Cavan Vs Antrim

You are underestimating Antrim based on league after saying league doesnt matter. We got caught by them in a similar situation in 2009. Forget any other game except for Antrim and give them the respect they deserve. They have the advantage of having watched us in a full blooded game and they will have seen how Monaghan opened us up down the middle. So we need to be confident but be wary. There are no easy games. Start in 1st gear and its hard to go up the gears thereafter. That said you'd expect we'd have too much for them.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1326 - 02/11/2020 11:55:43

Would have to agree with Fred here and i was there in 2009 when Antrim played out of their skin and steam rolled us. There are a lot of lads that will have learned a lot from the win over Monaghan but we need give Antrim all the respect they deserve. This after all is the ulster championship where no team has any god given right to a win. We shouldn't look past the game or anything like that..

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 06/11/2020 13:51:11    2305575

Give Antrim the respect they deserve and likewise they should us. It's 15 men against 15 men. However, if we don't beat them convincingly forget about an Ulster final nevermind winning it. Gearoid is playing some stuff.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 06/11/2020 17:59:47    2305653

Best of luck to the Mgnt and players tomorrow.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 06/11/2020 22:17:32    2305713

Listening on Northern Sound. Half time and we've been disappointing.

Sounds like Antrim are the better side, attacking with intensity and showing more efficiency in their scoring chances. We're missing a lot of shots, playing slow, ponderous ball with not many options and support runs for the man on the ball. Despite that we're just a point behind so have every chance of winning it in the second half if we rouse ourselves. Hard to know if we're emotionally and physically drained after last week, which would have taken a lot out of the lads. Need to get the fresh legs on early enough second half and get Thomas Galligan on to work his magic again!

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 07/11/2020 14:00:58    2305809

Good result! We didn't make it easy for ourselves, but a win is a win and we march on! Plenty to fix but one thnig I'm liking a lot is how strongly we've been finishing matches since the restart - the lads' conditioning and fitness from that respect seems good. But as we saw v Kildare and Roscommon it counts for nothing if you leave yourself too big a job to do on the scoreboard. Let's see who we get in the semi but another arm wreslte awaits anyway.

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 07/11/2020 14:59:47    2305817

Done enough but defensive problem exposed again cut open. TED, Galligan very good when introduced. Ciaran Brady very good attacking

Some really poor handling mistakes and wides but into a Semi.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 07/11/2020 15:14:09    2305827

A win is a win is a win
I would be worried about the goal chances we are giving up we don't seem to keep with runners.
That said great way to go into the next game no pressure will be better the next day.
I would prefer fermanagh to down but won't be much between those.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 07/11/2020 15:29:15    2305831

That was hard to watch.. but its the kind of game we would have lost 10 or 15 years ago. Its probably the reality check needed before a semi final. It reminded me of the down game in 18, we were written off all week after that and then put in a massive performance agsindt would be all ireland finalists Tyrone the week after. They are my positive take aways from today.
Moving forward though we need to do something with that full forward line. They are not contributing anything. I taught TED made a difference when introduced and looked dangerous. I would go with him the next day. I hate talking about lads who aren't there but we would be a differnt proposition with caoimhin reilly and mcveety up there . I understand mcvetty Is away but where is Caomhin Reilly? At the moment we are half back line are contributing more on the score board then that full forward line.
We are in the semi final in another 50 50 game, but a lot to improve on.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 07/11/2020 16:15:25    2305845

Maybe 4 weeks on the trot is catching up after the long break. These lads are still amateur and still getting up to match pace. they were disappointing but we take winning ugly any day. We are quite good at managing a game but its almost too precise, nearly with an aim to be in it come last quarter and then push on. Ted is worth a start the next day..

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 07/11/2020 16:20:47    2305847

We got the win, wouldn't fill u with confidence, it was always going to be hard after the Monaghan game. Didn't learn from the Monaghan game in giving up the oppositions kick outs. And the slow build up play isn't working. But a win is a win, so well done lads !!

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 07/11/2020 16:28:21    2305848

Well done to the lads, not our finest performance but as mentioned already we ground out the win.

We looked a bit fatigued and indisciplined n the tackle at times and 3 black cards would seem to be a result of that. Also some needless forced turnovers at times which handed the initiative back to antrim.
Seemed to be still struggling with our pattern of attacking play, would like to see the ball moving quicker up the field from defence by foot and definitely need to improve our movement patterns and support runs inside. Feel we just arent getting the best out of cormac, stephen and oisin's skillset.

We are more than likely playing a down side in the next round which will be a much more skilled and pacey version of antrim and under paddy tally will likely play a defensive screen.

On the positives 2 wins in the champ is building momentum at least. We finished well and all subs made excellent contributions which bodes well for panel depth. We definitely have improved our composure and game management especially when required. Ray Galligan is becoming increasing influential on the team which is great to see, ciaran brady was excellent and TED and T Galligan contributing well from the bench. Let's hope we can improve more to put in a serious performance in the ulster semi.

Bluehead (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 07/11/2020 20:31:36    2305917

Replying To blueskies:  "That was hard to watch.. but its the kind of game we would have lost 10 or 15 years ago. Its probably the reality check needed before a semi final. It reminded me of the down game in 18, we were written off all week after that and then put in a massive performance agsindt would be all ireland finalists Tyrone the week after. They are my positive take aways from today.
Moving forward though we need to do something with that full forward line. They are not contributing anything. I taught TED made a difference when introduced and looked dangerous. I would go with him the next day. I hate talking about lads who aren't there but we would be a differnt proposition with caoimhin reilly and mcveety up there . I understand mcvetty Is away but where is Caomhin Reilly? At the moment we are half back line are contributing more on the score board then that full forward line.
We are in the semi final in another 50 50 game, but a lot to improve on."
Butlersbridge people tell me Caomhin opted out himself so not much the management team can do about that. As Mickey passionately said during the week, he has 35 players who want to play for Cavan and that's one if the most important things.
As was said last week, respect the lads who are motivated and committed to the county team.

Today didn't actually go too bad as:
1. No new injuries it appears
2 3 black cards so discipline will be a big discussion point this
3. A lot of players performed poorly so will be chomping at the bit fit the next game
4. Down should be firm favourites (if they beat Fermanagh) which would suit us

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 07/11/2020 21:58:21    2305946

glad to get out of that one still standing. We could have easily lost it. some poor shooting by Antrim let us off the hook. Again our bench did well. TED and T galligan especially. O. Kiernan black card very unlucky. Gunner's completely stupid and deserved. G. Smith good call by ref, not many would have spotted it. O. Kiernan, C.Brady, GMac , T. Galligan, R.Galligan, TED probably the pic. Martin Reilly as always very busy and put in a lot of tackles as did Faulkner. K.Clarke improving with each game and did well too. Antrim played out of their skins and had some top class performers too, probably poor shooting and losing ball in tackle a few times cost them. It will be another tough test against either Fermanagh or Down. we will need our whole panel for this ulster championship. the games are coming thick and fast hot on the heels of the league so niggles, fatigue etc will mean we need to use our full panel. So far so good.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 08/11/2020 01:21:17    2305984

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "Butlersbridge people tell me Caomhin opted out himself so not much the management team can do about that. As Mickey passionately said during the week, he has 35 players who want to play for Cavan and that's one if the most important things.
As was said last week, respect the lads who are motivated and committed to the county team.

Today didn't actually go too bad as:
1. No new injuries it appears
2 3 black cards so discipline will be a big discussion point this
3. A lot of players performed poorly so will be chomping at the bit fit the next game
4. Down should be firm favourites (if they beat Fermanagh) which would suit us"
You would have Down as firm favourites to beat Cavan but you're not sure wheter Down will beat Fermanagh? Says alot about your belief in the cavan team :) Would a team who won 3 Div 2 league games and beat a Division 1 team in the championship not be firm favourites against either a team who only won 1 Div2 league game or a team who only managed 4 wins in Div3?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 08/11/2020 07:54:08    2305989

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "You would have Down as firm favourites to beat Cavan but you're not sure wheter Down will beat Fermanagh? Says alot about your belief in the cavan team :) Would a team who won 3 Div 2 league games and beat a Division 1 team in the championship not be firm favourites against either a team who only won 1 Div2 league game or a team who only managed 4 wins in Div3?"
Where did I say I would have Down firm favourites? I said Down will be firm favourites - never said with myself, I mean the betting market in general. I thought Cavan would win yesterday but I always said it would be a very tough game, a potential banana skin, but the bookies had us at 10/1 ON to win that game. That was a ridiculous price.

Cavan have just been relegated and their performance yesterday was poor - and, before anyone says it, I'm quite happy with the performance as said above. However, when the betting market looks at it, Cavan have just been relegated, rode our luck against Monaghan, who should have been further ahead at half time, and struggled against a Division 4 team.

Down, on the other hand, have just been promoted and, if they beat Fermanagh, will have beaten a team a level above Antrim that we struggled against. Therefore my expectation is that Down will be firm favourites and that will suit us.

If Fermanagh win, I expect Cavan will be favourites as we beat Fermanagh in our last few meetings and earlier in the year and that will not suit us.

Either way, I'm expecting another terrible game of football today with the defensive systems both teams employ. Paddy Tally teams are dreadful to watch.

Cavan only have a week with tired bodies and if it is Down, they'll provide a far sterner blanket than Antrim did. We need to penetrate more in attack and the defence definitely needs for someone to sit in and plug a hole and stop teams running at us. Anyone who has watched the Antrim and Monaghan games will know we are porous through the middle if run at.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 08/11/2020 09:01:07    2305995

McMemamin will have Fermangh set up for a battle after being relagted. Fermangh played ok in the final 2 league games despite the covid issues.
Down had a walkover against Leitrim and beaten well by Louth in final game.
Hard to judge where they are, even if they were promoted.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 08/11/2020 09:39:55    2306000

That was hard going yesterday. I suppose it was always going to be that way. The old cliche of only the result that matters is appropriate. The game itself doesn't bear much in the way of analysis because Cavan will not face a team like Antrim again. The only thing to say is that a team like Donegal will have answers for Gearoid and TGalligan. A 3rd way is needed and I can't see it in the panel just now. But we have to trust Mickey to conjure something.

First things first though. I am looking forward to seeing Down and Fermanagh in action today to gauge what faces Cavan next. A semi final against Down would be great, a chance for the old aristocrats to have at it again. Agree that they could be undercooked for this one but they are the ultimate momentum team.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 08/11/2020 11:16:21    2306022

Replying To PatTheDandy:  "Well done to all team and management. We did have periods of poor quality in the game, but from Raymond Galligan to the subs, right up to Colin Gumley reeling in the years in the corner, you couldn't question the spirit of any of the players and that's all you can ask for. Great leadership & quality from our main men in McKiernan, Tom Galligan, Gerry Smith & Faulkner the difference.

I had said a few weeks ago as other posters thought the world was falling in, that the league offers very little basis for what a team is going to do in the c'ship, and the c'ship should be the focus and the measuring stick used for the progress of this team. With that result now, bar a loss to Antrim, Fermanagh, maybe Down (we'll see how they are looking this year), Mickey has justified his position with another big c'ship victory against a Division 1 team for the 2nd year in a row with a few good players not available this time around and a top class one in D McVeety. Definitely won the tactical battle also, although you would have to wonder at the Banty's thinking to abandon a running game that should be unaffected by wind and that had them about 6 points up after 40 minutes. The Banty will surely have to go.

Onto the next challenge, and while the players should focus on Antrim, as supporters we are free to speculate and we all know Antrim will be swept aside easily in the 2nd half. There are two challenges for Mickey now to show he has progressed on last year:

1. We have to maintain the consistency of the Monaghan performance to beat Down & Fermanagh. The exact same standard will beat either by about 3 points I would think
2. If point No. 1 has been a success, then we need to find something extra in an Ulster Final that we didn't have last year to keep us competitive and in the game against likely a Donegal with 10 mins to go.

I would expect us to fall down at point No. 2 again, but that will probably not be seen as a terrible outcome and would leave you going into next year with plenty of hope having made two Ulster finals in a row. And having been one of the few who leaped to Mickey's defense to calm a potential riot on here following the league relegation, I now feel best placed to move us all on from the congratulations and pointless talk of not taking Antrim for granted and point usback towards the analysis/the work-ons/the criticisms of Saturday, of which I have 5 below:

1. Monaghan tore through the middle of us leading to Galligan having to make 4 saves and scored 3 fisted points that were also goal oppurtunites. I had asked for Faulkner here to plug this hole rather than as a man marker and still think I right on that point. While this was happening and for the whole match bar the last 5 mins, Killian Clarke appeared to playing a role where he was following a player or the ball around the field and ending up in the forward line without much intent and a hole to be filled behind him as we got cut through on the various counter attacks. I am not sure what that role was he was playing but there are plenty of lads who didn't make the panel could have played that role just as well.

2. With a couple of different players tried on him, we did not look like we had anyone to handle the speedy corner forward Hanlon. It was only Monaghan's change of approach that put him out of the game really. No. 11 was also running riot on the 40 and it was the switch into to FF with McManus to get McManus out for more shoots that quietened him down too. Faulkner did an acceptable job on McManus I thought. Below his own high standards but acceptable. So we might only have 1 good man marker in that full back line (who is needed at No. 6). Again, I havent seen much of this famous Danny Cusack and sometimes the less lads play the better they get, but I wonder if there is any harm in taking a chance on the devil we dont know here, and the same with Timoney. They did it with TED in the forwards so why not in the backs.

3. Build up play was fairly slow and undirect. Long range points with the wind were our go to play from 1-3 onwards. A good team watching that will probably just play a higher line against and take more of a chance of conceding goals which we still dont really look dangerous from in spite of scoring two in 90 mins.

4. Martin Reilly and James Smith were not really in the game at all within the 70 minutes bar 1 point from play each. You would expect those two players to be on the ball alot more given their styles of play. Bit of tweaking needed to get them more into maybe?

5. Cormac Reilly seems to get whipped off when one of our more dangerous forwards while other quieter lads are left on. But I'll take Mickey's word on that one. Maybe he has Colm Boyle vests on them that beep over on the line when you have enough done."
Great analysis there Pat. Your 5 points to work on showed up as major flaws again, even against Antrim, apart from maybe point number 2 where McLoughlin played fairly well but probably helped by the fact that Antrim didn't have much quality in the forwards bar a slowed up Paddy Cunningham.

Big hole still there and exploited many times by M McCann, Andy Murray and the wing back who should have scored that goal.
Build up play even more slow and direct. Killian Clarke not helping this in spite of his good point, and is not needed up there. He is getting a lot of good turnovers though. Which is why he should be in the backs.
Martin Reilly not in the game at all again. Nor indeed Cormac Reilly despite maximum effort from him because he is not an inside forward and needs to be moved out.

Winning the games is all you can ask for but I'm not seeing anything to suggest we wouldn't get steam rolled by Donegal in an Ulster final if we were to both get over our semi's.

PatTheDandy (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 08/11/2020 12:24:20    2306041

Replying To PatTheDandy:  "Great analysis there Pat. Your 5 points to work on showed up as major flaws again, even against Antrim, apart from maybe point number 2 where McLoughlin played fairly well but probably helped by the fact that Antrim didn't have much quality in the forwards bar a slowed up Paddy Cunningham.

Big hole still there and exploited many times by M McCann, Andy Murray and the wing back who should have scored that goal.
Build up play even more slow and direct. Killian Clarke not helping this in spite of his good point, and is not needed up there. He is getting a lot of good turnovers though. Which is why he should be in the backs.
Martin Reilly not in the game at all again. Nor indeed Cormac Reilly despite maximum effort from him because he is not an inside forward and needs to be moved out.

Winning the games is all you can ask for but I'm not seeing anything to suggest we wouldn't get steam rolled by Donegal in an Ulster final if we were to both get over our semi's."
Yeah, great analysis. Even if you do say so yourself!
Ha ha

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 08/11/2020 12:51:43    2306051

Replying To MadgeKing:  "That was hard going yesterday. I suppose it was always going to be that way. The old cliche of only the result that matters is appropriate. The game itself doesn't bear much in the way of analysis because Cavan will not face a team like Antrim again. The only thing to say is that a team like Donegal will have answers for Gearoid and TGalligan. A 3rd way is needed and I can't see it in the panel just now. But we have to trust Mickey to conjure something.

First things first though. I am looking forward to seeing Down and Fermanagh in action today to gauge what faces Cavan next. A semi final against Down would be great, a chance for the old aristocrats to have at it again. Agree that they could be undercooked for this one but they are the ultimate momentum team."
Have to agree yesterday was hard to watch taking terrible shooting options and not giving the ball to players in better positions who can score also 3 black cards that's nearly half of the game imagine what better teams would do to us it's hard enough with 15players effort can't be faulted over both games though. That's 2tough games in a week so the lads have given their all. Sorting our defence out is a must because every time Monaghan or Antrim attacked us they got easy scores where we have to work twice as hard to get scores so hopefully that will change. No matter who we play next week it will be tough but at least we have something to look forward to and debate there's a lot of county's sitting at home wishing they were in the same position so thank you MG and the team for your efforts so far in these difficult times. Up Cavan.

[email protected] (Cavan) - Posts: 138 - 08/11/2020 12:52:46    2306052