Cavan V Donegal - USFC Final 2019

Decided we needed a new thread for this. It's a brilliant feeling to be back in an Ulster final.

How do we see this one going lads? I genuinely think we can give Donegal a right battle. This is a totally different Cavan team to last year, so although they beat us comfortably in 2018 it may well lead to complacency on their part.

We all saw what Donegal did to Tyrone, that was a pretty much flawless performance so we know the size of the task facing us. They're very physically strong up front, with serious running power.

The battle between Gearóid and Murphy in the middle of the park is going to be intriguing.

The two glaring things we need to work on are kickouts and utilising Madden and Galligan up front more effectively.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 10/06/2019 10:23:52    2192658

lots of positives to take into the game. following the games at the weekend my overriding concern is the physical strength and power of Donegal. I just don't think we are there yet in that department with enough of our players and think that could be the difference. its a learning curve still for this regime.
we would have taken tow bites at super 8's before the Monaghan game.

kitog (UK) - Posts: 14 - 10/06/2019 10:45:43    2192684

I'd still rather be playing Donegal than Tyrone. Peter Harte black card unsettled Tyrone big time and they didn't seem to have a plan B.
Donegal weren't that impressive against Fermanagh , they struggled to break them down for long periods.
We are underdogs no doubt and anything from here on in is a bonus especially in Mickeys 1st year.
We are improving with each game and Sundays game will bring us on a ton .
We are within touching distance of the Super 8s and that can only be a positive in our development.
Onwards and upwards

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 10/06/2019 10:57:21    2192696

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Decided we needed a new thread for this. It's a brilliant feeling to be back in an Ulster final.

How do we see this one going lads? I genuinely think we can give Donegal a right battle. This is a totally different Cavan team to last year, so although they beat us comfortably in 2018 it may well lead to complacency on their part.

We all saw what Donegal did to Tyrone, that was a pretty much flawless performance so we know the size of the task facing us. They're very physically strong up front, with serious running power.

The battle between Gearóid and Murphy in the middle of the park is going to be intriguing.

The two glaring things we need to work on are kickouts and utilising Madden and Galligan up front more effectively."
yes, totally agree. We need to utilise the big men in this one. Having seen Donegal in breffni at the weekend, they are a big physical team so we need to match them. Such an exciting 2 weeks ahead for Cavan football!

cavantown (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 10/06/2019 10:59:24    2192703

Excellent display of football yesterday- what a pleasure to watch!

Will we have Gerry Smith back for Ulster Final? Ciaran Holla will also be a major asset.. how would we change up our team from yesterday?

Galligan and Madden not being utilized in FF line, looks like the are pulling out wide to make space for big G and McVitty, however will we need all forwards on form for Final. Would like to see more of them in final as we know what they are capable of. Madden carries a huge goal threat, had a superb league campaign and was a major factor for us winning the game v Monaghan. His confidence seemed to drop after 1st Armagh game.

Galligan instead of C.Brady in middle of field. We will need huge size ad strength for Donegal as they are a physical team. He is a great player with great fielding ability and accuracy. Also a player who hasn't played great but has huge potential.

Pierson did well for first game however I think for final we will need more strength and experience upfront. Caoimhinn was rusty, could tell the lack of game time he had this year, pity as he is a great asset but also in a good position to bring him off the bench

McVitty, Monagh, Clark, Galligan, Jason, Gearoid and Murray are all on top of their game. Hopefully legs can carry through for 2 weeks time.

We need to put heads down and work hard for next 2 weeks and enjoy another day out in Clones.

What a time for Cavan football!

breffblue101 (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 10/06/2019 11:12:15    2192717

Replying To breffblue101:  "Excellent display of football yesterday- what a pleasure to watch!

Will we have Gerry Smith back for Ulster Final? Ciaran Holla will also be a major asset.. how would we change up our team from yesterday?

Galligan and Madden not being utilized in FF line, looks like the are pulling out wide to make space for big G and McVitty, however will we need all forwards on form for Final. Would like to see more of them in final as we know what they are capable of. Madden carries a huge goal threat, had a superb league campaign and was a major factor for us winning the game v Monaghan. His confidence seemed to drop after 1st Armagh game.

Galligan instead of C.Brady in middle of field. We will need huge size ad strength for Donegal as they are a physical team. He is a great player with great fielding ability and accuracy. Also a player who hasn't played great but has huge potential.

Pierson did well for first game however I think for final we will need more strength and experience upfront. Caoimhinn was rusty, could tell the lack of game time he had this year, pity as he is a great asset but also in a good position to bring him off the bench

McVitty, Monagh, Clark, Galligan, Jason, Gearoid and Murray are all on top of their game. Hopefully legs can carry through for 2 weeks time.

We need to put heads down and work hard for next 2 weeks and enjoy another day out in Clones.

What a time for Cavan football!"
That's a good shout actually, I'd like to see Galligan at midfield for this one. Move Oisín Kieran into 15 but have him operate his usual link role and maybe operate a two man FF line.

Kiernan is actually the lynch pin of our team, he does a lot of link work which doesn't get plaudits but is invaluable to the team. I'd like to see the running stats per player, it's a toss up between him and martin Reilly I'd imagine for distance covered.

If we're going to operate with Gearóid inside, then our kickouts need to go short. If he's at midfield we can go long. One thing is for certain we need to stop kicking the ball to the opposition from kickouts.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 10/06/2019 11:35:17    2192739

Delighted to see Argue in the match day panel yesterday. I think he will be a great addition to the team when fully fit

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 10/06/2019 13:03:28    2192832

Well done Cavan.
Great resilient performance.
I had a good look at the delayed coverage on BBC2
We could have shipped 3-4 goals.
As with the first game we were a bit loose at the back during the first few minutes.
Something for Mickey to look at for the final.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 10/06/2019 13:49:47    2192895

Best of luck to ye
great to see the aristocrats back

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 10/06/2019 14:27:58    2192933

Donegal were hugely impressive Saturday evening but Tyrone looked a tired team and very very one dimensional with no variation in their play,Tyrone were cleaned out in midfield too,a tired looking team which maybe made Donegal look better than they are,we hope. We will need size and power in the middle though ,they had Murphy,McFadden,Thompson/Magee,Langan all out around the 50/60 metres all capable of winning ball and all running hard from deep along with Eoin Ban and McHugh plus McBrearty and Brennan inside. Murphy takes a breather inside every so often too.It will take a serious performance to overcome Donegal,Micky and selectors will be using a lot of paper over the next two weeks.However,the team are playing with great belief ,confidence and compusure and anything can happen on any given day.Most commentators wrote us off in 97 too. Hopefully we will have a full hand to choose from with Holla and Gerry Smith to add to yesterdays matchday panel.,might need Michael Argue and one or two more big men around the middle but size isnt enough,we need serious hard runners. Likely Killian C will get the Murphy job or will Killian Gunner get the nod ,not just size required on Murphy but also hard hard running, Conor Brady was obviously asked to nullify Jarly Og and he did that yesterday,other option for midfield size is Tommy Galligan and likely Gearoid will play outfield further. Obviously man marking jobs required on Brennan and McBrearty who will both end up inside but serious scoring threat also comes from distance from Murphy,Langan,Thompson.Anyone remember the scores from 45-50 metres from Langan & Thompson at u21s 2 years ago and in Ballybofey last year.Lots to ponder for what will be a fascinating encounter tactics wise. Donegal obviously will particularly focus on Dara McAveety and will give McMenamin or Paddy McGrath that job,but Murray,Gearoid,Martin Reilly,Mackey have proven that we are not a one man band,but are now a team full of belief.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 10/06/2019 15:09:40    2192965

what's the story with tickets? Leinster final tickets are up on tickets.ie but no sign of ulster final tickets yet??

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 10/06/2019 15:12:28    2192969

Replying To cavanman47:  "what's the story with tickets? Leinster final tickets are up on tickets.ie but no sign of ulster final tickets yet??"
On sale Wednesday I believe

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 10/06/2019 15:22:03    2192979

Replying To ondforty:  "Delighted to see Argue in the match day panel yesterday. I think he will be a great addition to the team when fully fit"
funny you mention him but i saw him after the game and just thought for a moment could he be the main for Mc Gee at midfield. it'd allow cavan push up on the kickouts!!! plus Argue has performed under pressure at different grades including midfield against Kerry/ Derry in 2013, Donegal u21 final in armagh where he scored a goal near the end i think?

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 10/06/2019 15:51:20    2193003

Replying To breffblue101:  "Excellent display of football yesterday- what a pleasure to watch!

What a time for Cavan football!"
The Holla an asset off the bench maybe but I definitely wouldn't have him starting, Conor Rehill has been excellent for us since coming into the team, more level headed than the Holla and looks very settled in the starting 15. McLoughlin, Faulkner, Moynagh, Clarke and Martin Reilly have all been brilliant as well, the back 6 picks itself for me.

Madden I thought was brilliant against Monaghan but just never got going the last 2 weeks for whatever reason, if Caoimhin can get sharpness back he may offer a different kind of threat possibly but remains to be seen.

The lads were a joy to watch yesterday, full credit to Mickey Graham and Co. I watched typical begrudgers after the drawn game on BBC coverage calling it 'awful football', I couldn't have disagreed more, direct attacking football with constant runners off the shoulder and intelligent on the ball waiting for openings when needed rather than forcing it, I think yesterday showed a better reflection of the style of play he's instilled. 23 points and I think only 3 wides is serious going.

Moynagh was immense I thought and would've had him as my MOTM.

We'll march on to Clones on the 23rd in numbers and fully get behind them all

an_cearrbhach (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 10/06/2019 16:09:31    2193017

Replying To theweanling:  "funny you mention him but i saw him after the game and just thought for a moment could he be the main for Mc Gee at midfield. it'd allow cavan push up on the kickouts!!! plus Argue has performed under pressure at different grades including midfield against Kerry/ Derry in 2013, Donegal u21 final in armagh where he scored a goal near the end i think?"
It was Liam Buchanan who got that goal. Actually saw him in the terraces yesterday, anyone know what his story is, injured I'm guessing? Had a very good league campaign in 2016 when we earned promotion to division 1, always had a score in him.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 10/06/2019 16:47:09    2193049

Well Done yesterday guys. Great to see the Breifne boys back. Looking forward to a great Ulster Final.

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 10/06/2019 22:31:17    2193248

Well done lads. Thoroughly deserved. Enjoy the final!!

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 11/06/2019 08:28:26    2193323

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "It was Liam Buchanan who got that goal. Actually saw him in the terraces yesterday, anyone know what his story is, injured I'm guessing? Had a very good league campaign in 2016 when we earned promotion to division 1, always had a score in him."
you're right!! Argue got a point right after it wasn't it. buchanan didn't seem to recover after breaking his leg that time. for all we know he mightn't even be interested in playing anymore.
Cavan are after getting three monkeys of their back this year, roscommon, monaghan and an ulster semi final. is a fourth too much of a stretch i wonder?

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 11/06/2019 10:21:21    2193372

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "It was Liam Buchanan who got that goal. Actually saw him in the terraces yesterday, anyone know what his story is, injured I'm guessing? Had a very good league campaign in 2016 when we earned promotion to division 1, always had a score in him."
Not to sound negative but that young man hasn't played inter county level since 2016.
The training these lads on county panels go through since winter time is intense. A player who hasn't had any conditioning or training to the standards the lads on the team is not an option and i don't think we should be dwelling on that. We should focus on the 26 players on the panel who have earned their right to get to a Ulster Final through hard work commitment and determination.

breffblue101 (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 11/06/2019 10:36:59    2193381

Replying To breffblue101:  "Not to sound negative but that young man hasn't played inter county level since 2016.
The training these lads on county panels go through since winter time is intense. A player who hasn't had any conditioning or training to the standards the lads on the team is not an option and i don't think we should be dwelling on that. We should focus on the 26 players on the panel who have earned their right to get to a Ulster Final through hard work commitment and determination."
Not to sound negative but that young man hasn't played inter county level since 2016.
The training these lads on county panels go through since winter time is intense. A player who hasn't had any conditioning or training to the standards the lads on the team is not an option and i don't think we should be dwelling on that. We should focus on the 26 players on the panel who have earned their right to get to a Ulster Final through hard work commitment and determination.
breffblue101 (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 11/06/2019 10:36:59

Where did anyone say he would be an option?

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 11/06/2019 12:10:48    2193430