Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from Grey_Wolf

Connacht Championship 2019 - 11 Like(s)
tashy and spiritofeslin are the same person. Same writing style.

Grey_Wolf (National) - 07/05/2019 16:40:39

Qualifiers 2019 - 7 Like(s)
Now where have........I.......seen.........this...writing.....style.....before 94allstar Jimmy McNulty spirit of eslin Tashy bringbackthecorncrakewouldu Thelonesomegoose and probably numerous more...

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - 11/06/2019 12:43:02

Hero's Of 94. - 4 Like(s)
Ah they were great days. The atmosphere at games was something else back then. All those aerosol fog horns made some din of noise. I was a teenager with a floppy haircut and a foghorn and a massive flag that day in the Hyde. 94 was a magical year. Riverdance, Rock n' Roll kids, World Cup 94 there was a great buzz that summer. Then Leitrim were on a march to destiny. I met Tom Gannon that May as a teenager along the canal in Ballinamore. He told me I'd make it as a footballer and we'd win Connacht that year. One of his prophesies came true we won Connacht but I never made it as a footballer! I'm heading for 40 now and wondering if I will ever see another Connacht title. I was in Pairc Sean for the Wicklow and Clare games and I seen a few faces I remember from 94. Mad to see how the years have tracked on and made those people older. God bless those people and all who are gone since. Thanks to the players for the great memories and that my father a football fanatic got to see that day.

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - 30/07/2019 16:50:25

The Sky deal yet again - 3 Like(s)
Thank God the neighbour has Sky! His wife is the only problem. Shes woefull cranky, These better be the last games on Sky and she'll bate me out the door if I arrive for the semi's.

Grey_Wolf (National) - 02/08/2016 16:50:23

How Long Have You Been Posting? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "Been posting here since 2010. I remember 51Longago. He was a raving lunatic. Hated the Dubs, although he drank in a Dublin clubhouse and was always advocating rough house tactics as a way of beating the Dubs. Snufalufagus kinda lost his credibility after he maintained that it was impossible for any team to win two in row. Wax it he who always signed off as Laochra Gael?"
Haha, yeah he always signed off as Regards Snuffy, Laochra Gael. Wasn't there supposed to be a Hoganstand meetup once in the Hideout, a pub near Croke Park? Ah its so long ago I can't remember right now. I used to read here but not post much on the main forum. I regularly was in there after games in the 2011 to when it closed era. Was it 2013 maybe? I remember lads here talking about being in it after the 2011 All-Ireland final and meself being in it the whole day that particular day!!!

Grey_Wolf (National) - 02/10/2019 20:36:15

NFL Division 4 - 2 Like(s)
11 years ago we were robbed off a draw in Kilmallock that would have saved us from Div 4. The ref blew for half time as a Leitrim ball was going over the bar. He disallowed the score. Leitrim lost by a point and went down, Limerick stayed up. Saturday 11 years later and still in Div 4 from that day 2 Leitrim speculative shots on goal fell short and bounced over the bar. Limerick missed 4 goals in the first half. We got a 40 metre point 4 minutes into injury time when we hadn't scored in 17 minutes to snatch victory from Limerick. Funny old game football is. So it looks like this young team are Croker bound if they get one more win. It would seem Derry and Leitrim could still loose 2 games and go up because of the better head to head records against the other teams. Interesting fact 1: Leitrim have not been promoted in the league since 1990 when they beat WIcklow in a playoff to gain promotion to Div 2. That time there was no Div 4 and instead two Div 3's North and South. 3 teams were relegated from DIv 2 that year. Interesting fact 2: The following year Leitrim finished joint second with Kildare in Division 2 after beating them in the first round. Head to head rules weren't around then or Leitrim would have been promoted to Div 1, neither was scoring difference. So instead they met Kildare for a second time in a playoff and lost. Leitrim have never played Division 1 football.

Grey_Wolf (National) - 25/02/2019 17:15:15

We done it! Finally escaped the basement. Div 4 has always had unexpected results. This year was no different. Leitrim could easily be on 4 points instead of 10. Wexford who we thought would be challengers were the hardest to predict. They lost to London and Waterford but beat Antrim and Wicklow. Antrim lost 3 games by 1 point. They could easily be on 8 points instead of 2. Wicklow probably should have beaten us but then lost to Wexford as well which I didn't expect. Limerick looked every bit as good as us in Kilmallock but defeats against us and Wicklow cost them. Waterford and London did what we expected and caused a few shocks. Derry too have walked up without probably getting out of second gear. Our match with them in Celtic park is now a dead rubber game and neither side will probably show their hand until Croker. Derry will be favourites now for the title in Croker. I hope Leitrim can up their game because we need a vast improvement on our London performance to have any hope of causing an upset.

Grey_Wolf (National) - 05/03/2019 14:25:23

Leitrim will bring a good crowd to Croker Saturday. Lot of people planning a night out after the match. Hoping the final doesn't pass us by and we rise to the occasion against Derry. We know we're really up against it as Derry probably shouldn't be in Div 4 in the first place but miracles can happen and we finally have a day in Croker where we collect a trophy. That would be as good as an All-Ireland to us.

Grey_Wolf (National) - 27/03/2019 15:23:40

Connacht Championship - 2 Like(s)
I get excited about this game every year a week beforehand and it always turns out to be a let down and damp squib. We want a performance thats all. We have a lot of young players with time on their side. 2 to 3 years time I think we'll be more ready to take on these lads properly. I feel theres a bit more development to be done with these players. Looking forward to Sunday regardless.

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - 09/05/2019 14:50:00

NFL Division 4 - 1 Like(s)
Well Division 4 took its first twist with Wexford bouncing back after a real heavy defeat to leave Antrim in big trouble! It was win or bust for Wexford and now they're back in the hunt after 7 days ago being deflated. Antrim have to win against Leitrim next Sunday or its more or less over for them. Wicklow gave everything they had against us and showed that they will definitely be in the promotion pack with Wexford chasing Leitrim. This was a ding dong battle, end to end stuff. It was hard to believe we were watching a Div 4 game. Some scores would not look out of place in Div 1. A rip roaring encounter was how the paper described it. We got out of jail in Aughrim with a bit of luck which is normally never on our side. They say you make your own luck if you can believe that. Aughrim is definitely a place where someones promotion could be undone. Limerick in the hunt too but have played easier matches. It gets harder for them now. Derry doing what we expected getting the wins. Haven't seen any of their matches so I don't know how good they are performing.

Grey_Wolf (National) - 04/02/2019 12:15:12

NFL Division 4 - 1 Like(s)
Wicklow should have no problem with Limerick in Aughrim. I was very impressed with them against us. They are a well drilled outfit, super fit, organised but maybe lacking a scoring forward in the inside line. On the 40 Anthony McLoughlin is the key man. He got injured against us which scuppered their chances. He can cut holes in a defence. Whether he will be playing or not I'm not sure. Watch out for their goalie Mark Jackson. This guy can kick spectacular frees. He won that day against Waterford and he almost burst our bubble too.

Grey_Wolf (National) - 08/02/2019 15:32:41

Division 4 - National League - 1 Like(s)
We don't want to sound like the Irish rugby crowd now, they were convinced they were the best in the world and talking about World Cups a year away until England humbled them. We got out of Aughrim by the skin of our teeth! Promotion was nearly toast with 69 minutes on the clock. Last years score in case we forget: Antrim 0-15 - 0-05 Leitrim. This will be a dogfight. Home advantage and a good scoring team we have yes but Antrim may bring more than a lot bargain for.

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - 07/02/2019 15:09:09

Brawls/Melee's, They Dont Make Them The Way They Used To - 1 Like(s)
My dad was recruited by a neighbouring Longford club for a Junior game in back in the 70's. Playing under a different name of course and totally illegal. He had mates over the county bridge. He was fairly used to rough and tumble stuff in Leitrim already anyway and being a farmer and builder he had arms like fence posts and wasn't that intimidated by scraps. Half way through the match in a place called Mullinlaghta (current county champs I think) he reckoned a massive melee took place and he seen some lad who had buck teeth getting a box and a long tooth flying up in the air! He still chuckles at that. But he was taken aback with how dirty it was. He also played in the Cavan Junior championship now and again as well under another name with nothing major to report from there! Some lads he worked with in Dublin recruited him. He wasn't that bothered about rules and regulations! But he reckoned the worst he ever encountered was one of his own teammates who he said laid out players at any chance and as captain he would be ashamed of him and seen teams walking off the pitch in disgust at some of these off the ball incidents. He reckoned he hardly ever seen anyone getting sent off in the 70's. Reminds me of Dinny Allen and Paidi O Se RIP. Dinny hit Paidi, Paidi retaliates with a haymaker and then realises what he done was wrong putting his hands up to his face, the ref runs in and fell over! Then gets up, makes them shake hands and away they go and not a book to be seen! Think its on youtube somewhere.

Grey_Wolf (National) - 19/02/2018 19:17:48

Division 4 - National League - 1 Like(s)
We need to get out of Aughrim next Sunday with a win rather than worrying about Derry. Wicklow were 0-6 points to 0-1 behind at half time in Fraher field to Waterford and came back to win 1-7 to 0-9. So that was a 6 point turnaround. No a bad achievement for Wicklow last week no more than us as we never won in Fraher field that I can remember too often. Note that Waterford beat Wexford last year in the Championship qualifiers.

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - 29/01/2019 12:32:22

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Good to see they fixed them oul dodgy seats in the stand since I last was sitting in it. Wasn't at a game since this oul online ticket craic. Decided to join the internet era anyway. Click, click, next, email, password, Eircode, Jocks size 34, PIN, back number, Checkout, Add to Google wallet, what is that, Google pay... what sure i paid already, Print... no printer..., back/forward, screenshot... yeah done. Yer mans detector on the gate let a few beeps, squinked at me squares, shot some laser lights out of it. Pulled aside like going into Coppers years ago for being too malojen. Next thing another gosson took aim, beep, I got the all clear. Toppin match. Jack Heslin was my man of the match... cut Carlow defence to shreds. Keith Beirne was class also. We were ropey in the first 20 minutes. Got to grips better in the second half. Could have conceded an early goal, dunno how that stayed out. Carlow looked average, they didn't have a forward target man like we have in Keith Beirne. Wasn't at Wexford game but I guess we set up a bit more more defensive this time. We seemed to have a lot of men back at times not that I'm an expert on modern tactics. A win in Aughrim would be huge.

Grey_Wolf (National) - 27/02/2023 15:54:43

Irish But Never Held A Hurl? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Tadhgmacda:  "Carrick hurling play in underage leagues and championships in Roscommon. They play adult league hurling in the Dermot Molloy hurling League which is run by Sligo afaik. There are teams from Sligo Leitrim and Mayo in it. They also play in the leitrim/longford league. Longford Slashers also play underage in Roscommon and also in westmeath. They play in the Roscommon adult league. Both club mentors tell me that life is made very hard for them by their respective county boards. The say that fixtures are regularly put on for the same nights making it a constant struggle."
Correct Dermot Molloy hurling league is in Sligo. I think I played in it meself maybe 11 years ago or so. Manor from Leitrim used to play in it as far as I remember. I played for a Sligo club for a while. Haven't been following the hurling much in Leitrim/Sligo recently at club level. Played challenges in Mayo and Donegal back in the day. Played for Tubbercurry once in a challenge when they were stuck. Enjoyed the hurling but I wasn't much good at it. When I was playing, hurling was much better organised in Sligo than in Leitrim. I don't remember much problems with fixtures to be honest. Played under floodlights in Tourlestrane a few times and it was well organised and enjoyable. I'm not sure if its going as well now. But I can imagine football takes first place with the county boards. My father was always a hurling fan but he never played himself. He got me a hurl when I was young so thats where it started for me. We'd belt a tennis ball over and back a yard with a dog playing midfield. He was better than either of us :)

Grey_Wolf (National) - 31/07/2018 17:22:25

Championship 2018 - 1 Like(s)
You make some valid points Keephimthere. A 2 tier championship would seem to be on the cards in the future. There is a big gap between Div1 and the rest. Its hard to know how good NY were or if it was Leitrim that was bad. I suspect a bit of both. NY picked off some nice scores though and played with passion. Leitrim struggled to get into it and momentum swung a few ways. I'm not convinced our team is managed properly but anyway. We have the acid test in Carrick against the Connacht Champions and a team many would tip for the Super8's. I think Ross are better than they showed in the replay against Mayo. We know too well how a team can collapse and give up. We'll know where we stand after May 26th. If we can give a good account of ourselves with a young team a few years behind Roscommon in development we should be happy. No one wants to see a collapse and a rout. Even with all the training in the world and tactics I'm not sure we could reach Roscommons level. We've been in Div 4 since 2008 and we haven't been in Div 2 since late 90's and pushing for promotion to Div1 since 1990 so that tells its own tale. Thats the reality but Leitrim people sometimes get carried away with thinking we should be winning Connacht titles, beating Div1 teams and our club football is as good as other Connacht counties when it isn't really. A realistic aim would be to be like our neighbours Longford and be competitive in Div3 and win lots of qualifier games. That would be a realistic ambition. If we beat some of the teams they beat in the qualifiers we'd be celebrating it from the rooftops. Imagine if Leitrim beat Monaghan for example like Longford did 2 years ago, We'd talk about it for 20 years.

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - 16/05/2018 14:43:16

Club Championship 2019 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To croiméal:  "It is very very hard to call- strange decision playing the game in Mullingar though"
Tashy and Corncrake its Slashers and Killoe. Drumlish were playing last weekend.

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - 03/10/2019 18:00:12

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
In fairness if NY had Lady Gaga full back, DeNiro on the 40 and Donald Trump full forward they'd probably do damage against us. What Leitrim will show up is the question? They're away form is hugely suspect. Is Jack Heslin carrying a knock all the time, or has he one atall? I think when he's off the field we're poorer off. He makes things happen even if his shooting is suspect. Taking Rooney off at times doesn't make much sense to me. He seems a good grafter for us. We need a big one from Keith Beirne. A lot depends on him. I've given up trying to make sense of Leitrim after the Sligo game. They can play great when they take a notion... or fall asleep for 25 minutes.

Grey_Wolf (National) - 06/04/2023 17:11:20

Bordering Counties Who Dont Have Much Of A Rivalry - 1 Like(s)

Replying To rahoorahoo:  "Leitrim and Longford wouldn't be too intense good craic when we meet each other in matches really. As for the rossies we wouldn't be too fond of them now at all!"
Haha same as! Willie Hegarty wrecks my head on Shannonside. Full duck or no dinner! GOOAAALLL for Roscommon! The oul lad would retort back at the radio as if talking to him "that ya may burst before yis ever score another one"!

Grey_Wolf (National) - 14/02/2018 18:50:24