Fermanagh Forum

Popular Posts from Coa_gael

Fermanagh GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Breaking news... after Saturday's game it's emerging that some exchanges took place in the Fermanagh changing rooms. Not clear if it was just between players only or if management were part of it too. Maybe someone can enlighten us further?

Coa_gael (National) - 13/06/2023 09:20:58

Fermanagh GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Errigal1978:  "[quote=erneboy:  "It's hard to believe that I would see the day I would agree with a shamgael but there is merit in what he has said. The drain of decent players for whatever reason isn't good for club or county and having grand facilities won't necessarily make for better players. Anyway. if we look at what the sham calls boring league football that could be more to do with his own Irvinestown team who seem destined for Division 2. Looking at the tables this is how things stands after yesterday's round with the top five highlighted in each league which is more or less what was expected. Senior Football League Division 1 Pos. Team P W L D F A Pts 1 Derrygonnelly 5 5 0 0 109 51 12 2 Belnaleck 5 4 1 0 83 50 11 3 Erne Gaels 5 3 1 1 76 70 9 4 Kinawley 5 3 1 1 64 59 8 5 Enniskillen 5 2 2 1 72 67 7 6 Ederney 5 2 2 1 79 70 6 7 Derrylin 5 2 3 0 60 88 4 8 Becoo 5 1 4 0 57 77 3 9 Irvinestown 5 1 4 0 55 79 3 10 Donagh 5 0 5 0 50 94 0 Senior Football League Division 2 Pos. Team P W L D F A Pts 1 Devenish 5 5 0 0 100 53 12 2 Teemore 5 3 0 2 78 53 11 3 Roslea 5 4 1 0 71 48 9 4 Tempo 5 4 0 1 69 51 9 5 Newtownbutler 5 3 1 1 72 65 9 6 Maguiresbridge 5 2 3 0 75 72 6 7 Lisnaskea 5 1 4 0 54 74 3 8 Coa 5 1 4 0 49 87 3 9 Aghadrumsee 5 0 5 0 52 68 1 10 Brookeboro 5 0 5 0 47 96 0"
What has happened to Roslea in recent years?"]If you read the cillnaile's comment you might find a clue where he states that clubs east and north of the county i.e. Ederney & Roslea have focussed too much on grand facilities rather than the teams hence the demise of Roslea and the slide of Ederney. Both senior teams are depending too much on just one or two good players that have went further afield and the rest are made up of ageing players combined with cubs barely out of short trousers according to the Irvinestown gael poster. Somebody asked where macca999 was, well apparently he's booked out for donkey derbies across the country!

Coa_gael (National) - 26/07/2023 13:40:11

New Fermanagh Manager - 2 Like(s)
Yes 'out of touch' about sums it up! With players voting 21-9 against endorsing McGrath continuing as manager makes it clear that the team want is a new manager at the helm. McGrath talks about player unrest but he doesn't tell us what the real issues because he might not want the wider public to know! Yes, Dom would be a definite manager candidate that players would warm to easily.

Coa_gael (Fermanagh) - 17/07/2017 13:22:01

New Fermanagh Manager - 2 Like(s)
Molaise the vote was 21 to 9 in favour of a new manager not 5 or 6 players as you suggest! Regardless of some shortcomings, Dom stands out as the best man to get Fermanagh out of the mess left by McGrath. Yourself and gotmilk are a bit like macca999 as you sit on the fence and won't name a prospective manager for the vacancy but rather you lot enjoy making unwarranted criticism of any suggestions. Meanwhile, how can McGrath rubbish the Fermanagh players in the Belfast Telegraph by saying that they are misguided and wrong. How the hell can he say they are wrong when he doesn't know the future outcome under any new manager?

Coa_gael (Fermanagh) - 18/07/2017 20:20:04

Replying To macca999:  "Coa_gael - Simple explanation on result, two teams operating on different levels and game further highlighted why there is need for a tailteann cup competition now. Realistically pre match dont think anyone was expecting Fermanagh to win the game, Derry have dismantled teams the same throughout their division 2 league campaign against teams Fermanagh will be aiming to try compete with next year. Derrys physicality, quality on the ball, movement off the ball was excellent, angled runs and speed allowing them to work through and break lines at will even when Fermanagh had everyone behind the ball. Derrys transition was something Fermanagh havnt encountered before and couldnt get to grips with, within seconds 15 behind ball, then when turned it over had 14 in Fermanaghs half within 10 seconds, then all players comfortable on the ball with defenders kicking scores at will. However I hoped that Fermanagh would be able to compete with Derry and make a competitive contest of it but especially in first half didnt get going or battle with Derry, played with fear and game was over within 25 minutes. Fermanagh needed to play with intense hunger to match a drilled Derry but it wasnt there and they quickly went for the kill ruthlessly. We allowed Rodgers and the Keeper even to saunter through the middle of pitch at ease, the fact there wasnt a yellow card in the game highlights the lack of intensity, couldnt get close enough to foul at times. The tactic of playing an extra man in their half to stop runners from deep has some logic as a huge strength of Derrys but on reflection should have played sweeper at least first half to try keep game competitive. Midfield as worried really struggled, Derry as expected pushed up high and forced kickouts to go long which they dominated and in the breaks. Ryan Jones tried gamefully but didnt have enough support at times with the Derry keepers presence further impacting. Ethan Doherty and Padraig Cassidy had the freedom of Brewster Park while McGuigan gave Che Cullen torrid 35 minutes. Jonny Cassidy had slightly more success on him second half but damage was long done. Ultan Kelm showed his quality on the few times he got ball in promising areas but huge reliance on him. The second goal conceded was very poor, McManus got sucked to the ball allowing Cassidy the space to attack although thought Ryan Jones didnt go towards him strangely so he could drop ball and still score. Sean Quigleys absence due to injury a huge blow though 13 Seans wouldnt have stopped yesterdays result. Hopefully he is back fit for Tailteann Cup campaign next month Second half was better with Conor McShea and Decky McCusker showing well and providing bit more energy, although thought harsh to sub Aidan Breen, was few others that could have been taken off ahead of him but throughout league has been same. Disappointing day for players and management who will know didnt perform to what capable off but certainly exposed the difference in Division 3 and Division 1, every mistake we made was punished yesterday, even in league conceding goals so warning signs were there. Good interview with Kieran Donnelly on Newstalks Off the ball after game. They will take stock and get ready for Tailteann Cup Campaign,which given has 3 games guaranteed im sure will see other players getting opportunities too. I know some were shocked at Rory Gallaghers behaviour yesterday on touchline, wasnt surprised by his energy or ruthlessness its his intense nature and he wont change, was same when with Fermanagh although given then game wasnt in melting pot his reactions were totally unneccessary, i dont think Oisin McConville would react that way against Armagh or Mickey Harte if Louth met Tyrone. More worrying than yesterdays game v Derry was the minors result v Monaghan,(Rory Gallagher even mentioned it in post match interview with RTE) warning signs there throughout the league campaign, they have 3 more games which could be very tough on the young lads and highlight further the issues we have and face going forward. This on top of the Under 20s result v Derry has alarm bells ringing about development of players in the county and future, really this needs to be looked at as doesnt look like producing players at moment who will make step into senior team anytime soon, current team backboned by successful St Michaels team, whom themselves have slipped done pecking order!"
A rather long-winded comment macca considering most would have seen the game live or TV live anyway. I'm not convinced by Donnelly that the Fermanagh 'weak and costly holes' in the yesterday's game can be that easily mended. Donnelly's seemed to struggle with his game plan and some players didn't seem to have that motivation that was evident in the league campaign. Let's hope for better days ahead in the Tailteann Cup which is more suitable competition at this stage. By the way, I got more value from without paying a penny from today's Tyrone v Monaghan game which had us on the edge of our seats - what a game! On the BBC tv panel, like Oisin McConville, I really enjoyed seeing Mickey Harte's cocky position at halftime being demolished by the final whistle!

Coa_gael (National) - 16/04/2023 23:07:03

Very silent there macca999. No explanation? The Derry keeper being allowed to run the whole field to score tell the story of a weak Fermangh. Not worth the 25 euros!

Coa_gael (National) - 15/04/2023 23:32:38

Replying To ekn_teacher:  "My wishful thoughts for 2o24 include seeing Fermanagh doing well, particularly in the league. Although some have deserted them, there still remains a fine bunch to take the team's ambitions forward. Secondly, I have also a wish to be able to channel my frustrations regarding a particular irritating contributor in a tangible way. The inspiration struck when I tasked my older primary school pupils with writing letters to Santa, requesting a gift experience. So, I also penned a letter as follows. Dear Santa, I hope this letter finds you well amidst the joy of the season. My most cherished wish is for a unique experience. If, during an intercounty GAA game, an opportunity arises where a self-proclaimed Fermanagh fan named macca999 is ejected from Brewster Park stadium for misconduct-be it directed at the referee, officials, or any other unruly behaviour-please grant me the unforgettable experience of escorting him out by the scruff of the neck. I envision frogmarching him to the gates and banging them behind him, all while someone captures this comical episode for subsequent pleasure viewing. This imaginative encounter would far surpass the delight of finding socks or any aftershave beneath the Christmas tree. Gratefully, Enniskillen Teacher"
I heard that a cardboard poster was seen on Brewster Park's gates last night which read something like "Plenty of frogs in here alright, some like jumping on backs for sure. It'll take a brave Gael to do me. Signed Macca." Well done to whoever done it. Maybe that will teach the Gaels to think again before trying to make a fool of others. On the theme of football, what this thread should be about, does anyone have the full list of the county panel? I assume Donnelly will field a few inexperienced lads for the McKenna Cup. Long term it will be interesting to see who fills the Quigley and Jones's positions. I'd say the league will be the true test of where Fermanagh is in terms of progress or not.

Coa_gael (National) - 27/12/2023 11:06:20

Fermanagh GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
GAME ON! Allianz League Div 2 - Fermanagh v Armagh at Brewster Park @3pm. Please note: The game will not be broadcasted or livestreamed!

Coa_gael (National) - 03/03/2024 09:14:13

All Ireland Championship 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Good reply there IrelandUnited and unlike the Irvinestown gael, all genuine Fermanagh GAA supporters appreciated Tyrone support last Sunday in Omagh and since then too. This evening's game was a wake-up call for your team. Tyrone squandered a lot of potential scores and I'm not sure how Micky Harte will manage that going forward. Mattie Donnelly made an awful mesh of a great opportunity for a goal that would have secured the outcome earlier. However, the quality of the Tyrone players came through in extra time and proved to much sharper and fitter than Meath at that stage. The referee was very whistle prone and spoiled advantage and game flow, which makes me wonder if that's how the referees are going to react in the remainder of the championship. Anyway, the best of luck to Tyrone going forward and ignore the supposedly wee Joe comment.

Coa_gael (Tyrone) - 09/06/2018 21:48:09

Fermanagh GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Allianz Leagues Football League Div 2 Rd 5 FT score - Fermanagh 0-11 Armagh 0-15 Team for Fermanagh - Ross Bogue, Lee Cullen, Che Cullen, Cian McManus, Declan McCusker (0-2), Shane McGullion, James McMahon (0-1), Brandon Horan, Joe McDade (0-1), Conor McGee (0-1). Conor McShea (0-1), Fionan O'Brien, Tiarnan Bogue, Garvan Jones (0-1, 0-1f), Ultán Kelm (0-1f). Subs introduced - Josh Largo Elis for Cian McManus, Ronan McCaffrey for James McMahon, Sean Cassidy (0-1f) for Tiarnan Bogue, John Reihill for Ultán Kelm, Callum Jones (0-1) for Conor McGee. ALLIANZ FOOTBALL LEAGUE DIVISION 2 TABLE POSITION TEAM P W D L F A POINTS 1 Donegal 5 4 1 0 90 59 9 2 Armagh 5 4 1 0 83 52 9 3 Cavan 5 3 1 1 75 70 7 4 Meath 5 2 2 1 59 66 6 5 Cork 5 2 0 3 79 89 4 6 Fermanagh 5 1 1 3 63 78 3 7 Louth 5 1 0 4 71 78 2 8 Kildare 5 0 0 5 59 87 0 Looking dicey for Fermanagh!

Coa_gael (National) - 03/03/2024 18:24:54

Dr McKenna Cup 2018 - 1 Like(s)
No one seemed to explain why Tyrone, with advantage of an extra man in the second half, didn't have a healthier scoreline? Given the redhand's relatively lack lustre showing I doubt if they will retain the McKenna Cup for the 7th time. I was disappointed with the verbal outburst towards the referee and at times towards the linemen when there were children in the crowd listening. On another issue, why were the main gates closed to supporters who had season tickets (and turning up at 1.40pm) when it turned out that the stand was not full as witnessed by all? Also, games should start on time and not like yesterday and even worst last Sunday when the start was held up for nearly 25 minutes to facilitate the local club to show off a minor team which could have been done during the interval?

Coa_gael (Fermanagh) - 15/01/2018 13:16:11