Longford Forum

Popular Posts from slasher9

Longford GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Traveling support heading to Longford for the Tailteann Cup at 6:30pm will miss the European Champions Cup Final (starts 4:45pm) and the Champions League Final (starts 8pm). Great timing GAA!!!!!!"
The game is at half 5, over at 7 plenty of time for away support to get near home for most off the liverpool match and plenty of places to pull in along the way it its necessary. Gaa cant cater to everything have to get on with our own games. clashing with rugby wont effect crowds

slasher9 (National) - 19/05/2022 15:09:38

Longford 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To rahoorahoo:  "That Laois game was there for the taking. Completely lost it ourselves on kickouts especially in the second half. Can we not find a man with a kickout or is it just kick it out as far as possible 50/50 or just kick it straight to a Laois man. Robbie smyth and Larry Moran should have been on far sooner some of the substitutions were mind boggling taking off Des Reynolds one of the only players actually driving at Laois and leaving on the 2 full forwards who did nothing all game and offered nothing! Not a bad year but these are games that we should be winning"
larry moran called back in after been the best player in the club championship this year and gets a minute at the end of a few matches. reynolds was flying, so what do we do? sub him naturally. same failures year in year out with us im afraid, on the pitch on the line in the boardroom, i look forward to the day we learn

slasher9 (Longford) - 10/11/2020 09:54:10

Longford GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To LongfordSham:  "While on paper its not the strongest panel we probably have available , but its the best chance to see what they actually have at their disposal. We went all in last year, winning the OBC and falling apart then from the league onwards so theres no point reading into the squad listed for a pre season competition as no doubt there will be plenty of bigger names to come in before the league and championship. Also, its quite a disrespectful take to have, slating clubs like Kilashee, Drumlish and Ballymahon for having lads on a county panel. Just because the clubs aren't performing well, doesn't mean they don't have players worthy of a look and with the small player pick we do have , best to see can anyone new be found that might add something to a squad."
Its trolling from a troll lots of great players over the years from weak clubs. One off the best roscommon had for years was david keenan from the might of tarmonbarry!!

slasher9 (National) - 04/01/2024 13:18:17

great win what a performance from dessie renolds, mimnagh sheridan gallagher mcgivney all out of there skins. Watchin on online and listening to shannonside what are those lads watching time to get new voices in their crazy. At a different match!

slasher9 (National) - 21/01/2023 16:39:08

Fingers num with the cold but heart is burning what a night for longford football well done to the mighty women of slashers. History makers!

slasher9 (National) - 10/12/2022 19:14:36

County Team 2021 - 2 Like(s)
Much improved performance today but still no win. Really up against it now against Tipperary. Our chances are no better then 50/50. A game we really should of won today I think. even though Fermanagh should of scored 3 goals early on, we recovered well. Great to see Darren Gallagher back on form, superb player fighting a lone battle for us in the middle third. Very disappointing to see there was no minute silence for Vincent Daly, a true Longford legend. May he RIP

slasher9 (Longford) - 29/05/2021 22:27:32

Just one more dreadful performance in a long line off dreadful performances from this Longford team. Dont think u could say anyone played well except kealin mcgann who was very lively he was very impressive

slasher9 (National) - 28/05/2022 19:43:43

Replying To williesboy:  "Quinn has been the most consistent player in longford for the last 2/3 years"
are you leitrim or longford? how many games do you go to? your entitled to your opinion of course but i cant see how anyone who has attended the majority of longford games in recent years could say anyone has come close to darren gallagher. thats not a criticism of anyone else, just the level gallagher has been at has been simply superb

slasher9 (National) - 06/03/2022 14:11:31

Longford GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To williesboy:  "He hasn't been Longford's best player by a mile for the last 6 years, Mickey Quinn has been the most consistent longford have but Darren was unplayable about 4 years ago for 2 seasons but hasn't reach those heights since"
you must of been going to different longford games to me. no comparison between the two

slasher9 (National) - 30/01/2023 15:19:01

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Agree. A few lads look visibly out of shape. The boss probably needs to start from scratch on baseline fitness & strength. We look tired and weak. I'm resigned to Division 4, but am happy to give the manager time to strip it all back and start again, and disrupt the hell out of the current underage structure too. The managers reputation is on the line as well, so everyone is motivated to make this work. But it won't just happen because it has to. It needs different ideas, more professionalism and significantly more investment in facilities and resources. Anyone who remembers Eugene McGee's scathing articles in the Leader in 1990's when we couldn't buy a win, won't want to return to those dark days. Was sorry to see Motion 7 (co-sponsored by Clonguish) on going from U17 back to U18 at inter-county, defeated at Congress. Mixed opinions on this i'm sure, but it seemed like a sensible approach."
i am sorry to say we are still living in those dark days. one trip to division 1 20 years ago followed by relegation, in division 2 ten years ago and bet in all our games. their has been no progress. full respect for everyone who pulls on the county jersey but there simply isnt anyone coming through near the likes off a paul barden, dermot brady, padraig davis, or dessie barry. underage is being dominated by one club clonguish fair play to them but we dont know how good they are because everyone else is so bad. look at the senior championship the two best players were declan reilly and francis mcgee both near 40!! go through all the clubs i bet you find there best players are in the 30s if you think its bad now its only getting worse for us. sorry for the pesimism but i fear for longfords future

slasher9 (National) - 20/02/2023 14:45:37

Local Championship - 1 Like(s)

Replying To keeper7:  "Mullinalaghta goal was surely a "square ball"?"
i thought it was square ball too. where did all the injury time come from??

slasher9 (Longford) - 07/09/2020 12:10:28

County Team 2021 - 1 Like(s)
mighty win, credit where it is due to the team and management when the backs where against the wall they got the job done. overall its still not a good league but it was looking an awful lot worse had we got relegated. still would be concerned going into championship as a lot still not playing well, i though only dessie reynolds and andrew farrell (having a great year) stood out for us individually yesterday. that said i expect us to deal with carlow comfortably. question is can we take meath. shouldnt fear them and players like mcelligott to come back will be a huge boost!!

slasher9 (Longford) - 14/06/2021 16:45:51

If we are going down we should go down with young lads getting experience at least time now to drop quinn gallagher rogers and might get an impact from of the bench. why are we bringing on a man closer to 40 then 30 makes no sense!!

slasher9 (National) - 05/02/2023 16:44:16

Another second half collapse yesterday. After a really good first half we just dont show up after half time. We could of scored two more goals but down could of gotten five. No defence looked leaderless. Christie cant stay after this

slasher9 (National) - 11/06/2023 17:12:07

Plenty of depth to the squad kealin mcgann and jack duggan to come back remember. In defence reynolds mimnagh and quinn can all go back their if needed but they play like extra forwards when their. Only worry is if something happens farrell full back we have no one as commanding for there, fox could do a job though more suited to corner

slasher9 (National) - 24/01/2023 18:39:20

Replying To williesboy:  "Longford will beat Tipp and all will be forgiven. On another note we fairly haemorrhage players when things aren't going good, Duggan gone along with a few others I believe"
no all wont be forgiven beating tipp is a minimum as there the other worst team in the league with all the players they have lost. That is sad to hear duggan is gone i dont recall him getting any game time it makes no sense! He was the star of last years u20s its the likes of him that needs to be brought on not auld fellas!!

slasher9 (National) - 22/02/2023 10:04:07

big congratulations to slashers ladies on getting to leinster intermediate final. also colmcille on the junior. a great boost to the womens game in the county. the work that has gone on in slashers since founding the ladies game is phenomenal, reaping the rewards now that hopefully the county can see in the near future

slasher9 (National) - 06/12/2021 15:31:12

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "What were they saying lol"
Players doing well were not in the game and others not playing well there favourites were having stormers doses to listen to and that was the first time i was watching a match and listening to them at the same time. Always suspected they were at different games to the rest off us!!

slasher9 (National) - 21/01/2023 17:21:11

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "What an odd response. Care to argue the actual topic? Do you think that the tweeting is good/acceptable? Do you think it is on a par with surrounding counties? Do you think that if people are elected to roles, they should take on those roles and carry them out properly or at least to the minimum standard of other counties? Or do you think that anyone pointing out an issue should never point it out, and should only run for office to take on that role instead? Again, what an odd response."
Not odd whats is odd is u and the others forever on here whining about twitter and the website who actually cares other then ye. Its not as good as cavan but as the other poster said they need help from the club pros cant expect a couple of volunteers to be able to do everything ye are asking off them. Get real. A good sign i see at club grounds "before you complain have you volunteerd" you must not of seen this think its up where tickets are waved in faces

slasher9 (National) - 16/08/2022 18:12:41

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Using the 26-man squad from Laois game, here is count of top county players from each club in Division 1... Killoe: 5 Carrickedmond: 3 Mullinalaghta: 2 Rathcline: 2 Granard: 2 Mostrim: 1 Dromard: 1 Clonguish: 1 Abbeylara: 1 Colmcille: 1 Fr. Manning Gaels: 1 (I appreciate the numbers change a bit, but it is mostly a correct picture) ACFL Division 1 is 2 groups of 6 this year, so each club plays 10 games... 5 without county players and 5 with county players. Here are the published dates for the first 5 rounds of the league... Round 1 = W/E of 16th April Round 2 = W/E of 23rd April Round 3 = W/E of 1st May Round 4 = W/E of 14th May Round 5 = W/E of 21st May The next County game is Leinster QF against Westmeath on 1st May while the Tailteann Cup starts on weekend of 29th May and continues throughout June with the final on 9th July I think. If the first five ACFL Division 1 matches are played without any county players, those clubs listed above will have their best players sat in the stand watching their teammates play five league games in April and May while they themselves play perhaps just one county game in that same period. How does it make sense to park those players for all five games? Why not give them competitive games with their clubs in the weeks leading up to the Westmeath game (what better preparation could there be for both Leinster and Tailteann competitions), and if we lose to Westmeath, return them to their clubs until Tailteann Cup starts? The advertised reason is to apply some consistency, but the split of impact to clubs is obviously not consistent (it never is), so that argument doesn't stand up. There is also no overlap between the football and hurling panels this year, so we can dispense with that argument too."
there was war with every other manager before when their were club games in the lead up to championship. what you are talking about i dont think can happen now anyway as it is against the agreement to keep club and county separate seasons. i think what they have done is probably the best they can. county players are going to get a minimum of 11 competitive games with their clubs and club players will be getting 16 at least.

slasher9 (National) - 31/03/2022 09:29:26