Donegal Forum

Popular Posts from Scenicparish

Monaghan GAA thread - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Up4it.:  "I agree... they'll be out of their depth with the big teams."
A bit like Tyrone.......

Scenicparish (National) - 01/07/2023 21:48:19

Donegal GAA thread - 6 Like(s)

Replying To peiledoir20:  "I think a lot of people knew #13 was no where near the level but Sunday confirmed it."
I wouldn't call you a Donegal supporter singling out a player like that. In fact your a disgrace. A few players played below par on Sunday but don't forget it's some of those players first competitive match since the senior championship last year. Others like the player you mentioned is back from a serious injury and it's great to see those players get game time. I thought Donegal played very well on Sunday as a lot of those players never played together before against a very strong Tyrone team. Other supporters like you single out Hugh Mc Fadden for criticism and I thought he played very well on Sunday. I thrust the Manager, he is there at all the training sessions and picks the team. Your time would be far better spent supporting the team rather than picking out the negatives. When Donegal are doing so well there is always people like you trying to drag the Team and Management down.

Scenicparish (National) - 18/03/2025 15:08:46

Does Ulster Championship Benefit Ulster Teams? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Temple56:  "Dublin 4/5? Are you mad? They won six All Irelands in row and no one in Ulster got near them in that time! Dublin would have won the last 10 Ulster's at a canter. No Ulster team have beat Dublin in championship since 2014! It's not nice to hear because yee up in Ulster think it's a great competition which it is! However, if Dublin were in it over the last 10 years it would be in the same position as Leinster at the moment"
Your posting absolute nonsense. Dublin won All Ireland's in a row because they only had to peak for a few weeks during the year. In Ulster teams have to be competitive far earlier and teams in Ulster don't have the luxury of using their provisional championship as challenge matches to get up to speed when the real competitive matches come along.

Scenicparish (National) - 01/05/2024 09:08:49

Donegal GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Fantastic engine and an exciting talent. Hopefully glenties/fintown won't try claim he's theirs too….. Not sure if he b a corner back- his best qualities are in the attacking half of the field. It's interesting watching the messiah trying to find his best role - he's tried him at half forward , midfield and half back. He clearly rates him and wants him in the team - just trying to find out where to get the maximum return"
Still not over the beatings from the County Champions for the past 2 years. You are a very sore looser.....

Scenicparish (National) - 02/03/2024 19:47:33

Donegal GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To eunans4ever:  "When and where are glenties / Fintown out in ulster club action ??"
If you enter the proper name, Naomh Conaill you will see the fixture for yourself......

Scenicparish (National) - 07/11/2023 14:11:55

Donegal GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Massive congrats to Glenties/Fintown - worthy champions. The ballybofey Doherty's along with Ethan and Ciaran Thomo were simply fantastic. Great to see them actually go all out yesterday - difficult to understand why they don't do it more regular as they are well capable. One big factor that stood out for me yesterday was their level of conditioning, sharpness along with unreal fitness levels - massive compliment to the st Eunans fitness coach in the camp. Best of luck in ulster.."
That post doesn't deserve a reply. Sore looser

Scenicparish (National) - 23/10/2023 14:41:30

Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To crafty:  "Galway seem to be happy to be there. They don't look like a team with belief. Players just not good enough."
My God what is wrong with ya?

Scenicparish (National) - 29/06/2024 19:52:22

Donegal GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I love how lads waited to see how today went and are now replying as it's safe. Carr was never the man for the job. Never said that was his fault. Murphy would still be there if the thing was handled differently and other men had got the job. People close to the ground will tell you that. One win at home against a shadow Kerry team doesn't make a summer."
I don't know where your getting your information but it's total rubbish. Murphy has stated that he made up his mind in June to retire this year. Rory had committed to the Donegal job and then changed his mind because of the County Final result. Paddy Carr deserves his chance. Of course Kerry were short players today but Donegal had quite a few new faces today as well. Delighted for the young players, today will do wonders for their confidence. Of course it's only the first match of the year but retaining out Division 1 status is very important and two points today is a great boost for the rest of the league campaign.

Scenicparish (National) - 29/01/2023 18:36:05

Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To rorysboys:  "I said defenders not full back line. My point being we don't have top man to man markers to get us to the top.our half backs are all fine players going forward but bar eoin ban are they really good defenders.."
Is the full back line not part of the defence? You think Owen Ban is the only good man to man marker in the county? You obviously dont go to many matches within the county. There are plenty of good defenders in the county. Managers and backroom team need to go to club matches and find the defenders.

Scenicparish (National) - 29/03/2023 10:56:45

Replying To WestRules:  "I think there needs to be some kind of rational thinking applied here. Repeatedly using words like brilliant is a kind going overboard when describing the performance and players. From a neutral point of view, the game was interesting because of the closeness of the score tally but if we take away the rose-tinted glasses there were glaring shortcomings and mistakes by both sides. To me, Armagh were the more energetic and opportunistic but didn't avail of their lead to put Donegal's ambitions to bed. At the end of the day, this was just a provincial championship final where two reasonable teams (not brilliant as suggested) exercised their skills to the best of their ability but both are a far cry from the level needed to make an impact in the All Ireland championship where the Dubs, Kerry, Galway and Mayo which have a status that pale teams from Ulster into insignificance with the exception maybe of Derry."
I think you are digging a hole for yourself. If you think the quality of the Connacht final was better than the Ulster final yesterday then you have Connacht tinted glasses on. Even in score taking alone there was a difference in day and night. Galway will get a major wake up call next weekend.........

Scenicparish (National) - 13/05/2024 12:58:32

Replying To HandballRef:  "Gary McDaid used to love talking about how small Glenswilly was. 300 families. He used to throw that into alot of his interviews. Maybe that's where the myth of Glenswilly being the smallest parish came from. Plenty of clubs with a smaller pick than Glenswilly going by the last census. (Rounded to the nearest hundred for handiness). Pettigo - 600 Na Rossa - 800 Kilcar - 1300 Naomh Columba - 1500 Naomh Ultan - 1600 Glenfin - 1600 Robert Emmet's - 2000 (taking into account those on the Donegal side that would fall into Urneys area) Naomh Bríd - 2100 Naomh Conaill - 2300 (Huge parish geographically, with a sparce population) Glenswilly - 2500 Downings, Fanad, Red Hugh's all in around 2700."
eunans4ever wrong again.....

Scenicparish (National) - 09/03/2024 17:39:25

All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry - 3 Like(s)

Replying To totalrecall:  "went in to his umpires on because fitzsimons jumped up and down until he did........dublin should have had a 45 in the first half and kerry one in the second, mccarthy should have got 2 yellows and the challenge on ryan in the first half deserved a red...........don't buy in to this nonsense that gough was good, he was poor"
Totally disagree with you, Gough was excellent yesterday. He let the play go every chance he got, he consulted umpires whenever he needed to. It's the umpires job to give 45's.

Scenicparish (National) - 31/07/2023 19:36:03

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "I have to say, in all the battles we've had with Donegal in the last decade, the good relations between both sets of fans have never waivered. Always a pleasure to share a stadium with the Tir Chonaill people, recently in Omagh being no exception. The contrast with the Tyrone-Armagh rivalry is stark; yesterday was like a proxy war in Croke Park between those two. They really don't like each other at all!"
100% agree, always great banter between both sets of supporters. Admire greatly Mc Manus & Beggan, great servants for Monaghan. To get to an All Ireland semi final is an incredible achievement for this group of players. Vinny Corey gave a great interview after the match as well. Enjoy the build up to the next 2 weeks. Days like these dont come around often.......

Scenicparish (National) - 02/07/2023 13:52:04

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sure I'm only saying what a lot of people are saying. Some of the young lads deserved a run out in croker too."
I trust the Manager and the Backroom Team to do the right thing by the Team. I never heard anyone comment on our substitutes.

Scenicparish (National) - 02/04/2024 17:40:09

Replying To sligo joe:  "I can't either, when any of us opened a HS account we were asked for a user name I.e sligo joe (as I live in County Sligo) and we were asked to provide our County in brackets, in my case (DUBLIN) Plain for all to see after each post!"
Well done today. Great Sligo victory.

Scenicparish (National) - 15/06/2024 20:46:29

All Ireland Football Championship 2025 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Foreverblue2 can't post as he's stuck in traffic outside Castlebar."
I'd say he is 2 hours from Castlebar and never got closer all day....

Scenicparish (National) - 18/05/2025 21:02:48

Senior Football Championship 2024 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "Thank god for the hurling."
If you don't want to watch the football don't bother. Switch the tv off.

Scenicparish (National) - 09/07/2024 21:34:01

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sitting back reading the posts it's the same old story. I seen too many false dawns. We need to respect every team it's Cavan or Tyrone next have we a given right to beat them no we don't we'll have to perform again. From speaking to few knowledgeable gaa men last night they were all saying the hype will be starting now look what happened Derry when they believed things that were being said about them.. as I said cool the jets it's only an Ulster quarter final.. as for the posters targeting me kop on I m as much a Donegal man as most of yous. Petty little people having a go after a great win. Next Sunday will probably be most of yous first game all year. lol."
I dont see anyone getting too carried away, just enjoying the great victory last night. We are so starved of Championship success for a good few years. Next Sunday is a quick turnaround and I dont think anyone is under any illusion that it will take a huge effort again just to get to an Ulster Final. We are however optimistic again as we have the Master at the helm again.

Scenicparish (National) - 21/04/2024 15:50:06

Replying To rorysboys:  "Darragh canavan. Mattie Donnelly. Mc curry. And young canavan destroyed us forget about the runners.. they won every ball that went in. To be back competing at the highest level we need players like the Mc gees and Lacey's who can mark. I was sitting beside where Darragh canavan got the ball to score that brilliant point in the second half . He won his own ball and took his man on, no need for any runners. Marty Donnelly kicked 3 points and there wasn't a hand laid on him. You were on here last week saying how great a defence we had all due to correct management. What planet are you on. I never criticise any individual I'm just saying what I'm saying this last few years we need to unearth defenders , one of the problems is we have too many small players but we don't have the big physical players who can defend and attack if needed.. in fairness to players and management we were down a lot of players but the county board must take the blame for that especially the way they operated finding a new manager. Every body wanted change but maybe some players didn't. I'm very disappointed this morning we as donegal fans deserve better than what happened this year. A few more things heads have to roll if we want lacey back, our underage teams are way off at the moment when you see a county like Monaghan in a minor final a county with half the population we have, what is wrong . Donegal football is in a bad place at the moment my hope is that a few individuals on the board will step down for the good of Donegal football if not it'll be a long time till we reach croke park again."
Why do you continually target the defence? You think the goalkeeper played well yesterday? You think our midfield and 2 of our half forwards played well yesterday? We had 3 defenders making their debut for Donegal this year, Curran, McColgan and Docherty. These lads deserve a bit of support, not constant criticism from people like yourself. They are good players but lack a bit of experience at this level. It will take a couple of years to get a panel of players in place to compete with the likes of Tyrone. I didn't know which Tyrone team would turn up yesterday but they certainly brought their A game. Their powerful running caused us huge problems. They are a seasoned team that won an All Ireland a few years ago. They will take beating for the rest of the championship.

Scenicparish (National) - 25/06/2023 15:12:09

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Why are you looking for a reason to be offended ?? The club covers the area of Fintown and glenties - what's the issue ? The great Brian Mc Eniff calls us letterkenny all the time and it doesn't matter one jot. Glenties / Fintown are not a small town club - they have one of the biggest catchment areas in the county. What obvious advantages do I have ?"
It's very simple, call our Club by its proper name, Naomi Conaill. I always refer to your Club as St Eunans. Don't get me started with catchment areas. Your Club have a huge catchment area. You also have the added advantage of players coming from all over Ireland through their work.

Scenicparish (National) - 21/06/2023 16:40:26