Final results which used to be read out during the 6 and 9 o'clock news, and now they show the main one and tell you to go to the website for the rest. Takes half a minute to cover them all and even at a superficial level it meant a lot to small clubs to hear themselves mentioned on the tele. Someone needs to have a word. More sports please and less blow-by-blow accounts of everything going on in the central criminal court which nobody wants to listen to.

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 30/01/2023 18:14:45

Tailteann Cup 2022 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To himachechy:  "[quote=Loughduff Lad:  "Anyone read Martin Brehenys comments in the Indo yesterday? Link here Know he's not always everyone's cup of tea, but makes some very valid points. He discusses that cutoff lines drawn for each Championship Tier is too arbitrary. Solely going on League alone is not a viable way of doing it. He uses examples of Cavan versus likes of Louth and Limerick. Cavan have beaten multiple top 16 level teams last 5 years (many Division 1 mainstays too), while Louth and Limerick have never beaten any in the same period. Yet they drew the lines on league only, after 2 disrupted seasons, and didn't take any Championship form in account. And he is probably right in saying it doesn't necessarily need to be a 16 and 16 split. A 20 and 12 split would still have a competitive Sam, and the 12 below would be the teams who would be able to compete for Tailteann. And lets be honest: Cavan, Westmeath, or Tipp) if they drop down to it) would probably be beating the other teams out the gate anyway, so is this doing them any good anyway? And I overall just have to agree. I saw many here mention that each county has tiered Championship from Senior, Intermediate, and Junior. But do these counties redraw them every year, and base them solely on League just gone? Don't think so. This Tailteann Cup and qualifying criteria needs a huge rethink if this is to be the success it needs to be. The right sides need to be in the right competition on a number of factors. Be it my suggestion of more equitable leagues, or a combination of League and Championship results over the last number of seasons."
Lough duff - Are you sure you're not from Cork? You'll have the competitions changed just to get Cavan back to the top table! Ye have a cracking team and one of the best managers in the country. Give it a year or two, Cavan will get back to the right level"]I fully expect to come back to this forum tomorrow and for Loughduff Lad to have proposed that Sam Maguire become a 1-team competition consisting of Cavan (a bit like how Hoganstand still has a Cavan only forum), and that Tailteann Cup should be run in 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B league format with winners then qualifying to hand Cavan their cup. I must check that Cavan only forum to make sure that plan isn't already being rolled out :-).

LongfordgaaAbú (National) - 12/05/2022 15:27:30