Donegal Forum

Popular Posts from Rolo2010

Donegal GAA thread - 8 Like(s)

Replying To rorysboys:  "Didn't post yesterday was travelling unlike most of the people on here. First thoughts is for people to get the ridiculous idea out of your heads that we have great footballers and a great team. Absolute silly talk from people who don't go to games. When Murphy was in his prime he made us good but sadly our greatest ever player doesn't have as big an impact now. There were calls for him to be played at full forward we know now after yesterday why management wernt keen to play him there. No disrespect to Murphy there were a wall of players around him when he went for the ball as predicted by those of us who know football. Murphy had a bigger influence out the pitch. . Secondly a lot of yous calling yourselves supporters get a life, support yesterday was a joke players and management deserves better, they put in the work all year. Those of yous who wernt there are an embarrassment to this great county. I spoke to a few players and supporters last night they all were saying about how we deserve nothing . Totally agree bad when players talk about it.. the best part then idiots on social media giving there two penny's worth. As for management thanks for everything lads that's if yous decide to go. I'm glad players and management refused to speak to the local press . Especially the few scribes who are on ego trips and know very little about present day football."
I know people who went to every match this year but couldn't afford another trip to Clones or had other commitments. Match should have been held in Omagh. You are a very nasty individual and no different to those who trash the players and management.

Rolo2010 (National) - 13/06/2022 09:40:05

Donegal V Armagh (Qualifiers) - 7 Like(s)
Armagh deserved winners. Much better team on the day and not helped by Donegal imploding. But the conduct of the Armagh fans has been disgraceful. Those vuvuzelas or whatever they are called now should be banned. Counties should be fined for fans booing. Seen on social media that they were chanting 'Who are you' and other abusive chants at Murphy and McBearty. Go and watch soccer if you want to act like this.

Rolo2010 (National) - 12/06/2022 17:40:10

Jimmy's Winning Matches - 6 Like(s)

Replying To FiorDunach:  "If the rumour is true and Jim McGuiness is coming to Down we might as well pack it in. After having never missed a Down game ( apart from during the pandemic closure) home or away, Championship, League or McKenna Cup in good times and bad for the last 46 years, that's me done. Finito"
That's the spirit. A true supporter of your county.

Rolo2010 (National) - 09/11/2021 16:17:03

Bloody Sunday - 5 Like(s)

Replying To tireoghainabu:  " Thankfully you are in the minority as most reasonable people see re-unification as inevitable in the not too distant future. The six county state is a failed entity and nothing will ever change that. The new republic would be an economic powerhouse on the fringe of Europe and close ties to America."
Any poll in the Republic has always shown a strong majority of unification.

Rolo2010 (National) - 11/11/2020 14:41:32

Have We All Gone Mad? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To carlowman:  "[quote=Galway9801:  "[quote=carlowman:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "Not good, but definitely not illegal."
I think the fella on the radio today who spoke about publicans taking advice from the doctors hit the nail on the head. Who should we take advice from.... the publican or the doctor ? People need to wake up. The reality is that NPHET painted a very dim picture if we allow pubs etc to open. Advice has been given and is being followed. Think back to Christmas and January and Feb... leave us have a Christmas people said and look what happened... disaster almost with all of us having family or friends dying. Enough said. I think we can spend a little.more.time outside of the pitch for county matches and it will be worth ut if we can lead a.more normal.life later. And by the way, the pub can wait as well. Times are changing and the pub as we know it is changing.... we won't be visiting it as often as in the past even when they do reopen."]Almost all of us have family or friends dying? Irelands mortality rate for 2020 was 1% higher than 2019, yet in that year apparently almost all of us have watched family or friends die? I don't know anyone who even got ill from it, and I don't know anyone who knows anyone who died from it, so stop talking rubbish."]Things must be great in the West ! I know 5 people who have died.. I know at least 25 who have gotten it. Three who have had long covid and continue to suffer total lack of energy, headaches etc. Not very nice.. And do you know something... I don't get out that often. Perhaps you should count yourself lucky. So, please leave out the rubbish."]I don't know anyone who died from it so there you go.

Rolo2010 (National) - 29/06/2021 21:16:59

Non-Gaa Forum - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "Is there a more lowlife, cruel country than Britain? Doubt it, scandal after scandal. Now Windrush again."
Plenty. North Korea is a one man cult. The Saudis still behead people in public with a sword. PNG is the rape capital of the world. Oh and don't forget about the big one in Europe right now. Russia. You need to get your head checked if you think Britain comes anywhere close to being a cruel country. The Windrush thing isn't good but they have allowed millions to settle and make a new life for themselves.

Rolo2010 (National) - 23/06/2023 07:12:35

Anti GAA Agenda - 5 Like(s)

Replying To sam1884:  "I'm GAA first and foremost but have more than an interest in other sports including soccer and rugby. This means I read and follow the media attached to all sports and make no mistake the current campaign is nothing to do with Covid. Irish rugby is a farce; we're brainwashed into thinking the international rugby team touches every community in Ireland and we're one of the top international teams with a chance of becoming world champions. It's a complete farce; yes the team do fairly well; winning a few 6 nations in the years post world cup when all other nations are in transition planning for the next world cup year. Look at Ireland's record in WC years or at the WC itself; this is the only year every team is at peak and the same level of preparation and we're a very poor international team. Soccer to be fair is a national sport that genuinely touches every community in Ireland; our soccer team is poor but there is nothing like a successful international team - it doesn't happen often but the vast majority of the country feel genuine warmth to working class guys representing us and get behind it as a country. The mainstream media has been taken over by rugby fanatics; very much linked to the governments trying to make everything in the country middle class. There is a campaign to make rugby our national sport, it's all positive reports; nothing negative and after each awful WC year everything goes back how great rugby is. Yes Munster rugby touches working class areas but it will never be a national sport like the GAA or soccer. GAA in particular gets bad press from the media as I suspect they see us as more of a competitor. To the GAA people out there let the negativety and GAA bashing continue, they'll never achieve what they're trying to do as the GAA breaks down every class system and is the true national sport of Ireland no matter how much the rugby press dislike it."
RTE said rugby was the people's game. Shows you how deluded they are. But then that's what happens when you base yourselves in D4 and hire most of your presenters from the same area.

Rolo2010 (National) - 22/10/2020 01:27:38

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 5 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'd prefer to read a book over needlessly jeopardizing the health of our amateur players and their families because the GAA don't want to have the fallout of dealing with broadcasting rights"
Sure. You'll be watching if Dublin get to the final. NPHET said running the Championship was fine and the case numbers are slowly coming down so get off your high horse.

Rolo2010 (National) - 03/11/2020 12:07:55

Anti GAA Agenda - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "So because you are professional athlete you should be respectful of officials more than amateurs? Think respect of officials should be the same regardless of if you are paid to play a sport and a group of players and coaches hounding officials is far worse than 1 player"
How much are the IRFU paying you?

Rolo2010 (National) - 03/02/2022 19:10:04

Tailteann Cup 2022 - 4 Like(s)
Cavan already showing the flaws in this. Fermanagh put it up to Tyrone as well. Ulster should have a group stage. Let the other counties take part in this Micky Mouse competition if they want.

Rolo2010 (National) - 23/04/2022 18:51:51

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 4 Like(s)

Replying To moc.dna:  "You would imagine as you say that club celebrations would be different to inter County ones but I think it could be worse. People are going to gather to watch games on TV & have a few drinks, say if Mayo win the football or Wexford won the hurling, its not exactly going to be a tea party celebration. People need to start thinking outside of their bubble & outside the GAA bubble are companies that are not going to survive & go burst, people who will be long term unemployed, people who have died & where families have to decide who goes into the church & cemetery, people working on the front line who are exhausted from dealing with Covid cases, many people have had to deal with a multiple of the above. GAA people need to get their head down from their hole & think of others, especially those who suffered bereavements. I agree with you re the reputational damage but I think that's already happened with the clusters from club celebrations, we have seen that locally in Galway . Let's not forget that many of those involved at club celebrations nationwide were inter County players some of whom were certain professions, so if they couldn't control themselves then, its highly unlikely they will after winning an All Ireland. The GAA membership & supporters are now directly responsible for large clusters nationwide & one of the reasons we are heading to Level 5, so reputational damage is already done. Interesting that there isn't a peep from John Horan, now that they got €20 Million from Govt, they are going to plough on with things regardless. Interesting also that the only ones you see in the media driving it are the Kerry, Mayo & Meath bucks who have vested interests through their print media & TV sidelines. These guys have no more interest in mental health that they keep espousing, its all about the dineros."
NPHET said the Championships can go ahead and I'd rather listen to them instead of some sore Galway fan who just watched their team get battered by Mayo.

Rolo2010 (National) - 20/10/2020 19:51:56

The Mcguinness / Kelly Proposal - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jacktheboy:  "McGuinness has destroyed Gaelic Football once before, keep him away from any proposals."
His proposal is good and no Donegal man would say this so why lie to people about the county you are from.

Rolo2010 (National) - 27/10/2021 09:29:27

GAA Funding And Fairness - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Yes that should be case but clubs/counties can and should be able to pay for their own on top and you cant exactly have it per number of clubs when there is in plenty of areas some clubs who are football or hurling only in same parish. cant be used as fair compariso"
Sorry. We can't be rich like the Dublin super clubs or your beloved sport.

Rolo2010 (National) - 23/11/2020 16:28:09

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "boycotting is the wrong way to say it, but iv no interest in watching games,"
You're better off given how Wexford played at the weekend.

Rolo2010 (National) - 03/11/2020 19:29:49

Non-Gaa Forum - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Breffni40:  "Can you let me know where trans people fit in to your hierarchy of human rights? Do you have a league table? If it's all down to biology then dna and ethnicity is also a factor in your standard for human rights? What kind of biological entity is the most human in your opinion?"
It is all down to biology. You are getting there.

Rolo2010 (National) - 08/02/2023 16:47:04

Bloody Sunday - 3 Like(s)

Replying To essmac:  "Speak for yourself mate."
Nobody serious in Ireland wants a federal Europe.

Rolo2010 (National) - 21/11/2020 19:53:12

Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Gas considering the amount of stuff posted about Mayo on here seems fair game but having a discussion about things which are known within Donegal GAA circles seems off limits. I am genuinely interested in what people think but feel free to bury your head in the sand if you want and dismiss it as rumours. But it isn't."
It is all rumors because anyone within the management isn't talking and rightly so. The treatment of Carr shows why so many people don't want to get involved in management. Your name is dragged through the mud from the start. You attack people fir waiting until the first game to have an opinion but I think that us fine. Only judge what you can see. Carr may not be good enough but he put his hand up and is doing it for the right reasons and deserves a chance to prove himself.

Rolo2010 (National) - 29/01/2023 18:56:48

Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You are in Donegal, you either know the full details around the appointment or else your head is in the sand. A former manager was ready to be part of 2 separate tickets but politics got in the way. As I said plenty of people know this. You think I am not aware of our past issues ? They were discussed plenty on here. I am not some lad stoking controversy. Surely to god plenty of people know this."
Which has nothing to do with Carr. Unless you think he personally set out to deny Kavanagh the job. Donegal board is rife with politics like every other county. Meath and Kerry come to mind for their recent actions. Anyway, Carr was appointed and most people within the county are willing to give him a chance and won't drag his name through the mud. Perhaps Mayo has a different attitude.

Rolo2010 (National) - 29/01/2023 19:01:37

Tailteann Cup 2022 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "The league is an equal opportunities provider. Teams have to progress through the league and they will be rewarded. The 2022 Tailteann Cup winner will qualify for the 2023 All-Ireland Football Championship Final 16 Group Stage. That's a big reward."
League is meaningless as shown by Cavan today. Easy for a Kerryman to say this. And befor you drone on about the Joe McDonagh. Nobody cares about it outside of a few hurling fanatics like Buff Egan. Leinster championship is poorer for having Laois and Westmeath in it. Who benefited from that today? Those counties will only progess when they have the right structures in place with adequate funding.

Rolo2010 (National) - 23/04/2022 19:34:25

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "Ah yeh complete disaster how we gave up home advantage, beginning to look like a costly mistake. Should have dug the heels in."
Dug the heels in to who? London didn't request any change in venue.

Rolo2010 (National) - 14/03/2022 16:12:41