Knockmore deny Tourlestrane with strong finish to move into Connacht club SFC decider

December 05, 2021

Tourlestrane's Noel Gaughan and Darren McHale of Knockmore ©INPHO/Evan Logan

Knockmore produced the goods late on to overcome Tourlestrane in this afternoon’s Connacht club senior football championship semi-final in Ballina.

It finished 0-10 to 0-8 at James Stephens Park, where the Mayo champions kicked five of the last six points to secure their provincial final berth.

The victors moved into an early three-point lead thanks to the points of Connell Dempsey, Peter Naughton (free) and Kevin McLoughlin but went scoreless for 20 minutes after that, as Gary and Liam Gaughan helped shoot their Sligo counterparts 0-5 to 0-3 in front by the break.

Liam Gaughan, John Kelly and Cathal Henry hit scores after the restart that looked to have Tourlestrane coasting but there was still a big finish in Ray Dempsey’s charges.

Brothers Peter and Adam Naughton hit points that would eventually draw the game level and scores from Peter Naughton, Shane McHale and Connell Dempsey (free) down the home stretch ensured the victory which puts Knockmore into their first Connacht final since 1997.

Most Read Stories