Tyrone vs Cavan

Goodman Skelling, I'm assuming you made the long trip to Omagh from your home in the USA for the match, or are you still jumping on the Terry Brigade Bandwagon.

If there's people on this forum that firmly believe that a team scoring 3 points from play is a sign that a team is improving, then I suggest you stick to reading Mr Fitzpatricks weekly in the Anglo Celt.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 02/02/2016 18:13:51    1821727

Deanmartin- if your hero Seanie could give a hand pass we would've won the game.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 02/02/2016 18:58:50    1821737

Dean Martin, if you could read you'd recall that I said that I won't be going to any games for the foreseeable future. If you want to compare games attended then please let's do it.

You're asking me if I'm jumping on the Terry Brigade Bandwagon yet you've done nothing but accuse me of being one of the Terry Brigade since you cursed this forum with your presence.

As for your three points is progress remark; a five year old would have seen that Hardtimes was being ironic.

Now I'm off over to the other thread to see your proposals for the league structure.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 02/02/2016 19:22:21    1821741

Now now Deanmartin don't be so flippant- from tiny acorns and all that. 3 points in the second half against Tyrone is a massive improvement showing real progress and it's a stat that I look forward to you rehashing on here over and over and over and over again for the next 12 months.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 02/02/2016 19:31:27    1821744

All this negativity about losing to Tyrone by two points!!!! Id say these threads would still be negative if we were from Dublin or Kerry!!!! Giving out about a player like Martin Reilly being a defender when we teach our kids that the first line of defence is number 13,14 &15. Martin is a great player that can fulfil many many roles in the team and a great servant. I've one gripe with him though. His quick passing. its nearly always off the laces resulting in a hanging ball with no curl. Watch Gearoid give the same ball in to the forward and watch Martin. Two completely different techniques. Gearoid gives it inside of the boot making the ball dip and curl favouring the oncoming running forward, Martin's hangs with no curl reducing an advantage to a more 50:50 chance of winning it.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 03/02/2016 09:15:05    1821794

@cavan97 I say drop Martin Reilly off the Cavan panal.

It's the only way to stop him and learn to pass like Lord McKiernan.

Accurate passes shouldn't be allowed at county level?

Steady_Eddie (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 03/02/2016 12:57:53    1821881

Sorry Eddie, your missing my point, its the one area which I feel should be improved. Don't compare to Gearoid then, I only used him as an example, Remember Ross Carr? perfect curling ball into the forward?

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 03/02/2016 13:22:06    1821899

Cavan 97. A punt pass of the laces is a far better ball than one of the side foot. Side foot is for people who don't have the accuracy. A correct punt pass has a lower and more direct trajectory, it is also a faster ball.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 03/02/2016 17:39:04    1822013

All this negativity about losing to Tyrone by two points!!!! Id say these threads would still be negative if we were from Dublin or Kerry!!!!
cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts:257 - 03/02/2016 09:15:05 1821794

Yes negativity. We LOST the game, but I've noticed an increasing problem among certain fans that losing is to be celebrated and talked up. I attribute this inferiority complex and mindset to the unfortunate process of many fans becoming inured to losing. The Cavan supporters are so starved of success that we have developed a "we're not worthy" mentality. We have no right to even challenge a team like Tyrone let alone beat them, so a narrow defeat feels like a victory. I'm sure the players are not going out with the purpose of getting a pat on the back for a moral victory.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 03/02/2016 19:03:42    1822033

cavan97, are you trying to say that a man who played soccer for burnley can't pass a ball properly ?.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 03/02/2016 20:58:30    1822067

Lighten up Ned, the head gasket will be blown by May if you keep going at this rate.
The Kerry lads haven't even started training yet- you should follow their lead

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 03/02/2016 21:01:02    1822068

I personally rate martin reilly a better all round player then gearoid he gives all of himself in every game gearoid can go missing at times that said we lost i dont think its any one thing but i do feel management have not the ability to push these lads on when they are nearly there i still think our goalkeeper cost us the game on sunday he just is not goalie not his fault think it was a ridiculous move in the first place any way lets hope they learned something and use the lesson against derry

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 03/02/2016 21:55:41    1822089

asitis, is there any chance you could use the odd punctuation mark? You seem to talk a bit of sense but your posts are a difficult read.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 04/02/2016 10:17:15    1822114

Spot on Ned - anyone reading the Celt yesterday would think we won the game - 2 points or 10 points, there is no victory, moral or anything else.
That's what Cavan Football is all about now, ah sure, we only lost to Tyrone by 2 points, well done Cavan for that. But this isn't Rugby, the Rugby Champions Cup, you don't get bonus points for losing.
Cavan people are very starved of not just success, but football, genuine fans are sick to the teeth of watching the style of football that Hyland has the team playing, Cavan Football needs a change now.
As for Martin Reilly, the lad is one of the very few excellent footballers we have but Hyland continues to play him out of position, he is one the very few forwards that can run at defences and score, just look at his performance for his club in the summer.
And as for kick passing a ball, obviously Cavan97 didn't play much football - from a young age, kids up and down the Country are taught about the punt kick, its accurate and faster than a kick from the side of the boot.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 04/02/2016 10:27:26    1822119

Skelling - any chance you might actually attend an odd game, rather than using information and quotes from the Terry's Army?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 04/02/2016 12:44:29    1822177

Skelling i am sorry about that my age is showing and my lack of skill on the laptop, i will try old habits die hard i am a bit like the current management. I just feel that some people on the forum are bias about certain players and Deanmartin i dont always agree with you, but the Celt in my opinion have tunnel vision about the current Management and style of play, until things change in the current setup nothing will change in cavan football .A lot of decisions last year were crazy no sence or reasoning to them. I have followed and travelled to cavan games for as long as i can remember followed a lot of the lads from minor to under 21 to senior some great lads, just feel they are been let down.I also feel we have lost some good lads through bad management. I can but hope i live to see a change where the talent and we have talent in the panel can be nurtured and progressed to a winning style.

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 04/02/2016 12:45:22    1822178

Dean, let's try this again. I will NOT be attending any games this year. I don't remember the last time I missed a game prior to this year. Would you like it typed in some other language or where is it I'm losing you?

Is there any point in asking you what you mean by "using information and quotes from the Terry's Army"? Is there any point in asking you anything?

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 04/02/2016 14:14:01    1822227

Yes we lost a game. Roscommon also lost a game. kerry lost, Mayo lost, Westmeath lost, Laois lost, Armagh lost, Down lost, and let me tell you a lot of them lost by a lot more than we lost and a lot of them played a hell of a lot worse then we did. No one thought we would beat Tyrone, In fact everyone thought we would lose by 7+ points, so to be in the game right till the last kick was somewhat of an achievement. Again this weekend Derry will be favourites and rightly so. It just panned out that we had to face the 2 toughest teams in our first 2 games. We should be judged after 7 games. But so far I would say there is no cause for concern and if anything I would be more optimistic than last year.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 04/02/2016 15:37:16    1822267

SGoldrick - go on to any of the forums belonging to the teams that lost to see what the fans are saying, they're not claiming any moral victories, and you can bet that their local papers aren't celebrating a narrow loss.

When will you people wake up to the fact that we are currently a middle of the road team, with a manager who has failed in his last 5 years.

I repeat, there is no losing bonus point for losing narrowly a match, we were beaten by the better team, 2 pts, 5pts, 7pts, we lost, end off, just like we lost against Monaghan & Roscommon in the Championship. Cavan people want to win, not lose narrowly, we want a manager who knows how to win, not a manager who sets a team up to lose narrowly.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 04/02/2016 16:12:17    1822288

Yes we lost a game. Roscommon also lost a game. kerry lost, Mayo lost, Westmeath lost, Laois lost, Armagh lost, Down lost, and let me tell you a lot of them lost by a lot more than we lost and a lot of them played a hell of a lot worse then we did. No one thought we would beat Tyrone, In fact everyone thought we would lose by 7+ points, so to be in the game right till the last kick was somewhat of an achievement. Again this weekend Derry will be favourites and rightly so. It just panned out that we had to face the 2 toughest teams in our first 2 games. We should be judged after 7 games. But so far I would say there is no cause for concern and if anything I would be more optimistic than last year.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts:3947 - 04/02/2016 15:37:16 1822267

Speak for yourself S Goldrick. There is no "everyone", just a collection of individuals with diverging opinions. Some of us have higher ambitions for Cavan than going out to lose narrowly and then boasting about it. There is no achievement in defeat.

Answer me this, what would it take for you personally to say enough is enough, time to change the manager. Genuine question.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 04/02/2016 19:08:14    1822358