Cavan V Dublin

I was hoping we might keep the winning margin down to single figures but it is what it is and a Dublin win was always very likely. I think we lost possession too often and our shooting wasn't at the standard of the Ulster final. However the lads never gave up. We were denied a penalty and Dublin should have had a Black Card. Its extremely frustrating to play against Dublin with their keep ball tactics. That saps the life out of a team. I have seen a lot of criticism of the way Dublin played moving the ball to midfield and then all the way back to Cluxton. Its legal but horrible to watch. Dare I say a kind of Black Death. Great times for Dublin but for the other 31 counties it's now becoming the Dublin problem. Talk of dividing Dublin into 2, 4 or 5? Good luck with that. A provincial side from Ulster or Munster would struggle to beat them now.

Kilnaleck Blue (Cavan) - Posts: 25 - 05/12/2020 23:17:07    2318910

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Ciaran Brady too, sure he was Cavans best player in first half today. Attacking threat in every game"
There is no need to be talking nonsense... Cavan will get one All Star for sure and maybe two but no more than two...

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 06/12/2020 00:36:04    2318952

Good year, the lads done ya proud, brought great life to the county, today just wasn't meant to be, maybe letting Dublin having there own kick out didn't help along with mistakes. If someone said to me at the beginning of the year Cavan would be in an All Ireland semi final I would have been seeking help for them . Thanks to the players and the management team for brilliant days in a crappy year

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 06/12/2020 00:55:37    2318956

Proud of the boys even though the scoreline doesnt look good. I thought they did very well. Dublin's level of fitness and strength in depth is hard to cope with. They gave their all and quite a few of them played very very well. I thought Martin Reilly and Ciaran Brady were outstanding. Jason Mcloughlin, Faulkner, James Smith Oisin Kiernan, also did well as did others. They are ulster champions and will only improve

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/12/2020 02:38:47    2318971

Replying To Jaysusref:  "Thanks to mickey and the team for giving the County a huge lift this year. Onwards and upwards."
What a six weeks we have had. l certainly iived the dream with an Ulster championship in the bag. l am very disappointed for the lads - they left everything on the pitch. There were at least two black card calls to be made against the Dublin full back but the referee just chickened out.
Chin up MICKEY and lads we are with you all the way - one drubbing doesn't take away from four great wins on the trot. l will certainly remember the good days.
As the poet said: "Blessed was it those days to be alive, to be young (or in my vase old)was very heaven" or words to that effect.
Declankillann

declankillann (Dublin) - Posts: 83 - 06/12/2020 04:14:07    2318976

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "There is no need to be talking nonsense... Cavan will get one All Star for sure and maybe two but no more than two..."
I was talking about nominations. He wasn't mentioned

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 06/12/2020 09:47:46    2319022

Just popped in lads to wish you all the best after last night,

I dont want to be patronizing but im really happy with the game Cavan gave Dublin, a big huge physical battle, with hunger, fight and battle. We are a good team but had to fight for every inch, to trigger our quality and i really admire the Cavan team for that.

Ive been to every league and Championship game over this period of success pre and post 2011 and i can honestly say not many teams have rocked up against us and put it up to us as much as Cavan did, despite the final score. Cavan kicked some cracking points, fought for everything. You need to be almost perfect to beat Dublin and the inexperience of turnovers, unenforced errors and bad shot selection were depleting. But teams with bigger reputations have come to Croke Park and not put it up to Dublin like that so I really respect Cavan, absolute guts and bravery. One of the most committed teams vs us in a long time.

I hope Micky and the team look at last night as a serious stepping stone in theri development and leave Croke Park with their head more then held high, i hope last night stands to him and they go on from her, the All Ireland series is a richer place with Cavan in it.

Now hurry up and get back to Div 1, Breffni is my favorite away ground and i enjoy a fresh Spring Sunday there (despite the traffic in Virginia).

All the best lads and big respect to Cavan on last night and all they did and achieved this year - they have been brilliant and really refreshing.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/12/2020 10:25:01    2319037

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just popped in lads to wish you all the best after last night,

I dont want to be patronizing but im really happy with the game Cavan gave Dublin, a big huge physical battle, with hunger, fight and battle. We are a good team but had to fight for every inch, to trigger our quality and i really admire the Cavan team for that.

Ive been to every league and Championship game over this period of success pre and post 2011 and i can honestly say not many teams have rocked up against us and put it up to us as much as Cavan did, despite the final score. Cavan kicked some cracking points, fought for everything. You need to be almost perfect to beat Dublin and the inexperience of turnovers, unenforced errors and bad shot selection were depleting. But teams with bigger reputations have come to Croke Park and not put it up to Dublin like that so I really respect Cavan, absolute guts and bravery. One of the most committed teams vs us in a long time.

I hope Micky and the team look at last night as a serious stepping stone in theri development and leave Croke Park with their head more then held high, i hope last night stands to him and they go on from her, the All Ireland series is a richer place with Cavan in it.

Now hurry up and get back to Div 1, Breffni is my favorite away ground and i enjoy a fresh Spring Sunday there (despite the traffic in Virginia).

All the best lads and big respect to Cavan on last night and all they did and achieved this year - they have been brilliant and really refreshing."
Great Post. Cheers.

Next time you're in a packed Breffni, travel via Oldcastle, Kilnaleck, Ballinagh.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 06/12/2020 11:08:09    2319059

Replying To cavanman47:  "Great Post. Cheers.

Next time you're in a packed Breffni, travel via Oldcastle, Kilnaleck, Ballinagh."
Cheers a chara,

Last trip down i met a husband and wife who lived in Leixlip, they go to every Cavan game around the country - had been in Donegal from the week before, the last game we had in Breffni was Paul Flynns final appearance and one of Brogans last, was a dead rubber for us, but a lovely spring day and a nice comfortable crowd. I thought about them last night and how much they deserved to be in Corker for the semi, this virus really is a Pox. Last night being there would have been incredible and who knows, maybe the game closer with a huge Cavn crowd there.

Anyhow we followed the them home through the Oldcastle turnoff, before Virginia, so hopefully be sorted in the future. Thanks for the head up though.

Best wishes all!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/12/2020 11:52:24    2319083

Can anyone please tell me why did Thomas Galligan get two yellow cards and Cooper didn't?
Declannkillann

declankillann (Dublin) - Posts: 83 - 06/12/2020 12:39:55    2319106

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just popped in lads to wish you all the best after last night,

All the best lads and big respect to Cavan on last night and all they did and achieved this year - they have been brilliant and really refreshing."
Terrific post Thanks. We are very proud of what our players have achieved over the last number of weeks they have given everything for the county fought for each other and scored some terrific points they have brightened up our days and weeks in these difficult times. Hopefully they will have learned a lot from last night and realise what they need to do to get anywhere close to the mighty Dubs. Yous have an awesome team who work their socks of on a regular basis I really can't see another county beating you anytime soon big strong athletic men who just brush their markers aside like swatting a fly and then kicking a point or worse scoring a goal as I say awesome. And I don't agree with the argument about money money won't put the ball over the bar or in the net and talk about splitting up Dublin did the same people want to split up Kilkenny or Kerry when they were winning the AI every year no they didn't. What other county's need to do is concentrate on getting their own house in order and finding a way of competing and beating the Dubs anyway good luck to you in the final and a warning to your opponents Dublin don't do complacency. Happy Xmas. Up Cavan.

[email protected] (Cavan) - Posts: 138 - 06/12/2020 12:40:17    2319107

Very proud of the effort we made and the way we conducted ourselves on and of the pitch. It was a huge ask so no surprises that we came up short. If Mickey has intentions of returning to this level in the near future he will have learned some valuable lessons, in particular about some of his players. We could have gone into the first water break level were it not for mad turnovers from the same player resulting in three avoidable Dublin points. I doubt if it would have changed the outcome, but it would have kept Dublin cautious for a bit longer.

I think we're in a much better situation than 1997. We don't have an ageing team and these lads and mgnt don't seem to me to be the type to settle for one Ulster Senior medal. I expect them to have been stimulated by the experience and hungry for more.

As for Dublin? I don't agree with the hype around their resources and population and the need to level the playing pitch. Dublin have had these resources and population for years but never got close to where they are now. In fact, they used to be known for choking in the second half of major games.

For me, the difference in Dublin is the culture and values that Jim Gavin introduced and the way that successive Dublin players of recent years have bought into it. The key value is Humility. You don't hear them mouthing off like they used to and they don't over celebrate. They are a very focused, grounded group who demand high standards of each other in training and games. Nothing to do with resources. I hope whoever beats them that they match Dublin in football and don't just catch them on an off day. If they do 10 in a row, good luck to them. They have raised the bar and it's up to others to catch up.

The good news for us is that we seem to be introducing a similar culture under Mickey. Very humble and gracious speeches from Manager and Players after the Donegal match and again last night. Encouraging. Positive signs.

One word of caution. If reports from Donegal about a 90 min intensive training game on the Thursday before the Ulster final, in preparation for their Dublin game!!!, are true, then it brings into question our form from that game.Donegal were very heavy legged in Armagh. Did they take the eye of the ball and underestimate us? Anyway, we will be a target for all of them Ulster next year so let's hope we can step up again. Thank you to the Mgnt and Players for doing Cavan proud.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 06/12/2020 12:44:46    2319109

Replying To [email protected]:  "Terrific post Thanks. We are very proud of what our players have achieved over the last number of weeks they have given everything for the county fought for each other and scored some terrific points they have brightened up our days and weeks in these difficult times. Hopefully they will have learned a lot from last night and realise what they need to do to get anywhere close to the mighty Dubs. Yous have an awesome team who work their socks of on a regular basis I really can't see another county beating you anytime soon big strong athletic men who just brush their markers aside like swatting a fly and then kicking a point or worse scoring a goal as I say awesome. And I don't agree with the argument about money money won't put the ball over the bar or in the net and talk about splitting up Dublin did the same people want to split up Kilkenny or Kerry when they were winning the AI every year no they didn't. What other county's need to do is concentrate on getting their own house in order and finding a way of competing and beating the Dubs anyway good luck to you in the final and a warning to your opponents Dublin don't do complacency. Happy Xmas. Up Cavan."
So you're saying other counties just need to "get their house in order" to compete with Dublin.

Ok then, give me 3 specific examples of what other counties need to do?

This argument is just in such a denial of reality, it literally beggars belief that anyone from outside Dublin would buy into it.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 06/12/2020 12:52:54    2319113

Replying To ondforty:  "Very proud of the effort we made and the way we conducted ourselves on and of the pitch. It was a huge ask so no surprises that we came up short. If Mickey has intentions of returning to this level in the near future he will have learned some valuable lessons, in particular about some of his players. We could have gone into the first water break level were it not for mad turnovers from the same player resulting in three avoidable Dublin points. I doubt if it would have changed the outcome, but it would have kept Dublin cautious for a bit longer.

I think we're in a much better situation than 1997. We don't have an ageing team and these lads and mgnt don't seem to me to be the type to settle for one Ulster Senior medal. I expect them to have been stimulated by the experience and hungry for more.

As for Dublin? I don't agree with the hype around their resources and population and the need to level the playing pitch. Dublin have had these resources and population for years but never got close to where they are now. In fact, they used to be known for choking in the second half of major games.

For me, the difference in Dublin is the culture and values that Jim Gavin introduced and the way that successive Dublin players of recent years have bought into it. The key value is Humility. You don't hear them mouthing off like they used to and they don't over celebrate. They are a very focused, grounded group who demand high standards of each other in training and games. Nothing to do with resources. I hope whoever beats them that they match Dublin in football and don't just catch them on an off day. If they do 10 in a row, good luck to them. They have raised the bar and it's up to others to catch up.

The good news for us is that we seem to be introducing a similar culture under Mickey. Very humble and gracious speeches from Manager and Players after the Donegal match and again last night. Encouraging. Positive signs.

One word of caution. If reports from Donegal about a 90 min intensive training game on the Thursday before the Ulster final, in preparation for their Dublin game!!!, are true, then it brings into question our form from that game.Donegal were very heavy legged in Armagh. Did they take the eye of the ball and underestimate us? Anyway, we will be a target for all of them Ulster next year so let's hope we can step up again. Thank you to the Mgnt and Players for doing Cavan proud."
How can you say it's nothing to do with resources? It's so disappointing to hear people on this forum back that ridiculous argument.

They've been given in the region of 16.8 million since 2003. They literally had the GAA set up a special committee for them so they could improve.

What's happening in Gaelic football is absolutely indefensible and utterly insane. The game is dying in Leinster and still there are people in denial.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 06/12/2020 12:56:01    2319120

Congratulations to Mickey and the entire Cavan panel and back room team for the past few weeks. The joy pride and hope for the future you have restored in cavan football is unbelievable. My daughter watched the match in the meadow view yesterday evening and every cavan score kickout won block made was cheered to the roof even when we were losing by 9 or 10 points. As she said it was just a real joyous occasion and they were so proud that cavan were a part of it, Compare that to Dessie Farrell interview on RTE at nine o clock after their victory. You would think that all belonging to him had just died he looked shattered and was spouting on about getting ready for the final and using video analysis to try and eliminate the mistakes they made. You would think they had just got hammered. This is not sour grapes dont get me wrong Dublin are a great team and could have beaten us by much more but you can see where they are going. They were far from happy with that victory or any victory and are striving all the time for absolute perfection no kick outs lost no turn overs no wides and they have the resources to go close to attaining this.This is an amateur sport and is also there to be enjoyed and have the craic and enjoyment along the way. Dublin are taking this away from the game they are becoming close to robots no risk taken no pass given no attempt at scoring unless it is 100 percent on even if it means retaining possession for up to 5 minutes to achieve this. It will be next to impossible for any other team to achieve this as this is a fully professional outfit in every sense of the word. I also dont know if i would like to see other teams trying to attain this next to impossible professional approach as we are 31 amateurs teams with one fully professional outfit who from the outside do not seem to be getting much joy or sense of satisfaction from their dominance look at Cluxtons face after they won the leinster you would think he got three teeth pulled without an anaesthetic.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 06/12/2020 13:48:28    2319151

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "So you're saying other counties just need to "get their house in order" to compete with Dublin.

Ok then, give me 3 specific examples of what other counties need to do?

This argument is just in such a denial of reality, it literally beggars belief that anyone from outside Dublin would buy into it."
I'm saying that euros don't put the ball over the bar or into the net can you not see that would Dublin players have taken the opportunities that we missed last night and that's not having a go at our own players who gave everything and done us proud over the last number of weeks just making the point that money doesn't make Dublin players superior they are better at what they do than their opponents.

[email protected] (Cavan) - Posts: 138 - 06/12/2020 16:56:31    2319285

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Congratulations to Mickey and the entire Cavan panel and back room team for the past few weeks. The joy pride and hope for the future you have restored in cavan football is unbelievable. My daughter watched the match in the meadow view yesterday evening and every cavan score kickout won block made was cheered to the roof even when we were losing by 9 or 10 points. As she said it was just a real joyous occasion and they were so proud that cavan were a part of it, Compare that to Dessie Farrell interview on RTE at nine o clock after their victory. You would think that all belonging to him had just died he looked shattered and was spouting on about getting ready for the final and using video analysis to try and eliminate the mistakes they made. You would think they had just got hammered. This is not sour grapes dont get me wrong Dublin are a great team and could have beaten us by much more but you can see where they are going. They were far from happy with that victory or any victory and are striving all the time for absolute perfection no kick outs lost no turn overs no wides and they have the resources to go close to attaining this.This is an amateur sport and is also there to be enjoyed and have the craic and enjoyment along the way. Dublin are taking this away from the game they are becoming close to robots no risk taken no pass given no attempt at scoring unless it is 100 percent on even if it means retaining possession for up to 5 minutes to achieve this. It will be next to impossible for any other team to achieve this as this is a fully professional outfit in every sense of the word. I also dont know if i would like to see other teams trying to attain this next to impossible professional approach as we are 31 amateurs teams with one fully professional outfit who from the outside do not seem to be getting much joy or sense of satisfaction from their dominance look at Cluxtons face after they won the leinster you would think he got three teeth pulled without an anaesthetic."
I agree, Dublin have all advantages. The Cavan team did us proud. Yes Dublin are taking the fun out of the Championship especially the Leinster. At least the likes of Cavan have a chance of winning their Provintial as where Meath have very little chance of winnimg theirs. I am not knocking Dublin i think they are a credit to their county and appear very humble. The are supremely fit and conditioned and this doesn't happen without hard work. Another advantage is access to training and the time constraints. Compare a Kerry, Donegal or Mayo player commiting to training and that of a Dublin player. The time these players spend travelling is mindboggling. But i agree the Dubs are taking a lot of enjoyment instead of sharing it.

CorrNaGaoithe (Cavan) - Posts: 1 - 06/12/2020 18:38:20    2319386

Pat Gilroy and Andy McEntee on the Sunday game tonight discussing how the Gaa can come up with ideas to stop Dublins dominance.
A reduction in funding not going to have much impact now as the horse has bolted,

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 06/12/2020 19:37:38    2319434

Replying To declankillann:  "Can anyone please tell me why did Thomas Galligan get two yellow cards and Cooper didn't?
Declannkillann"
Yes Declann Thomas got the 2nd yellow for applauding the Ref but I am not sure what rule he was breaking except that Cluxton is a more protected species than the corncrake

gaasport (Longford) - Posts: 23 - 06/12/2020 20:35:00    2319472

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Pat Gilroy and Andy McEntee on the Sunday game tonight discussing how the Gaa can come up with ideas to stop Dublins dominance.
A reduction in funding not going to have much impact now as the horse has bolted,"
The only solution is to create 4 new counties.
Dublin north, south east and west.
Splitting them in two isn't going far enough, you'll just end up with Dublin north vs Dublin south in the final every year.

I honestly don't know why any Dub would object to being split either. I lived there for many years and there's no community spirit whatsoever. So much of the capital is transient labour because of the tech firms. So it's different from the 31 other counties in that sense.
For example, if you were from Swadlinbar, and you were out trekking in the mountains of Peru, and you met a lad from Cornafean, you'd have a natural affinity with him, because you're both Cavan men.
But if you were from Ballymun and you met a lad from Ranelagh, you just wouldn't have the same bond, because like I said, a city doesn't have a sense of community.

So split them up and let them whinge if they like, they've had their time in the sun and it's time for change.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 06/12/2020 21:14:17    2319503