Limerick Forum

Popular Posts from Shocs07

National Hurling League 2022 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To wexico15:  "And fair play to Donal Og for calling it straight on TV"
No doubt it was a red. Just wondering though why Mannion went down on the far sideline in the first half clutching his midriff when he clearly wasn't hit. Hate to see that sort of nonsense

Shocs07 (National) - 12/02/2022 21:14:59

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 5 Like(s)
As much as I would like to see Clare win a bit of silverware, the constant moaning about decisions has to stop. After every bloody game now that Clare loose, Lohan starts banging on about the ref. As well as that, the sight of Tony Kelly shouting at the ref is also unacceptable. I even remember when Davy was over Clare and they lost to Limerick in Thurles and both himself and Davy ran down the tunnel after the ref mouthing away. Simply not on. Better off coming out of Mikey Butler's pocket for a bit and actually influencing a game like a great should. Plaudits to Shane O'Donnell for getting on with it and not being marked absent

Shocs07 (National) - 11/07/2023 16:02:13

2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To tiobraid:  "Fairly predictable results today and sets both teams up well for remaining games in Munster championship. I'm afraid Kingston has to get the boot from Cork. His tactics are mind boggling at best. Limerick getting all the credit for the turns overs and granted they do work like dogs but Cork could not make it any easier for them - first option is always to turn around and look for a mna behind rather than in front of them. They're going no where fast. From a Tipp perspective there were definite encouraging signs. I've no idea why Bowe was taken off. Unfortunately Bonner offered us nothing when he came on. Outside of Noel our four best players were players who Sheedy didn't rate which is probably not too surprising. It's a shame that Bryan O'Mara took a year out this year. Tipp are really up against it now but a win the next day gives us a fighting chance of getting out of Munster. Tipp will hope to have bigger performances from our two leaders in Maher and Forde the next day too. There's no question that introducing Gleason turned the game for Waterford. He's different class when he cuts out the silly stuff. Deeply frustrating line ball he scored when he clearly carried it out over the line himself. I'm not for a second saying the ref cost us but I can't for the life of me understand how we keep getting that ref. He was horrendous from start to finish today. Tipp however missed 3 easy goal chances which could have given us an unlikely win."
..and one of the goals Waterford scored was clearly thrown for the final pass across the goals. How D McGrath on the Sunday Game claimed otherwise makes the mind boggle. Way too biased to be a credible analyst

Shocs07 (National) - 19/04/2022 10:55:07

Limerick Hurling thread 2023 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To dingo:  ""not too much freshening up required" - i think we really need to see competition for starting jerseys to keep levels high. If you go back to 2021 final there wasn't a debate about any position once Casey got the green light to play. That is a big worry for me."
Don't worry too much. The fact of the matter is the current team is exceptional and extremely hard to break into. They're still relatively young. Only real concern is alot of miles already on the clock. In a different era, we'd be all raving about the likes of Cathal O'Neill Shane O'brien, Fergal & Aidan O'Connor and Adam English and the potential talents that they are coming along. No doubt most will come good but at the moment they need careful managing. People need to sit back and just enjoy the great times for Limerick hurling. God I remember a time when our minors got absolutely mauled by an average Tipp team in the first round in the Gaelic Grounds. Some changes to the present time

Shocs07 (National) - 23/01/2023 20:54:31

Oscars For Diving Goes To.. - 4 Like(s)
Aidan oMahony of Kerry playing Cork a number of years back. Ridiculous effort altogether

Shocs07 (National) - 10/03/2023 10:55:08

Colm O'rourke - 4 Like(s)

Replying To realdub:  "He'll certainly bring an edge, best of luck to him."
He'll also likely be far more dignified on the sideline too

Shocs07 (National) - 27/07/2022 08:39:57

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "It was disgraceful. I had two kids at the game today but , unlike those who ran on the pitch, I had control over my children. The ref bottled the end of the game. Clare had 2 frees, neither given. You know what though. We will be better for it, please god we see ye in the All Ireland. We owe ye more than one"
I'm sure the reason you're 2 kids didn't run onto the pitch was because everyone thought Limerick had won

Shocs07 (National) - 12/06/2023 11:13:34

National Hurling League 2022 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To tommy k:  "A long way off the top 3 and absolutely nowhere in football. I grew up in the 80's and 90's and we had our hurlers in the 80's and footballers in the 90's to entertain us winning AI's etc. in both county and club. I would hate to have been a Limerick fan with nothing to look forward to but continuous failure in both codes e.g. the 5 minute AI in 1994 when the might of Offaly came back from 5 points down to win by 6 - the best example of "calving" in the history of the GAA! Absolutely shocking that Limerick with a very big population have never even won 1 Club AI in either code."
Na Piarsaigh Tommy

Shocs07 (National) - 14/02/2022 14:50:27

Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views??? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "Just interested in what regular HS people have to say. Do we retain our age old prejudice against the Sassanach??? This team have been cast as a more humble, likeable bunch. Southgate seems like a decent enough person. Personally I hope the Italians beat them out the gate, Sterling dived, fans shining lasers at Schmeichel etc. etc. Forza Iralia..."
Who cares?

Shocs07 (National) - 09/07/2021 17:00:48

2021 Hurling Championship - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Claretandblue:  "The audio transcript of the incident shows the referee consulting with the linesman firstly who didn't fully see the incident, he then spoke to his umpires, one of whom is very clear that there was a headbutt by a Limerick player, the RTE footage clearly backs this view, apparently the referee erred in not consulting again with linesman after umpire spoke to him. I've no idea why this is seen as an error as he had no need to consult again. The umpire saw what everyone neutral saw, a clear headbutt, interestingly Casey himself just walked off, he knew what had happened. Rescinding of the referee's decision is simply wrong here, fair minded supporters know what happened. Limerick want the rules bent to their needs, Gillane, Flanagan, Hegarty, Condon all guilty in recent years, now Casey."
You're probably better off talking about Westmeath hurling I'd say. Don't be stressing over us

Shocs07 (National) - 16/08/2021 12:26:24

Limerick Hurling 2021 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To skillet:  "You want to know what I think? .. I think you seriously need to get a life, stop obsessing over everything Bloodyban writes and enjoy the fact that for the first time since the 1930s we have a team that are potentially going to win 3 all Irelands in a couple of years."
Well said

Shocs07 (Limerick) - 11/08/2021 15:52:04

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To katser:  "Clare really make it hard for themselves.......... silly frees and then ref brings it closer for giving lip! (0-13) conceded from frees. Flanagan definitely square ball and the 2nd goal was a fluke. Clare definitely were 9-10pts better team!! Kiely and Co are absolutely sickened to the gills!!!"
Ah go handy Kate. We're far from sickened. Hats off to Clare on a noteworthy win

Shocs07 (National) - 29/04/2023 21:56:51

Galway Hurling thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To BostonGuy:  "Not a great game of hurling yesterday, overall Limerick were the better team and deserved the win. Lots of talk about Hayes hit which I wont go into. But something else I notice about Hayes , he takes a lot of steps with the ball and more often than not gets away with it. Counted 3-4 times he over carried but got away with it."
True. But u can put Concannon into the mix for blatant overcarrying too

Shocs07 (National) - 27/02/2023 17:46:44

Underdogs 2022 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Square_B:  "God forbid a lad wouldn't be allowed be disappointed not being picked.... anyhow we dont all have JP's writing the cheques.... you'd probably be looking for "oxymorons" yourself if he wasnt...."
Ah ya, JP's money explains it all. Lazy comment

Shocs07 (National) - 25/09/2022 21:46:19

2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Trump2020:  "Multiple Choice Question: Is Tony Kelly the best Hurler in the country or is Tony Kelly the best Hurler in the country? Yes or Yes?"
He is.....when our 2-time hurler of the year is taking a break! Great game though. A pity that a simulation that was so bloody obvious threatened to ruin the match.

Shocs07 (National) - 15/05/2022 18:37:39

Replying To Bon:  "I wouldn't agree with red card part, but you are spot on about the referee not giving Gillane any protection. Barrett is one player who gets away with murder, a most unlikable player."
It was never a red card. To be honest, it was about the only call he got right all match. Between over-carrying by Tipp, Barrett's usual behaviour and the odd throw here and there, Tipp got every chance. What else would you expect from a Galway ref??

Shocs07 (National) - 09/05/2022 09:26:49

2021 Hurling Championship - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ballydalane:  "He knew it was a Cork player's hurl (why else would he have snapped it) he brought it over to where the altercation was occurring, and snapped it in two. A mindless and provocative act, I've never seen it at any level of the game. Zero class."
Think you need to move on...

Shocs07 (National) - 25/08/2021 11:38:31

Galway Hurling thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To tommy k:  "No but there should be a concern about Limerick "indiscipline" if you know what I mean!"
I don't Tommy to be honest

Shocs07 (National) - 17/03/2024 22:13:02

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Haha Hurler of the year is a team award really. If you think cian is better than Tony then i think you would find that the neutrals would disagree"
No point in arguing about two fine wines! Set up for a great Munster final. From a Limerick point of view I think it was a great result all things considered. Now gives them an edge going into the final. I feel sorry for Hegarty as now his apparent reputation precedes him. Not alone was it not a sending off, the Clare lad should get a ban for blatant simulation. No doubt The Sunday Game will focus on Hegarty's record and probably still harp on about, as they have done more than once, the Joe Canning tap way back when, which was nothing only bad timing. Time for better help for referees instead of relying on 2 blind mice from 50 yards away to make the right call.

Shocs07 (National) - 15/05/2022 20:19:38

Oscars For Diving Goes To.. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To skillet:  "Yer man with the tattoos from Clare who dived to get Hegarty sent off last year. Shameful stuff."
Padraig Maher of Tipp also springs to mind. Got plenty of handy frees coming out/charging with the ball. Didn't take much to floor him

Shocs07 (National) - 10/03/2023 14:37:04