Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from leitrimguy1985

Staunton - 5 Like(s)

Replying To essmac:  "OK, at 39, to go into a pro game with players far younger than you, good achievement to not disgrace yourself tbh. But to be named in the team of the year at pushing 40 is some achievement. Begs the question - I wonder does she regret not going 20 years ago? Fair play to her."
The womens game in Australia only went semi pro in 2017. Having watched some of the games on tg4 the standard could be politely described as poor. An Irish selection would beat their Australian counterparts at a game of Australian Rules no bother.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 07/04/2021 08:45:00

Dublin Senior Football Team - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  ""It's great viewing" Box Office indeed wha.. ;) Think you'd be better suited to taking a nice walk around your beautiful County Think you'd be better suited to that twitter thing.. Don't think you're getting the desired reaction you're hoping for on here :)"
Not looking for a desired reaction here, just giving my opinion like everyone else is. I think this is completely irresponsible only hours after the GAA top brass requested nobody do what these players did. It gives ammunition to the people who detest the GAA to begin their usual attacks on them. If a group of players who will walk to another all Ireland this year can't abide by simple instructions from their sporting bodies bosses, then why should club players etc bother. I will walk or exercise on my own within my 5km, like these fellas should have been doing.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 01/04/2021 12:09:09

Dream Team Of Pundits - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Do you not see how often it goes forward? Hence the huge scores they rack up Dublin play a system that renders the blanket useless and have perfected it now because they play against such so often.. practically every game So well why run into swarm tackles? it's exactly what the blanket wants, to get you to over commit, be impatient and then be countered at pace. If the opposition team didn't have 14 behind the ball Dublin wouldn't play the way they do, but everyone is to cautious amd conservative to play any other way because they'll get torn up... By all means setup man v man.. but it's not going to happen, so Dublin will continue to play what's in front of them and continue to counter such with a tried, tested, perfected system. Dublin can play anyway you want but it's the opposition that dictates that. I'm sure you'd love to watch Dublin run into traps but best of luck with that. It's not going to happen. when Dublin have such a massive advantage in being tactically superior... it's beyond stupid to suggest otherwise."
They aren't tactically superior, they are tactically negative. Passing the ball amongst your own team mates on your own 45 yard line isn't positive football no matter how you spin it.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 27/04/2021 13:07:25

Dublin Senior Football Team - 3 Like(s)
Be very little hysteria. Just hopefully the GAA push out the appropriate sanctions. I'd have more hope that such an event would happen with a new president in place

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 01/04/2021 09:19:17

Dublin Senior Football Team - 3 Like(s)
Other counties may be at it but it was Dublin fellas who were caught rapid, by a newspaper who are usually so nice to them. It's great viewing. I have a private wager for myself who will be the first of them to be wheeled out with a hangdog expression explaining how they needed to do this for their mental health etc

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 01/04/2021 11:38:48

The Mick Mackey Cup - 3 Like(s)
We should have the John Horan cup, a competition which Dublin only participate in.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 26/03/2021 10:58:02

Dream Team Of Pundits - 3 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They're not doing too bad for a team with a 'negative style of play'. It's about winning games not entertaining the TV audience"
Well that's it, it worked for Tyrone in the mid 00's yet rte pundits were quick to hop on their style of play constantly, you never hear a similar peep out of the same pundits actually that are still there about Dublin and their backpassing.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 27/04/2021 11:19:58

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Tyrone had a great team, some class footballers and played some great football too. They dabbled in the dark arts like a lot of team but the winning teams do it when at the most effective times. Pat Spillane was getting in ahead of the clickbaiting generation with the puke football tag. It's the ultimate compliment to a team who's won that opposition pundits starting picking holes in their style of play. A bad news story always sells more papers than a good news story."
My point is they are afraid to say it about Dublin, remember Jim Gavin barred rte from a press thing after a game. They plamas that Dublin team completely in a biased way that is no good for balanced punditry as they dont want to lose access to their cash cow, they are completely compromised in this. And I mentioned that here and got smart alec responses for highlighting it. Can nobody else see the amount of time the ball goes backwards when Dublin play. Yet rte pundits would say this is clever play as opposed to negative. I don't understand it at all. The only reason I can see is some of the ones that are there years are afraid to open their mouths least they go the way of Mr Brolly out the doras.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 27/04/2021 11:55:15

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Of course it's a way to win a game if it wins them games. Just because it's not easy in the eye doesn't stop it being effective. The gaelic football pundits are paid to analyse football matches and how teams have won, drawn or lost. They're not TV critics paid to analyse the entertainment value of football teams style of play. I think it's partly down to the lie being sold to people on social media, not just Gaelic games but other sports, TV shows, movies, music etc, if it doesn't appeal to a mass audience it's not entertaining enough and therefore it's boring. You could put your question to RTE here: [email protected] if you like but they used to be a mix of smartar$ed and hostile when I queried them before."
It's very effective, but it's very negative. Yes the pundits are paid to analyse games, but they have never said Dublin play a negative style, it's always they play a great type of football. This is inherently false punditry, made on the basis they are afraid to criticise that team because they bring in the advertising revenue.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 28/04/2021 19:22:19

Replying To jimbodub:  "They are by far and away tactically superior Two tactics at play and Dublins tactic has won them 6 in a row and awarded them with the greatest unbeaten Championship run of all time Of course it's a much superior tactic as it completely negates the oppositions own tactic Dublin play to counter the negative If it takes a few passes sideways so be it I love watching Dublin beat the blanket and it's had watching 14 players chase shadows By all means setup man v man and watch what will happen But I want hold my breath Dublin play against what's put in front of them and do it superbly well. If that takes a few sideways passes on order to avoid being turned over and countered.. meh Hard lessons learned over the years And they learned it well If you want to cry about RTE pundits fire away :)"
Very easy to win games when you play at home all the time and don't travel, and rte pundits rarely highlight that either. And it isn't a few passes sideways either sugar, it is vast minutes of being on the opposition 45 and kicking the ball back into their own half and handpassing it around there. That is no way to win a game. It is killing time and it is horrible to watch. But rte are too afraid to say that. This is a thread about pundits, i'm not crying about it at all pet.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 28/04/2021 09:58:53

Coaching Resources - 3 Like(s)

Replying To newcoach1:  "Hi everyone, I've recently been recruited by my club to manage our club minor team. I'm a recently retired player and while I'd have an idea how to go about things I'm wondering if there is any resources that can help me on my journey. Any advice/suggestions welcome. Thanks"
Pretend you're from Dublin and contact Croke Park and watch the allowances flow in.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 28/04/2021 10:26:59

Should There Be A Back Door For Football? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Do you believe football teams should have a second chance to stay in the championship? Will it turn players away from weaker counties knowing they will only get one crack at it?"
I think it will, certainly the likes of Leitrim and Roscommon players could use that outlet.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 09/04/2021 09:50:18

Dream Team Of Pundits - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "do ye have tvs in leitrim ?"
what is a tvs? That's a tv channel I haven't heard of?

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 27/04/2021 11:18:52

Houses In Order? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "Talking about houses in order. It's time RTÉ got their house in order, taking Joe Brolly of air but let DUP snigger and laugh at all things Irish. Shame on them for sucking up to DUP and their out of date mandates."
The best way for to show up the dup is let them keep talking. The best way to show up rte is not to watch it.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 23/03/2021 13:19:05

Dublin Senior Football Team - 2 Like(s)

Replying To wexico15:  "Just follow him on Twitter he's a pathetic attention seeker who thrives on negativity. The day CJ Stander announced his retirement called him a mercenary after everything he gave to Munster and Ireland Like him I taught Pat Gilroy was a joke on the Sunday game before xmas but bringing up his weight etc. is hardly professional behaviour from a journalist Has tweeted really distasteful stuff following bereavements remember an incident after Gay Byrne passed away. He usually deletes this horrible stuff in the days after. Anyway seems you're 1 of the narrow minded people who endorse him on Twitter so you can't be taken seriously."
Stander gave everything to Munster and Ireland? He was extremely well paid for it, and he would have done the same for club and country in Scotland or Wales had they hired him, let's not cod ourselves on that one. And it is right to call out this. McKenna shone a light in his articles about the issues re Dublin funding years before anyone else thought it was an issue. Dublin fans detest him because he continues to do this. Irish rugby fans detest him because he continues to highlight how the Irish media highlights their mediocrity when they win meaningless games. McKenna does go over the top sometimes and should step away from the twitter once in a while but I haven't seen any tweets today from him about Dublin that are over the top. You'll have the flipside embedded journalists sharing pics of these Dublin lads holding puppies soon.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 01/04/2021 13:14:55

Replying To foreveryoung:  "You say "That is no way to win a game." So, could you please tell me 'the way to win a win'? I mean, how do Leitrim win their's?"
The way to win is never to stop attacking, it isn't to run down the clock like Dublin do. That's my opinion. How does Leitrim win our games? We win very little, we have one of the smallest pick of players in the country, we get some of the least funding, and we play our championship games fairly on a home and away basis. How does it work in the USA?

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 28/04/2021 19:18:51

Replying To Horsebox77:  "I actually like Tomàs O'Sè, I think he calls a spade a spade and not afraid to shirk the hard call. I"'ve always liked Anthony Tohill but he only appeared now and again. McStay does my nut as he is so opinionated and 'perfect' , as we say he he would be a mother in laws dream to arrive to the door looking to take the daughter out, One forgotten man is Dara O'Cinnèide. He had a sports talk show in Friday evenings on TG4 but it finished a few years back. .Dara was often a pundit in the Sunday game but I don't think it sat well with him, he was a way more of a success as the host and I'd love to see him instead of the Des Cahill. Seò Sport had some excellent guest talkers in Colman Goggins, Kevin Cassidy, Ray Silk, Tomãs Flatharta. In hurling they had Pat Fleury, Donal O'Grady, Liam Rush, Lee Chin. One hurling pundit I have huge grà for is Anthony Daly pure honesty, a gaa version of Sean Dysch."
I have huge respect for what McStay says, as he actually decided to leave the rte bubble and do some inter county coaching so he has walked the walk. Something some of the others haven't dreamed of doing.

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 27/04/2021 14:27:15

Dublin Senior Football Team - 2 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sorry who was elected then ? My calculations say 51% of the population voted for one of grns fg or ff. that's a majority isn't it ? Also they have the seats. Again part of our democracy. You may not like the result but don't pretend this is not a legitimate government."
47% of people say that is incorrect

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 01/04/2021 21:42:07

Another Straight Knock-Out Championship In 2021? - 2 Like(s)
Maybe a straight all Ireland football final with Dublin versus a rest of the country 15. At least there might be a hope of them being beaten. And play it in Thurles

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 22/03/2021 13:45:32

Houses In Order? - 1 Like(s)
I think it will be a very difficult year for the gaa this year presently coming. I cannot see them returning a profit do you. They will be lucky to have any attendances at these games this year at any grades and that will lead to a financial deficit isn't me. I'd be skepteecal of any attendances every even next year on top of all this so that would be three years of no peoples going to watch sports in gaa stadiams

leitrimguy1985 (National) - 15/03/2021 14:37:05