Mayo power past Roscommon to secure Connacht MFC three-in-a-row

May 25, 2024

David Hurley of Mayo and Gordon Casey of Roscommon ©INPHO/James Lawlor

Mayo are Connacht minor football champions for the third year running after seeing off Roscommon by 0-14 to 0-10 at Dr Hyde Park last night.

Kobe McDonald and Oisin Deane combined for 0-9 of the winners’ total over the hour, as they produced the goods in the second-half to outscore the home side by 0-9 to 0-5.

Having been level on 0-5 apiece at the halfway stage, the pendulum began to swing Mayo’s way when points from McDonald (free), Deane and substitute Andrew Quinn sailed over the Rossies’ bar in the third quarter.

Roscommon responded with a Dean Casey before seeing a glorious goal chance blasted over by their top-scorer Dare Curran (0-4).

The visitors kept their foot on the throttle with a point from Joe Forry and three unaswered McDonald frees which would be enough to see of their neighbours and ensure a three-in-a-row provincial triumph.

Most Read Stories