Donegal Forum

Popular Posts from DLlegends

Nobody Likes Us But We Don't Care. - 14 Like(s)
Don't see the problem. They are right. Nobody likes them. Comon Monaghan.

DLlegends (National) - 28/07/2021 21:52:54

NFL Division 1 - 9 Like(s)
Fair play Tyrone. Two valuable points. Dogged it out. But Jaysus unsavoury incidents follow this team aroundlike a bad smell.

DLlegends (National) - 29/02/2020 21:56:09

That Tyrone/Armagh Row - 6 Like(s)
Ah here nothing much in the row. Four reds for Tyrone ridiculous. IMO Gough to blame. Let's far too much non tackling technique stuff go during a game until eventually it escalates. Huge Agenda against Tyrone. Seen far worse melees during league games involving Dublin and or Kerry and Sunday game panelists will laugh it off then move on. Good to see P. Harte actually stick up for himself.

DLlegends (National) - 07/02/2022 08:34:30

Croke Park Stewards - 6 Like(s)

Replying To OpenStand:  "At last years all ireland there were many Limerick supporters who attempted to go on field manhandled and hurt by over aggressive stewards which some might say was their own fault but today Tom Parsons was prevented from joining the Mayo Panel by stewards who haven't a clue who he was ?? Two other incidents i spotted today, entering the ground at Davin End a woman with 2 children was having her ruck sack pulled apart by a very heavy handed inner city looking woman, apparently the supporter hadn't declared 2 cans of fanta in her bag and was getting the third degree in front of her frightened children. Before the hurling match a waterford slithor flew over the nets and a young lad towards the back of the stand managed to catch it, immediately some mad looking steward ran after him chasing him towards the back of stand before pulling slithor off the young lad , many people booed the steward but none challenged him as the steward looked as if he was only looking for someone to do a bit of martial arts on. If you didn't know any better you'd think the stewards were from some loyalist housing estate in Belfast ( maybe they are!), its true for Joe Brolly Croke Park has lost touch with the grassroots, these stewards might be appropriate at rock concerts in croke park but all this heavy handedness with average GAA supporters is gone ridiculous."
Maybe you can tell what an "inner city looking woman" looks like. WTF.

DLlegends (National) - 31/03/2019 22:19:49

Kerry V Tyrone - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Green_Gold:  "This is very harsh, average players? Cathal McShane, Mattie Donnelly, Peter Harte, Colm Cavanagh, Naill Sludden & Ronan McNamee are really top players. Granted they could do with another couple of corner forwards but they are far from an average bunch of players. Mickey does have to shoulder some blame as well, for example Lee Brennan leaving the squad, again hardly an average player, has the making of a top class forward if faith was shown in him. I am not saying they have the same calibre of player as Dublin but sure who has."
Peter Harte, Colm Cavanagh and Ronan McNamee are not top players. Good players yes but not top. Peter Harte always flatters to deceive. Goes missing in too many games. I did find it amusing that Thomas O Shea highlights the rough treatment that Sean O Shea gets during games a few weeks back. However not a word this week from the Sunday Games on the treatment he was dishing out to Peter Harte. Major bias showing at times.

DLlegends (National) - 12/08/2019 11:23:52

NFL Division 1 - 5 Like(s)
Small did what Small had to do. I would have him in my team everyday. Didnt lose us that game. Every team needs a few John Smalls.

DLlegends (National) - 22/02/2020 21:28:01

Mayo V Dublin - 4 Like(s)
Mayo have no kick out strategy whatsoever which will be there down fall in this game IMO. They are putting a lot of emphasis on AOS and if he has a bad game then they are gossed, a la Killarney. Dublin to attack the wings and bypass Aidan. The week turnaround will be too much, which is a farce by the way. CON for man of the match. Dublin by 4.

DLlegends (National) - 07/08/2019 21:04:25

Football Top 10 - 4 Like(s)
1. Donegal. Couldn't give a sh1te after that!!!!

DLlegends (National) - 14/07/2017 19:31:59

Mayo V Meath - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'll be in Castlebar Gleebo mixing with all the lovely natives, my point re AOS is very relevant, he goes missing when the chips are down,for a man of his size he looks lost at midfield at times, Moran gave an exhibition of how to play midfield the last day and also swing over some great scores, I can hardly ever rem AOS scoring though he must have got a few points over the years, the ship is sinking Gleebo and ye never reached the destination, sad enough story."
I think your rather harsh there with your criticism. I've seen AOS have many a good game. Last week management had obviously told him not to pair up with Moran. He also has a more defensive minded midfield role within Mayos squad today. I think the problem with Mayo is that they want him to play everywhere. I don't think I'll forget the second half performance he had against Murphy in the league a few years ago. Completely negated his influence. Talk of sinking ships is a poor comment. We in Donegal have had pundits and media foreseeing the sinking of the Donegal ship into the great abyss for many a year recently, so showing a bit of humility might be nice. Mayo have plenty for the future from what I've seen throughout the league. I'll tell ye one thing we might just take notice on Castlebar.

DLlegends (National) - 19/07/2019 19:48:41

12 weeks for Connolly. Is a GAA Witch Hunt in progress? - 4 Like(s)
Forget what has happened in the past. For me it comes down fo what type of an association do we want to be involved in???? DC is one of the most recognisable faces and names for the younger members of our association. My young boy kicks ball most days, and loves to dream of being a Michael Murphy, DC or a Sean Cavanagh. He sees something then copies it. Good and bad! Players have a responsibility to play the game in the right ethos, IMO. Laying a hand on an official is out of order end off. I would love if Jim Gavin, (who I might add makes a point of telling us in most interviews that Dublin play the game the right way), would come out and say that DC was wrong. He deserves a punishment and we will stand by what is decided by the CCCC. We are on a slippery slope. A line needs to be drawn in the sand by all of us, we should never accept this type of behaviour. Unfortunately we all know what is most likely to happen!!!

DLlegends (National) - 07/06/2017 14:21:11

Best Player From Your County You Ever Seen - 3 Like(s)
Michael Murphy. Best play in my county and the other 31.

DLlegends (National) - 21/08/2021 18:05:26

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 3 Like(s)
Special time the week before an All Ireland. Good luck to both teams, hope Tyrone win but think Mayo will. Enjoy both sets of supporters.

DLlegends (National) - 06/09/2021 17:03:36

Ulster Championship - 3 Like(s)
I can't believe posters are giving out about Bonner not telling the world that some key men are injured!!! Of course he won't. I'm pleased that it was kept in camp also. From the game itself. We were lack luster at times. Although its hard to keep firing when the opposition are so poor. Murphy excellent as was Ward and Langan. Two Brennans played well also. Paddy and Ryan off the pace but will only improve. Nice to see a kick out strategy in place. Derry will be a tough test. S. Cavanagh saying last night that Donegal in an Ulster Final. Mind games no doubt.

DLlegends (Donegal) - 14/05/2018 09:10:48

Kerry V Tyrone - 3 Like(s)
Westkerry people in glass houses and all that.

DLlegends (National) - 08/08/2019 16:24:35

2019 Division 1 League Final. - 3 Like(s)
Just a side note. I'm not bashing A O Shea but while he had a good game he does silly stupid things. That second yellow was childish. Had Clifford scored that late chance and Kerry win he would have been crucified. For me he needs to grow up a bit. Well done Mayo.

DLlegends (National) - 31/03/2019 18:07:19

Dublin VS Donegal - 3 Like(s)
I love the way supporters complain about a cheap shot. I have seen MM many a time hit a man with a fore arm around the head and the solar plexus. Never a word said about it. I have also seen Aidan o Mahoney punch, kick and mouth at a player for 70 minutes while not playing football at all. Not a word said about it. At times I think supporters can be selective at what they highlight.

DLlegends (National) - 11/02/2018 17:26:15

12 weeks for Connolly. Is a GAA Witch Hunt in progress? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To hill16no1man:  "So should Brendan Murphy come out and hold his hands up and take a ban for verbally abusing the same official in the same game? Is he not setting a bad example for kids in Carlow who look up to him?"
I know what you mean. But in all seriousness, you are always going to have disgruntled players voicing their distaste at being sent off. I have no issue with that, unless it is in a derogatory fashion. But laying a hand on an official is not on. End off. We are at a very delicate crossroads in GAA, which is built upon respect, inclusiveness and grassroots. It is all our responsibility to hold our hands up and say I'm not standing for that. The culture of win at all costs is turning kids and parents away in their droves to other sports. The GAA needs to stand tall and say " abusing officials is not us". This is not part of the sport that I love and respect. Believe me I know where Dub supporters are coming from. If it was MM, would I gave the same response. Well I can honestly say yes. Sometimes the hardest thing to do is the right thing to do.

DLlegends (National) - 07/06/2017 15:52:22

Murphy v EOG - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Alano, who's pretending that we're angels? I've no problem calling out any Dublin player for dirty tactics whether that be biting, off the ball digs, sledging or whatever but let's not all be hands around the world about Donegal's tactics on Connolly yesterday either just because we won. It has to be called out. He was targeted and to a level that I haven't seen before. It doesn't really matter at this stage in the context of our progress because we won out but something needs to be done anout it. Lee Keegan seems to have mastered this art also."
Joxer Connolly got the same treatment yesterday that MM, AOS, Ryan Mc Hugh, Diarmuid O Connor et al get in most games. Watch the game again and take a look at Philly acrtions during the game. But you do have a sound point underneath it all. There needs to be more retrospective action taking against players who dish out special treatment to oppoistion players. On another note. His two points from both feet were a joy to behold.

DLlegends (National) - 07/08/2016 11:11:51

Mayo V Kerry - 2 Like(s)
Cliffords free in the first half. OMG what a score. I borrow a soccer phrase used many moons ago "take a bow son, take a bow". Outstanding.

DLlegends (National) - 14/07/2019 17:44:37

Kerry V Donegal - 2 Like(s)
Good game. Thought O Baoill did well when he came on, as did Gallen. The replacement for Kerry Sherwood made a difference for Kerry when introduced. Thought our forced Substitutions meant our legs were gone late on in the game. Some battle now in Castlebar in two weeks. Winner takes all. Mayo and ourselves will relish the two week break. And why does Colm O Rourke feel the need to stick the boot into Clifford. Spouting on about how his coronation will need to be withheld for another while. He scored three important points today.

DLlegends (National) - 21/07/2019 18:58:45