Mattie McGleenan steps down

Congratulations to Monaghan today for reaching the All Ireland semi, kills the myth that small counties, can't achieve. We drew with this team on a cold February day on 2017 and came with in a score of beating them in recent championship outings. Look where they are now, look where we are . The clue to the difference was in Malachy O Rourke' s interview tonight: their 36 guys stayed together. I dont think there is any player power in Cavan but rather player intelligence, on and off the field. County Board needs to chose very carefully and appoint somebody that they can aspire to , they deserve that .

Huntertj (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 04/08/2018 22:09:27    2129117

Replying To JamsieMac:  "
Replying To The Quiet Man:  "[quote=Cavan_Shambles:  "Replying To s goldrick: "All The best for the future Mattie. Here we go again."

He is no loss I hope the rest go with him.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4091 - 12/07/2018 00:22:42 2120861

Over to you Quiet Man."
Thank you for bringing this forward that post it was made after the shameful display by a County team in Brewster Park against Tyrone. Yes I made the post but when I found out what went down on that day I was shocked and disappointed that a team could do what they did to the management.
I decided then to find out more about it and also what experience the management had and to my dismay we had quality on the side line and nothing inside it. Apologising is a sign of weakness but on this occasion I have no problem doing so.
Unfortunately we will have a local take up the post who will have nothing remotely close to their CV's if the names that are mentioned who are selecting the new person are true?? We also have lost Jim Cribbins it would seem that's a shame."
Sean
It's time to put up or shut up. If you know something that the rest of us don't then spit it out. Otherwise you sound like a gossiping school girl trying to create drama where there is none."]You see misses Mac: Hoganstand will not post my reply but you know where I stand. People like you would not know a good player or manager even if he was sitting on your lap. This is a short version of my reply Hogan stand will not post but I am cool with that.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 04/08/2018 22:25:29    2129128

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "
Replying To JamsieMac:  "[quote=The Quiet Man:  "[quote=Cavan_Shambles:  "Replying To s goldrick: "All The best for the future Mattie. Here we go again."

Over to you Quiet Man."
Thank you for bringing this forward that post it was made after the shameful display by a County team in Brewster Park against Tyrone. Yes I made the post but when I found out what went down on that day I was shocked and disappointed that a team could do what they did to the management.
I decided then to find out more about it and also what experience the management had and to my dismay we had quality on the side line and nothing inside it. Apologising is a sign of weakness but on this occasion I have no problem doing so.
Unfortunately we will have a local take up the post who will have nothing remotely close to their CV's if the names that are mentioned who are selecting the new person are true?? We also have lost Jim Cribbins it would seem that's a shame."
Sean
It's time to put up or shut up. If you know something that the rest of us don't then spit it out. Otherwise you sound like a gossiping school girl trying to create drama where there is none."]You see misses Mac: Hoganstand will not post my reply but you know where I stand. People like you would not know a good player or manager even if he was sitting on your lap. This is a short version of my reply Hogan stand will not post but I am cool with that."]Ok so you're not putting up so go ahead with the other option. It's fairly obvious you don't like Jason simply coz you don't like the Gaels.

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 04/08/2018 23:26:58    2129159

Replying To JamsieMac:  "
Replying To The Quiet Man:  "[quote=JamsieMac:  "[quote=The Quiet Man:  "[quote=Cavan_Shambles:  "Replying To s goldrick: "All The best for the future Mattie. Here we go again."

Over to you Quiet Man."
Sean
It's time to put up or shut up. If you know something that the rest of us don't then spit it out. Otherwise you sound like a gossiping school girl trying to create drama where there is none."]You see misses Mac: Hoganstand will not post my reply but you know where I stand. People like you would not know a good player or manager even if he was sitting on your lap. This is a short version of my reply Hogan stand will not post but I am cool with that."]Ok so you're not putting up so go ahead with the other option. It's fairly obvious you don't like Jason simply coz you don't like the Gaels."]You say I am not putting up well your around awhile now that I do reply as I said not posted.
Reply to the second part of your sentence
??
How pathetic I get on very well with the Belturbet Man have done so for a long time so stop talking nonsense and grow up.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 04/08/2018 23:47:30    2129167

Replying To Huntertj:  "Congratulations to Monaghan today for reaching the All Ireland semi, kills the myth that small counties, can't achieve. We drew with this team on a cold February day on 2017 and came with in a score of beating them in recent championship outings. Look where they are now, look where we are . The clue to the difference was in Malachy O Rourke' s interview tonight: their 36 guys stayed together. I dont think there is any player power in Cavan but rather player intelligence, on and off the field. County Board needs to chose very carefully and appoint somebody that they can aspire to , they deserve that ."
100% spot on. Young players were integrated to freshen things up, older players retained to ensure continuity. However the fact that they got silverware in 2013 is important, meant the carat of winning ulster was attainable for them. We havent got silverware at senior level which means players drift away thinking success is not possible.

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 05/08/2018 00:42:52    2129180

Replying To Huntertj:  "Congratulations to Monaghan today for reaching the All Ireland semi, kills the myth that small counties, can't achieve. We drew with this team on a cold February day on 2017 and came with in a score of beating them in recent championship outings. Look where they are now, look where we are . The clue to the difference was in Malachy O Rourke' s interview tonight: their 36 guys stayed together. I dont think there is any player power in Cavan but rather player intelligence, on and off the field. County Board needs to chose very carefully and appoint somebody that they can aspire to , they deserve that ."
We'd have stood a fighting chance ourselves against 3 division 4 teams, an exhausted Kildare and a disinterested Galway.

Donegal or Tyrone will see off monaghan just like Fermanagh (yes, Fermanagh) did.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/08/2018 07:43:34    2129208

Will some Cavan people stop with the nonsense now that we're as good (if not better) than Monaghan without McManus?

The cold hard facts are that in the past 14 seasons, Cavan have won 5 Ulster championship matches. 2 wins against fermanagh, 2 against Armagh and 1 against Antrim. So basically we've beaten no one worth talking about for well over a decade. In truth we are a footballing minnow these days. And don't bring league football into the equation as it's ultimately irrelevant. Less talk and more action would be a good place for us to start.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 05/08/2018 08:50:30    2129217

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "Will some Cavan people stop with the nonsense now that we're as good (if not better) than Monaghan without McManus?

The cold hard facts are that in the past 14 seasons, Cavan have won 5 Ulster championship matches. 2 wins against fermanagh, 2 against Armagh and 1 against Antrim. So basically we've beaten no one worth talking about for well over a decade. In truth we are a footballing minnow these days. And don't bring league football into the equation as it's ultimately irrelevant. Less talk and more action would be a good place for us to start."
AMEN

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 05/08/2018 09:54:01    2129244

Well done to Monaghan on their win last night. Some of their players deserve the opportunity to play in an All Ireland Semi Final. They have a 50 : 50 of making it to the first Sunday in September!

When they lost in the qualifiers to Longford in Clones a while back it looked as it their race had been run. The stuck by their manager at that time and now they have reaped their reward.

A lot of lessons could be learnt in Cavan from the manner in which Monaghan go about their business.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 05/08/2018 10:25:56    2129260

Replying To cavanman47:  "We'd have stood a fighting chance ourselves against 3 division 4 teams, an exhausted Kildare and a disinterested Galway.

Donegal or Tyrone will see off monaghan just like Fermanagh (yes, Fermanagh) did."
What about the first round against tyrone in omagh, Laois in navan ( Who would of rattled cavan), A kildare team who beat mayo, got within 2 points of Galway and rattled kerry only for a sending off and black card, A DRAW albeit a draw against a Kerry team in championship footbal.....A must win game against a Galway team who went full strenght in Galway and then factor in beating dublin in league and kerry in league. I think you underestimate the ability to put in massive performances on a weekly basis against conditioned and organised sides is the sign of a good team.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 05/08/2018 10:40:41    2129268

Replying To monaghanmad:  "What about the first round against tyrone in omagh, Laois in navan ( Who would of rattled cavan), A kildare team who beat mayo, got within 2 points of Galway and rattled kerry only for a sending off and black card, A DRAW albeit a draw against a Kerry team in championship footbal.....A must win game against a Galway team who went full strenght in Galway and then factor in beating dublin in league and kerry in league. I think you underestimate the ability to put in massive performances on a weekly basis against conditioned and organised sides is the sign of a good team."
Congratulations Monaghanmad. Great achievement to reach AI semi. No reason why you can't make final now and wish you the best of luck. You are quite correct, there is no way we could replicate what ye did this year at the moment. We're simply not near that level. But your achievements should be a wake up call to counties like Cavan. Anything is possible with the right approach and belief.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 05/08/2018 11:07:40    2129279

Replying To monaghanmad:  "What about the first round against tyrone in omagh, Laois in navan ( Who would of rattled cavan), A kildare team who beat mayo, got within 2 points of Galway and rattled kerry only for a sending off and black card, A DRAW albeit a draw against a Kerry team in championship footbal.....A must win game against a Galway team who went full strenght in Galway and then factor in beating dublin in league and kerry in league. I think you underestimate the ability to put in massive performances on a weekly basis against conditioned and organised sides is the sign of a good team."
The overwhelming fact that you're in an all Ireland semi final means I've barely got a leg to stand on in this argument.

But if you must. . .

Great win against Tyrone, where was the famous follow up performance when you were back in omagh to play a very average fermanagh team?

I think the Mayo game took it's toll physically and mentally on Kildare but fair play, ye beat them. The follow up performance was a capitulation against what has been shown to be a Kerry team who are still too young.

Yesterday's win - on paper it was a full strength Galway team, but they weren't interested. They've looked at the big picture and see the semi final as their only hope of beating Dublin (Which still won't happen).

But you got that win nevertheless, will you follow it up next week now? Possibly even against a team you've already beaten this year. You be been there before, remember!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/08/2018 11:10:10    2129282

A good manager makes good players. Look at Jimmy Mc Guinness, Malachy o Rourke, Cian O neill, Rory Gallagher. The players are always there in a county, its only a matter of unearthing them.. Get the right manager and yous will compete. Manager is the key to success.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 05/08/2018 11:16:28    2129286

Replying To cavanman47:  "We'd have stood a fighting chance ourselves against 3 division 4 teams, an exhausted Kildare and a disinterested Galway.

Donegal or Tyrone will see off monaghan just like Fermanagh (yes, Fermanagh) did."
think you need help there Cavanman47, it is time to face down our delusions. This type of thinking has done Cavan football no good over the last 50 years. If you think the current Cavan team would have had anything to offer in the Super8s, could you name just 3 current players that would be nailed on starters for Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan or Galway? My guess is that all 4 would pass on the option of any one of our lads. Can Jason change this situation? Im not convinced.
Finally, you meant uninterested, not disinterested.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 05/08/2018 11:21:15    2129289

Replying To MadgeKing:  "think you need help there Cavanman47, it is time to face down our delusions. This type of thinking has done Cavan football no good over the last 50 years. If you think the current Cavan team would have had anything to offer in the Super8s, could you name just 3 current players that would be nailed on starters for Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan or Galway? My guess is that all 4 would pass on the option of any one of our lads. Can Jason change this situation? Im not convinced.
Finally, you meant uninterested, not disinterested."
Disinterested: having or feeling no interest in something.

I know full well what I meant. And if you knew my background you wouldn't question my grasp of the English language.

To answer your question;
Cian Mackey, Dara McVeety, Gearoid McKiernan and Killian Clarke.
We've about 3 or 4 lads on our team who aren't good enough (who I won't name). But we have plenty of good footballers.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/08/2018 11:56:28    2129302

Replying To monaghanmad:  "A good manager makes good players. Look at Jimmy Mc Guinness, Malachy o Rourke, Cian O neill, Rory Gallagher. The players are always there in a county, its only a matter of unearthing them.. Get the right manager and yous will compete. Manager is the key to success."
I fully agree.

And it sickens me to see the level of negativity on here towards our own players.

You swear we were handed 4 ulster u21 titles and didn't produce a single player in those 4 years.

Honestly, it's downright pitiful that it took someone from another county to say it.

Those saying that being positive is what has seen us win little or nothing in 50 years!!!??? Who the hell would commit their time and effort to a team with supporters like that!?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/08/2018 12:01:35    2129306

I recognise and admire Monaghan's achievements over the past 6 years, I really do. Honestly, hats off to a superb co.board, a great manager, and a group of committed players who wear the jersey with pride.

And then there's us. A very sorry affair after so much promise at youth level. The whole country sat up and took notice when we won our 4th Ulster U21 title and rattled the Dubs, and only for some questionable refereeing that day we'd have won an All Ireland.

I cannot help but feel very angry and frustrated at the way football is administered in our county, especially when Monaghan have led the way and shown what can be done with limited resources. Whilst they have a distinct possibility of winning an AI title for the first time in their history, we can't get our best players on the panel.

As Trump would say, SAD!

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 05/08/2018 12:29:04    2129313

Replying To cavanman47:  "Disinterested: having or feeling no interest in something.

I know full well what I meant. And if you knew my background you wouldn't question my grasp of the English language.

To answer your question;
We've about 3 or 4 lads on our team who aren't good enough (who I won't name). But we have plenty of good footballers."
I am not sure any of the four you mention would make it on any starting 15 outside of Cavan

cavanexile11 (Dublin) - Posts: 25 - 05/08/2018 12:32:54    2129316

Replying To cavanman47:  "Disinterested: having or feeling no interest in something.

To answer your question;
We've about 3 or 4 lads on our team who aren't good enough (who I won't name). But we have plenty of good footballers."
Dear oh dear....
On both counts, the prosecution rests m'lud.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 05/08/2018 13:02:00    2129330

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Dear oh dear....
On both counts, the prosecution rests m'lud."
So 1) I've proven that you were incorrect in trying to pick up on a grammatical error. Proven it. I don't see why you're still arguing that part.

And 2) Tyrone wouldn't pick Gearoid McKiernan who cleaned them out at midfield last month?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/08/2018 13:14:55    2129333