National League 2017

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Awwwwnow. Did you ever consider going down the route of motivational speaking? I really think you could be something special ."
Hardtimes, have you ever tried realism?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 27/11/2016 14:15:29    1936932

Sean

Stay positive! God willing you will come through your health issues.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 27/11/2016 14:55:55    1936939

Is Brian O Connell u21 for next year

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 27/11/2016 18:40:53    1936977

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "Hardtimes, have you ever tried realism?"
To be honest with you Ned I neither write or paint. The question actually surprises me and I'm curious as to why you ask.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 28/11/2016 08:13:38    1937026

Brían o Connell is U21 next year

CR7 (Cavan) - Posts: 125 - 28/11/2016 10:42:09    1937053

Replying To CR7:  "Brían o Connell is U21 next year"
Brian O'Connell was not part of the Minor Panel in 2014 so maybe not eligible for u21 next year.

Virginiablue75 (Cavan) - Posts: 27 - 28/11/2016 17:20:38    1937116

Replying To seanorinn:  "Reformation (Cavan) - Posts:191 - 25/11/2016 13:43:46 1936679

McKenna cup is a nothing competition and I hope the boss uses it to play with a mixed squad new players the current players and potential panel players only way forward."
Sean, you may recall that same McKenna cup that you are ridiculing, gave us the consistency in the team last year and there were not many changes from the 2nd/3rd McKenna cup game to the league campaign - remember, the one which got us promoted to division 1??? I don't agree that it is a nothing competition as that implies that it has zero worth. Of course it does, it gives us a chance to look at players and form the nucleus of our starting 15 for the league campaign and also building a 30 man squad. So actually, i completely disagree with you and I believe a good run in the McKenna cup gives us momentum and serves a good purpose. It also gives new players the chance to put their hand up. We are not Dublin etc. who are on a hiding to nothing with these competitions so there is no point going around with that attitude.

We should, as supporters, also be looking to help the team with momentum and we should be encouraging people to go and have a look at the team. So what if its not a major competition? The true Cavan fans will be there anyway.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 28/11/2016 18:25:31    1937122

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Sean O Rinn do you not think there enough underage football being played without giving minors a back door.. more games.."
it's not the games that burn the players out, it's the constant training. no need for half of it.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 29/11/2016 11:57:14    1937197

Draw for McKenna Cup tomorrow night.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 29/11/2016 12:33:54    1937212

Totally agree with Reformation about Mc Kenna Cup etc. A man talking sense.
It will be an ideal way for Mattie to look at fringe players and get his starting League team into shape. The only way you can access players is in competitive game situations. Look what Tyrone have been doing over the last few years. They dont think it is a mickey mouse competition. And they go out to win it !!
There will be plenty of players trying to stake claims for starting berths. And I suppose this is testament to Terry and his mentors great work over the years. He built a squad not just a 15 man team.
I would be optimistic about our chances as I was optimistic last year when I said "we would surprise a lot of people". A lot of the negative boys disagreed and I see they are out early and Mattie has hardly been here a wet day.
If Mattie can replicate the success he had at Scotstown and Monaghan Harps again I will say it, we will surprise a lot of people this year.
People are giving out about the players that left. Remember Mackey was only a sub for most of the Lge and F.Flanagan got injured in Navan and missed the rest of the Lge. Keating again was only a sub and it seems his form has slipped alarmingly so really Givney is probably the only loss. Yet somebody like young David Brady or even Adrian Cole could do a similar job. The return of Cullivan could free Gearoid to fill the centre forward role he filled so well in the Lge. Hopefully Liam Buchanan will be back soon and Mossy will always do a job. I see a bigger role for lads like Gerry Smith, Tom Hayes so all in all things are not as bleak as some of the naysayers would tell us.
As a Cavan fan havent we some brilliant games to look forward to in 2017. Dubs at home Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal and our old friends Monagahan in Blaney. I really think these Cavan players will relish these games.
Onwards and upwards !!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 29/11/2016 12:36:23    1937213

usual pre season twaddle about who should be playing what the manager should and should not do.
Suggesting playing young boys in a senior team and older lads who would not stick the pace of the higher level teams.
Get real !!
We don't have the talent to compete with the top teams. Player numbers are down, some clubs are struggling, and younger lads have more options. Coaching or should I say, roaring and shouting doesn't appeal to them.
We were lucky against Tyrone in the first championship encounter and got a lesson the next day. They didn't even make the semi finals of the All Ireland. We will be lucky to pick up points in Division 1 this year.
The only thing is, it will show us how far we have to go to get to the level of the big boys.
It's great to hear that the manager is holding trials at present. Pity the u21 management didn't do the same. Once again , no open trials. No call to the clubs to sent their best. Closed shop. Squad formed in October. Any lad brought in after the u21 championship will have his work cut out to integrate.
So the reality in Cavan is ...it's, what if's, a few butts and hype ... and no hope !!!

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 29/11/2016 13:17:16    1937222

Replying To BreffniDub:  "Totally agree with Reformation about Mc Kenna Cup etc. A man talking sense.
It will be an ideal way for Mattie to look at fringe players and get his starting League team into shape. The only way you can access players is in competitive game situations. Look what Tyrone have been doing over the last few years. They dont think it is a mickey mouse competition. And they go out to win it !!
There will be plenty of players trying to stake claims for starting berths. And I suppose this is testament to Terry and his mentors great work over the years. He built a squad not just a 15 man team.
I would be optimistic about our chances as I was optimistic last year when I said "we would surprise a lot of people". A lot of the negative boys disagreed and I see they are out early and Mattie has hardly been here a wet day.
If Mattie can replicate the success he had at Scotstown and Monaghan Harps again I will say it, we will surprise a lot of people this year.
People are giving out about the players that left. Remember Mackey was only a sub for most of the Lge and F.Flanagan got injured in Navan and missed the rest of the Lge. Keating again was only a sub and it seems his form has slipped alarmingly so really Givney is probably the only loss. Yet somebody like young David Brady or even Adrian Cole could do a similar job. The return of Cullivan could free Gearoid to fill the centre forward role he filled so well in the Lge. Hopefully Liam Buchanan will be back soon and Mossy will always do a job. I see a bigger role for lads like Gerry Smith, Tom Hayes so all in all things are not as bleak as some of the naysayers would tell us.
As a Cavan fan havent we some brilliant games to look forward to in 2017. Dubs at home Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal and our old friends Monagahan in Blaney. I really think these Cavan players will relish these games.
Onwards and upwards !!"
Is that the tom hayes that score less than 2 points in 5 games in this years club champo. v over rated.

gowna02 (Cavan) - Posts: 99 - 29/11/2016 14:24:46    1937236

Hayes is not a scorer. Good at winning ball but doesn't average high scores. His club mate Hessin can score, but not interested in county football

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 29/11/2016 15:17:56    1937252

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Hayes is not a scorer. Good at winning ball but doesn't average high scores. His club mate Hessin can score, but not interested in county football"
Ah ye thats exactly what we need! a forward who doesn't score much

5seniormedals (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 29/11/2016 15:59:07    1937261

What are you on about? I was agreeing with the previous poster that is scoring rate is low.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 29/11/2016 16:08:35    1937267

Ok sorry thought you were defending hayes being included in county panel.

5seniormedals (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 29/11/2016 16:52:37    1937279

Are there any other talented Sigerson winning forwards that need dumping from the panel lads?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 30/11/2016 10:44:35    1937483

Tyrone, Donegal and UUJ in the McKenna Cup will give us a good kick start to the year. Will be playing Tyrone and Donegal and Tyrone twice in the first 4 and a half months of the year and that can only aid our development!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 01/12/2016 11:34:32    1937772

Replying To seanorinn:  "Sean you are very positive about Matty and his track record justifies your confidence. He has been a success everywhere he has been. We are lucky to have him heading into 2017!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts:400 - 24/11/2016 17:13:22 19

To be honest I was not aware of his track record.
I spoke with him last night about my health situation because he took the time to ask me. He has such a positive persona about him he makes you look at things differently. I did not get good news Monday and I was explaining it to him, I left him with a far more positive feeling long may it continue."
Hello Sean, how are you keeping? I hope your in good form and on the mend.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 01/12/2016 12:02:20    1937777

Replying To blueman1903:  "Hello Sean, how are you keeping? I hope your in good form and on the mend."
Replying To seanorinn: "Sean you are very positive about Matty and his track record justifies your confidence. He has been a success everywhere he has been. We are lucky to have him heading into 2017!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts:400 - 24/11/2016 17:13:22 19

To be honest I was not aware of his track record.
I spoke with him last night about my health situation because he took the time to ask me. He has such a positive persona about him he makes you look at things differently. I did not get good news Monday and I was explaining it to him, I left him with a far more positive feeling long may it continue."
Hello Sean, how are you keeping? I hope your in good form and on the mend.
blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts:290 - 01/12/2016 12:02:20 1937777

Well I feel not so bad at the moment they are going to do a full DEXA scan next month and I am not sure when they are going to operate on me. I know my three consultants are having a meeting in two week time so I should know more after that. The medication is crewel to be honest but hey let's think positive and not negative and enjoy the month ahead. Then the football after that.
Thank you for asking'
Sean

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 01/12/2016 13:01:25    1937787