The Qualifiers

The last league game we played in Breffni was 25th March and it still can't be ready for the qualifiers? 3 months later.
If we beat Down and get a home Draw against a big team where we going to play it?
Great planning here I must say.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 12/06/2018 14:17:54    2110530

There is no way the county board should accept that appointment.

They surely have a duty to the players, management and fans to object!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 12/06/2018 14:28:51    2110534

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "So what big results did Terry get in 5 years he was there?
Tell you about all the times we beat Roscommon and Tipp , Tyrone and Monaghan and Donegal .
He took us to Div 1 but so did Mattie so that claim to fame don't wash now.
No other manager would get 5 years to build a team and then leave it in a mess."
Mattie got us relegated too don't forget that. Then he got us back and all credit to him for that.

Also, how was the 2016 tram a mess? It was without question the best Cavan squad in the last 10 years. Even Mattie himself raved about the strong healthy outfit he was inheriting from Terry, he then proceeded to alienate several of our best players and we are now left with extremely average club players on the bench.

You called for Terry's head for so long because we didn't deliver at Championship. Terry's side won more championship games in 2013 than Mattie's side has in 2 years in charge so far. What has Mattie done to hold onto the job? Where have we improved?

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 12/06/2018 14:29:42    2110535

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Lads as a matter of interest how come there is only one designated county ground in Cavan....... are none of the other grounds up to scratch ?"
There's 3 in total. Breffni (off for obvious reasons), Kingscourt and Ballyconnell. Ballyconnell used mainly for county hurling matches, it's a small ground, with a small stand. No way could you hold it there. Kingscourt is way better, but would still not be able to hold a match of that size. Cootehill had a county ground at one stage (was used a lot when Breffni was being done up in the mid 90s) but that is in a bad state of repair, would need a lot of work to get it up to scratch and there's really no point.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2402 - 12/06/2018 14:56:32    2110557

Replying To JonSmith:  "Mattie got us relegated too don't forget that. Then he got us back and all credit to him for that.

Also, how was the 2016 tram a mess? It was without question the best Cavan squad in the last 10 years. Even Mattie himself raved about the strong healthy outfit he was inheriting from Terry, he then proceeded to alienate several of our best players and we are now left with extremely average club players on the bench.

You called for Terry's head for so long because we didn't deliver at Championship. Terry's side won more championship games in 2013 than Mattie's side has in 2 years in charge so far. What has Mattie done to hold onto the job? Where have we improved?"
Got us relegated, ah come on lad. He came in at the last minute to that team, that we were in with a chance of staying up on the last day was a credit to be honest. And did he alienate players, or move those ones with a bad attitude on...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2402 - 12/06/2018 14:59:00    2110559

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "The last league game we played in Breffni was 25th March and it still can't be ready for the qualifiers? 3 months later.
If we beat Down and get a home Draw against a big team where we going to play it?
Great planning here I must say."
It was always known it would be out for the year. County finals will be held elsewhere as well I hear. It wasn't just sod replacement, they dug down and redid all the drainage, brought in new material and regraded the surface before planting new grass. That takes time and it would never have been ready for this summer. We'll just have to take this one on the chin, and hopefully if we've a great surface for years to come, then maybe having one summer away will have be worth it.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2402 - 12/06/2018 15:02:17    2110564

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "There's 3 in total. Breffni (off for obvious reasons), Kingscourt and Ballyconnell. Ballyconnell used mainly for county hurling matches, it's a small ground, with a small stand. No way could you hold it there. Kingscourt is way better, but would still not be able to hold a match of that size. Cootehill had a county ground at one stage (was used a lot when Breffni was being done up in the mid 90s) but that is in a bad state of repair, would need a lot of work to get it up to scratch and there's really no point."
So there is only one designated ground in Cavan capable of holding an Ulster championship game.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 12/06/2018 15:47:35    2110579

Replying To Shelbourne:  "So there is only one designated ground in Cavan capable of holding an Ulster championship game."
Does it really matter? What will the likely attendance be based on current trends? Genuine question

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 12/06/2018 16:21:45    2110600

Replying To Shelbourne:  "So there is only one designated ground in Cavan capable of holding an Ulster championship game."
Pretty much. But I'd say that'd be the same of a lot of counties. There's not too many that have a second ground capable of sufficiently holding a championship match. Kingscourt would be more than capable of holding League matches (and I believe it has done so before)

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2402 - 12/06/2018 16:27:26    2110603

Replying To JonSmith:  "Mattie got us relegated too don't forget that. Then he got us back and all credit to him for that.

You called for Terry's head for so long because we didn't deliver at Championship. Terry's side won more championship games in 2013 than Mattie's side has in 2 years in charge so far. What has Mattie done to hold onto the job? Where have we improved?"
He got 5 years andthe cream of 4 winning u21 winning teams and a minor winning team and couldn't make a fist of it.
Yes we beat London twice , big deal.
We had Monaghan beat in Breffni playing attacking football until he panicked and reverted to his puke defensive tripe that had forwards playing as backs . We were 5 years teambuilding, 5 years listening to the same tripe about improving the same things. 5 years talking about a learning curve but we weren't learning. Excuses excuses excuses. Go on YouTube and listen to his post match comments . Same record all the time.
You ask some forwards who were on the panel why they quit and they won't be long telling you the reason.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 12/06/2018 16:35:34    2110604

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "He got 5 years andthe cream of 4 winning u21 winning teams and a minor winning team and couldn't make a fist of it.
We had Monaghan beat in Breffni playing attacking football until he panicked and reverted to his puke defensive tripe that had forwards playing as backs . We were 5 years teambuilding, 5 years listening to the same tripe about improving the same things. 5 years talking about a learning curve but we weren't learning. Excuses excuses excuses. Go on YouTube and listen to his post match comments . Same record all the time.
You ask some forwards who were on the panel why they quit and they won't be long telling you the reason."
Do us all a favour and put aside your obsession with the Great Man for a moment. Answer my question, where has Mattie improved Cavan?

Also if you want to talk about forwards quitting; Niall McDermott, Jack Brady, Eugene Keating, David Givney, Joe Dillon, Gerry Smith all quit since Mattie took over. Ask them why....

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 12/06/2018 16:47:56    2110609

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "He got 5 years andthe cream of 4 winning u21 winning teams and a minor winning team and couldn't make a fist of it.
You ask some forwards who were on the panel why they quit and they won't be long telling you the reason."
He didn't just get the cream of u21. He helped create it.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 12/06/2018 16:51:33    2110610

Replying To JonSmith:  "Do us all a favour and put aside your obsession with the Great Man for a moment. Answer my question, where has Mattie improved Cavan?

Also if you want to talk about forwards quitting; Niall McDermott, Jack Brady, Eugene Keating, David Givney, Joe Dillon, Gerry Smith all quit since Mattie took over. Ask them why...."
Mattie is in his 2nd year. Judge him after 5 yrs like your God got. He's history it's the best place for him.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 12/06/2018 16:57:12    2110614

Yep, same as Monaghan. Same as most counties.

The stunt ye pull every spring taking big teams away from Clones wouldn't be allowed for a championship game.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 12/06/2018 17:02:51    2110617

It's hard to disagree with what Jon Smith is saying. There's no point in trying to counter-act his argument by saying "well the last guy was worse", we must deal with the present.

Undoubtedly the biggest issue in Cavan right now is the haemorrhaging of our best players, we must address the reasons for player drop off. It is destroying the future of the county team. It is making fans dis-illusioned, just look at attendances. People have a right to be angry, for years we dominated Ulster at underage level (even recent minor teams have done well in the province) and we still can't make any impact.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 12/06/2018 17:04:25    2110619

Replying To JonSmith:  "Do us all a favour and put aside your obsession with the Great Man for a moment. Answer my question, where has Mattie improved Cavan?

Also if you want to talk about forwards quitting; Niall McDermott, Jack Brady, Eugene Keating, David Givney, Joe Dillon, Gerry Smith all quit since Mattie took over. Ask them why...."
Exactly. All these players that were so annoyed with Terry actually left when Terry was gone. Yet that is Terry's fault???

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 12/06/2018 17:06:44    2110621

You guys keep going back into the archives!!! Where's all these players gone? Its obvious that there not on the panel and not committed. You should be more worried about. What coaching and improvement can we see in some players to date? For one big young guy. Played No. 10 last Saturday evening. He has not delivered. Year's ago, if a corner back was getting a roasting in a club game. Ball never went into the forwards. Managements decisions would be to take of a corner forward. Young Reilly must have been substituted in every game to date. Not good for confidence in a young guy.

We have a Manager currently in place that still doesn't know players best positions.

Any of you guys on here take on the job?

upandcomingblue (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 12/06/2018 18:07:10    2110655

Replying To fredflint:  "Exactly. All these players that were so annoyed with Terry actually left when Terry was gone. Yet that is Terry's fault???"
In the years 2006-2016 overall GAA attendances declined by 28% and in the years 2011-2016 attendances declined by 16% , sure wasn't this Terry's fault also!!! Anything else?

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 12/06/2018 18:10:50    2110657

Congratulations to all on the win at weekend. It's easy to write off opposition afterwards but a win is a win and it was important that we hit the ground running early and didn't give Wicklow a chance to bed in and make it a slog fest. Can't really take too much from the game but they did beat Offaly who subsequently beat Antrim albeit with new manager bounce. Lots of areas for improvement. Down are beatable but we need to stop the goals going in. CHB for me is a big worry in that regard. Midfield too and Mossy is a big loss this year. Expect it to be physical and tight so hopefully we can step up a bit in that regard and ride out their periods of dominance. Discipline will be key too. You can give out about certain refs all you want but it is what it is and you have to get on with the game and not lose the head when calls go against you. Delighted the game is in Brewster. Should be able to attract 6K plus which will make it cosy and could be a great championship atmosphere if the game is lively. Good luck to all.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 12/06/2018 18:10:54    2110658

Replying To fredflint:  "Exactly. All these players that were so annoyed with Terry actually left when Terry was gone. Yet that is Terry's fault???"
You should check the facts there. When did Dunnie leave.? And why?

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 12/06/2018 18:18:09    2110663