Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from Leitrimforliam

Leitrim GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Really has been little to no talk around the county on tomorrows game. Seems everyone believes we are doomed to stay in division 4 for another year.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 15/03/2024 08:20:41

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
What's the story with people on here either being "get Andy out" and other people who want to give him another 3 years already. There seems to be no middle ground on this. Let's wait until the end of the season and see where we are then. At the minute Andy's doing a good job and long may it continue. I don't think he's shot the lights either so I wouldn't be offering him a long term contract. There's no fear really of him leaving us for another team like someone else suggested. So let's just enjoy the rest of the season and see where we lie at the end. Any "Andy out" talk or "Andy in" should just be left now as it's becoming really boring.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 04/04/2024 16:00:38

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Really looking forward to tomorrows u20 game vs Galway. We have a exciting young team and hopefully we'll bring a decent crowd down to Ballinasloe. Also it has been confirmed Barry McNulty and Jack Foley have been made available.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 19/03/2024 12:09:54

Wexford Inter County Football - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Just to throw another cat among the pigeons :) With regard to your number 2 (Leitrim goal that was ruled out for a square ball offence) - friend of mine who was at it, and who tends to be an honest and fair observer of both football and hurling, tells me that the square ball decision looked dubious from his viewpoint all right. But he also tells me he thought there was a fairly blatant push in the back on a Wexford man that allowed Leitrim to gain possession and start the move that led to the disallowed goal. As regards the free count and how just taking the figures alone would actually suggest bias in favour of Wexford - he feels there were far more "soft" frees awarded against Leitrim all right, but some more serious things went unpunished, like that push in the back and the incident that you say should have led to a second yellow card for your number 6. Finally, I don't know if he's doing the old Arsene Wenger thing or not, but he says he didn't actually see the Ben Brosnan (our number 15) incident that you mention. Anyway....can't help thinking we'd do some amount of talking if we ever met in a closely-contested final or some other bigger match!"
I'm not saying that the higher free count in favour of Wexford suggested any bias from the referee. I believe it is because you had more possession so we fouled you more and our defense is poor and continuously gave away soft frees. If Leitrim was as good at football as we are at talking football we'd be among the best. It definitely will make it interesting if we meet in the T Cup. Best of luck for the rest of league would hope ye get promoted if we don't.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 20/02/2024 17:52:20

Replying To Thejampot:  "Who are player's 5 and 6 ??. You only got as far a 4"
Darren Cox was also excellent he has a great eye for a pass. Jake Tobin was everywhere and is a real enjoyable player to watch. Constantly winding up the opposition you love to see it. Brian Cull was a giant in nets again. They all were top class and we've more lads to come back who were out with illness/injury since the Galway game.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 04/04/2024 22:00:08

Replying To joeman123:  "I agree with the importance of giving players an opportunity to play for the county and it is very encouraging that so many players are interested at all grades. However,I would be very surprised if many talented players are being over looked."
I'd disagree there tbh maybe previously in years gone by all the best players are selected but in the past 3-4 years of minor/u20 panels I've seen plenty of great players not picked. Just last year for instance Cian Sammon, conor canning, the Hackett lad from Carrigallen all weren't picked. These lads are standout performers for their club teams. I think these u20 panels are being picked on ''well that lads been with us since u14 development squad'' instead of actually looking at who is starting for their Senior club teams. I really disliked Guckian over the u20 team I believe he was really biased towards picking St Marys lads. Some of these lad's were only just starting for St Marys Junior A team in championship but were on the squad ahead of boyos that were leading men for their clubs senior teams. I welcome Andy and the lads taking the reigns cause every year no matter which club the manager is from he will obvs bring all of his club players onto the squad. I've seen it happen with my own club when a lad from our club was over u16/minor a few years back. It's just wrong though.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 26/10/2023 12:39:57

Replying To Champotime18:  "Any new players added to Andy Morans current crop Or any players no longer committing. We need all that was there last year to commit. I was at a number of games this year and thought the St.Mary's midfielder Renoylds decent and surely worth a call up at least. Ryan O'Rourke's availability is crucial to Andy Moran I feel. I'd hope Keith Berine gets good recovery over the winter and he can reach the heights of 2 years ago. Any new names to add to the list. I didn't see to many in the games I was at"
Tbh I'm not too bothered with the senior team. We're not going to get out of div 4 this year. I'm very excited by the u20 team though. I hope this year the county board can make an agreement with the u20 and senior management to leave all eligible u20 players to play u20s. This has worked well in recent years with the likes of Cork and Offaly. There's some brilliant players in this group and I believe they are our strongest team in years. They've a real chance of going far. Tbh though I think a change in manager is needed the current u20 manager doesn't steer away from the players he knows and doesn't even conduct trials. Some excellent players last year like Conor Canning (Aughavas), Sammon (Aughnasheelin) and Hackett (Carrigallen) were left out. There's some top class players this year of age that have serious senior football pedigree. St Marys Regan Guckian and Casey, the likes of McNulty in Manor, Cox in Annaduff, Honeyman and Moran in Ballinamore are all great players. But there is also savage footballers that might be unknown by some like Tom Plunkett of Aughawillan, Jack Foley of kiltubrid, Allen gaels mcmorrow and Jake tobin, Ryan Cunningham Brendan naughton and Nathan Ward of gortletteragh and Tom Hughes of Manorhamilton. I think this is an exciting group of players that if coached right and left alone by the senior management it could give us Leitrim folk something to get behind for the first time in years.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 17/10/2023 17:50:34

Replying To theroadtocroker:  "Exactly, this recent influx from jp was a major boost for some of the smaller clubs in the county which was badly needed to help keep them afloat for the years to come, very out of touch to go looking for it so quickly."
Exactly and to expect smaller rural clubs like Eslin, Gortlettragh, Aughnasheelin who have small population bases to contribute the same amount of money as big town clubs is also out of touch. These rural clubs find it very hard to raise funds each year in comparison to town clubs (it's also fairly difficult for town clubs to raise funds).

Leitrimforliam (National) - 21/02/2024 10:57:36

Replying To veterngaa:  "I had a good chuckle at that too! Realistically what teams in Div 3 will you best next year and are better than ?"
How are we not. We've beat them 2 out of 3 of the last three games played. Beating a team of the level of Laois should be the expectation we put on this Leitrim team.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 31/03/2024 16:04:07

All 43 clubs (Men's hurling, men's football, womens football, camogie) in Leitrim got payments of €23,256. St Mary's got 2 payments for ladies and mens and Carrick Hurling got two payments for camogie and mens. Some saying St Mary's got approx €90k which is untrue. They are confusing it with the town of Carrick getting €90k. Also in Leitrim Observers report Mr Bohan asked all 25 mens clubs (23 football & 2 hurling) to contribute €3,320 to make up the €83,000 shortfall. So the likes of Eslin, Glenfarne would contribute the same as St Mary's. I still think it's a disgrace and no club should pay it.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 29/02/2024 14:32:31

Replying To joeman123:  "Well said and very timely It is really discouraging to see the level of negativity on this site against the CB, Team management, anyone trying to do anything. I see one genius even riddiculed the 50Mile Challenge despite it bringing in £500,00 since it started. Whingers and begrudgers will get us nowhere. It is only by working together that Leitrim can achieve anything. There was a fantastic atmosphere in Carrick on Sunday. The supporters are starved of success. They want a successful senior team ,men and women. The county ground needs to be done and it will be of great benefit to everyone. Borrowing which was suggested by one of the leading posters on this forum is not an option. My club is very enthusiastic about this project and I haven't heard any criticism of the approach except from the usual negative contributors on this forum. Finally, be aware that continuous whinging will damage your own health."
I think most people are happy the project is being undertaken. Everyone knows it is needed. What I was trying to express is that people are tired of the cost being handed down to the clubs once again. It bangs of laziness and lack of effort on behalf of the county board. Many clubs in the county are just about getting by financially, others are in debt and those that are operating well financially work tirelessly to do so. The likes of Mohill, Bornacoola and Gortletteragh among others have undertaken major redevelopments in recent years and had to work very hard to do so. The county board got a grant of €300,000.00 and had a €83,000.00 shortfall. It seems to an outsider they have explored no other means to raise these funds, through a loan as one poster suggested or by raising funds through a fundraiser. Their first port of call was to request the shortfall to be paid off by the clubs. To do so knowing the clubs had only just received the JP money is just rubbing salt in the wounds. Your own club might not be expressing any criticism but speaking to most people around the county this week and at the game on Sunday they were disgusted by the actions of the county board. I have asked my club representatives to issue a complaint as one poster suggested but I don't expect them to do so because knowing this county board they will use it as a stick to beat us with. The county board are meant to represent the best interests of gaels and clubs in the county. This is not in the best interests of the clubs.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 21/02/2024 16:03:20

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Mugatay:  "On a side note lads. What was the story with the young lads acting out on the train, drinking cans, getting sick in the jacks and then pulling the emergency cord a few times. My own Dad has stopped getting the train for fear of the likes of this and its hard to convince him otherwise when it makes the news. If any of you know any of them, please tell them to cop on or stay at home ta fk. https://www.independent.ie/regionals/sligo/news/leitrim-gaa-fans-cautioned-by-gardai-after-anti-social-behaviour-on-sligo-train/a700465251.html Usually there is a good atmosphere and good chats to be had with fellow supporters on the train to games without fare-weather lads like this ruining a good day out. These aren't Leitrim Gaa fans"
It's been blown out of proportion in my opinion. I was on the train and in my opinion Irish rail are the ones to blame. They seen who pressed the emergency button and instead of asking him to leave the train they sat the train in Edgeworthstown for 2 hours waiting for the Gardai. Yes there was some fans drinking/drunk but that happens with nearly every sporting event. Most on the train were in good spirits singing songs / leitrim chants etc. The main issue was there was no room and we were crammed in like sardines.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 03/04/2024 19:51:47

Great win. Fantastic to see the game management by the lads in the last 15-20 mins. We could find ourselves in a semi final spot if we put out two more performances like that.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 03/04/2024 19:55:43

Replying To eoinog:  "Would you not consider leaving the lad alone and stop the speculation. A class player, show him a bit of respect"
What are you talking about? The situation is up in the air and some posters want to know the latest. All anyone has said is that he is training but hasn't joined up with the panel yet. Others have stated he is a big loss and that he has been a very committed player to Leitrim in the past few years. Don't see where anyone has been disrespectful. Maybe stick to your own forum. I'd never bother going into a Sligo forum I really don't understand why you always see them jumping on ours. And even stranger coming on to "stick up" for a Leitrim footballer.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 08/01/2024 14:34:45

Replying To gaelsboy:  "When was last time they won it out of interest? Likes of Allen Gaels or Annaduff would have been better placed to hold their own in Senior, probably Kiltubrid as well. Honestly think 2 up and 2 down is the way to go if they will not cut the number of teams in inter and senior, a joke how teams can do the minimum to stay up."
This honestly sounds like you believe there are senior clubs only doing the bear minimum to stay up. So are you saying that Gort, Willies, Dromahair, Aughnasheelin only tried when they got to relegation. Ridiculous. Also to say Annaduff, kiltubrid and Allen Gaels are better placed at senior is silly. If they want to get up to senior they have to win Intermediate. Something Gort and Aughnasheelin have done in recent years. So since they won Intermediate recently they are better placed and deserving of being at Senior level. Fair enough maybe the rules need to be changed to keep it more competitive at senior, but to say the teams in relegation are doing the bear minimum and that intermediate teams are more deserving is ridiculous.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 03/10/2023 11:40:33

Replying To b.o.b.:  "Year 1 of Andy was a decent start. 4 wins in the league, 2 good performances despite losing to Cavan and Sligo. Poor result to lose to London in league was the only unexpected bad result. Beat London in championship, big loss to Galway, result expected but margin of loss was poor but good win against Antrim and unlucky to lose on penalties to Sligo in Tailteann. Andy spoke about a multi year plan and developing the team. I thought year 1 was very good bar the London League result and if year 2 improved it would have been impressive but it was much worse. League was similar, both 4 wins from 7 but losing to New York who would be similar standard to London and then losing 3/3 Tailteann games compared to win and draw from 2 previous was a massive disimprovement. For Year 3, I'd be hoping for 5 wins in the league which may not be enough for promotion depending on other results but would still be good going to win 5/7, 1 more than previous 2 seasons. A win against Sligo in Connacht, last 2 results were draw and 1 point loss so a small improvement to win. Then should be losing to Galway by less than 10. Then in Tailteann, win at least 1 game with decent scoring difference to make knockout stages. That should be the aim and Andy deserves the chance to achieve that with the team. He shouldn't be written off yet but if he doesn't improve on the 1st year, you might be right."
I agree. Good review of where we've been for the last 2 years. Calling for him to go now and even having that discussion is absurd. We've got off to a good start so I don't understand the negativity. I don't think he's done any better or worse than the previous Leitrim managers in the last 15-20 years (bar Hyland promotion year). Even if we had Jim Galvin or McGuinness or Harte over us we'd struggle to get out of div4. The first year was promising except for the London game. Yes last year was very disappointing but there was lots of difficulties from injuries to lads emigrating. Save your judgement for after our last game this year. The CB aren't going to get rid of him mid season so get behind the team lads.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 09/02/2024 10:37:18

I think the latter is true. I don't think anyone should give much notice to it other than it being a exhibition game. Reality is Leitrim will play plenty of challenge games before the League starts how they go will really show where we are. In 2013 we won FBD and then got beat by London in Connacht and got hammered in our first qualifier game against Armagh. In 2014 we won FBD and the same happened with Roscommon and Down as the year previous. In both years we failed to qualify from division 4. It is of no real value.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 15/01/2024 17:38:38

In good news the u20's had a comprehensive win against the Carlow u20's on Sunday. They were up by 10-12 points before we made a raft of changes and Carlow came back into it. Seem's to be the theme of our games to date. Also the ladies won against Carlow. These leaves us 2nd with one game to play against Longford. I'm not sure of the regulations in the ladies but I'm assuming if we come 2nd we will play a league final against Fermanagh.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 27/02/2024 08:55:19

Replying To joeman123:  "Agree with you.Your comments are on the button. Those posters making outrageous comments about the COE and Pairc Sean are may off the mark. The COE is used by the development groups and some clubs. It is the envy of many neighbouring counties. The surface in Pairc Sean needs doing and I understand funds have been approved for it by Croke Park.By the way a lot of games in Connacht had to be postponed are abandoned on Sunday last. Why do some posters come on here week after week spouting negatively about EVERYONE and EVERYTHING? Why not acknowledge the achievements, reasonably good grounds across the county, a top class county COE, success at u16 and U15 this year. A very motivated senior squad. Good interest in the championships ."
I think people complain because football in this county is going nowhere. In fact I think were declining. This county board all they want to do is be seen at games, do their wee speech, hand out a cup, collect their pay packet and speed off into the sunset. They look after themselves and the clubs they are affiliated with. They chop and change the rules consistently to the wish of the bigger clubs. There's small rural clubs in this county dying and and the CB is doing **** all to help and in some cases they actions of the CB is a direct reason why they are struggling. That my friend is why some give out about the CB, depending on the club you are in you might not notice it but I do.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 29/09/2023 14:48:23

Replying To masseyferguson:  "At least it's round robin so they'll get a few games together as a unit.That can only be good for them."
Exactly. No matter what way the results go it's a lot better than the one off knockout game. Great experience against top opposition. Promotion decider Sunday and the clubs are back this weekend too. It's going to be a good week.

Leitrimforliam (National) - 19/03/2024 13:13:06