Allianz National Football League Division 1 2017

The draw has been made and I think from a Cavan perspective, a tough division has been made even tougher with us getting the most beatable opposition away from home.

Some tasty fixtures all the same and I can't wait to travel to Castlebar in particular to topple the All-Ireland champions the day after Ireland claim the grand slam having beaten England in the Aviva!! ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 13/09/2016 13:40:00    1913609

Replying To cavanman47:  "link

The draw has been made and I think from a Cavan perspective, a tough division has been made even tougher with us getting the most beatable opposition away from home.

Some tasty fixtures all the same and I can't wait to travel to Castlebar in particular to topple the All-Ireland champions the day after Ireland claim the grand slam having beaten England in the Aviva!! ;)"
We need to get a manager first... Going to Castlebar to topple the all Ireland champions?? Dream on . That Mayo team won't win the all Ireland. Not a snowballs chance.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 13/09/2016 13:59:29    1913621

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "

Some tasty fixtures all the same and I can't wait to travel to Castlebar in particular to topple the All-Ireland champions the day after Ireland claim the grand slam having beaten England in the Aviva!! ;)"
We need to get a manager first... Going to Castlebar to topple the all Ireland champions?? Dream on . That Mayo team won't win the all Ireland. Not a snowballs chance."
sarcasm lost on you pal. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 13/09/2016 14:13:26    1913639

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "

We need to get a manager first... Going to Castlebar to topple the all Ireland champions?? Dream on . That Mayo team won't win the all Ireland. Not a snowballs chance."
And again we get 4 away fixtures.
This will not be easy. We will struggle to keep Div 1.
A new manager should have been in place ages ago as chances are now he won't see a C/ship game if he's from outside the county.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/09/2016 14:26:09    1913656

Very tough set of fixtures. I suppose you could say it's good to get the Dubs, Kerry and Donegal at home but timing of some matchups is not good. Better to get Kerry and Mayo early. Unfortunately they'll be in the higher gears by the time we meet- could be in for a tough time with them. Dublin is Dublin. Donegal home, Roscommon away, Monaghan away, Tyrone away- these are our most realistic chances of points but it would be nice to have another home game in there. We'll see, going to be very tough to stay up but it's not impossible.
Mayo the standout away weekend for SteadyEddie!

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 13/09/2016 14:49:08    1913667

We have 6 fairly evenly matched teams left in the championship but no manager in place . If we even added 1 player from each of those 6 teams plus what we had last year it could be an improvement. But we have nobody impartial to check these games out.
Most counties have a manager in place by now. All of Ulster sorted except us.
What's the delay?
Mark my words what will happen...... CB won't be able to fill the position and they will ask Terry to reconsider.
I'd take bets on that happening.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 13/09/2016 15:04:25    1913682

Management being in place prior to the last rounds of the Championship is a mindless concern. Rochford wasn't appointed until the 30th of November last year and he'll contest an All Ireland next Sunday. Get over it lads.

Massively challenging fixtures for the league and we will be clear favourites to get relegated. Don't think we have the natural talented forwards in the county to beat these bigger teams. Still, you'd rather be up there than not.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 13/09/2016 22:28:53    1913992

Replying To JonSmith:  "Management being in place prior to the last rounds of the Championship is a mindless concern. Rochford wasn't appointed until the 30th of November last year and he'll contest an All Ireland next Sunday. Get over it lads.

Massively challenging fixtures for the league and we will be clear favourites to get relegated. Don't think we have the natural talented forwards in the county to beat these bigger teams. Still, you'd rather be up there than not."
So what's your point ? We don't need a manager until November your saying???? Then we will be in an all Ireland final next year??? Wow! Why did nobody else only Mayo think of that!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 14/09/2016 07:30:33    1914060

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "So what's your point ? We don't need a manager until November your saying???? Then we will be in an all Ireland final next year??? Wow! Why did nobody else only Mayo think of that!"
why the smart comments all the time? some people give opinion and you give yours and rightly so but it always has to be followed up with a snide remark if its against your way of thinking. See you are starting the same on the main page.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 14/09/2016 10:01:02    1914098

Replying To JonSmith:  "Management being in place prior to the last rounds of the Championship is a mindless concern. Rochford wasn't appointed until the 30th of November last year and he'll contest an All Ireland next Sunday. Get over it lads.

Massively challenging fixtures for the league and we will be clear favourites to get relegated. Don't think we have the natural talented forwards in the county to beat these bigger teams. Still, you'd rather be up there than not."
I hear talk they are bringing back a previous Cavan Manager anyone else hear this.
By the way home or away all teams have to play each other and to be honest I don't think it matters where you are playing for if you are good enough you will win your matches Plain and simple. At least they don't have to go to Kerry a long journey in the middle of winter.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 14/09/2016 12:01:11    1914134

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "So what's your point ? We don't need a manager until November your saying???? Then we will be in an all Ireland final next year??? Wow! Why did nobody else only Mayo think of that!"
You obviously have problems with comprehension. I'll dumb it down for you.

Not having manager right now doesn't matter and it will have no negative (that means bad) effect on our prospects (that means our chances) of doing well next year.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 14/09/2016 13:03:26    1914161

Replying To JonSmith:  "You obviously have problems with comprehension. I'll dumb it down for you.

Not having manager right now doesn't matter and it will have no negative (that means bad) effect on our prospects (that means our chances) of doing well next year."
Not having manager right now doesn't matter and it will have no negative (that means bad) effect on our prospects (that means our chances) of doing well next year.
JonSmith (Cavan) - Posts:1345 - 14/09/2016 13:03:26 1914161

Of course it makes a difference for we will be playing with the same panel ??? so off course it's a year lost for potential new players to be brought into the panel. Players are coming to the end of their inter-county career as well you know.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 14/09/2016 13:13:26    1914163

Replying To JonSmith:  "You obviously have problems with comprehension. I'll dumb it down for you.

Not having manager right now doesn't matter and it will have no negative (that means bad) effect on our prospects (that means our chances) of doing well next year."
So there's no attachable value or advantage to having the county manager looking at the county championship?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 14/09/2016 14:48:59    1914196

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "So there's no attachable value or advantage to having the county manager looking at the county championship?"
It's negligible. Better to get the right man a bit further down the road than the wrong man right now.

Terry's shoes are proving hard to fill and Cavan being rebuffed by a few top managers proves that the cream of the crop don't belive Cavan underachieved under Terry.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 14/09/2016 15:52:04    1914230

Ideally it would be better to have a manager in place but it's not as important as people are making out. Look, the new man is someone who should have an interest in Cavan football. Such a person should be keeping an eye on the championship anyway if he thinks the job is an option. Such a man is going to have to take the word and advice of other people on who should be invited into the panel. Even if we had a man in place now he'd still have to be taking other people's word on player suitability. He can't be in two places at the same time next Saturday evening. He couldn't have been in 5 different places for countless other matches all at the same time for Senior, Intermediate and Junior games that were played all over the county for the group stages. There are no hiding places on the football field. We know the players that are pushing for the panel. Plenty of good football people all over the county know the players. There are no hidden gems. We'll start with a big panel and whatever chances comes a players way the onus will ultimately be on him to take it and show for himself. The management of the last few years have done the scouting more or less. That's one criticism you can't lay at their feet. But we need forwards most of all. From what I've seen of the Championships so far there is no obvious solution to that particular problem. In fact I'd even go so far as to say that it's very worrying to witness the lack of good forward play and talent that has been on display so far.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 14/09/2016 17:22:56    1914272

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Ideally it would be better to have a manager in place but it's not as important as people are making out. Look, the new man is someone who should have an interest in Cavan football. Such a person should be keeping an eye on the championship anyway if he thinks the job is an option. Such a man is going to have to take the word and advice of other people on who should be invited into the panel. Even if we had a man in place now he'd still have to be taking other people's word on player suitability. He can't be in two places at the same time next Saturday evening. He couldn't have been in 5 different places for countless other matches all at the same time for Senior, Intermediate and Junior games that were played all over the county for the group stages. There are no hiding places on the football field. We know the players that are pushing for the panel. Plenty of good football people all over the county know the players. There are no hidden gems. We'll start with a big panel and whatever chances comes a players way the onus will ultimately be on him to take it and show for himself. The management of the last few years have done the scouting more or less. That's one criticism you can't lay at their feet. But we need forwards most of all. From what I've seen of the Championships so far there is no obvious solution to that particular problem. In fact I'd even go so far as to say that it's very worrying to witness the lack of good forward play and talent that has been on display so far."
Ideally it would be better to have a manager in place but it's not as important as people are making out. Look, the new man is someone who should have an interest in Cavan football. Such a person should be keeping an eye on the championship anyway if he thinks the job is an option. Such a man is going to have to take the word and advice of other people on who should be invited into the panel. Even if we had a man in place now he'd still have to be taking other people's word on player suitability. He can't be in two places at the same time next Saturday evening. He couldn't have been in 5 different places for countless other matches all at the same time for Senior, Intermediate and Junior games that were played all over the county for the group stages. There are no hiding places on the football field. We know the players that are pushing for the panel. Plenty of good football people all over the county know the players. There are no hidden gems. We'll start with a big panel and whatever chances comes a players way the onus will ultimately be on him to take it and show for himself. The management of the last few years have done the scouting more or less. That's one criticism you can't lay at their feet. But we need forwards most of all. From what I've seen of the Championships so far there is no obvious solution to that particular problem. In fact I'd even go so far as to say that it's very worrying to witness the lack of good forward play and talent that has been on display so far.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts:362 - 14/09/2016 17:22:56 1914272

What are you talking about sure Mr Hyland may as well stay in the job with your attitude for if a so called new manager is happy to use what is there and the word of the so called knowledgeable people here in Cavan then he is not worth having about the place and is on a hiding to nothing.
Cavan needs an independent man with the balls to call it as he sees it and makes his own decisions and not depend of others.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 14/09/2016 18:45:44    1914317

Excellent post Hardtimes. Anyone who thinks that there's lads playing club football in Cavan who haven't been tried at county level that would be able to come in and compete with Division 1 teams is fooling themselves. The personnel will be roughly the same, our hope is that a new manager will get more out of them.

Out of the names mentioned so far, Anthony Cunningham seems by far the best option .

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 14/09/2016 19:46:54    1914340

Replying To seanorinn:  "Ideally it would be better to have a manager in place but it's not as important as people are making out. Look, the new man is someone who should have an interest in Cavan football. Such a person should be keeping an eye on the championship anyway if he thinks the job is an option. Such a man is going to have to take the word and advice of other people on who should be invited into the panel. Even if we had a man in place now he'd still have to be taking other people's word on player suitability. He can't be in two places at the same time next Saturday evening. He couldn't have been in 5 different places for countless other matches all at the same time for Senior, Intermediate and Junior games that were played all over the county for the group stages. There are no hiding places on the football field. We know the players that are pushing for the panel. Plenty of good football people all over the county know the players. There are no hidden gems. We'll start with a big panel and whatever chances comes a players way the onus will ultimately be on him to take it and show for himself. The management of the last few years have done the scouting more or less. That's one criticism you can't lay at their feet. But we need forwards most of all. From what I've seen of the Championships so far there is no obvious solution to that particular problem. In fact I'd even go so far as to say that it's very worrying to witness the lack of good forward play and talent that has been on display so far.

What are you talking about sure Mr Hyland may as well stay in the job with your attitude for if a so called new manager is happy to use what is there and the word of the so called knowledgeable people here in Cavan then he is not worth having about the place and is on a hiding to nothing.
Cavan needs an independent man with the balls to call it as he sees it and makes his own decisions and not depend of others."
Well said Sean o Rinn for once I agree with you. We need a man that can make his own mind up not rely on the so called experts from with the county.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 14/09/2016 19:49:53    1914342

Replying To seanorinn:  "Ideally it would be better to have a manager in place but it's not as important as people are making out. Look, the new man is someone who should have an interest in Cavan football. Such a person should be keeping an eye on the championship anyway if he thinks the job is an option. Such a man is going to have to take the word and advice of other people on who should be invited into the panel. Even if we had a man in place now he'd still have to be taking other people's word on player suitability. He can't be in two places at the same time next Saturday evening. He couldn't have been in 5 different places for countless other matches all at the same time for Senior, Intermediate and Junior games that were played all over the county for the group stages. There are no hiding places on the football field. We know the players that are pushing for the panel. Plenty of good football people all over the county know the players. There are no hidden gems. We'll start with a big panel and whatever chances comes a players way the onus will ultimately be on him to take it and show for himself. The management of the last few years have done the scouting more or less. That's one criticism you can't lay at their feet. But we need forwards most of all. From what I've seen of the Championships so far there is no obvious solution to that particular problem. In fact I'd even go so far as to say that it's very worrying to witness the lack of good forward play and talent that has been on display so far.

Cavan needs an independent man with the balls to call it as he sees it and makes his own decisions and not depend of others."
This x 100.
Well said Sean.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 14/09/2016 20:00:43    1914349

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "We have 6 fairly evenly matched teams left in the championship but no manager in place . If we even added 1 player from each of those 6 teams plus what we had last year it could be an improvement. But we have nobody impartial to check these games out.
Most counties have a manager in place by now. All of Ulster sorted except us.
What's the delay?
Mark my words what will happen...... CB won't be able to fill the position and they will ask Terry to reconsider.
I'd take bets on that happening."
We should be so lucky

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 14/09/2016 21:36:21    1914372