Longford Forum

Popular Posts from catchturnscore

Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried? - 4 Like(s)
Actually barring the Dubs it's probably the most competitive it's ever been and as competitive as any of the other provinces. From a Longford perspective our record in Leinster over the last decade has been shocking but our record against Ulster teams in the qualifiers has been excellent and that includes a couple of narrow away defeats to top teams as well as a few wins. I'm pretty sure that if Roscommon had to travel the short journey to Pearse Park for a provincial semi final we would be very competitive with then unlike the last few years for them in Connacht. This current Dubs team is so good they absolutely blow away all but the top opposition. In reality only Kerry and Mayo have been at anywhere near their level the last few years and they would have had very few challenges whatever province they were in.

catchturnscore (National) - 27/05/2018 22:35:50

Gooch In A World Of His Own - 4 Like(s)

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "Gooch was a phenomenon But for me the player I watched in awe most was Maurice Fitzgerald. People forget that Kerry struggled massively when he first came to the fore. There was also no back door so we were deprived of a lot of his genius. As for a player outside my own team I'd have Matt Connor leading the way His scoring feat in the 1980 Semi Final was incredible"
Interesting how so many people will go for a forward/creative player. For a defensive player we may never have seen better than James McCarthy. An absolute gem of a player and seems like a great role model for youngsters.

catchturnscore (National) - 02/08/2019 21:52:31

Cavan Vs Tyrone - 3 Like(s)
11500 , that a shocking small crowd for what's at stake.

catchturnscore (National) - 06/07/2019 17:20:00

Super 8's For The Neutrals - 2 Like(s)
Kildare and Rossies

catchturnscore (National) - 09/07/2018 21:38:09

Non-Gaa Forum - 2 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "How wasnt it a team of irish players? We dont pick players playing outside of Ireland bar exceptional cases to help keep our provinces strong. same as new zealand dont pick players who play outside of new zealand we will keep on improving if our standards are maintained in clubs and schools in producing top quality players. there isnt really many "imports" whove come through and played for ireland. we have continuously being improving our squad. this tour with the 2 maori games was about improving the squad depth ahead of the world cup..."
Not taking away from what I think is an incredible achievement but 4 of the starters were "imports" and another couple off the bench also were. The difference for me really showed in the interviews afterwards where O'Mahony and Sexton saying how it was something they would have dreamed of as a kid whereas James Lowe whilst obviously delighted would have had childhood dreams of being on the All Black side .

catchturnscore (National) - 18/07/2022 16:27:57

Mayo V Dublin - 2 Like(s)

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "I'm massively massively biased. No problem admitting it. Biased against people that dive. It's up there with spitting and eye gouging. Diving has been let creep into our game and nothing is been done to eradicate it . But you don't care. All you care is Dublin win. The sporting nature of the game doesn't bother you. There is more to the Gaa than just Dublin winning. But I get the feeling that doesn't concern you too much."
Watch the replay again. He clearly got struck in the face by Keegan's left arm at the end of the incident. The replay from behind the goal shows it.

catchturnscore (National) - 11/08/2019 14:30:51

Monaghan Vs Kildare - 2 Like(s)
Kildare ridden by the ref, different rules for both teams.

catchturnscore (National) - 15/07/2018 15:39:04

Galway Vs Kerry - 2 Like(s)
After watching cork-tyrone it's very possible Kerry have been flattered by the opposition they have faced.

catchturnscore (National) - 07/07/2018 18:19:16

Future Of Leinster Championship - 2 Like(s)
This is nothing new. Leinster has always been a two/three horse race and the Dubs have always been one of the two /three. Munster has always been a two horse race . Connacht is atwo horse race with the Rossies occasionally springing a suprise. Ulster for all of the talk of competition has been dominated for the last 10 years by the same couple of teams. At the moment outside Tyrone and Donegal none of them are within 10 points of a fully focused Dubs. Does anyone really think Cavan would have a prayer against them, yet it's their second final in a row through the soft side of the draw. The provincials have always been a flawed system and that's what needs to change , not just Leinster.

catchturnscore (National) - 22/11/2020 13:32:57

Longford GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Isn't it great to see this guy and all his backroom team donating their spare time to Longford GAA. Who said the spirit of volunteerism is dead!

catchturnscore (National) - 01/12/2021 15:07:10

Meath V Dublin - 1 Like(s)
Ok it might sound crazy but I reckon this is gonna be a lot closer than people expect. Dublin by a maximum of 6 in the end and I think they will get a big scare tomorrow.

catchturnscore (National) - 17/07/2021 21:55:17

Dr Crokes vs S'neil - 1 Like(s)
Well done to Crokes, but it's a sad reflection on the way the game is going that the biggest mistake in the last 5-6 minutes was the Gooch shooting from the late free. The ability of teams to constantly recycle possession and kill a game is something that will become a big issue in the coming years.

catchturnscore (National) - 17/03/2017 18:42:51

Longford GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To slasher9:  "i am sorry to say we are still living in those dark days. one trip to division 1 20 years ago followed by relegation, in division 2 ten years ago and bet in all our games. their has been no progress. full respect for everyone who pulls on the county jersey but there simply isnt anyone coming through near the likes off a paul barden, dermot brady, padraig davis, or dessie barry. underage is being dominated by one club clonguish fair play to them but we dont know how good they are because everyone else is so bad. look at the senior championship the two best players were declan reilly and francis mcgee both near 40!! go through all the clubs i bet you find there best players are in the 30s if you think its bad now its only getting worse for us. sorry for the pesimism but i fear for longfords future"
We were never really a division 1 side that time as we were promoted from division 3 and the GAA decided to merge DIv 1 & 2 and call them 1A and 1B. The qualifiers have been our saviour over the last couple of decades and we have had a few great results but a decent Div3 side has been our level. A couple of years in Div 4 might allow us to rebuild without the large defeats that can be crushing to young lads starting an intercounty career. Also despite the run of results we need to always show respect for the lads who bust a gut and give up so much of their time to represent the county knowing that the chances of winning anything significant is very slim.

catchturnscore (National) - 20/02/2023 21:41:41

Mayo V Dublin - 1 Like(s)
40 plus years watching football and for the life of me could not fathom why so many on here thought Mayo had a chance. Is it people blinded by bitterness or just a refusal to acknowledge that the Dubs are THAT good? They are an amazing team, Mayo were never gonna have the legs to stop them for the 70 minutes. Hats off to the veterans on that Mayo team for their dedication to the game . Tyrone won't stop the Dubs and its probably a year too soon for this Kerry team but I think a Dubs v Kerry final on a dry sunny day could be an epic contest.

catchturnscore (National) - 10/08/2019 19:05:28

Division 2 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Good to see Kildare starting to show form. It's hard to pinpoint why all the underage potential hasn't come through before now. They seem to be the only realistic challenge to the Dubs in Leinster for the next few years and the rest of us really need them to make our championship meaningful again. I really enjoy watching the current Dubs so nothing against them but i would imagine they would prefer a tough campaign aswell before the quarter finals.

catchturnscore (National) - 19/03/2017 21:09:01

Cavan Vs Tyrone - 1 Like(s)

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Do ye know ye can put lads up in full forward line or what."
You'll know all about it in a week's time. Tyrone to top the group. Will beat the dubs in omagh.

catchturnscore (National) - 06/07/2019 18:32:39

Fastest Players In The GAA - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Bring back Superstars. It's the only way to separate them. Look at this dashing young man, complete with farmer's tan, from back in the day. https://youtu.be/wZUJ_bV2eHk"
The superstars was great craic in its day. Wonder would any TV station try and revive it. Saw it on American TV a couple of years ago where it had retired NFL , NBA etc players on it.

catchturnscore (National) - 16/07/2018 21:47:50

David Clifford - 1 Like(s)
Looking forward to watching him over the next 10 years, hopefully injury free. Stylish , classy footballer and seems to have a calm head too.

catchturnscore (National) - 05/08/2018 14:48:33

A Better Super 8S ? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "4 groups of 3 would be better No dead rubbers Provincial champions, runner ups and 4 qualifiers in each group. Only top team each group makes semis. Depending on results tonight quite possible u have 3 dead rubbers next week."
4 groups of 3 still can have dead rubbers. If one team wins the first two games the last game is a dead rubber if only top makes semifinals. All sports that involve a league system have this issue. The premier league has multiple dead rubbers every week from April on, the champions league, world cup etc etc. Club GAA leagues have dead rubbers all the time. As long as the provincial system exists it will be impossible to balance out the football championship.

catchturnscore (National) - 21/07/2019 10:06:36

Division 3 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Best Longford squad in a long time. Almost all the best players have committed to the panel this year so will be interesting to see how it goes. Don't they they will win the division but a great bet for promotion.

catchturnscore (National) - 01/02/2017 16:23:45