Limerick Forum

Popular Posts from Fitzy01

National Hurling League 2022 - 7 Like(s)

Replying To tommy k:  "A long way off the top 3 and absolutely nowhere in football. I grew up in the 80's and 90's and we had our hurlers in the 80's and footballers in the 90's to entertain us winning AI's etc. in both county and club. I would hate to have been a Limerick fan with nothing to look forward to but continuous failure in both codes e.g. the 5 minute AI in 1994 when the might of Offaly came back from 5 points down to win by 6 - the best example of "calving" in the history of the GAA! Absolutely shocking that Limerick with a very big population have never even won 1 Club AI in either code."
As a Limerick man in the 90s I was also very much entertained following our lads around the country and the colour and atmosphere of the Munster championship is forever etched in my mind. I have great memories of the 90s, our hearts were broken and we suffered but we enjoyed the highs and lows along the way which is why there has always been massive Limerick support come what may.

Fitzy01 (National) - 14/02/2022 16:09:04

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "better today (ironic coming from a Limerick man after his county wins 4 in a row and thats not being smart as I support Limerick)..of course some of the players who played in the 70s and 80s (not all) will say its better now, the lads back in the 70s and 80s few wore helmets and frees and fouls were harder won, you litterally had to be flattened to get the chance of a free...look back on those games I mentioned and others, just because 30 points or higher wasnt scored doesnt mean the games were less skillful, poinnts are scored now often un marked, some of the points scored in the games in 70s and 80s were often from strikes where players were being blocked down or from scrambles...now its all almost playstation like where the ball is worked out methodically to a certain postion on the pitch and then struck...each to their own, all I will say is some of the older games stick in memory, someone asked me what was the score in last years 2022 All Ireland a few weeks back and I had to look it up...too many games now too piled one on top of the other, many forget Kilkenny beat Clare in last 2 All Ireland semi finals, there is no direct routes to follow anymore, teams losing upto two games can still potentially win the All Ireland..."
You are living in a nostalgic bubble here, I'm over 40 years going to matches and was at a lot of the great games in the 90s which were great days with great characters but if you cannot see that hurling has gone to a completely different level now then there is no point in arguing with you. The facts will show that players are fitter, stronger and more skillful than ever before players now completely dedicate themselves and sacrifice all other aspects of their lives in a manner never done before. Yes there were unreal skilful players in the past, but there was generally only a couple of amazing players in the team, now everyone from the goal keeper right through to you corner forwards have to be able to hurl with skill or they will never make a team. Yes the equipment is also far better and that does contribute to things but people don't live in caves and in the dark they constantly strive for better in all aspects. Do you honestly want to return to a time where players train less, don't dedicate themselves as much, play with old equipment, play without tactics, drive the ball without looking as far as you can and always give the defence the upper hand. Do you also want to go back to teams and supporters potentially just having one game to support their team each year i.e. lose and your out? Do you want to st=ay stop striving to improve, please stay the same as i don't like change. The nostalgic idea of the past is beautiful and we all remember the great and special moments but the reality if you were to try and return to it is different.

Fitzy01 (National) - 02/08/2023 12:31:45

Limerick Hurling 2017 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To flyinghigh:  "guys.I am posting this before the game,I cant believe some of the posts on here.Those who know their hurling must know that this Limerick side not good enough to come within 8 points of KK.Dont judge my opinion till after the game and then see who knows their stuff."
Yes you are probably right. But there is always hope, we gotta believe things will come right some day. Most of us will still go to the game with a little bit of belief that we just might pull it off. I think most of us Limerick supporters are the same.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - 30/06/2017 23:51:56

National Hurling League 2022 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You made a reasoned and detailed points about Limerick hurlers in 2021, from your point of view. Which by the way, I have no real opinion on, as I didn't see most of these matches. But, what gets me is the response from all the Limerick supporters on here, it's like a cavalry charge. Not one of them addressed the issues you raised, instead they ranted whataboutery. You're wasting your time trying to reason with them. They are in my opinion, barring the odd one, the most arrogant and obnoxious bunch from any county I've come across in the years I've been on here."
You, my friend, are a typing contradiction. We are a lot of things in Limerick but obnoxious and arrogant are most definitely not one of them, there are exceptions of course, but the masses are the most down-to-earth, unpretentious group of people you are ever likely to meet and your own post is both extremely arrogant and obnoxious in itself.

Fitzy01 (National) - 22/02/2022 10:21:09

Limerick Hurling thread 2023 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To daveboy:  "It's a fake twitter account in clare perpetrated and driven by a certain social media account as I stated before. Premier view ran with it too. Its not the only thing that ls going on at the moment and it's being targeted to one individual currently but others in the past from Limerick. It will be investigated. People might think this is a harmless joke but there is more to this. Its a very sad and unfortunate road that certain individuals are taking in a concerted effort against individual amateur players."
I couldn't agree more with you in relation to social media posts and this same player has had to put up with so much in recent times from all sectors. It has to stop now.

Fitzy01 (National) - 16/05/2023 14:30:06

Limerick Senior Hurling 2018. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To skillet:  "Exactly. If Kiely didn't think Richie mac had something to offer, he wouldn't be on the panel."
Would agree with that. I think we can all agree that JK knows more about managing a team than anyone of us. Also would add if you disagree with someone don't attack the post or the person but give the reasons why you disagree on the point. Keep things upbeat and constructive otherwise things just become meaningless and toxic. Luimneach Abú

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - 09/08/2018 08:24:50

Limerick Hurling 2021 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To foreveryoung:  "There's talk on here about beating KK in the AIF. While that would be powerfully great, Limk should be damn glad to beat any county that gets to the AIF. Can ye not see how pundits from other counties on here, could actually interpret that as arrogance out of Limk supporters? This time three years ago, Limerick would have given anything to bate anyone in an AI hurling final. Now, an AI win seems lessened if it's not KK that's beaten in it. Cop on a small bit!"
I think some people are mad to stick this "arrogant" label on us and find a stick to beat us with saying we are this or we are that. As a county, we are one of the least arrogant people you could meet, I think it's one of the main characteristics of a Limerick person. There's nothing wrong with showing some confidence in your team when they have played so consistently well last year and there is also nothing wrong with saying you would like to meet KK in the All Ireland final after all the punishments (and well-deserved wins) they have dished out to us over the years. I think the arrogance here is you telling a genuine and dedicated Limerick supporter to "Cop on.."

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - 22/04/2021 10:56:22

Limerick Hurling thread 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I see in examiner today that our boys heading to Portugal on a warm weather training camp.i can't see the point myself but who am into to know the benefits..it's going to be another stick to beat limerick with..my opinion is at a time when people have to watch what and where they spend the money,our hurlers heading to the sun..it doesn't look great..if all ireland is won again it will be forgotten.."
I don't see anything wrong with it, these guys make huge sacrifices to get to where they are in life and effectively dedicate themselves to the game for most of their young lives with very little reward, They generate far, far more money than they cost. A week away together to bond with zero distractions and discuss tactics and train hard and breath warm dry sea air sounds nothing but beneficial to me. Let the small minded begrudgers think what they like they have a job to do and are focused on that.

Fitzy01 (National) - 06/03/2023 12:23:10

2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Ban:  "Its actually an Irish Examiner podcast.. and they get Dalo to lead it. Hence the focus on Munster as this is their main customer base."
Park the hurling teams for a second. There seems to be far more interest in going to matches in Munster imo. Look at the crowds going to the Munster matches compared with Leinster matches and the atmosphere and buzz. I am completely open to correction on this as i am only judging Leinster Championship from TV but it looks like the crowds just don't turn up anything close to what they do in Munster in the Round Robin. Even when Limerick were in the doldrums and had nothing won there were still massive numbers turning up to support them. Galway is a massive county similar to Limerick in population but never bring big numbers throughout the early stages, the same can be said for Kilkenny. Do Wexford travel in their numbers for early round matches? The point being people are saying that the Munster championship is always being lauded but is the proof in the pudding that there always seems to have been far bigger interest from the genuine core supporter to actually go to games in Munster than Leinster?

Fitzy01 (National) - 20/04/2022 13:38:32

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To cityman73:  "Think you missed my point,I have heard more people talking about it now,he has left himself more wide open now,I'm not having a go at the poor lad,he has been badly advised,I fully support him,as does most gaa people."
Yes, more people talking now but when the dust settles he has left no one in doubt as to what the truth is and it is a closed book I'm sure he won't give a fiddlers what happens from now. He is his own man and tackled the issue head-on. Big respect for Peter Casey all round and hopefully, he has educated a few people on the dangers of rumours, assumptions and false allegations along the way.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - 30/08/2019 08:45:48

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To PremierGold:  "Lads I warned ye about karma after the munster final!!! Ye cant be narrowing pitches for munster finals, I have seen wider golf fareways!! Also fans have to earn the right to be arrogant, ye need another 10 AI's before ye have that. Ye were patting john kielys back after mun final after pulling one over Sheedys eyes in earlier game, but perhaps the ultimate wool was pulled over his eyes in the mun final?? As Sheedy said after Sunday, eyes were at all times on the big prize. As I said on an earlier thread ye are lucky Sheedy did not come back last year!!!"
"..earn the right to be arrogant" that's a good one. There is absolutely zero arrogance from the vast majority of true Limerick supporters, the team and management. In fact the unpretentious down to earth nature of the average Limerick person is one of the defining characteristics of us a county. There are always the handful of clowns who bang loudest on their keyboards after attending their first match in years and also from certain sections of the media but no, not from the true supporter. I would say rather than arrogance there is an unrealistic feeling among some of the "traditional " counties that Limerixk got above their station and there is still an element of begrudgery towards the win. Losing to Limerick is not ok. Losing to Kilkenny Tipp or Cork would be more acceptable. This arrogance is something that is constantly thrown at us when in the main the complete opposite is true and in fact the arrogance is generally coming from the person making the point.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - 23/08/2019 07:14:43

Limerick U21 2017 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To munsterchamps:  "i totally agree someday i think we'd have a lot more to gain from kyle hayes playing him in the forwards....."
Would seem like complete madness to me to experiment with one of our most important players for an all Ireland final. Kyle Hayes has been one of the key men on which the success of this team has been built. He has a great hurling brain can sweep or mark if required, is dominant in the air and leads also a clever distributor of the ball. A half forward can have an anonymous or bad game and the team can still win, very unlikely to beat a top end team if your center back has an off day. Would be madness to move him imo.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - 23/08/2017 11:50:59

Limerick Hurling thread 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Why was Kiely so upset about the "noise"????"
I think the "noise" in general is now off the scale. Kiely was referring to noise from the media about how they were going to dominate and be looking towards 6 in a row etc which is complete rubbish that no one is talking about. You also now have lots of people now with only a passing interest in hurling who have never held a Hurley making sweeping comments on social media and everyone rolling in behind it. Certain people are waiting with bated breath for the next hard or mistimed tackle from Limerick to declare ".....see they are always at it...". In the heat of championship things will usually boil over and god help us if we ever lose this aspect of the game. Just remember back to when you had Colin Lynch and Mike Houlihan up against each other and what used to go on. They stuff written about the likes on Hegarty is just cruel at times imo and branding him as this and that. Yes he mistimed the tackle and he will take his sending off but lets move on. Lots of others play on the edge for years and you don't hear a whisper about them. Cathal Barrett for Tipp looks back to his very best, he is a guy who plays right on the edge and goes over it, Austin Gleeson is another. Calum lyons gave Cian Lynch plenty of it and played right up and at times over the edge. Look at Conor Cleary in the Munster final against Limerick last year he pushed and shoved him for the first 40 mins of the game. Seamus Flanagan got the hurley straight into the helmet from someone in the same game in a tussle and nothing about it. If other teams sins are to be ignored and Limericks highlighted to all in lights then our game is in trouble, Limerick need to ignore and drive on

Fitzy01 (National) - 25/04/2023 13:21:12

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To WildPundit:  "I don't think we under estimated Galway as Kilkenny would have wiped the floor with us as well bringing that type of no show to Limerick. Tactically Galway were way better any team can hurl but its how you set up your stall and move the ball will go a long way to deciding the game. Look at the Limerick hurlers for example. Man on Man would they win every game? Probably not. However put them playing a system and they beat everyone off the park. Tipp are miles away from tactically getting it right every team in the last 4 are the teams who are consistently spot on with their tactics and match ups. Tipp can hurl anyone off the park but we haven't evolved with the game."
I hear this line a lot, especially on discussed Shane Stapletons podcast where he says things like Tipp would beat any other county in the wall ball and that they have more pure hurling ability than other counties, just not the physical attributes or tactics. I think this is complete nonsense and used as a consolation line but there is no evidence to it, Their hurling ability may be at best on a par with many of the top counties but is not superior and it is below others. Their long distance ball striking for one thing is below other teams levels from what i can see. I think Limerick for example have had far better stick men than Tipp at the moment. Cian Lynch is a pure street hurler and can make the ball talk, Declan Hannon is a pure wristy hurler with an effortless strike, Barry Nash at corner back is another pure stickman as is DOD in midfield, they rarely fumble or mis hit their strikes its crisp and clean everytime as is their first touch. Limerick have had the the success first and foremost because they had the greatest number of most skilful hurlers at the time. Things like fitness and systems and tactics are important but unless you have the most important factor of all which is a group of talented and skillful hurlers to carry the instructions out, you can forget about it.

Fitzy01 (National) - 30/06/2023 16:02:15

Limerick Hurling thread 2024 - 2 Like(s)
Hard to comment on the game after what happened to Casey, gutted for him. He was flying it on his first game back. Wishing him a speedy recovery

Fitzy01 (National) - 28/04/2024 22:28:20

National Hurling League 2022 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To baire:  "I never saw JC strike a player with a hurley, never. I couldn't say the same about GH."
Are you sure about that one :) Ask David Dempsey. It happens sometimes, build a bridge.

Fitzy01 (National) - 14/02/2022 11:19:09

Galway Hurling thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Trump2020:  "I respectfully disagree with you both. NOBODY pulls on the ball, players FROM ALL TEAMS are in big piles all trying to rise the ball and usually failing. Look back at Jimmy Barry Murphy and the way he could pull on the ball over his head and tell me who nowadays does anything like it? I'd say Canning was the closest I saw of the recent players."
Gillane scored a stunner a by flicking the ball into the net, can't remember the exact game. There are great moments in all eras (Ciaran Carey in full flight soloing being one strong memory for me) of hurling but as a whole week in week out on the field the standard in all areas of the games is far superior imo. Whether or not it is more entertaining is subjective. Limerick used to play traditional off the cuff hurling, Mark Foley would win the ball and hit it as hard as he could down the field, i loved those years but i just think what is on offer now is far superior. In terms of pulling on the ball if you look back at the games when a team pulls on the ball the chances are you will lose more ground than you gain and the percentages are against you which is why most teams don't use it anymore unless it is to pass on the ground. Each to their own though. I'm guessing our (or maybe just my own) judgement may be clouded by the comparable success of the team we follow at that particular time. Look at the likes of Cian Lynch back flicking a ball between his legs to pick in up on the run, the skill levels of Tony Kelly in full flight, Kyle Hayes scoring a goal from running inside his own half, both goals scored by Hegarty in last years Munster and all ireland were spectacular. I'll politely head back to the Limerick thread now :) , Just to add i think most Limerick people see Galway as the biggest threat to Limerick and have been the strongest and most consistent opponent against us in recent times. There was nothing between the teams in the AI Semis and they provided a sterner test than KK did in the final.

Fitzy01 (National) - 08/03/2023 13:03:07

Limerick Hurling 2021 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To PatOLogical:  ""Coughlin O Neill English will all be pushing hard in the 26 next year for starting places if any injuries occur. Coughlin was first sub in for HB line." Well said Daveboy , 3 pushing hard for 26. Better than empty bs about volumes,etc . etc, etc, ,designed to sound like the alpha and the omega on Limerick players."
I don't think there is any negativity or criticism on the previous point and it certainly isn't BS imo so not sure why you are trying to push it in that direction other than to get a rise out of someone. We have some great potential talent coming through and that has been pointed out but it is not in the same volume as it was previously when the likes of Cian Lynch, Diarmuid Byrnes, Peter Casey, Aaron Gillane, Kyle Hayes etc. etc. were coming through We may never again produce that volume of underage talent again all at once and no one is saying there is anything wrong with that as it may be a freak occurrence but it is at least fair to mention it and acknowledge it so the powers that be do everything in their power to keep standards high across the board.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - 10/09/2021 12:14:59

Limerick Hurling 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To bookie:  "Excuses excuses and more excuses. We were dreadful today. Why are we blaming the ref? Trust me I was there and he gave us plenty of soft frees. None of our players really stood up and made an impact when the game was in the melting pit. They simply hid. How can fellas say Hickey was out best player??? He consistently along with D Byrnes made solo runs out of defense losing the ball or shooting aimless pointless balls. Limericks psyche is soooooo delicate. Our resolve is so frail and our resilience as poor. I saw no semblance of the 21s A I winning direct hurling simple style on display today. We've e returned to short passing and Tom foolery. Is this what Kinnerk was brought in for???"
I wasn't at the game as I was away but was listening to the commentary. I thought that once Hegarty went off the ball just came straight back on top of us time and time again. I can understand why management are persisting with him in the half forward line as he can either win it or stop the half back from dominating which is vital in getting a foothold in a game. We just need to be cuter and have targets for him to hit i.e. midfielders running off his shoulder or preplanned directions he will break the ball down for them, in the modern I think that winning the secondary ball should be the main job of any midfielder. Also our corner forwards should be making runs into space to receive the ball, wasn't at the game so can't tell if the were making runs and just not getting ball or they were too static. Would be an interesting exercise to compare the movement and stats of our corner forwards with the likes of someone like Alan Cadogan. Also interested to hear from guys who were there what our levels of physicality was like. Thundering into every challenge and playing high tempo hurling was always the starting point for any successful Limerick team win in my lifetime. Not making excuses but it is early days yet but we are not up to peak physical fitness yet and we are still experimenting with players and positions and John Kiely is trying to address some of the problem areas from last year like ball winners in the half forward line and trying to solve the problem at center back, not an easy job when you have to manufacture a solution as opposed to having natural players who can fulfil that role. Kiely has said winning the league is not a target this year and he is going to try and build something. I'm going to keep the faith, we'll be a different animal come the Summer. Lumneach abú

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - 13/02/2017 08:43:49

Limerick Senior Hurling 2018. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To flyinghigh:  "Two poor results for Limerick today.Yes it is still in our hands but Cork will know A VICTORY next week will put them into Munster final.I think Waterford will now be one one of the teams gone in june so battle on to avoid joining them.I would worry about Corks pace in midfield and their ability to draw ouy our half back line could expose our serious lack of pace all through our team.Can we deny them possesion like Tipp did in second half.I'm not sure.."
Our faith is firmly in our own hands. Beat Cork next Saturday and we are well in our way. Can we deny them possession, yes I think we can. Tipp just reinforced what we already know if you stand off Cork they will destroy you but if you get in their faces you can upset them. We should be fresher than them and will need to bring a massive intensity to beat them but we can do it. Let's stay grounded but positive.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - 27/05/2018 21:56:43