Ulster SFC 2015. Cavan v Monaghan

I am absolutely certain that Dean Martin does not want Cavan to win as much as anyone else.

For the majority of Cavan people, if we lose, we will be disappointed and bemoan the reasons that we lost; luck, bad play, bad decisions on the line etc.

For Deano, if we lose, it will provide him with ammunition to come on here and tell us what the management did wrong. Is anyone in any doubt as to this?

If we win, then it'll be a case of optimism for the rest of the championship but for Dean it'll be "what exactly have we won?" "terry-lovers" blah blah. Again, is this in doubt?

You'd hardly spare us the bother Dean? Saying as know what you're going to say.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 19/05/2015 10:40:05    1725333

My starting 15 based on League form would be:

Gilsenan (good shot stopper, giving Galligan his debut in Ulster Championship would be a huge risk. Can't see Terry doing it unless he's being earmarked as the freetaker)
McLoughlin (Had a very solid league)
Rory Dunne (one of the best players in the League, will pick up Hughes)
Killian Clarke (slightly wasted in Corner back but for me is our best option to pick up McManus, has the athleticism to stay with him and probably best tackler in the side)
Feargal Flanagan (just gets the nod ahead of DJ, will do trojan work and force turnovers)
McEnroe (has been outstanding this year, expect a lot of play to go through him)
McVeety (adds a lot raiding forward but must be careful not to slow down the play by being too cautious)
Corr (criminally underrated, not the exciting option but adds so much steel around the middle, will win as much ball as any midfielder we have)
Gearoid (is improving as a midfielder, doing more dirty work and being more consistent, we need a good game from him going forward)
Martin Reilly (still some errors in his game that need to be ironed out but he is the most improved Cavan player in recent years)
McDermott (a big game player, will win frees and adds physicality to the attack)
Mackey (not back to his 2013 best but still vital to our chances of success)
Ronan Flanagan (to sweep in front of McManus, will do the dirty work in defence)
Dunne (which Dunne will we see? who knows, but we can't start with our best shooter on the bench)
Bud Fitch (adds industry and pace to the inside forward line)

Sincerely hope management don't throw Argue in Full Forward as Plan A. He doesn't have the experience in that position. Bud and McDermott can switch positions as necessary. We have players in every line who have been very impressive consistently in the League, apart from the full forward line.
Monaghan are one of the best teams in the country now, we're 2/1 underdogs which is about fair. Best of luck to the team on Sunday!!

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 19/05/2015 11:17:12    1725368

Maybe you should send a facebook message to Anthony Forde Deanmartintynan, he might tell you where the Mayo game was and who played. I know he ignored you the last time but maybe he will answer this time.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/05/2015 12:12:46    1725413

JonSmith.... Going on his last outing v a poor Meath team I could not see Bud Fitz starting this game.. Oh if only we had Keating Giveny and Tierney to call on for attacking options

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 19/05/2015 12:38:31    1725432

Skelling - if we win, then the realist will take it as a great result, and a good case for optimism, however, you & Fredflint will take it that the Anglo Celt is a given and we'll never hear the end of it.
Fredflint - All I'm asking is that you confirm that we played Mayo in a behind closed door challenge match, and some information into the match itself.
Co-incidentally, I was in Forde's company the weekend and it was never mentioned...hmmmmm

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 19/05/2015 13:01:36    1725453

Sean66

JonSmith.... Going on his last outing v a poor Meath team I could not see Bud Fitz starting this game.. Oh if only we had Keating Givney and Tierney to call on for attacking options

Keating yes it would be fantastic to be able to call on him.
Tierney never made any sort of impact for Cavan Seniors, he chose to go abroad this year but hopefully he can come back and add something to the set up in the future.
Givney isn't an inside forward, we're short of options there but even so he'd be well down the list for lads to put in there. He wouldn't knock either of the 3 lads in the half forward line out of the starting 15 or either of the midfielders, so unless you shoehorn him in in somewhere (as was done so many times in the past), I'd argue that he wouldn't make the team at the moment even if he wasn't injured.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 19/05/2015 13:30:31    1725477

there was no match v mayo, why do people make up stuff.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 884 - 19/05/2015 14:19:34    1725523

Jonsmith - Corr (criminally underated) - strong words but accepted he's from your club, has still alot to prove, saw him in a few ACFL games this year and didnt stand out. Martin Reill (Errors)- errors were a massive issue with the entire team throughout the league, Reilly was alot more consistent than alot of players, some very poor passing, ball handling, simple errors - Flanagan, cleaning up - agree, but his decision making and distribution needs to improve - he needs to move the ball forward more often.
Starting Martin Dunne will be a gamble, Monaghan will target him from the start, if he gets hit once, you might as well take him out of the game, why not throw Argue in, let a few high balls in and ruffle Monaghan from the start.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 19/05/2015 14:24:21    1725528

Dean, whereas I can point to about 90% of your posts to back-up my prediction of your reaction, you can point to 0% of mine as to how you think I'll react.

Go ahead and have a browse.

Your denial almost trumps your outlook.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 19/05/2015 14:26:02    1725533

Let's hope we are not going to allow ourselves to be bullied on Sunday like we were last year in Armagh.
We have to be prepared for all eventualities and we have to have a Plan "B" in case Plan "A" is not working.
Last year's performance was a disgrace.
Discipline is very important too and we must keep 15 on the field.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 19/05/2015 14:33:04    1725538

To show what I mean by balance Dean, well done on your last post. It shows that you can in fact give your view on the game without mentioning the management and rather just focus on the game itself.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 19/05/2015 14:35:55    1725540

To show what I mean by balance Dean, well done on your last post. It shows that you can in fact give your view on the game without mentioning the management and rather just focus on the game itself.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 19/05/2015 14:37:40    1725544

My apologies it was the minors that bet Mayo. I'd start Corr too. Had a brilliant league. R Flanagan does go sideways a lot but think that's ok in the sweeper role. It's up to Mackey and Martin Reilly to break the line. Flanagn had a great 2013 kicking scores and forward passing. His pass for Mackey goal v Armagh was top class so he can. That was from wing back. Sweeper just needs to mop up and lay of the way Alan Ckarke played it.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 19/05/2015 14:38:30    1725545

Skelling - there is nothing to back up, I'll give my honest thoughts on Cavan Football, be it about the team or be it about the management. From what Ive seen this year, how can I feel optimistic? the standard of football in Division 2 has been very poor.

Yet you & the Terry brigade keep harping on about the massive improvements in Cavan Football and how a win in the intercontinental world series in New York is a reason for optimism in the future.

Lets see you give an honest open opinion on Cavan Football Skelling? what about the style of football, are you happy with it? do you care to comment on the decrease in crowd attendances or the reason for it?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 19/05/2015 15:16:20    1725587

Fredflint - Dora has kindly confirmed that it was the minors that played Mayo and not the seniors - I hope youre not too
disappointed, please try to remain optimistic for Sunday!

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 19/05/2015 15:18:08    1725592

Dean, again, and for about the fourth time, where did I say I had any allegiance or otherwise to Terry Hyland? You predicted what I'd say if we win based on something that I never said.
For the record I think Hyland has brought Cavan on leaps and bounds from the decade prior to his appointment. I very, very rarely miss a game and the focus, teamwork and game plan in place is miles ahead of the Tom Carr era for example. Cavan people have very short memories.

The way I see it is that the best players are on the panel, bar those that didn't make themselves available. It's quite obvious to me that the weakest part of the team is the inside forward line and therefore the manager has selected to play a defensive counter-attacking style. The purists don't like it and I agree that we should have developed a much quicker counter-attacking style so that we can get forward before the opposition can get all their men back. I think that's a fair point.

However, it is painful to come in here and continually be called "The Hyland Brigade" over and over and over again. I praised your second to last post as you analysed the game without spite. Can you not continue to do that and please stop implying that I and others have some unnatural allegiance to Hyland. He's the manager, a man with strengths and weaknesses like any other.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 19/05/2015 15:35:00    1725616

Skelling
County: USA

Skelling, deanmartin is telling you how thousands feel and hyland and his merry gang. Regardless of his opinions you seem to be intent on trying to deflect away from what is the truth.
Hyland has been hanging around for more than a decade don't forget selector joint manager selector manager it goes on.
Anyway if he starts the same 15 which I think he will barring injury for Clarke has to be 50-50 with his hamstring, Flannagan as a sub fine as a starting 15 I don't think so. Gilsennan in goal is a recipe for disaster for he is a liability in my opinion I hope he does not start Mackey give him 30 minuets in the second half it might be the difference in winning and loosing. Start Farrelly or Galligan I would go for Galligan for he can score 45s but not sure about his shot stopping. What you saw in the league is what you will get next Sunday a starting 15 named in the program and before kick off 4 maybe 5 changes same old story.
Been honest I cannot see Monaghan loosing to Cavan but should we win it will be a fantastic result but unfortunately the poor punter like myself will have to suffer more ***** football. I am hoping they might surprise me and do what Donegal and Tyrone did last weekend and give us a game to at least be able to talk about after.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 19/05/2015 16:15:25    1725661

deanmartin

Jonsmith - Corr (criminally underated) - strong words but accepted he's from your club, has still alot to prove, saw him in a few ACFL games this year and didnt stand out. Martin Reill (Errors)- errors were a massive issue with the entire team throughout the league, Reilly was alot more consistent than alot of players, some very poor passing, ball handling, simple errors - Flanagan, cleaning up - agree, but his decision making and distribution needs to improve - he needs to move the ball forward more often.
Starting Martin Dunne will be a gamble, Monaghan will target him from the start, if he gets hit once, you might as well take him out of the game, why not throw Argue in, let a few high balls in and ruffle Monaghan from the start.

I'm not from Denn, my club has no representatives on the panel. What games did you see him in? He was outstanding against Galway, one of our only good performers against Meath. Corr doesn't stand out in any game, like I said he's not flashy and that's why he's underrated. But he throws himself around in the middle, wins possession and provides power and work rate in midfield. I can think of at least 3 games in the last couple of years where he has popped up with scores for us at vital times. He's not the best footballer in the world but he's effective. I think he'd be extremely hard done by to not get a starting place on Sunday.

Starting Dunne won't be any sort of a risk. He'll either produce, or he won't. We don't have anyone we can rely to perform in the inside forward line at this level, it's not like Dunne would be started at the expense of a player who has shown he can cut it in the Ulster Championship. For me it would be more of a risk to start Tom Hayes or Enda Reilly or someone else that has no experience at this level.
Throwing Argue (has never started an intercounty game at full forward) in against a full back line with a couple of All Star standard defenders and lumping high ball in on top of him would be complete madness. If that's to be our tactic to beat Monaghan we will be out of this game by the half time whistle. This should only be our last resort if we're chasing a game towards the death.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 19/05/2015 16:28:26    1725673

Mowbar, there's no truth, only opinion. Everyone is entitled to say anything they want on here.

I'm merely suggesting, for the sake of sanity, that the same tiresome old story isn't regurgitated over and over again. What does saying something for a tenth time add to the fifth time it was said?

I missed one point Dean raised, the attendances. If they're down, and I'm not sure they are, then it's probably because people don't like the style of football. Fine, then don't go to watch it. That's what I'd do if I didn't like it.

I think you'll find that the further Cavan get in the championship, the less you'll hear about style. There was a right crowd in Croke Park against Kerry despite the style on show all through that year.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 19/05/2015 16:35:22    1725678

What a pity this board has descended into a farce. Can we not discuss the game on Sunday rather than people straying off topic and asking the same question again and again. What a contrast to 2013, when we as fans were buoyed by the Armagh victory and we actually pulled together on this site and gave the Monaghan posters their fill of it. Now all yous do is row amongst yourselves. I'd say the Monaghan lads are loving every minute of it.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 19/05/2015 18:50:23    1725765