Allianz National Football League Div 2 2018

Great result. Good performance. Another point and we are safe . Anything else is a bonus.
A good result in Cork and we will be in pole position maybe for a promotion push.
Congrats to all involved.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 19/02/2018 08:10:49    2078210

Great performance yesterday. Agree with hardtimes that Meath had slot of pocession but we were far more effective with the ball we had & with the lead we built up in the first 25 mins were able to play the game on our terms. Again caoimhin & Clerkin were direct inside with 5 pts from play between them in the first half. Was surprised that Clerkin was taken off at half time & hope he not injured. Both McKiernan & Mackey played well when they came on & great to see Gearoid win a number of great processions in the middle. Overall a fantastic start that looked unlikely after the Mckenna cup & at half time in Ennis. Everything to play for now. Congrats to players & management

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 19/02/2018 09:29:10    2078228

Replying To bond:  "Great performance yesterday. Agree with hardtimes that Meath had slot of pocession but we were far more effective with the ball we had & with the lead we built up in the first 25 mins were able to play the game on our terms. Again caoimhin & Clerkin were direct inside with 5 pts from play between them in the first half. Was surprised that Clerkin was taken off at half time & hope he not injured. Both McKiernan & Mackey played well when they came on & great to see Gearoid win a number of great processions in the middle. Overall a fantastic start that looked unlikely after the Mckenna cup & at half time in Ennis. Everything to play for now. Congrats to players & management"
A brilliant performance yesterday and congratulations to the players and management, couldn't see that coming after McKenna cup, warming to Mattie.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 881 - 19/02/2018 09:49:47    2078239

Folks, 5 points on the board and hopefully the next 4 games will see us exceed the 7 point target set at the start of the league campaign.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 19/02/2018 10:12:37    2078249

lads can we have mc gleenan back? will do a straight swap with him for mickey harte.

southtyronegael (Tyrone) - Posts: 19 - 19/02/2018 11:06:23    2078264

Replying To southtyronegael:  "lads can we have mc gleenan back? will do a straight swap with him for mickey harte."
Well I've always said Mattie needed time. This is only his 2nd year.
An improvement on last year is all anyone wants.
As regards Micky Harte ye have had massive success under him.
Seems like he has to team build again.
Anyway good luck to ye in the coming year

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 19/02/2018 13:47:12    2078347

I wouldn't get too excited yet. from evidence Cavan have probably played the 3 weakest teams so far. Tougher tests to come.

offtheditch (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 19/02/2018 14:22:59    2078363

Replying To offtheditch:  "I wouldn't get too excited yet. from evidence Cavan have probably played the 3 weakest teams so far. Tougher tests to come."
totally agree. but i think every cavan supporter is being more than cautious and realistic.
On a brighter note yesterday was a brilliant win, absolutely delighted for the lads. Meath might not be great and cavan may still have to meet the strongest teams in the division but that game could be the catalyst to push on. a win next week and its game on big time!!!!!!
On another note, the arrogance on the main page from SOME Meath supporters was very odd. seemed some of them needed to constantly reiterate how they don't see a rivalry with Cavan.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 19/02/2018 15:40:35    2078407

Replying To theweanling:  "totally agree. but i think every cavan supporter is being more than cautious and realistic.
On a brighter note yesterday was a brilliant win, absolutely delighted for the lads. Meath might not be great and cavan may still have to meet the strongest teams in the division but that game could be the catalyst to push on. a win next week and its game on big time!!!!!!
On another note, the arrogance on the main page from SOME Meath supporters was very odd. seemed some of them needed to constantly reiterate how they don't see a rivalry with Cavan."
That was the best thing. They have such notions of themselves. They havent been a decent team in decades yet they thought they would waltz up to Breffni and trash us. But realistically we have probably only played the poorest 3 teams in the group so far. Cork is still a winnable game though.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/02/2018 17:26:01    2078461

Replying To offtheditch:  "I wouldn't get too excited yet. from evidence Cavan have probably played the 3 weakest teams so far. Tougher tests to come."
That may well be the case but 5pts from those 3 games is good going. .. on another note it's great to see us finding the net on a regular basis. .. 7 goals in 3 games is more than we ever got in a whole season (league and championship ) under the previous manager...we seem to be getting them at vital times that opens up a gap that our opponents would find hard to bridge...not getting goals all ways keeps opponent's in games so keep up the good work lads...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 19/02/2018 17:55:46    2078475

What I like most about all of this is that we are moving the ball fast. We have half backs and midfielders who can give good ball inside and this is ultimately the hardest thing to defend against. I heard Mattie talking about this last year and it seems that he is following it through. We will come up against more sweepers and defensive teams but fast ball and runners off the shoulder makes anyone hard to beat.

Still very early doors and not getting too carried away but I really enjoyed watching a Cavan team move the ball with confidence and purpose again.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 20/02/2018 08:29:46    2078618

Replying To Reformation:  "What I like most about all of this is that we are moving the ball fast. We have half backs and midfielders who can give good ball inside and this is ultimately the hardest thing to defend against. I heard Mattie talking about this last year and it seems that he is following it through. We will come up against more sweepers and defensive teams but fast ball and runners off the shoulder makes anyone hard to beat.

Still very early doors and not getting too carried away but I really enjoyed watching a Cavan team move the ball with confidence and purpose again."
I was less than impressed by Mattie up to and including the Clare game. However, the last two results were impressive. Even more impressive was the team spirit. Not ready to canonise Mattie just yet, but that type of turnaround reflects well on him and it is great to see us moving the ball forward at pace. I thought we'd learn a lot from the Meath game but I was very surprised at how weak they were on the day. So have to admit to being a bit confused, pleasantly so. I expect that we will be more severely tested down by the Lee. It will be good to see the new Pairc ui Caoimh and perhaps the hurling match afterwards between Cork and Waterford. Even better if we were heading back up the road with a point or two and maybe stop off for a different pint or two if all goes well.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 20/02/2018 16:53:50    2078784

Many travelling to the new Pairc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday?

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 22/02/2018 16:40:25    2079253

Replying To ramor101:  "Many travelling to the new Pairc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday?"
anybody know the best route & parking ???

spiritof97 (Cavan) - Posts: 36 - 23/02/2018 15:11:38    2079498

Folks

The South of Ireland motorway (M8) will take you all the way to Cork from when you access it off the M50. The only thing you have to worry about is taking the exit for Cork and not staying on the motorway to Limerick. The ground is a good 25 minutes walk from the City, however, the locals are not noted for turning out in big numbers to follow their footballers so it should be possible to drive out towards the Stadium. I wouldn't think there would be more than a couple of thousand in attendance when the ball is thrown in.

To all those who are driving down, safe driving and enjoy the weekend!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 23/02/2018 17:37:22    2079534

Team's been named folks. Starts for Mackey and McKiernan.

1. Raymond Galligan (Lacken)
2. Niall Murray (Cavan Gaels)
3. Padraig Faulkner (Kingscourt)
4. David Phillips (Gowna)
5. Martin Reilly (Killygarry)
6. Ciaran Brady (Arvagh)
7. Conor Moynagh (Drumgoon)
8. Bryan Magee (Cuchulainns)
9. Killian Clarke (Shercock)
10. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)
11. Gearoid McKiernan (Swanlinbar)
12. Oisin Kiernan (Castlerahan)
13. Cian Mackey (Castlerahan)
14. Adrian Cole (Ramor United)
15. Niall Clerkin (Shercock)

16. James Farrelly (Kingscourt)
17. Stephen Murray (Cavan Gaels)
18. Conor Brady (Gowna)
19. Conor Bradley (Ramor United)
20. Caoimhin O'Reilly (Butlersbridge)
21. Enda Flanagan (Castlerahan)
22. David Brady (Ballyhaise)
23. Sean McCormack (Ballyhaise)
24. Darragh Kennedy (Killygarry)
25. Thomas Galligan (Lacken)
26. Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels)

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 23/02/2018 18:22:14    2079541

Replying To TheBlackDeath:  "Team's been named folks. Starts for Mackey and McKiernan.

1. Raymond Galligan (Lacken)
2. Niall Murray (Cavan Gaels)
3. Padraig Faulkner (Kingscourt)
4. David Phillips (Gowna)
5. Martin Reilly (Killygarry)
6. Ciaran Brady (Arvagh)
7. Conor Moynagh (Drumgoon)
8. Bryan Magee (Cuchulainns)
9. Killian Clarke (Shercock)
10. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)
11. Gearoid McKiernan (Swanlinbar)
12. Oisin Kiernan (Castlerahan)
13. Cian Mackey (Castlerahan)
14. Adrian Cole (Ramor United)
15. Niall Clerkin (Shercock)

16. James Farrelly (Kingscourt)
17. Stephen Murray (Cavan Gaels)
18. Conor Brady (Gowna)
19. Conor Bradley (Ramor United)
20. Caoimhin O'Reilly (Butlersbridge)
21. Enda Flanagan (Castlerahan)
22. David Brady (Ballyhaise)
23. Sean McCormack (Ballyhaise)
24. Darragh Kennedy (Killygarry)
25. Thomas Galligan (Lacken)
26. Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels)"
Folks

The South of Ireland motorway (M8) will take you all the way to Cork from when you access it off the M50. The only thing you have to worry about is taking the exit for Cork and not staying on the motorway to Limerick. The ground is a good 25 minutes walk from the City, however, the locals are not noted for turning out in big numbers to follow their footballers so it should be possible to drive out towards the Stadium. I wouldn't think there would be more than a couple of thousand in attendance when the ball is thrown in.

To all those who are driving down, safe driving and enjoy the weekend!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 468 - 23/02/2018 17:37:22 2079534
You will not get driving out to it I hear there are busses commuting to it.
Kildare blue this is a double header lad there will be a big crowd at this match.
Cork V Waterford neighbors bring a big crowed.
seanorinn (Cavan) - Posts: 3871 - 23/02/2018 19:27:16 2079557

Sorry I posted my reply in the wrong topic.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 23/02/2018 19:51:55    2079566

Big game this weekend,a good indication of how we are , Meath very poor and hard to judge

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 23/02/2018 20:12:42    2079569

Big game this weekend,a good indication of how we are , Meath very poor and hard to judge

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 23/02/2018 20:12:57    2079570

Rests for the Sigerson lads going by that selection which is probably no harm. Good options to bring on against tired legs too. Not really sure what to expect from Cork as they seem to be short a few but they are a massive GAA county and traditionally have strong runners which is something we previously have had trouble with- probably why Roscommon are our bogey team. If they do run at us it will be interesting to see how we get on and if we have improved pace and discipline wise in defense. Hopefully we get another good display from our central defensive pairing as this is one area we really need to settle on. Faulkner looks very assured so far under a ball or out from goal and hasn't been turned too easily so signs are good. Brady doing well too and communication seems to be good with the fly sweepers. Only blip was the goal against Meath- hopefully it was just a momentary lapse as he had just scored a goal the other end but we really shouldn't be that exposed in the centre of defense especially from a reset in play like a kick out. Upfront plenty of options and it would be good to see some lads lay down a marker with O'Reilly sitting on the bench. So lots to wet the appetite with this one. Good luck to all and hope it's a good game and we put in a good display.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 23/02/2018 20:17:17    2079574