SENIOR CHAMPIONSHIP - FAVOURITES

I was impressed with Castlerahan who played good football. Oisin o Connell got some great scores. Ramor were very disappointing and they never really got going at all. I don't know why they can't seem to make an impression at Senior level despite lots of underage success.

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 14/09/2015 08:26:07    1786790

The county board should have being handing entrances fees back to the people who went to the Ballinagh v Kingscourt game yesterday.its probably the worst game of football i have seen in the last 30 years besides all of Cavans game in the championship the last two years.

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 14/09/2015 09:20:25    1786834

gaelsutd

The county board should have being handing entrances fees back to the people who went to the Ballinagh v Kingscourt game yesterday.its probably the worst game of football i have seen in the last 30 years besides all of Cavans game in the championship the last two years.

I presume you deduced that from reading the final scoreline.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 14/09/2015 10:17:01    1786897

gaelsutd

So yous(Cavan Gaels )should have no trouble at all next Saturday night so ?

tenyearplan (Cavan) - Posts: 147 - 14/09/2015 12:36:04    1787030

I'd have to slightly disagree with gaelsutd, whilst Kingscourt v Ballinagh was poor, Mullahoran v Ballinagh in the drawn game and the replay was equally poor. Kingscourt v Ramor was also a dire game of football, and I'm sure some people can add to the list.
As for the Gaels, from what Ive seen of Kingscourt this year, the Gaels have nothing to fear at all, but Im sure GoldrickS or Tenyear Plan have something to say on the matter.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 14/09/2015 15:15:21    1787185

The conditions would have to be taken into account for Kingscourt. Enda Hession scored 1 11 and still on losing side. In Ramor Castlerahan game Mackey and Oisin O Connell shone.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 14/09/2015 15:30:26    1787193

gaelsutd

The support at last nights match shows the County Board got it right by having it as a stand alone game financially, they are laughing all the way to the bank.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 14/09/2015 16:47:47    1787247

I was commenting on the standard of football.not the amount of people who were at the game.

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 15/09/2015 08:25:09    1787425

Mowbar - a couple of hundred people x €10 (kids are free, OAPs are €5, and not to mention people who got in for nothing) would just be about enough to pay the electricity costs of the floodlights, referees & linesmen, throw in a few extra costs on top, I doubt there was much left over that would constitute any significant profit!

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 15/09/2015 10:31:05    1787528

deanmartin

1787528 Mowbar - a couple of hundred people x €10 (kids are free, OAPs are €5, and not to mention people who got in for nothing) would just be about enough to pay the electricity costs of the floodlights, referees & linesmen, throw in a few extra costs on top, I doubt there was much left over that would constitute any significant profit!

A referee gets €40 per game. A linesman gets zero (linesman are referees who are expected to do a number of games as linesman each year as part of the their referring gig, they just get paid for reffing a game not for the 8-12 games they are expected to do as linesman)

So a referee's costs certainly would not affect the margin! Your forgetting the county boards half time raffle and the shop that they provide, the money from that alone would pay any costs incurred for the game, so your left with the admission of approx €2k as pure profit.

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 15/09/2015 11:06:23    1787557

P.Mus - Are you seriously having a laugh, a half time raffle and a shop at half time...must have generated thousands of euro!

How many people do you think were actually at the game?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 15/09/2015 15:09:06    1787777

Your missing the point as usual.

How do you reckon it costs thousands of euro to open up Breffni for a few hours. What other costs are there other than the ESB and the €40 to the ref? If having floodlights on for a maximum of 2 hours costs thousands of euro well then we may throw our hat at the whole lot. There was definitely circa 200-250 paying €10, if a quarter of these paid the €5 for the raffle and 100 kids+ adults spent €5 at the shop then your talking somewhat in the region of a grand so if your telling me that a grand doesn't cover the outlay of opening up Breffni for a few hours then the world has gone mad. My original point still stands being that the actual 2-2.5k admission is still pure profit.

Now if there is something I'm missing here well then please enlighten us all and impart your wisdom?

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 15/09/2015 16:05:41    1787824

PMUS - You're gone away off the mark altogether, you can read any of my previous posts, but I don't think I ever mentioned that it would cost thousands of pounds to open Breffni Park. I was simply asking how Mowbar came to the conclusion that the County Board were laughing all the way to the bank because of one individual match...you mentioned there was a crowd of about 200/250 people, how many of them actually paid in, how many paid the €10 because kids are free, whilst students and OAPs get a discount. As for the raffle, yep, they probably made a bit of money, but as for the shop, I'm sure they didn't get the stock for nothing, as I stand corrected, but isn't the shop being run independent of Breffni?
I also said the only issue I had with games, was those set for late on a Sunday Evening, when lads have to travel to college/work last on Sunday night, or when kids have to get up early on Monday Morning, maybe if these games were scheduled earlier or on a Fri/Sat, perhaps attendances might even rise!

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 15/09/2015 16:24:17    1787832

deanmartin

Mowbar - a couple of hundred people x €10 (kids are free, OAPs are €5, and not to mention people who got in for nothing) would just be about enough to pay the electricity costs of the floodlights, referees & linesmen, throw in a few extra costs on top, I doubt there was much left over that would constitute any significant profit!

Ok so the motive wasn't profit then ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 15/09/2015 19:00:42    1787886

I'm confused how any of this rubbish been sprouted on here about attendances, shop and lights have anything to do with the actual title of the tread which is SENIOR CHAMPIONSHIP-FAVOURITES

If you don't mind moving your petty schoolboy agruements onto a new tread that would be great and we can maybe talk about the upcoming games.

Jim_Shorts (Cavan) - Posts: 96 - 15/09/2015 19:09:07    1787892

deanmartin

I take it you were not at the match then like a few others for there were more than 1000 at the game. I did not see any tickets for sale for the draw which proves you were not at the match and I believe McKiernan owns the shop not Cavan county board so nothing from that shop.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 16/09/2015 10:50:58    1788061

Jim_Shorts - You're right Jim, but that's why the Hogan Stand is so enjoyable, one discussion quickly becomes another.
So tell us Jim, how many championship games have you attended, what teams impressed you, who do you think will progress to the County Final and win it?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 16/09/2015 11:14:59    1788070

Gaels to win it at a canter

just_the_facts (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 16/09/2015 11:42:57    1788083

If what I read is true that chesty and a few other of the gaels are back well they will have to be favorites. Having watched all the games so far the one team that would really worry me if I was involved with another senior clubs are Killyshandra they are playing some good football. Not sure if Paddy King is suited out on the 40?? I would if I was managing Killyshandra I move him away from the back bone or spine and allow him to roam along between the 20 and 15 meter line might be best for him for he seems to be lacking either pace or confidence. Well what can you say about Castlerahan they did the business on Ramor double scores and they are all playing well and they have a few injured. Hard to make out Kingscourt they are there and they have to play the Gaels Saturday evening so lets see how that goes. If I were to pick a team to win the championship right now it would be like drawing the short straw so after Saturday night I will give my prediction for what it's wort. Nice to finally see it coming to the business end.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 16/09/2015 12:07:43    1788094

seanorinn - I think you'll find Sean that any of the so called big teams would be happy with a semi final draw against either Killeshandra or Killygarry (who you didn't mention in your previous post).
Lacken were very poor this year, a bit overated in my opinion, but that's not taking away from Killeshandra's great victory which they thoroughly deserved. However, worryingly for Killeshandra, they failed to register a single score for 20 mins of the 2nd half, and they looked tired. They wont get away with that against the likes of the Gaels.
Nevertheless, its Championship time and you never know what can happen, look at Ballinagh two years ago - Ciaran O Reilly was the manager who masterminded their victory, he's now managing Killygarry!

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 16/09/2015 12:54:14    1788126