Eight time All-Ireland winner Macauley hangs up his boots

January 21, 2021

Dublin's Michael Darragh Macauley celebrates. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

Michael Darragh Macauley has announced his retirement from intercounty football.

The Ballyboden St Endas clubman made his championship debut in 2010 and over the course of an eleven year intercounty career won eight All-Irelands, ten Leinster titles and All Stars in 2011 and 2013.

He was also footballer of the year in 2013 and picked up an All-Ireland club SFC title in 2016.

Macaulay is the second Dublin retirement in recent weeks as he follows in the footsteps of Paddy Andrews.

Most Read Stories