Under 21s

Replying To kildare blue:  "I am not sure if much was gained from last night's hammering. Sad to see any team take such a hiding. It can't be easy to keep under age going in small populated counties."
Yeah it was of no benefit for both teams. Great crowd last night in Brewster. Very hard to judge this Cavan team on that performance. They were let play

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 16/03/2017 09:51:11    1967472

You would like to think we can get a few good quality seniors from these U21s ,good forwards like TE Donohoe,Caoimhin Reilly,Ryan Connolly,McKenna plus Thomas Galligan for a big mobile athletic midfielder who can play too.Add in David Brady and Conor Bradley,these lads hopefully will be going to the senior panel over the next 12 months. Donegal,Kerry ,Tyrone are bringing U21s to senior set up quickly and are getting them integrated and blooded at senior county level to ensure freshness on panel and competition for starting places while rebuilding over a two year period .I suppose we will learn more about the calibre of the U21s during the Tyrone/Donegal game,sure to be good old fashioned Ulster stuff proper,our defence had a bit of a picnic last night,so hard to judge at this time.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 16/03/2017 10:15:50    1967481

Faulkner a big loss for us. Hopefully it clears up fully soon. Anyone read Mattie's interview in the Celt? Thought it was good, a different tone to his TV interview after the game. Would be great to see the improvement in performance he alludes to for the remaining 3 games.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 16/03/2017 11:35:20    1967518

Hard to judge from last night but Reilly looks like a good forward in the making. I liked the look of Magee up front too. Big, mobile and direct, something which we don't really have at senior but again hard to judge as his marker may not have been up to much. Hopefully he can be as effective in the next game. Thought Cormac Daly was excellent in the middle and a great prospect. Galligan looks good but needs to be cuter and drop the bad habits. Overall we looked very snappy and gave Fermanagh players no time at all. Next game is the real test regardless of who it is and it would be great to see a big performance from the lads.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 16/03/2017 11:54:45    1967524

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Faulkner a big loss for us. Hopefully it clears up fully soon. Anyone read Mattie's interview in the Celt? Thought it was good, a different tone to his TV interview after the game. Would be great to see the improvement in performance he alludes to for the remaining 3 games."
Sorry, wrong thread

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 16/03/2017 11:55:15    1967525

Can anybody who was at under 21 game confirm if Conor Bradley did come on as sub for Mattie McKenna. The report on the Irish Indo today and Hoganstand states that it was Jason McMahon who came on for McKenna and scored 2 pts. Wearecavan lads had it that it was Bradley who was introduced in the second half.

Virginiablue75 (Cavan) - Posts: 27 - 16/03/2017 13:12:31    1967557

Replying To Virginiablue75:  "Can anybody who was at under 21 game confirm if Conor Bradley did come on as sub for Mattie McKenna. The report on the Irish Indo today and Hoganstand states that it was Jason McMahon who came on for McKenna and scored 2 pts. Wearecavan lads had it that it was Bradley who was introduced in the second half."
I don't know either lad but McMahon was listed at 24 and it was 24 that came on. Bradley wasn't listed among the subs.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 16/03/2017 13:38:01    1967569

Replying To Virginiablue75:  "Can anybody who was at under 21 game confirm if Conor Bradley did come on as sub for Mattie McKenna. The report on the Irish Indo today and Hoganstand states that it was Jason McMahon who came on for McKenna and scored 2 pts. Wearecavan lads had it that it was Bradley who was introduced in the second half."
No didn't come on and pretty sure he wasn't listed. Reading today's Celt it says he's not on the panel.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 16/03/2017 13:43:30    1967574

I was at the game and Con Bradley did come on.Some subs weren't wearing right number.he was back for bonding session couple of weekends ago and was home since Friday for Ramors medal night.Great to have in reserve.

CR7 (Cavan) - Posts: 125 - 16/03/2017 14:36:53    1967590

Looked like Conor Bradley, moved like Conor Bradley, scored like Conor Bradley, methinks t'was Conor Bradley

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 16/03/2017 15:11:09    1967603

We might have a couple of forwards at last. Two big strong mobile footballers midfield as well. Next day be a bigger challenge though.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 16/03/2017 16:04:06    1967620

Replying To ramor101:  "Looked like Conor Bradley, moved like Conor Bradley, scored like Conor Bradley, methinks t'was Conor Bradley"
Did the announcer call it? Can't remember seeing or hearing his name.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 16/03/2017 16:56:27    1967643

A good win last night but Fermanagh really are poor at this level. I don't think they have scored more than 5/6 points at this level in their opening games in the last 3 years. But you can only beat what's in front of you so fair play to the team and management.

Donegal/Tyrone are sure to target Thomas Galligan, Caoimhin O'Reilly and Magee. So much of Cavan's good play went through them. They will need to be able to deal with that and the lads around them will need to step it up.

In 2010 we got to the final, were unprepared for Donegal's defensive plan and their gamesmanship, the management and the players learned from it and came back in 2011 with a perfect game plan and beat Donegal in the semi. This year we will possibly face Tyrone again, it will be a test of how the management and players can learn from last year's loss. We will have 2 games to analyse the opposition which can only help management in coming up with a plan.

The real tests will come from now on, they need to make all that talent count for something. Can't wait for the Semi-Final.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 16/03/2017 18:26:51    1967654

Looked like Conor Bradley, moved like Conor Bradley, scored like Conor Bradley, methinks t'was Conor Bradley

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 17/03/2017 02:28:57    1967736

Donegal next Wednesday! I look forward to that, I'd say it will be a tight encounter

patman92 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 23/03/2017 11:33:41    1970326

Replying To patman92:  "Donegal next Wednesday! I look forward to that, I'd say it will be a tight encounter"
Hope so but that's a serious Donegal outfit. Big and very mobile. They fairly can go through the gears, defend very well but when they commit to attack they go all out. They also put serious pressure on the kick outs so that is something we will have to get very right. Jamie Brennan looks a cracking player and will take some watching. It will be very interesting to see how we get on because we are really up against it. They are battle hardened from McKenna Cup, Division 1 League and 2 tough games with Tyrone and you would imagine they will be given a rest this weekend. So if we can stay with them or even nick it that would be a huge statement from our lads.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 23/03/2017 11:58:56    1970346

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Hope so but that's a serious Donegal outfit. Big and very mobile. They fairly can go through the gears, defend very well but when they commit to attack they go all out. They also put serious pressure on the kick outs so that is something we will have to get very right. Jamie Brennan looks a cracking player and will take some watching. It will be very interesting to see how we get on because we are really up against it. They are battle hardened from McKenna Cup, Division 1 League and 2 tough games with Tyrone and you would imagine they will be given a rest this weekend. So if we can stay with them or even nick it that would be a huge statement from our lads."
Ye I agree that it will be very tough but I am hopeful to be honest. Hopefully it's not false hope but I think Cavan can put up at worst a good challenge. Galligan and the lads around the middle will have to be in tip top shape off the kickouts and the forwards will need to be clinical.

patman92 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 23/03/2017 13:08:15    1970380

Replying To patman92:  "Ye I agree that it will be very tough but I am hopeful to be honest. Hopefully it's not false hope but I think Cavan can put up at worst a good challenge. Galligan and the lads around the middle will have to be in tip top shape off the kickouts and the forwards will need to be clinical."
The very best of luck to the u21s tomorrow night wednesday. Donegal are being backed to the hilt but i think we will beat them . Come on cavan .

Breffinifan (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 28/03/2017 22:54:05    1972584

Best of luck to Cavan tonight. Hopefully will be as good a crowd as two weeks ago.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 29/03/2017 08:35:51    1972623

Heard Donegal TV or some such local channel streamed the Tyrone replay live, anyone know anything about that? could it be done again tonight for those of us affected by the bus strike

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 29/03/2017 10:04:33    1972640