Kerry Forum

Popular Posts from KerrymanStuckInDonegal

Is David Clifford The Best Footballer In The Country Right Now? - 6 Like(s)
David Clifford is an excellent footballer but Sean O Shea is the future of Kerry football......

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (National) - 08/11/2019 10:40:52

Kerry Vs. Mayo Super 8'S Game 1 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well from the discussion it sounded like they were trying in to drop back and help cover the half back line."
Well if that's the case, you could play Stephen O Brien or Dara Moynihan at 13 and pull them out to wing forward, play Clifford and Geaney or O Donoghue in a two man full forward line. Then you would have a fresh attacking threat to come on late on. I think Griffin is a good shout, strong and physical, but Gavin Crowley has to start as well.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - 10/07/2019 17:44:13

Kerry Club - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hi all. Just a query for ye lads that I'm sure you've been asked 100 times before. How exactly does your club championship work with regard to the divisional sides we see competing in your senior club championship? I know you have junior & intermediate clubs like every other county but I just have a few questions that you can hopefully help me out with. I think I'm right in saying that you have certain clubs which are senior e.g. Crokes, Austin Stacks etc? They play senior championship obviously. But is there any circumstance which can arise where their players represent a divisional championship team? I wouldn't have thought so but maybe I'm wrong? Would a typical Divisional team be made up only of the best junior/intermediate players from the area, or can players from senior clubs be involved somehow as well? Do junior and intermediate players play for their parish clubs in their championships and I assume at some point the best of them also get called up by the divisional championship team? Are they run in parallel? e.g. has a situation ever risen for example where Fossa would have a junior championship match at the same time the Div team were playing in senior? I'm trying to work out if a similar championship could work in Donegal. But I don't think we'd have as many clubs as you have in Kerry. Thanks!"
Donegal Championship Kerry Style Eight Senior Clubs / The rest would have to Amalgamate 1. Glenties 2. Kilcar 3. St Eunans 4. Gweedore 5. Glenswilly 6. St Michaels 7. Bundoran 8. Glenfin 5 Divisional Teams (Trying to even the numbers and take geography into consideration) A. Donegal South West Killybegs /Glen / Ardara / Na Rossa / Dungloe / Maomh Mhurie B. Donegal South Ballyshannon / Pettigo / Ballintra / 4 Masters Donegal Town / St Nauls / Naomh Ultan C. Donegal East McCools / Convoy / Castlefin / Killygordon / Letterkenny Gaels / Newtowncunnigham / Lifford / D. Fanad Fanad / Termon / Milford / Downings / Cloghaneely E. Innishowen Buncrana / Malin / Urris / Carndonagh / Moville / Burt / Muff You cant have more than 5 "Divisional" teams as they would be too weak. (in my opinion) PROS Higher standard of matches (In theory) Divisional football is a fantastic idea. Getting weaker clubs together to amalgamate and play championship football. It should help the really good footballer playing on a weak team, playing with a stronger panel pf players at a higher standard. A really good County standard full back in a weak club would end up playing his football at midfield and mightn't be as good there and could be over looked. That's where divisional football could come in..... CONS I dont think proud clubs like Killybegs / 4 Masters or McCools would amalgamate, they would rather stick it out on their own. Problems arise in how do you play it off... Bye's or Preliminary rounds may be needed, and if you think about a back door, good luck to you! Managers.... who would pick them. In good teams they would be a fight for the job, in weak teams they would struggle to get one. Players... some wont play if they dont get on with other clubs or if they dont like the manager or if the team is weak. Teams. The first 15 normal picks itself, the problem i have seen over the years in Kerry divisional football is the subs. in a lot of cases the subs bench is made up of players from the managers club or clubs he is friendly with and good players are often overlooked.. politics. I mentioned it to Frank Craig years ago that he should do an articke in the Donegal News of how a Kerry Style Championship would look and he said it would be too complicated and too unrealistic to even do an article about it...

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - 07/02/2021 12:25:24

Club Championchips - 2 Like(s)
https://amp.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/draw-will-do-for-dr-crokes-962057.html?__twitter_impression=true Explains the situation Re: Kerry's representatives in Munster / All Ireland Club......

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - 06/11/2019 23:57:43

Kerry V Dublin - 2 Like(s)

Replying To kerryforsam19:  "for replay going with 1.Ryan 2.Foley 3.Morley 4.Sullivan 5.Murphy 6.Crowley 7.White 8.Moran 9.Barry 10.Moynihan 11.Shea 12.O'Brien 13.Clifford 14.(P)Geaney 15.K.Spillane Tom Welsh, O'Beaglach, Enright, Donoghue(if fit), Sherwood and Lyne coming off the bench."
?? Begley dropped ? He completely marked Scully out of the game ?? ?? Adrian Spillane not even on the panel?? ?? Dara Moynihan starting ?? 3 Crazy calls My Team (Whilst trying to summons my inner PK) 1. Ryan 2. Foley 3. Morley 4. O'Sullivan 5. Murphy (Not Sweeper, Marks one of the wing forwards) 6. Crowley 7. Begley 8. Moran 9. Barry 10. A Spillane (If Cian O'Sullivan starts and goes as the sweeper, Adrian should push up on him) 11 O'Shea 12 O'Brien (Give him McCafferry duties, nothing else) 13 Clifford 14 Walsh (Even if you take him off and back on) 15 Geaney 16. K Spillane (Fresh Dangerous Legs for last 20 mins) 17. G White (Any player in the half back or half forward line gets injured or tired Throw him in) 18. Sherwood (In for A Spillane or Barry, whoever not going well or tires out first) 19. Griffin (Bit of Strength needed towards the end) 20. Enright /Lyne / Moynihan I would not risk bringing on James O'Donoghue. if he has any part to play the next day the should start him, if he does well all is good but if he pulls up or isn't performing you can sub him. Worst thing that could happen is if he comes on and hobbles off or isnt up to the pace of the game / has a nightmare and is brought back off again.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - 05/09/2019 17:35:00

Donegal GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Apart from Donegal's deserving win against Kerry, the last few months has been a **** show in Donegal GAA. We voted at convention that we were going back to even age groups and the central council delegate was told by the outgoing chair that he was mandated to vote in favour of even years instead of odd. Now the county board met and stuck with odd ages. Then the back pedalling started and county board claim that didnt have all the information and a new vote may be required. A joke. It's plain to see that there is a divide in Donegal GAA at the moment, and if it's left to fester it will destroy the GAA community in Donegal. Whether you are pro one side or the other makes no odds, because in the end of the day it's the young players that are going to suffer. I have heard from both sides of the arguments of what both sides are alleging of each other and a lot of it seems to be focused around money, so this is not going away anytime fast. I feared for Donegal on the pitch this year and although I got it wrong in the first game, I still have a very pessimistic feeling about the rest of the year. I hope I am wrong. But more worryingly is the state of the board at present, this infighting and back biting is going to ruin things for the future if not addressed immediately but I can't see it because to many egos involved and too much politics at play.... It would be great if the GAA was just about the sporting side of things .....

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (National) - 09/02/2023 10:03:24

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Who is the full time admin?"
Noreen Doherty. Nice Lady

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (National) - 17/02/2023 13:11:05

Did anyone else see the sh*te that Jason Sherlock was at yesterday. Every time Kerry had a kick out in the first half, he ran out the field with water or to speak to a player, he would then very slowly walk back off the field but would walk into a piece of open space to try and put Shane Ryan Off... he did it a number of times and i was sitting below the kerry bench Tommy Walsh went down to the sideline and spoke with PK, then i think one of the Kerry selectors spoke to the fourth offical and Sherlock was spoken to......

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - 02/09/2019 13:42:21

Kerry National League 2020 - 2 Like(s)
Centre back is the key area. We need a centre back to hold the middle and protect the full back line. If we play a centre back in his position then the centre forward will go deep to collect the ball and use the wings to attack unmarked. This makes it look the centre back isn't doing his job so he follows the centre forward to mark him and it opens up the middle......Kerry need to pick a number 6 and who ever it is they have to sit and stop runs down the centre. Attacks down the centre more likely end up as goals compared to the wings....

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - 23/02/2020 22:41:04

Club Championchips - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Kerry15:  "To be honest I don't think he would start even if he was eligible. He's a decent young player but Templenoe are very strong and 17 is very young. Brian Crowley seems to be a good player alright although I'm not sure if he'll be in with Kerry. Paudie Clifford is surely ahead of him in the queue and then you have the half forwards already in there. Then he'll be competing with the likes of Barry Mahony and Eanna O'Conchuir."
I personally think Colin would get into the starting 15 but I completely agree, it is a tough team to pick. Even if he didnt start, he would no doubt be one of the first subs in with a full team. Templenoe played most / if not all of Div 1 this year without the 4 Kerry lads, and the juniors too for a small while. Colin couldnt play even if he wanted too and the club were scraping to get 15 players in Division 1 .....and yes Brian has lots of competition to try and get into the panel. A lot of young fellas put their hands up this year but pick of the litter Paudie Clifford most definitely deserves a run out in the league for the performances he put in the championship this year.... I believe if you are old enough your good enough. Colin is a fantastic player and its a balls he cant play due to a silly rule. Shane Cremin was probably Templenoe's greatest player to never played Senior for Kerry. He started playing senior at 15 and was Templenoe's main man for nearly 20 years. Only for him and a few others the club may have folded. So if your good enough play, Rural clubs need that rule to be relaxed or scrapped, its going to cost them being able to field in coming years.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - 17/11/2019 22:43:34

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Correct decision in my opinion, a 17 year old lad who hasn't even played senior club yet, putting him in against grown men who are physically superior. Why is this lad even on the panel? Have donegal got no other players who are willing to play and let the lad play senior club first and then come in? iAt end of the day the rules are there for player welfare purposes and Jim is on charge and weather it was him or county board who didn't know the rules, he broke them"
A 17 year old lad playing against an Armagh U20 team. Armagh Seniors played a challenge against Dublin the same evening. Armagh should have received a punishment for the stroke they pulled that night too.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (National) - 08/01/2024 22:51:33

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Hard for Murphy's scoring to be as sharp when he's playing full back and sweeper roles for us against Derry. and also hitting 45's when he is carrying some type of injury, give the man a break. If Murphy is in at FF he'll cause panic and mayhem in the defence, he doesn't even have to catch it. He has soldiered long enough for us doing the work of 4 men, play him in the position he was born for and let the rest of them step up to the mark out he field."
Tell Murphy that......he is the one playing himself out there. Any one that I spoke to that was at the ulster final said the Donegal sideline were gesturing for Murphy to go into the square and he ignored it. I seen it first hand on multiple occasions during Rory's term as manager him telling him to go in but he wouldn't. Murphy will be known as Donegal's greatest ever footballer and in the conversation for greatest ever full forward in the game, but if he does his own thing again against Armagh, Donegal are screwed.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (National) - 08/06/2022 15:45:20

Replying To greenfan:  "MacNiallais won't be back playing for Donegal. People need to look forward and stop looking back at Murphy, MacNiallais etc."
Who else is there? Murphy is 33 and has taken a serious amount of abuse physically over years. McNealis is 30 and hasn't played intercounty for a number of years so has a bit of freshness about him. He also appears to be in best shape in a long time. I would rather see McNealis than rushing Eoin mcgettigan back too soon as others are suggesting....the last thing you want is for him to do his knee a third or fourth time Serious lack of forward options in county panel, you could do worse than bring McNealis back.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (National) - 19/04/2023 15:34:20

Hill 16 - 2 Like(s)
I think this year of all years the Kerry Supporters really got behind the Team, we have been rightly accused of being poor supporters only going to the semi and or the final. This year i was at the away matches in Galway , Roscommon and Cavan (living in Donegal so a lot closer for me !) and at least 1,000 Kerry fans at all those games (Easily 1,200 Kerry fans in Cavan, half of Kenmare / South Kerry were there). Peter Keane after every game went on to all the supporters buses and thanked the fans for coming and acknowledged their cheering during the games. Dublin's dominance has left the Kerry supporters realizing we dont have a god given right to be in Finals every year and winning every second year as we thought from 1997 onwards.. The Kerrys fans really got behind this young team..The Patch of Green and Gold in the top right corner of the Hill was a great sight and there was plenty Green and Gold in the stands too! You could see the players got a boost when the Kerry Fans went ape shit after every score. Gavin Crowleys point was cheered loudly as was Killians one where he saluted the crowd.... I think the Kerry fans this year definitely have upped their game and realized that it that kind of encouragement the young guns need !!!

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - 02/09/2019 16:24:23

Off Season Discussions Thread - 2 Like(s)
Gavin is Gone !!! That's a shock. I wonder does he think Lerry are coming for them, get out on top. Who will be next Manager, Will Cluxton go too.....so much to consider !

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - 30/11/2019 13:10:14

Replying To ryan:  "Any solutions?"
The biggest problem is the over reliance on Defensive football in senior teams. I seen first hand in the Ballyshannon vs Gweedore Quarter final last year. Ballyshannon were fit, organised and broke well on the turnover but once they got to the opponents 45 they panicked, went side ways and back ways....there is way too much emphasis on the defensive side of the game, its killing the game. Managers rather lose a game by 3 or 4 playing muck then possibly losing by 7 or 8 (or more) by having a go..... but we wont fix that, I think the Development Squads is going to improve football in the county but that will take time to see the results. Investment into more coaching in Secondary schools is a must because Donegal Schools aren't as well supported as schools in the 6 counties. Development squads in Kerry have been a massive success and i am certain in time so will Donegal development squads. (Four Masters have upped their game in underage coaching and development, they are focusing most of the coaching resources into underage, they are flying, its no fluke that they are starting to get to and win county finals.) The Championship Structure in Donegal is a joke and needs fixing. it makes no sense. a handy draw could be the difference between getting to a quarter final or being involved in the relegation game. I think Donegal should follow Kerry's model, 8 Senior Clubs, 16 Intermediate, 16 Junior. Senior: 2 Groups of 4, One Home, One Away and 1 Neutral Game. Top two in the Semi, bottom teams in relegation game. Intermediate: 4 Groups of 4, One Home, One Away and 1 Neutral Game. Top team in each group into quarter final vs. Runner up in another group. Bottom 4 teams in relegation semi final and final. Junior : 4 Groups of 4, One Home, One Away and 1 Neutral Game. Top team in each group into quarter final vs. Runner up in another group. Junior B : 3rd place team in Junior vs 4th place team in another group. Quarters, Semi and Final. (there are 39 clubs in donegal so i would add the Senior C champions as the 40th team) I think that Donegal is in a massive transition period and the biggest thing a supporter / club member can do is be patient. Donegal people have been spoiled with success (Been in 10 of the last 12 Provincial Finals..... IN ULSTER?) If Donegal don't get to another Ulster final in next few years, if they get relegated to Div 2 and god forbid if they end up playing in the Tailteann Cup in the next few years then supporters have to stick by them. I am genuinely worried about the supporters turning their back on the county team in the coming years . Donegal fell into the trap that Kerry did in the early 90's, they concentrated on a team that was successful and forgot about what was coming down the line and then they had the 11 year "Famine".

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (National) - 20/01/2023 11:29:59

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Great post and some interesting ideas there. I know each county is different in terms of geography & tradition. But I've always felt that we shouldn't be so insular in our thinking up here. We should look at the more successful counties and how they operate. In my experience there is also a lot of snobbery when it comes to "senior" clubs looking down their noses at intermediate and junior clubs. Despite these so-called senior clubs not having a chance in hell of winning a senior championship soon (if ever). Would I be right in saying that football is played pretty much all year round in Kerry? Ye have competitions other than your standard league and championship that gives ample game time to players."
The Divisional Boards run there own competitions which are played at the end of the year and some boards take it more seriously than others. O'Donoghue Cup is the East Kerry Boards competition and you have Dr. Crokes, Legion, Rathmore, Spa, Glenflesk, Gnevguilla, Fossa, all trying to win it... but the south kerry championship was a case of just playing it off and getting the games over and done with... Kerry Clubs have 11 League games, between 4-7 club championship games and the players picked on a divisonal team could get 4-7 more games. Some Kerry clubs have B Teams that enter the county league. Dr Crokes B in Div 4, and Austin Stacks, Glenflesk and Laune Rangers in Div 5. The Rest of the county have a "Junior Team" and run a separate standalone league in which designated players (between 11-15) are barred from playing, to give weaker players games. Then the local compeitions give players between one-four extra games... So the average club player in Kerry gets on average 20 competitive games give or take.. But the reason a mention the championship structure in a chat about improving Donegal football,,, There is no point in watching dead rubber games in the Senior Championship in Donegal. Ardara vs Killybegs or Killybegs Vs Glenfin in a relegation game in shite weather at the end of the year doesn't help football in Donegal. Killybegs Vs. Ardara or Kbegs Vs Glenfin or Ballyshannon vs bundoran in a Intermediate Semi or Final in September or early october would be absolute cracking games. The other thing i have noticed since i moved up to Donegal, is that local competitions have died a death, i remember Killybegs played in a few local competitions during the year but not anymore...

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (National) - 20/01/2023 12:50:18

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Personally I disagree I think it's tactically astute, it's harming no one just a visual illusion that appears to tighten the pitch and options. It's just another string to a bow, as Paidi said - a single grain of rice will tip the scale. What ever it takes lads what ever it takes"
No, i would disagree with you. its a game 15 on 15 and i dont care if it considered cuteness, tactical or win at all cost mentality, its cheating. Its trying to gain an advantage unfairly, just like the alleged Stephen O Neill incident and the Dublin Hurling Maor Foirne catching the ball in the hurling match vs Kilkenny. Stephen Cluxton spotted Tommy Walsh on his own and he came out and stood beside him, that was cuteness and tactical and FAIR. I didnt see Tommy Griffin doing it versus Tyrone, but if you are correct then thats cheating too... If you arent on the team you shouldnt be getting invovled in the game. its just wrong.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - 02/09/2019 18:44:33

Templenoe had a hard fought victory, 5 to 3 at half time. The Clare crowd were very defensive and played sweepers, did an excellent job nulifing the Templenoe full forward line. But in the 2nd half they lost a man to a second yellow and it was curtains then... Templenoe won in the end by 9, 14 to 5. Patrick Clifford was excellent, rumoured a few years ago to be getting a shot with the county but it never panned out. Templenoe now play Oughterard from Galway on the 12th Jan, whilst the other side is down to Ulster (magheracloone from Monaghan) Leinster ( Mattock Rangers from louth / Mullinvat from Kilkenny) & British Champions ?

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - 01/12/2019 18:09:25

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "But the games we lost we were supposed to win and were very lucky in one or two games also."
What are you smoking? Kerry lost three games in the last two years. Last year we lost to Tyrone up in Edendork. A game that should never have been played. I drove to the game from Donegak and twice the radio said the game was going be called off. Kerry were told an hour before arriving at the pitch that they couldn't tog or do the warmup there. They were taken to coalisland to tog and warm up, then bussed to the game. And if you can remember it was a tough close game, Clifford was blackgaurded and got sent off. Still only lost by one. The game was in tralee under lights which was a wet miserable evening, a late mayo goal won them the game, it was a tight game up until the goal which put them 4 clear, but Kerry still clawed 2 points back but it wasn't enough. The national league final two years ago was a disappointment, goals cost us. So how do you make out we were supposed to win those three games? Silly talk. And as for your comment about being lucky in one or two games??? Every team deserves a bit of luck but I would be interested to know what exactly you meant by luck?.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - 10/04/2021 16:52:58