Limerick Forum

Popular Posts from slayer

Michael Lyster - 15 Like(s)
http://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/289709 Can't help but feel a pang of sadness on this one. After the All-Ireland football final in 1999, the Sunday Game showed a montage of clips from the 80's & 90's as the new milennium approached. I remember thinking 'Christ the GAA has been so much part of our lives without us knowing it' as i saw the legendary moments on screen. Lyster going really is the end of an era. In a way it is like saying goodbye to a huge part of childhood. He's never shown favouritism to any team and despite being a Galway man he is always gracious to any county who beats Galway or loses to Galway. Fair play to him, wish him well.

slayer (National) - 28/08/2018 14:47:36

Marty - a bit of a national treasure - 12 Like(s)
Before yesterday's Munster final Marty Morrissey walked past the Mackey Stand on his way to do his commentary job. He was swarmed by people looking for pics & autographs. He obliged every single person who asked, all in good humour and chatting away to kids (I had two with me) who were beaming to see him. After the game his piece for the Sunday game covering the celebrations was the same - good humoured, good natured and for Marty, a Clare man, to be so humble and to create such a fun atmosphere for people to participate in, well he's nothing short of a legend really. I was at the Clare v Kilkenny U21 final in Croker in 2009 and he hosted a crossbar challenge competition there which he made great craic. He seems to have a way of creating fun around everything. He makes time for people, he respects them and he's also an interesting person to listen to with his ideas on GAA & sport in general. He's a good man to host a debate about GAA too and his radio shows are always wort listening to. In an era where pundits like to create a bit of controversy with comments, is Marty just a National treasure?

slayer (National) - 12/06/2023 13:47:42

Offaly V Kerry, 1982 - 10 Like(s)
Unless you saw it live it may be difficult to take in the magnitude of this game. Ireland was a country still emerging from the Hunger Strikes in 1981 which had for a long time been the main topic of conversation. GAA was central to the Irish psyche. Offaly had come from nowhere to win the Leinster Hurling title in 1980, then the All-Ireland in 1981. The Offaly footballers had contested the 1980 semi final v Kerry in a classic and then lost the final to them in 1981. Kerry had ruled football with an Iron Fist. Ireland was very different back then. GAA was an integral part of everyone's life. All week the talk was about the game. There was not the same media coverage as there is now so interviews with Management or Players were golden. Both sides changed their shirts for the final, as I think they did in 1981 also. The Offaly shirt was lovely, mainly white with the green & gold also thrown in with a bit of class. The game itself was eventful but the feeling was Offaly were never out of it, as Kerry put away other teams in finals. The penalty save was pivotal, Furlong was a hero. But a 'never say die' attitude which was a key characteristic of Offaly teams in that era made them keep going at Kerry. It wasn't a great surprise that they had a go at winning the final, but it was a surprise that they held Kerry off after getting ahead. There didn't seem to be any panic, they believed that the title was theirs. Then again in the previous four finals Kerry had a health lead in the latter stages of the game. Perhaps they felt jitters at only being two up as the clock ticked towards winning time. The goal itself is one of the most magical memories ever in GAA. As a hurling man, I even say perhaps 'The' single greatest GAA memory there is. Does any other memory make people remember where they were or who they were with when it happened? It is like watching that TV program 'Cold Case' where they flick between present day & the era in question. Certainly, that moment is one that stands out from childhood. Darby's dance, a mini pitch invasion, the legendary Micheal O'Hehir's commentary - iconic. In 1997 Offaly won the Leinster Football title with a fine win over Meath. Kerry had won Munster. They looked on course to meet in the All-Ireland final but Mayo stepped in to defeat Offaly. It would have been nice to see that rematch fifteen years on and with Roy Malone & Vinny Claffey they would have had a right cut off Kerry. The Offaly team from 1982 didn't kick on as Dublin emerged with a fine team from 83-85 and then Meath ruled Leinster from 86-91 89 (apart). We learned a lot about GAA from that 1982 match. Never giving in, self belief, the power of a great Manager (which I believe Eugene was). But in the years after there was also a lesson about class and tradition. Kerry lost the 1983 Munster Final to Tadhg Murphy's late Cork goal, but then won the finals from 84-86, beating a very good Dublin team as well as sides like Meath & Tyrone also along the way. In nine years of championship they won seven titles and lost the other years to two late goals. Quite simply a magnificent team. But everyone remembers Seamus Darby, Offaly and from the other messages, that nudge/push :-) Offaly v Kerry 1982 - Great memories.

slayer (National) - 07/08/2019 11:04:20

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 8 Like(s)
On Sunday morning the influx of Tipperary hurling fans into Limerick City will begin. As most have their Christening money, staying overnight is not an option. So all along border towns where the 1980's becomes 2019, the Blue & Gold army will traverse from the Game of Thrones era to modern Ireland. There is a misguided perception that some Tipperary fans drive 1970's Ford Cortinas with cassette tape players blasting out Susan McCann's 'Blanket on the ground'. The truth is most of them do. For Limerick and Tipperary people, hurling is a way of life but make no mistake, this is a David & Goliath clash. Tipperary with 27 All-Ireland's, 42 Munster titles, 19 National Hurling Leagues face minnows Limerick with 8 All Ireland's, 19 Munster titles and 12 National Hurling Leagues. In true James Bond style, they gave us the evil Babs Keating and we gave hurling Richie Bennis. They have tin foil sandwiches and we have Donkey Ford's. They are coming to conquer, make no mistake about that. Nightmare Stuff The worst championship experience ever at the hands of Tipperary was 1991. As they dished out a beating to us in Thurles, John Leahy got a ball near where the sideline at the old stand meets the town end line. With Tipperary over ten points up, he curled the most beautiful shot over the bar. The place went nuts. Straw hats, tin foil, brake fluid and small babies were thrown into the air as the Premier marched relentlessly towards the Liam MacCarthy Cup. Along the way Limerick have taken punishment at their hands. A young spritely Ciaran Carey was inspirational at wing forward in the 1989 Munster semi in Cork. A young and fresh Limerick went in at half time 1-7 apiece. Rumour has it that Babs told a story about being overcharged for a 'knobba black puddin' in Limerick City one day and the Tipp lads tore Limerick to shreds in the second half. The final score was 4-18 to 2-11. The era between 1984-1993 was hard to watch. Famine What most younger hurling fans don't realise though is the mighty sandwich eaters went ten years without a championship victory. Limerick beat Tipperary in the 1973 Munster Final and it wasn't until 1983 when they beat Clare in Limerick, that Babs' babies won another game. As a young lad, I was at that game and witnessed the outpouring of emotion when Tipperary beat Clare 2-11 to 1-11. One woman confessed to keeping her son back from first holy communion until Tipp finally won a game. Little Jack, now 17 and an electrician, could take his place with the schoolkids the following week. Tipperary as a county flourished after that win. Local bread manufacturers reported a 5000% rise in sliced pan sales. Shares in cling film sky rocketed and blue and gold rosettes were handed out at mass. Great times to be a Tipperary fan. The nineties Limerick had a great team in the 1990's but ended the decade with no all-Ireland's. Tipperary had a relatively poor decade but ended with one. The Green & White triumphed in the 1992 National Hurling League Final as well as the 1995 & 1996 Championship meetings. But by 1997 Tipp were back to winning ways and usually when they win, it is by a big score, when we win it is a close run thing. As one Tipp lad said to me 'arrr floor is yuuur seeelin'. When I pointed out to Mick Pat that he lived in a bungalow he looked perplexed. The 00's Nicky English set about expelling all arrogance from the Tipperary mindset. As Manager in 99 he had gone close to beating Clare and in 2000 Tipp fell just short in the quarter final to Galway. 2001 was Tipp's perfect year winning 18 and drawing 1 of the games they played. Tipp played with an honesty, as though every player had gone to confession and told of the sins they'd committed. 'Faddder I kished a Limerick girl one night and never phoned her again hee hee'. Tipp beat Limerick in a classic Munster Final in July. Both teams had chances to win it but Declan Ryan's strength proved to be the difference between the teams. After beating Wexford in the semi final they got past Galway in the final. Again the flood of joy was something to behold with Tipperary town rocking to the tunes of Bon Jovi. When local youngsters started chanting 'Def Leppard' council offiicials phoned Dublin Zoo for advice, thinking there was an alert of some sort. As good a hurling team as Tipperary were, they couldn't win the famous trophy back again that decade. The trilogy of games between Limerick & Tipp in 2007 captured the imagination of the public. Ultimately Limerick would lose the All-Ireland final but what a year it was from Richie Bennis' men. Limerick were Limerick - fine hurlers, fine teams, but couldn't stitch it all together. More's the pity. The 10's The decade started with Liam Sheedy's men producing the most wonderful all Ireland performance of all to stop Kilkenny's quest for five in a row. Just like Nicky English in 2001, Sheedy's third year at the helm proved fruitful. Lar Corbett set the tone early on with a super goal and finished with 3-3. Whisper this quietly but when he scored his third, the Limerick pub I was in actually cheered for Tipp. I didn't see any stripper in the place so I'm pretty sure it was actually a chant in admiration of our near neighbours. Still after all this brilliance though Tipperary's fans refused to eat in normal fast food joints and gathered at the boot of their Skodas to wolf sambos and warm their faces in fleshly open flashks-o-tae. Tipp didn't follow up on that win and in 2014 Limerick beat Tipperary in championship hurling in Thurles for the first time since 1973. TJ Ryan's men inspired by Shane Dowling and Donal O'Grady produced a classic late victory. Limerick ended the season with an epic 2-13 to 0-17 loss to Kilkenny in the Croke Park rain while Tipp took the cats to a replay before also succumbing to Cody's Charges. In 2016 Tipperay were rightly asking themselves two questions. (i) Why can't this excellent band of hurlers follow up an all-Ireland win with repeated success? (ii) why do we love eating ham sandwiches? The second one there goes alongside Jimmy Hoffa, Lord Lucan and Shergar but the first was solved by Micheal Ryan. Tipperary simply swept Kilkenny aside in the All-Ireland final. I travelled to the game with my brother and there we sat, two lads, Limerick to core as we listened to what seemed like a Bookmaker's office on steroids. 'Tipp, tipp, tipp, tipp, tipp'. Jesus Christ repeat that a thousand times and you'd be fit for vodka. But credit to them, Tipperary were fantastic and seeing players like Seamus Kennedy locating his family in the crows for photos brings home just what hurling means to people in this part of the world. No self-respecting sports article could ever be complete without mentioning 2018. The most beautiful year of hurling with the best team winning the best competition with the best hurling. I'm not biased, but Christ Limerick were brilliant. Any team who beats Tipperary, Cork, Kilkenny and Galway to win Liam MacCarthy deserve saintly status. As most Limerick people know, the injury time in the final was cruel. Imagine your first pint after lent or getting your first Pirelli calendar when you are 18. Multiply that by a million, add the Donkey Ford's challenge (fish, chip, 4 battered sausages & a canna shtuff) and that is about 10% of what it felt like to be crowned all Ireland champions after 45 years. But that is the past and now comes Sunday …………… Leads History suggest that if Limerick go behind to Tipperary we can pull the game back. We did it in the 1981 Championship, going thirteen points down, forcing a draw and winning the replay. We did it in the 1992 National Hurling League Final, going nine points down and winning a goalless game by one. We also famously did it in 1996 when Tipp led by ten points at half time before Frankie Carroll came off the bench and scored the equaliser allowing Limerick win the replay with Owen O'Neill kicking in goals as quick as a ham & cheese disappears in Clonoulty ………… Little Known Fact 1 In 1980 Mossy Carroll played in the All-Ireland Final for Limerick. In 1981 he had transferred to Tipperary and played in the draw and replay against Limerick. If a player transferred from one to the other today it could lead to social unrest. Swapping the beautiful Green & White for the Blue & gold is such a serious offence that you'd lose access to the Chicken Hut, Thomond Park, you'd have to give back any Rubber Bandits media that you have. Little known fact 2 A Tipp man I know who plays with a non-Tipp Town club, was recently chatting to a girl on Tinder. He asked her where she was from and she said 'Tipperary Town'. He told me 'I didn't think they had technology down there'. If people from county Tipperary are saying that about people from Tipperary Town, it speaks volumes. I just hope for both their sakes their marches, banners and protests do bring them electricity across the county and they can continue with a blossoming relationship. Sunday The final game in the Munster Championship round robin series was somewhat of a shadow boxing contest. All-Ireland champions Limerick were in the home of hurling and Tipperary didn't want to lose this one. It is difficult to know if both sides went at it with the vigour they can produce. Sunday is mouthwatering. We welcome a team with a 100% championship record so far without the superb Patrick Maher. Maher's work rate for Tipperary has been a launching pad for success for many a year. It was genuinely disappointing to see such a great player get a serious injury and sincere best of luck to him in his recovery. For Limerick, a number of players should be restored which will make this a different game to the Thurles slugfest. The prospects of losing are sickening. Tipp FM will probably raise their transmitter 40 ft higher into the air to reach all parts of Limerick. Babs Keating will probably claim that he masterminded the victory and Niall Quinn will appear out of nowhere on the terrace with a Tipp shirt. Bucket there please ..... Verdict Despite all the slagging between the counties, Tipp fans are just like us. They want their team to do it, we want Limerick to crush them so bad they give a bye to their quarter final opponents out of embarrassment. But this is hurling, the greatest game in the world. May the best team (Limerick) win. Luimneach Abú

slayer (Limerick) - 26/06/2019 15:15:54

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 5 Like(s)
Juliet, the dice was loaded from the start And I bet, and you exploded into my heart And I forget, I forget the movie song When you gonna realize it was just that the time was wrong, Juliet So go the words of the Dire Straits classic. For those of us who soldiered with Limerick hurling for years, maybe in the 80's & 90's it was just that the time was wrong. The hurling Limerick are currently producing is mouthwatering. It is that Chicken Hut meal after a gallon down town. It is Liz Hurley (no pun intended) asking you for a hand putting on her bathing suit. It is heartwarming. When you look at a Green & White Limerick shirt, how can you not fall in love? This team is delivering on every fan dream there is. Limerick may or may not win this year's All-Ireland but John Kiely and his players deserve huge credit. Attitude, hunger, ice in the veins. The two games versus Tipperary in this season's Munster Championship remind me of the battle Rocky had with Ivan Drago. On the ropes for a long time, the heart, spirit & desire comes to the fore. The chants of 'Rocky Rocky' are replaced by 'Limerick Limerick'. We did it. In the end, Limerick beat Tipperary by twelve points on Munster Final day. It is a big win but lets not get carried away. Cork won the 1982 Munster Final against Waterford by 5-31 to 3-6 and & were hammered in the All-Ireland final to Kilkenny 3-18 to 1-13. In hurling your next defeat is always around the corner. We have nothing to be arrogant about but what we can do is savour the achievements of this excellent team. From one to thirty seven this panel of players continues to serve up feasts of hurling the likes of which many of us haven't seen in our lifetime. Kyles Hayes goal on Sunday summed up what this team is all about - hard work & desire. While there is undoubted class in the ranks, we've had that before. We haven't had the manic aggression that we see with this current crop. Peter Casey's flick to set Hayes up for goal is just the same attitude Tom Morrissey showed in last year's final. Win the ball back anywhere in the pitch. Then score. These Limerick hurlers are playing as though they'll do anything to keep their place in the team. Since the losing Munster Finalists were first given a 'back door' into the All-Ireland series in 1997, many think the Munster Final is not what it was. Around the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday there was a beauty, an atmosphere of magical dreams that lay ahead. The Green & White, the Blue & Gold; those who have worn the colours with pride over the years. Small boys & girls embarking on a journey of following Limerick and Tipperary, clinging to their Mum or Dads' leg as old friends stopped for a chat. As I waited to give a ticket to a mate Ken Hogan passed by. The mind wandered back to his exploits in the 1980's in Titanic battles with Cork. Mark Foley headed for the turnstiles sparking off images of that man of the match performance he gave in Cork in 1996. Then I saw James Butler who was part of that epic comeback win for Limerick over Waterford in Cork, 2001. Eleven points down before Ollie Moran goaled to reduce The Deise's lead to six at half time. Butler & Brian Begley rattled the net in a frantic second half and put Limerick into that Munster Final against old Foes Tipperary. Eighteen years had passed, but the passion for the game is the same. Back doors, front doors, car doors, whatever way you want it is hard to beat Munster Final Day. First off, to those who questioned Peter Casey, I hope they will at least be silenced for a while. His contribution on Sunday was immense. 1-5 from play and bravery in abundance for our opening goal. What a player. His own standard is so high that he needs to be doing this most days to get noticed. His off the ball work is feverish with hooks and blocks going in like a battle scene from Gladiator. Speaking of Gladiators, the sight of Diarmuid Byrnes with hurley outstretched in one hand, ball in the other would frighten man and beast. Against the wind he fired over two frees with such a low trajectory that it was like a scene from the TV drama 'Homeland'. Missile fired, target hit. Declan Hannon should apply for a part in one of those 'Oceans eleven' movies. The amount of times he thieves loose ball is sensational. With magical wrist work he's like Keith Barry - now you see it now you don't and the ball goes from our 40' to our forwards in seconds. Full back lines to Aaron Gillane are like 1990's ladies to Brad Pitt. The attention he gets is unparalleled, so much so you'd wonder is someone still marking him when he tries to tog off after the game. There is a connection between this Limerick team and the fans. It is different to the past. It is as though John Kiely reminds them every day how lucky they are to wear the Green & White. It is like being in love with a beautiful woman who tells you that you're lucky to have her so you pay for tonight's meal again. We all wanted to pull on that jersey & in Primary School county hurlers were our heroes. The trials in school could be cruel. I remember being told at a South Limerick school's trial to 'ease back on the scones young lad' and there my dream died. But every member of this panel is creating an atmosphere of hard work and that added to the trust the players have in themselves and each other is producing results. Seeing Tipperary fans trailing out of the ground with sixty minutes gone was a reminder of how far Limerick have come. Tipp are one of the aristocrats of Hurling. But Limerick hit them with 1-7 without reply in a surge of power reminiscent of Phil Taylor when he was collecting world darts titles like biscuits. The surges are no co-incidence. In the National Hurling League against Kilkenny in Nowlan Park this year Limerick simply blew the cats away. There is a confidence about Limerick's play that allows our lads to move the ball in any way they want. Short hand pass, long delivery, there is a steely fire about their play. But what we see on the field is just one facet of the end product that explodes in our hearts. Limerick's statistics team along with Paul Kinnerk are producing data that allows the Manager to make big calls. Kinnerk's coaching is superb. He was a huge part of Clare's 2013 success and is now doing it with us. But all of the statistics team know GAA too which is a huge bonus. They're not just number crunchers. This is a juggernaut that is racing along the motorway. It would be lovely to be pulling into Croke Park again on the third Sunday of August. Tipperary are down but not out. I went to School with a load of Tipp lads and we were the butt of their jokes. One said to me one day 'What did Nelson Mandela say when he was released from Prison? Did Limerick come out of Munster yet'? We'd sit there looking at them, absolutely cracking up but unable to say much back as they took the All-Ireland titles of 1989 & 1991. I never envisaged in my lifetime beating Tipperary in a Munster Final by such a wide margin, but sure there was a time I thought I'd never pass the Inter Cert either. While it is sweet to beat Tipp there are a large number of spouses, partners, parents & siblings who see the sacrifices these lads are making. While there is the slagging of course we still need to remember that these lads are giving so much to our sporting entertainment. Liam Sheedy was gracious in defeat and he represents Tipperary so well. When the dust settles on this final he will no doubt cook up a plan to take the Premier further this season. If one man sums up how this Limerick team play, it is Will O'Donoghue. Athletic, skillful but with an awesome work rate & attitude his performance on Sunday was like a lad who gave you a loan of a fifty two weeks ago & now wants it back. He was tigerish in his approach to winning the ball. He regularly offloaded to Cian Lynch on the run. When in full flight this Limerick team set the heart racing. They fill us with pride and passion, they deliver. Declan Hannon thanked an army of people in his Captain's speech but at the end his 'see you in Croke Park' comment is that little link that is so important. These lads realise what hurling means to the people of Limerick. Our Family lost someone last April who wore the Green & White at Minor & U21 level and who would have been extremely proud of yesterday's performance. At the end of the game my thoughts turned to him and his influence on me towards hurling. My earliest memories of hurling involve travelling to games with him and that's what it is all about; the memories, the colour, the enjoyment, the laughter, the highs & lows. Hurling permeates the life of Limerick people so much that it is almost as important as oxygen. No matter what happens from here the Limerick hurling team have made us immensely proud. Limerick hurling & it's fans are like Romeo & Juliet. Croke Park end of July, 'You and me Babe, how about it'?

slayer (Limerick) - 01/07/2019 14:07:38

Michael Donoghue - 5 Like(s)
2 All Ireland finals, won 1 lost 1 3 Leinster Finals, won 2 lost 1 1 NHL final, 1 win 6 finals 4 wins Impressive. Good on the man, he brought Galway hurling forward.

slayer (National) - 21/08/2019 12:58:34

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 4 Like(s)
I'll put it this way, if Connolly had been playing for a division 4 county and did what he did, nobody would bat an eyelid. It's a lot to do with the county he plays for, the perceived advantages they have and who he is.

slayer (National) - 26/06/2017 10:47:13

Limerick GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
A salute to the four in a row champions: http://limerickhurling.blogspot.com/2022/06/salute-to-four-in-row-champions.html

slayer (National) - 07/06/2022 07:42:42

Presentation - 4 Like(s)
I remember Mark Landers getting the cup on the field in 1999. It just didn't seem right. With regards to speeches though - I have to disagree. Fair enough lots of thanking but those people who are thanked need to be thanked. An inspirational speech is memorable to the fans of the winners. I think of Anthony Daly's speeches in 95 & 97, John Connolly's speech in 1980, Declan Hannon's in 2018. Ciaran McGeeney 2002, Peter Canavan 2003. These are moments in GAA history that are golden. Plus they are optional - you can leave the ground or go to the shop. If you're at home you can switch off the TV or make a cuppa. The speech process lasts 5 minutes tops. I long for the day the Mayo footballers win Sam because the speech and everything around the occasion will be special even if the game finishes scoreless and goes to penalties.........

slayer (National) - 26/07/2022 16:54:43

RTÉ showing Dublin matches - 4 Like(s)
Dublin are the biggest attraction in our games and as much as people hate to admit it, it's just the way it is, and the most popular, most watched teams will get more coverage by the TV companies. My theory is that Sky Sports are after Dublin's rights to all matches & will take it a step further. We could see the start of dublingaa.tv run by Sky where you have reruns of great Dublin GAA days (the 12 Apostles 1983) and light hearted shows like 'Lads I bate' by Brian Mullins and Jimmy Keavney. A 'Where in the World' type program where Dubs fans draped in their beloved blue have to answer about county ground facilities in far off places like Limerick, Cork. Wexford, Carlow etc and then instead of the Angelus, you could have a 30 second segment of a Fair City rerun, e.g. Paddy Clarke's dog Shnaffles being knocked down on Fair City, or Jimmy Doyle getting a trial with an unnamed English club. Live coverage on matchday would begin at 8AM when many Dubs are going to bed after a night out and will run up to 4.15PM when the game throws in after being delayed for 15 minutes. They can also have a segment called 'the unlucky Culchie' showing a poor unfortunate soul who accidentally wandered into the Big Tree and is surrounded by Dubs fans with names that end in 'O' ......... Away days, although rare, would follow a whole family as they take on the mighty trek to Louth, Westmeath or wherever. Scores of Dubs complaining about why there is no DART in these areas and then chanting 'there's only one Jim Gavin' as bemused locals look on thinking of their mate Jimmy Gavin who is drawing in round bales today. When Dublin win 9 All-Ireland's in a row, there could then be a show comparing Dublin to Celtic and Ranger's 9 in a row sides and when Kerry eventually end Dublin's dominance the Dubs TV channel will visit Kerry to see what life in a foreign country is like. .............

slayer (National) - 26/06/2017 12:23:18

RTE And Older GAA Fans - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "So who is then to show games. GAAgo exists because there isnt tv channels to show the games. they have to cover costs. So if GAA go doesnt exist then who will cover the games. it cant operate for free and yes people who do pay for their clubs lotto, etc will have to pay for this. thats life. sky sports are irrelevant to this discussion."
You are making an assumption that nobody else will show them free to air. TG4 and Virgin Media don't use pay per view for the seccer, rugby and underage GAA games that they show and their coverage is pretty good. RTE are given a very low bar to clear. In the 1980's they used to cover one all Ireland hurling semi final and if Antrim were in the other they'd not even bother to show the game if it was on anywhere other than Croker. We only saw Antrim's glorious win over Offaly in 1989 because it was part of a double header mandated by the GAA. Let's face it the GAA and RTE saw an opportunity on the back of Sky's Now TV and greed took over. The idea that either the GAA or RTE have any interest in parochial development or customer satisfaction is laughable. Sky's Now TV is a budget version of their sky box package. They offer NowTV for less than their sky sports package. With the GAA/RTE GAAGO is an extra on top of the TV license. It is potentially an extra cost to older fans who need to buy equipment to watch GAAGO (eg smart TV, Apple TV box) compared to switching on their non smart TV and viewing the game). I really wonder about those who continue to defend RTE and the GAA. RTE go on about the number of games they cover in comparison to yesteryear while paying money to pretty poor presenters through all sorts of shady deals. They employ people on zero hours contracts who do research for these highly paid presenters and then use pay per view TV to find such items too. The GAA are no better. Croke Park has long since left the idea of community behind. These days it is all about concerns, conferences and maximizing revenue. It is still the clubs who produce u derage talent where volunteers give up the same time as an RTE presenter spends at work each week, to their local GAA club. If RTE and the GAA were credible organisations the first thing they'd do in the wake of the RTE controversy would be to have every remaining game free to air in 2023. They need to restore the trust of the people and abandoning GAAGO would be a great start. They should be working with us, not us working to fund them.

slayer (National) - 28/06/2023 19:33:37

RTE And Older GAA Fans - 4 Like(s)
The GAA are rolling in cash, RTE have money to throw around to presenters and people are here defending both............. Yet the older person who may be sick or disabled is repeatedly mocked and told to get someone to come & magic up a broadband connection, Smart TV & 12 euro a game....... Sign of the times I guess.

slayer (National) - 27/06/2023 12:34:17

Donal Óg Cusack Belittles Fellow Gaels - 4 Like(s)
I was making a lovely toasted ham, cheese & cheese/onion post Heineken sandwich as the debate unfolded. I just kept thinking 'let Brendan Cummins talk'!!

slayer (National) - 31/07/2019 16:36:46

Is Dublin's Success False, Tarnished And Bought? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "McKenna's cherry-picking of information, stats and figures only that suit his narrative, and his penchant for going dark or blocking on Twitter when credible counterpoints and expansion of context, is what turns a lot of people, myself included, off. He leaves out figures from provincial councils which reduce the actuality of funding disparity, and when no figures are available to show funding for non-Dublin counties, he treats these figures as non-existent rather than unknown. The per-registered-player comparison in relation to Games Development is also an overused irrelevance, as Games Development money is used in a expansive way in getting non-registered kids into GAA clubs. He writes in an emotive manner, appealing to feeling rather than fact, and lacks an even handed objectivity, especially where Dublin are concerned. With all that said, I am of the opinion that there are many counties out there where GAA is suffering and deserve better financial and planning support from the GAA and the provincial councils than they have been getting. The human landscape appears to be continuing to change, the GAA need to be wise to this and get ahead of the curve. Dublin have many advantages in population, marketing and proximity which need to be regarded by the GAA when it comes to funding other areas of the country. However, funding alone is not a cure-all panacea: it needs to used in conjunction with sober and longterm planning if it is to be adequately effective."
Excellent post.

slayer (National) - 05/09/2018 17:01:21

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 4 Like(s)
Jaws Awakening on Sunday morning the birds were singing and the sky was blue. It was a pleasant day and in the distance children could be heard playing. The effects of the long journey to the capital as well as the refreshments in the local hostelry began to subside. Many hours of rest had passed but that heavy feeling in the chest took hold and the sickening knot in the pit of the stomach enveloped through the body. The one second memory of the previous evening flashed into the mind; where hearts were tested and disappointment see sawed on the opposite side of the triumph coin, before the stark realisation of reality. Limerick had exited the Liam MacCarthy Cup at the semi final stage. It was the start of a long day of reflection. Reflecting on what might have been, reflecting on that gnawing numb feeling of regret, reflecting on what the Limerick hurling panel have achieved in the last two seasons. A second all Ireland final had been within touching distance. Now we must watch Kilkenny and Tipperary parade on the greatest occasion in Irish sport. It hurts. It is going to hurt. Hurt may be exactly what is needed. Kilkenny learned from their league defeat to Limerick in Nowlan Park. The long straight February ball into their forward line was now diagonal July balls. TJ Reid was magnificent getting possession and changing the direction of play. Kilkenny's plan was three fold. (i) Stop Limerick men from catching the ball (ii) stop Limerick men from running with the ball (iii) unleash hell. This is not Brian Cody's most talented bunch of hurlers. But Saturday night's performance might just be from the hardest working group of his era. There was a ferocity to Kilkenny's play that startled our lads. Kilkenny play right on the edge. When Limerick players contested aerial duals Kilkenny men went up with hands grazing Limerick helmets. Kilkenny hit hard, time after time Limerick players didn't even get to take their four steps after getting ball in hand. Kilkenny disrupted and at times halted, in particular they targeted players who have been superb under puck outs for the last two years. They gambled in their forward line. When a Limerick player was in possession Kilkenny men left their marker to swarm the man with the ball. But to say that was all Kilkenny did would be folly. They themselves used the ball extremely well and they pounced on mistakes. They limited wides. They held their nerves right at the death and they rightly take their place in the final. Sincere congratulations to them. They are the kingpins of hurling for a reason. At times some of Limerick's play was electrifying. Aaron Gillane was a threat all day. Is there a better forward in the country to win his own ball and produce a score? When our lads did manage to run the ball out of defence the stadium came alive. Shane Dowling's goal thirteen minutes from the final whistle was a score of beauty. With pace and power the mighty men in Green surged forward; Lynch to Hayes, Hayes to Dowling and the most outrageous finish to bat the ball into the net. Shane Dowling gave us one of the moments of 2018 with his penalty against Cork and another in his post-match interview by saying Limerick were not just coming to the final to march behind the band. His goal celebration was one of joy but also determination that we had to get back on level terms. When David Reidy pointed the next score the expectation was that Limerick would power on. But Kilkenny's steely resolve etched them further in front. Then came the moment where time stood still. Limerick's build up play was again superb to release Reidy to the left of the goal. Croke Park seemed to fall silent as those of us Green waited for the net to bulge. Instead Eoin Murphy got a block on the sliothar before it was ushered out of play like a chap who was getting messy in a nite club. The chance had come and gone, or had it? Diarmuid Byrnes slotted over the '65 to leave the minimum between the sides. Limerick forced a line ball. Darragh O'Donovan hit it and it seemed to squirm wide. Subsequent videos have gone around on social media which show that his sideline cut may in fact have been on its way over the bar before being deflected out of play by a Kilkenny hurley. No placed ball was awarded. Final whistle, the champions out, abyss. Many years ago Nelly Furtado told us that 'all good things come to an end'. Had they? Were Limerick really out? It was hard to take in. But yes we were. Hurling is like the film 'Jaws'. Counties take turns at being the hunter and the hunted. Each endure wounds yet fail to go away, returning with an air of menace. Just when you think one is down they resurface showing the scars of battle but ready to end the reign of the opposition. Limerick are like Matt Hooper from the 1974 classic. Studious, brave, taking on board information, hungry for success. Kilkenny are like Martin Brody constantly at odds with the shark until the battle is won for another year and the sequel begins production. The rest of us? We're probably a bit like Quint. Battle hardened, sometimes inebriated, able to tell stories, scarred. Hurling drives us crazy to the point where it engulfs us and we ultimately play our part but are consumed by the game. In the midst of the excitement that music is always playing in our heads until the game is over. Attack is imminent. Hurling produces an array of emotions that can be hard to comprehend. It is like a drug, taking us fans to the highs of Everest to the lows of that one point defeat. Defending the Liam MacCarthy Cup repeatedly has proven impossible to all apart from Kilkenny. In the last forty years of hurling only Galway (87/88) and Cork (04/05) have won back to back all Ireland hurling titles, Black & Amber apart. Tipperary have not managed this feat since 1965. Limerick were so close to a crack at this coveted prize. But it is not just the excellent panel of players and Management that dares us to dream of further success. Three times in that same forty year era we have seen teams win an All-Ireland, be dethroned and then win it back. Champions Clare fell victim to Ciaran Carey's legendary run and finish in 1996 before sweeping all before them in 1997. All Ireland Champions Tipperary were toppled in Munster by Cork in 1990 before emerging stronger and meaner in 1991 to win the big one back. All Ireland Champions Cork were shocked in the Croke Park rain by Galway in 1985 before beating the same opposition in the all-Ireland final the following year. The break might help this Limerick team. Take time out, shoot the breeze with family and friends, play club hurling. Anyone who follows Shane Dowling on Twitter will know that he has on more than one occasion mentioned that there are more things in life than hurling. Spot on. All we have lost is a title. Our respect and bravery are intact, our loved ones safe. Should this Management team stay together then during dark days in Winter's bowels small things about this defeat may make more sense. Great champions learn from defeats. There is so much more to come from these players. What has been achieved in a relatively short time has been phenomenal. How the players have carried themselves has been a credit to Limerick GAA. They answered every call to bring the Liam MacCarthy Cup to each high road and by road of the county. Stalwarts have gone to their graves in the interim with a treasured photo of the cherished cup and/or a player/manager. There have been so many highs it has been hard to catch breath. Not only have they won silverware, their play has had us on the edge of our seats in many a game. They have put a smile on the faces of so many Limerick people and it is telling that criticism of those who pick up hurleys on our behalf has been fairly muted. The biggest thing they have done for us it to give us expectation backed up with a proven track record. We now go to games not just in hope, but knowing Limerick are competitors. The players play as though they are lucky fans who are living the dream. This defeat might just have been necessary to pave the way for further great days ahead. Thank You to John Kiely and his team for all the time they have given up and for giving us a team to be proud of. The Sunday Game panel sent social media into meltdown with a colourful discussion which inspired images of Winston Churchill, Dick Van Dyke and University degrees in hurling. One former Sunday Game panelist led his county to All-Ireland success with roofers, engineers, Gardai and Auctioneers. He even beat Biddy Early. Perhaps, rather than debating the merits of formations and tactics from the past, debating how we get more counties competing at MacCarthy Cup level would have been more appropriate. On September 14th 1997 Ger Loughnane said in the aftermath of an All-Ireland final victory: 'There is no game, no game in the world, like the game of hurling'. Twenty two years on with semi finals producing this quality and drama, his simple words then speak louder than ever now. If it ain't broken ……… Roll on 2020.

slayer (Limerick) - 31/07/2019 01:13:57

Donegal Space Invader - 4 Like(s)
Who wrote this? Brilliant :-) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maxi_Curran

slayer (National) - 10/07/2017 15:32:19

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ballydalane:  "To be fair, Fair (no pun intended), this is NOT a vintage Kilkenny team. Star player is a 34 year old TJ Reid. Bringing on players like Hogan, Buckley, Walsh etc who were winning All Irelands 10, hell 15 years ago. That's always a bad sign. They're good enough to scrape a few Leinsters and maybe get to a few League and All Ireland finals, but they're easy pickings to this Limerick team. If I was Lyng, I'd seriously consider dropping Padraig Walsh, Walter Walsh, Richie Hogan, Conor Fogarty, Cillian Buckley from the panel. Maybe even TJ. (A lot of them might retire anyway). Not because they're not great hurlers or servants to Kilkenny hurling. And not because they don't offer anything to the team because they clearly do. But because Kilkenny will not win another All Ireland with those players in the panel. A root and branch clear out. Even if the new players he brings in at the start get a few trimmings, or don't get near an All Ireland for another half decade. I'm fine with that. I'm sick of reaching All Ireland finals which we're clearly not good enough."
A very honest post & a very good one. I thought Tom Phelan was outstanding on Sunday and is the kind of player needed to take on Limerick. But when I checked his age he is 28. Kilkenny may get 4-5 more years out of him at the top level. When I look at teams equipped to beat Limerick Clare are still the biggest threat. Kilkenny know how to beat Clare so the last two semi finals went the Cats way. But Clare know how to beat Limerick and the two meetings in Munster were belters of games. Meeting in Croker might put a different twist on it. Enjoying this one for now though. Have watched the second half nine times already and each time just in awe of what our lads have achieved. Impossible to be anything but proud & happy right now. Luimneach Abú!

slayer (National) - 26/07/2023 11:43:22

Congratulations To Limerick - 3 Like(s)
Have a read. http://slayergaa.blogspot.com/2018/08/all-we-have-ever-wanted-since-we-were.html It means so much.

slayer (National) - 21/08/2018 15:03:26

Diarmuid Connolly to appeal his ban after all - 3 Like(s)
Can't believe he was banned in the first place. He did nothing, he was horsed out over the line by three lads (don't think they did a lot wrong either). It is a physical game and to see him banned for this is just weird.

slayer (National) - 12/06/2017 12:47:13

Creedon Quits Laois Job - 3 Like(s)
Must be somewhat difficult to put your name forward for that job, be slated by Colm Parkinson on twitter and then have him shaking his head all year, when even Mick O'Dwyer wasn't a big enough name for him?

slayer (National) - 27/07/2017 16:53:15