Galway Forum

Popular Posts from galwaydublin

All Ireland U21 Football Championship - 9 Like(s)
Stay classy jack o Connor. Moaning about refs in a match you should have lost by 15 plus. You're taking the proverbials sir. Your team wasn't the first cousin of good enough to win on the day.

galwaydublin (National) - 17/04/2017 17:14:56

Do Dublin play 2 home games in the super 8s? - 5 Like(s)
The solution is simple. Dublin's "croke park" game should count as their home game, and on their home weekend, that game should be at a neutral venue. That way everyone gets one home, one away, and one neutral game. Fairness all round. It's unacceptable to call Croker a neutral venue when the dubs play all home games there

galwaydublin (National) - 23/09/2017 11:21:54

Galway Football 17/18 - 3 Like(s)
The biggest thing the team lacks is workrate and heart. Watching us against Kerry and the way Roscommon took on Mayo was like watching two different sports. It was obvious after 20 minutes we didn't believe we could beat Kerry. We lacked leadership only Bradshaw, Daly, Burke and to a lesser extent armie showed it. The team doesn't tackle, compare ours to mayo. In 2011, James Horan took over Mayo and got rid of players like Conor Mortimer who weren't prepared to work hard off the ball and be physical. I looked at players like shay Walsh and Johnny heaney and thought they wouldn't make that Mayo team as they're unaffordable luxuries when things get tough. Walsh has serious decisions to make if we want to replace, which means beat any of the top 4 in Dubs, Kerry, Tyrone or Mayo in Croker from August on.

galwaydublin (Galway) - 31/07/2017 04:59:01

Egg on James Horans face - 3 Like(s)
Yes, but what about Whelan and Dolan talking about a Mayo rossies final, and they didn't seem to think Galway existed. Horan was talking shit, as all evidence pointed to the gap closing. what made the victory sweeter for me was the drive through the maam valley and no Galway flags or cars. No traffic at all until I hit the outskirts of castlebar. The scenes on the pitch at the end I'll never forget, when the 1000 or so Galway fans sang the fields of athenry and the lifted a few players on their shoulders. Awesome. But Whelan and Dolan could never understand what it means to do that in McHale park, horan had simply forgotten so needed to be reminded. In short, the body language of the Galway team in the first ten was they were sick of losing to mayo and simply had enough. Wins like this make a team.

galwaydublin (National) - 19/06/2016 08:46:30

Spiddal Potential All Ireland Champs - 3 Like(s)
Well done to Naomh Éanna, we were well beaten. Their power and pace in the forward line has us shipping water and we never really plugged the leaks. Our sweeper system didnt work, as our usual centre back seemed lost as a sweeper. We in An Spidéal have no complaints, it makes it easy to accept when the opposition are better. There was no ifs, buts, ref decisions or controversies, and no, for all you smarties, no Maghnus mistake. Just simple. They could have had five other goal chances such was the accuracy of their play. Maghnus played the extra man well throughout the year, he saved us from losing a county final, so people can't moan when he makes a mistake as you have to take risks in big games. He is human. He did set up a goal chance in the first half with a foray from goal. He also made three great saves. The bigger challenge is maintaining our senior status over the years to come, which is far more important than any All Ireland Intermediate title. Thank you lads, great journey and memories for a lifetime, it was quite a ride, which will be forever remembered in an Baile Sin Againne. Its been emotional.

galwaydublin (Galway) - 20/01/2019 20:01:21

Will Leinster ever be competitive again? - 3 Like(s)
As a man, who spent the first fifteen years of his life in Dublin to galway parents, before moving to galway permanently, the issue isn't simply funding. I remember talking to my da 1 year after I moved in 1993 and saying that if Dublin ever go their act together, the rest of the country would have no hope. The funding goes primarily to coaching. Dublin GAA have 50 plus coaches, which is slightly less than the rest of the country combined. This imbalance needs to be addressed. What was done in Dublin could be done on a smaller scale in cork, Limerick, galway and especially Belfast. I've for a long time thought their should be two or more county teams in Dublin. Can't see it happening in my lifetime. I think this would even strengthen the Dublin GAA, as the third string dubs who beat kildare shows how many good players there are in Dublin, but of playing for Dublin is an unrealistic goal. The dubs have such a pick, they don't even need to go to inter and junior clubs like every other county does. I don't think Dublin GAA has made a great effort in expanding the game into non traditional areas and very few new clubs are formed. This should be the focus of funding IMAO. The final issue no one is talking about is the migration, and with it the genetic drain to Dublin. Think of all the future sons of current county players living in Dublin, and you only see Dublin becoming stronger. Which is why the only long term solution is to split them at the liffey, or along county council lines. You'd still have 2 to 4 excellent teams, would create new rivalries, and I think would add new life to the GAA. If two counties, both would have a bigger population than cork, if four, one would have the population of cork, and the other three of galway, which will only grow. At least leinster would be competitive.

galwaydublin (National) - 29/01/2017 09:16:27

Brolly on Gooch - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "The treatment of Brolly last night was shocking. Bad enough being ridiculed by Tomas O'Se and Ciaran Whelan but when the presenter of the show joins in, it makes for distasteful viewing. I actually agreed with Brolly and his article in yesterday's Independent was excellently written and his viewpoint articulated clearly. He was entitled to his opinion but was shouted down because it didn't fit the RTE narrative. Tomas O Se couldn't answer the questions Brolly put to him about Gooch. Yes Gooch was a great player but its easy to be a good player on a good team. The likes of Canavan who carried and led his team for years and stood up when it really counted is more worthy and deserving of a eulogy than Gooch. That's my opinion which I'm entitled to in the same way that Brolly is entitled to his."
Would have been nice if he let others finish a sentence. He can't have it both ways.

galwaydublin (National) - 10/04/2017 11:25:44

Replying To tearintom:  "I think you may have been watching some other programme last night as Joe was the only one afforded the time to actually get his point across. Everyone else didnt get such freedom as Joe couldnt even show basic manners constantly shouting across everyone else as they tried to get their own point across."
Loved they way whelo said "shut up for a second will ya." we need more of this.

galwaydublin (National) - 10/04/2017 11:18:07

Abuse Of KW & Some Players - 2 Like(s)

Replying To kazoochka:  "Agree entirely. The committment from management and players to any county team is massive. Kevin Walsh has been a fantastic servant to Galway football and will continue to be. I feel he has reached the end of the line in this role and i wish him well. We need to take a long hard look at ourselves as a county. A totally divided fanbase based on what part of the county we come from. Petty rivalries over not enough of our own clubmen on the pitch and worst of all pathetic attendances at games where as a county of 300,000 people we are massively outnumbered by roscommon in our own ground because salthill is too hard to get to apparently."
The West North nonsense absolutely annoys the hell of out me. I was talking to a guy at the game last night who seems to think playing a north Galway select will have us beating Dublin. He said Galway won All Irelands in 98 and 01 with all north players, until i reminded him that Gary and Richie Fahy, Kevin Walsh (Killanin), Seán óg De Paor and Seán Fada Ó Domhnaill (An Cheathrú Rua), Paul Clancy (Moycullen) were all starters, not to mention the supersub exploits of Matthew Clancy (Oughterard). This is what we have to deal with. For all those complaining about the lack of Corofin players, well for me, the 4 starters were all poor. Liam Silkes pathetic attempt at a tackle and then giving up chasing for Mayo's second goal was a joke at this level of football. Only Molloy can say he did well. For those who say Kevin picks to many cunnies, show me the alternatives.

galwaydublin (Galway) - 07/07/2019 08:40:53

Galway hurlers to Munster? - 2 Like(s)
From hearing the comments of deveraux, the wexford chairman, and Cillian Buckley, as things stand, we're better off out. Deveraux is looking at it from a wexford point of view, while Buckley said it would be strange going to galway. It was strange when galway entered leinster, but now is almost normal. Isn't right years enough of a trial run. I think Munster's a more natural fit for galway. We have a massive border with Clare, and a smaller one with tipp, while Limerick is also near, and in all Munster counties, hurling is the number one game, while only in kilkenny and possibly wexford is that the case. If the Munster counties wouldn't mind playing our young lads and playing every second game in galway city, then it would work. Besides, all the Munster counties with the exception of kilkenny are a bigger draw than any leinster county, and the atmosphere at those games would be unreal, like in thurles, cork and Limerick. People, who say, "but what about the leinster championship", well, galway for some years have outlined their greviences, and have been ignored and ridiculed. Galway want a permanent home at all levels. The provincial and central councils have decisions to make.

galwaydublin (National) - 18/11/2016 11:12:07

What county do you want to get in the draw - 2 Like(s)
I want Mayo as early as possible. I've been listening to allot of rubbish talk that our win in DE BAR was a fluke. I want Mayo badly just to prove it was not so.

galwaydublin (National) - 03/10/2016 23:07:49

Anyone but Dublin or Kerry - 2 Like(s)
Gggggggg Galway

galwaydublin (National) - 24/07/2017 19:14:18

Neutral venue for Dublin and Tipperary - 2 Like(s)
If any other county yes, but the dubs footballers regularly enjoy home advantage, so not one bit sorry for them. Cork could have home advantage for the quarters. They have to play somewhere.

galwaydublin (National) - 03/07/2017 21:20:31

New Players For Football Panel 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Corofin have no problem letting Daithí Burke going on a friendly the other side of the world, but won't release players for some FBD and league matches in order to stake a claim. They have to change this as the players ultimately suffer. Not saying all games, just some.

galwaydublin (Galway) - 11/11/2018 20:52:34

Read brollys article, well written, excellent, no problem, this is a democracy. His points on the Sunday game, equally so. But Joe, as whelo said, would ya shut up a second and let others finish. Other than that, no issues with anything you wrote or said, pretty much all correct.

galwaydublin (National) - 10/04/2017 11:29:15

Galway play Antrim (or Ulster Champs) - 2 Like(s)
I presume this refers to minor hurling. As I recall, galway wanted into leinster two years ago at all levels, but the lc said no. Ur can't then try and determine the draw outside leinster, when ye wouldn't let galway in fully .Made your bed.......

galwaydublin (National) - 11/07/2016 09:25:08

Kevin Walsh Needs To Walk - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Hupgalway:  "For the sake of the development of Galway football, Kevin Walsh needs to hand the reigns over to someone else... We will agree he has progressed them on, but I think this is as far as he is able to take them himself... it now needs to be takeover over by someone with massive managerial skills. The hot & cold football that comes from our players is definitely down to management... mixed signals, No encouragement, no confidence, no vision. We need a manager to be telling these lads that they can beat any team if they really want it.. a manager that sends that excitement through the players onto the supporters.. A manager that can tell his players about the success he has had and the rewards this brings. I also believe we need a good coach to coach the likes of comer and Walsh on finishing the killer shots... this was very evident last Sunday at top level. (If Comer just side stepped was it in the back of the net)??? Kevin got Sligo a Connacht title and that's as far as he got them and the same with Galway.. For us to kick on & climb up onto the big stage it now needs to be handed to someone in the Jim gavin bracket... Maybe I was reading this all wrong last week when I read Damien Comers interview on the AIB GAA Blog but below is the pasted copy from the Q&A Who has given your team the most memorable motivational speech ever - from inside or outside the camp? A clubman called Karl Leonard. He's a teacher in my school, and he was coaching us in juvenile. He'd send shivers down your spine and he's famous for it. Everyone would be buzzing and shouldering each other before going out. Now for me I would have expected Comer to have said Kevin Walsh.... especially at inter county level... I'm sure if Kevin ever gave a top inspirational talk in the dressing room it would have sprung straight to Damien's mind with that question..... It's so frustrating to see we have the players both on the pitch and bench and they are not been used to their full capacities.. For me Kevin had the game written off since last wk.... (just listen to last Thursday's Galway bay fm sports podcast) it certainly gave me no fate... Imagine if that was Davy fitz talking about Wexford....??? He be saying there is no reason why we can't beat the top teams.... The subs he made last Sunday was no more for the tactics of winning the game, but for the sake of giving the bench there last run out of the year.... if I were mike Farragher I'd be insulted in how late he was brought in.... Walsh only did this to cover his own a**e... Stop the whole thing is laughable and if the county board don't see what we all see, then what's the point, it's all a farce... Hats off to Rory Gallagher for stepping down today as Donegal manager. He could see that he could only bring them so far and is now given someone else the opportunity to bring them on to another level.. KEVIN NOW NEEDS TO DO THE SAME... BIG TIME!"
A few points. Kevin got us to division 1 so needs another year at least. Galway need to have four forwards all the time as our buildup play is way to slow, as we don't do the blanket well at all. Kevin has some tough questions, get in a tackling coach, as our physicality was awful, a donie Buckley type figure that Mayo have. As for Micheal farragher, I thought he was awful when he came on, missed a good chance with comer inside and pulled out of a tackle that led to a kerry point. Bradshaw was going well and shouldn't have been withdrawn. Anyway, where has changing managers got us in the last ten years with Liam Salmon, big Joe and Tomas o f only getting one year. The teams performance never improved, only when mulholland came in and only in his third year did we see any improvement between 2008-14. I'm happy to give him another year, he's not perfect, needs to be more positive, as it's simply not in our nature to defend.

galwaydublin (Galway) - 06/08/2017 07:37:57

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 1 Like(s)
who cares, their interviews are generally boring. Jim Gavins outburst the other night was mad, you'd swear he was pissed off with Pat Spillane for ratting DC out. Mad stuff. Anyway, onwards and upwards.

galwaydublin (National) - 27/06/2017 21:49:12

Kids living and developing in one county but... - 1 Like(s)
Ridiculous thread. I was born in Dublin, lived there for a number of years to galway parents. Supported both counties, how dare anyone tell me I couldn't. Family moved to galway in my teens, played with people who won all Irelands with galway, and now am a galway fanatic with Dublin just another county to me, even though I'm living in Dublin. Supporting a county is from your heart, not GAA rules, or nosenical details like where you live.

galwaydublin (National) - 20/05/2017 20:43:36

Galway Vs Dublin - 1 Like(s)

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "In a week where abuse of players, managers and officials is being highlighted I better phrase this properly.. Do posters, Galway in particular feel Kevin Walsh is in the top tier of managers? I remember Eamonn O'Hara offering a stinging critique of his skills with Sligo a few years back. Personally I don't think he is and more than anything that's holding Galway back."
He's not perfect, I wish he was a bit more adventerous but I'm not managing 30 odd players. Consider where we were in Jan 15 to now and he absolutely say yes. He had over 50 players refuse him, including 3 Corofin all ireland winners this year. Hes got us to D1, first victory over Kerry since 65, first semi since he played in 01. Hes my man for the next 3 years at least, unless, and this is what I say to everyone berating him, WHO IS BETTER? Remember this fact, he's not Eamonn Fitzmaurice, he's not out of the championship. We have not lost to yet, and I still personally think we will not lose to Dublin this weekend. If he wins an All Ireland, is he still holding Galway back? Look, he had great experience with Sligo now Galway. He is the man. I think the O Hara comments were a little personal as he wouldn't facilitate him coming back later in the year. What have Sligo done since he left? Haven't got within a penalty of beating Kerry or a point of a Connacht title that is for sure. Also the last time Galway got hockeyed in pearse stadium v the rossies in 17, we a fortnight later beat Donegal by 15. Why the doom and gloom? All the so called experts like the Ó Sé brothers, Ó Cinnéide, are saying because Galway lost a meaningless match, they have no hope of turning it around when this team has a history of doing so. Give Kevin a chance, "rumours of our demise are greatly exaggerated."OW.

galwaydublin (National) - 08/08/2018 19:50:06